Customer Reviews


267 Reviews
5 star:
 (226)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


119 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody Loves Raymond - The Complete Second Season
Raymond, his wife Debra, and their three kids live across the street from Ray's meddling parents and divorced brother. The parents go in and out of Ray and Debra's house as they please. Although probably not as funny as the third season, this season is still a solid one. The supporting staff (Patricia Heaton, Brad Garrett, Peter Boyle, and Doris Roberts) are often...
Published on November 20, 2004 by cyclista

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love the show, but...
I love the show, however, this dvd does not go from one episode to another by itself. You actually have to press the play button twice, in-between every episode. I like to watch these shows while I'm busy cooking or cleaning and it's very annoying to have to stop to press play, not once, but twice to get it to keep playing. All of the other DVD's out there, including...
Published 17 months ago by Lucy


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

119 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody Loves Raymond - The Complete Second Season, November 20, 2004
By 
This review is from: Everybody Loves Raymond: Season 2 (DVD)
Raymond, his wife Debra, and their three kids live across the street from Ray's meddling parents and divorced brother. The parents go in and out of Ray and Debra's house as they please. Although probably not as funny as the third season, this season is still a solid one. The supporting staff (Patricia Heaton, Brad Garrett, Peter Boyle, and Doris Roberts) are often funnier than Ray Romano! A generous season with 25 episodes.

1. Ray's on TV: Ray gets a chance to appear on a sports chat show.

2. Father Knows Least: Ray uses a new technique that he learned in parenting class on his parents.

3. Brother: Ray and Robert go out on the anniversary of Robert's divorce.

4. Mozart: Ray tries to teach Ally a lesson about quitting piano.

5. Golf: Ray feels guilty after he tricks Debra into letting him play golf.

6. Anniversary: At his parent's 40th wedding anniversary celebration, Ray learns that his parents were once separated.

7. Working Late Again: Ray sets up his office at home.

8. The Children's Book: Debra decides to write a children's book and asks Raymond for help.

9. The Gift: Ray gets his dad an expensive aquarium.

10. High School: Ray takes Debra to his 20th high school reunion.

11. The Letter: Marie crashes Debra's Tupperware party.

12. All I Want for Christmas: Raymond wants some loving from his wife at Christmas.

13. Civil War: Ray feels left out when his dad asks Robert to be in a Civil War Reenactment.

14. Mia Famiglia: Ally tracks down her oldest living relative for a genealogy project.

15. Marie's Meatballs: Debra gets upsset when Raymond chooses his mother's cooking over hers.

16. The Checkbook: Ray takes over the family finances.

17. The Ride-Along: Raymond rides along for a shift with Robert, who is a police officer.

18. The Family Bed: Ray decides to ask his mother for help when Ally is scared of monsters at night.

19. Good Girls: Marie likes Robert's girlfriend because she is a "good girl".

20. T-Ball: Debra brings a snack to Ally's game not knowing that the treat is not on the approved list.

21. Traffic School: Robert has to teach traffic school and practices on the family.

22. Six Feet Under: Raymond finds out that he's a quarter inch shorter than he used to be.

23. The Garage Sale: Debra is done having kids and wants to sell the cribs and baby clothes at a garage sale.

24. The Wedding (1) gs: Robert Culp: Ray asks Debra why she married him, and they remember his marriage proposal.

25. The Wedding (2) gs: Robert Culp: Ray remembers why he decided to give Debra another chance to say no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fun season for fans to revisit, April 8, 2006
By 
This review is from: Everybody Loves Raymond: Season 2 (DVD)
As with any successful television series with as many seasons as Everybody Loves Raymond, it is always fun to revisit episodes like these. The characters are still not quite as heavily developed as they were around Season 3 (and it really wasn't until Season 4 until they truly took off), but it is still a nice step up from Season 1 and contains some fresh, funny episodes that all fans will love.

These earliest seasons of ELR focus a lot more on Ray and Debra and their young family. The kids probably appear in this season a lot more than they do later on, and it's fun to see how Ray and Debra battled with juggling three such little kids. They were also considerably nicer to each other back in these days, and episodes like "Marie's Meatballs" and "The Letter" are hilarious because at this point, Debra still has not quite grasped how manipulative and crazy her overbearing mother-in-law can be. Believe it or not, there actually was a point in the series where Debra truly believed that the concept of a successful, mature conversation with Marie really existed! Look no further than Season 2--it is just hysterical.

As much as I adore this show, I think they got slightly, slightly over the top in the last two seasons, with Debra throwing a hissy fit about absolutely everything, Marie being way over the line, etc... On the whole, they kept the series classy and fun right up to the end, but like I said it is still nice to go back to the lighter episodes that make up the first couple of seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sky was the limit, March 23, 2006
This review is from: Everybody Loves Raymond: Season 2 (DVD)
In its second season the show was moved to its familiar 9:30/8:30 central timeslot and focused mainly on fleshing out the characters more thoroughly. The early rivalry between Debra and Marie can be seen in the episodes "Marie's Meatballs" and "The Letter", while Ray and Robert get on each others nerves in "Brother" and "The Ride Along". Writer Tucker Cawley (who eventually won a writing Emmy for the season seven episode, "Baggage") writes two of the season's worst episodes. Cawley was always a natural storyteller more so than a comedian and it took him a few seasons before he was able to integrate quality jokes into his plot driven scripts, which he does successfully in "Good Girls". The season opener has jokes that only an English professor could appreciate while "Civil War" is your typical "son looking for acceptance from his father" story.

"T-Ball" is an underrated episode and Traffic Cop Timmy makes a memorable appearance in "Traffic School", painting Robert as a sympathetic figure. A funny season, but not as consistently funny as seasons 3-5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I JUST STARTED WATCHING AND LOVE IT!, January 26, 2005
This review is from: Everybody Loves Raymond: Season 2 (DVD)
I am a VERY late comer to Everybody Loves Raymond. I had seen it a few times but didn't become a regular viewer until season 8. Thank God for re-runs and DVD sets that are now allowing me to catch up on everything I missed. Oddly enough, I decided to start with season Two as the first I purchased on DVD. The reason being that the first seasons of most sitcoms are usually so very rough and the show and cast usually aren't quite developed yet. I wanted to watch the show when the characters were going to be more like what I know from coming in late to the game.

I was not disapointed and I am sure I will pick up season one afterall. Season two really had all of the elements that I love show much about the show and the characters just look a little younger. And of course there is frequent appearances by Kevin James before he would get his own sitcom, "The King of Queens".

I really enjoyed the set from the get-go...25 glorious episodes in all. I won't summarize all 25, but here are a few of my favorites from season two:

"Anniversary" - At a big surprise party for Frank and Marie's 40th wedding anniversary, Raymond is shocked to learn that his parents were once separated for a year and might have gotten divorced if Frank hadn't returned home to help with Ray's broken arm. After the initial shock wears off, Ray starts to wonder if it's his fault that his parents are together and miserable.

"The Letter" - When Marie ruins her Tupperware party, Debra decides that she's had just about enough of her mother-in-law's constant interference. She writes a letter to her Marie, telling her to stop intruding into her life. Horrified by the problems that this letter might trigger, Ray does everything in his power to intercept the offending document.

"All I Want for Christmas" - All Ray wants for Christmas is a little loving from his wife and he's willing to try anything and everything to have his holiday wish come true. When Ray finally has seduced Debra, his entire family is working their way into the house for Eggs Florentine and exchanging gifts.

"The Checkbook" - When Raymond takes over the family checkbook to prove to Debra how "easy it can be" to balance it, he discovers he is no accountant. After he quickly runs out of money and starts bouncing checks, he tries to hide the truth from Debra and winds up entangled in a mess of lies, two fake checkbooks and a large loan from his brother.

"Traffic School" - Robert proves to be a crashing bore when it comes to teaching traffic school, so he decides to practice his presentation on the family-which drives them crazy. In an attempt to lighten things up, he puts in an assist-officer call to "Traffic Cop Timmy," a puppet dressed as a policeman.

"The Wedding Parts 1 & 2" - These two episodes show how Ray proposed to Debra and their eventual wedding.

As far as extras, they could be better. There's only commentary on a couple of episodes to go along with some bloopers and deleted scenes. Nothing to write home about and hopefully future seasons will be better equipped.

This is just plain funny. Intelligent without being snobbish like Frasier and wacky without being too low brow. These are characters that probably most of us know in our own lives. Boy do I KNOW some Maries!!!

highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody Loves Raymond (including me), January 2, 2005
By 
Dave1102 (New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Everybody Loves Raymond: Season 2 (DVD)
I never had any interest in "Everybody Loves Raymond" until about two years ago, when I caught a couple of episodes in syndication. I laughed so much, I started taping old episodes and making sure to watch the new episodes on Monday nights. This is perhaps the funniest live action comedy series since the mid 80's heyday of "Cheers" (sorry, "Seinfeld"), though I would still rank the glory years of "The Simpsons" circa 1992-97 as the greatest period of TV comedy ever.

What I like about "Raymond" the most is the cast. I still don't know if Ray Romano is a good stand up comedian, but he is effective as Ray Barone, a sportswriter for a New York newspaper, and husband to Debra (the very cute and perky Patricia Heaton)and father to three kids. Complementing the cast are Brad Garrett as Ray's older brother Robert, and the terrific Peter Boyle and Doris Roberts as Ray's parents, Frank and Marie. Season two, like most series, is when the character development really began to take place. There are some terrific episodes, particularly the "All I want for Christmas" show, when Debra finds herself unable to control her lust for Ray on Christmas Day.

If you had only enough money to buy one of "Raymond"'s first two seasons on DVD, go with the second season. It has 25 episodes, compared with Season One's 22, and the extras include some very funny bloopers and deleted scenes. I wish I had gotten hooked on "Everybody Loves Raymond" sooner, but better late than never.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I remember that look. That used to be me. Now I'm one of them"--Debra, June 24, 2007
By 
mwreview "mwreview" (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Everybody Loves Raymond: Season 2 (DVD)
Season 2 isn't my favorite ELR season, but it is very solid and enjoyable all the way through. It includes the two-part flashback showing Raymond and Debra's engagement and wedding and many excellent episodes, my favorites being "Golf," "Anniversary," "Marie's Meatballs" (with the infamous sabotage of the basil!), "The Checkbook" (with the hilarious ATM scene), "The Ride-Along," "Family Bed," "Good Girls," and "T-Ball." This season is definitely one of the best from one of the best sitcoms ever.

Disc 1:
"Ray's on TV"--Ray is invited on the Roy Firestone Show and his family is critical of how he pronounces words and scratches his microphone.
"Father Knows Least"--Ally is being a brat so Debra and Raymond go to a parenting class where they learn about active listening skills that Ray seems to master better than Debra.
"Brother"--Robert is depressed on the second anniversary of his divorce so he starts to get more attached to Raymond. Highlight: when Ray reenacts a movie scene and says "Hey mother..."
"Mozart"--Ally doesn't want to take piano lessons from her grandma, so Raymond tries to relearn the "Theme from Love Story" to encourage her to pursue music.
"Golf"--Raymond tricks Debra into letting him play golf and then has an anxiety attack due to the guilt. The advice from his doctor is more golf to relieve his stress (Ray: "Would I see a podiatrist or a proctologist to get a foot removed from my a**"). I like when Debra goes off, "When do I get to have an episode!?"

Disc 2:
"Anniversary"--It's Frank and Marie's 40th anniversary and they make a startling comment about their marriage to Raymond. I like the kid they chose to play a 10-year-old Robert in the flashback. His mannerisms were perfect, he was even left-handed.
"Working Late Again"--Thanks to Ray's mother, Debra begins to think Raymond stays at work late to avoid being at home so she gets him to work at home and soon regrets that decision. Pat O'Brien makes a guest appearance.
"The Children's Book"--Debra wants to write a children's book and Ray thinks he's helping by writing it himself.
"The Gift"--It's Frank's 65th birthday and Ray didn't think they were going to buy him presents. He then has to think of something to compete with Robert's remote boat and decides on a tropical aquarium. An emotional episode at the end.
"High School"--Raymond goes to his 20th high school reunion and Debra has a better time with his old classmates than he does.

Disc 3:
"The Letter"--After her Tupperware party is ruined by a certain meddling mother-in-law, Debra decides to write Marie a letter about how she makes her feel. Raymond, of course, is against the idea.
"What I Want For Christmas"--For Christmas, Raymond wants to get Debra in the mood for what he wants all year round.
"Civil War"--Ray hopes to bond with his father in a Civil War reenactment but, as a late enlistment, he's signed up with the other side. Why Raymond getting out of a planned baby shower didn't cause a "house divided against itself" with Debra remains a mystery.
"Mia Famiglia"--For Ally's school project, Raymond tracks down his oldest living relative who visits them from Italy and thinks he's finally found a relative to be proud of. While she brings the family together, she may not really be family.
"Marie's Meatballs"--Ray asks his mom to teach Debra how to make her meatballs and she sabotages the cooking lesson. Debra goes off in this one, "Who's the nutcase now!!!"

Disc 4:
"The Checkbook"--Debra complains about how difficult it is to do the finances and Raymond doesn't believe it so she makes him take over the bills and, whala, their checks turn to rubber. Unrealistic but very funny, especially the ATM scene.
"Ride-Along"--Robert doesn't think his wise-cracking brother appreciates what he does for a living so he has him accompany him and his partner Judy (she's funny) on patrol. When Raymond sees a heroic act, he writes an article about his brother but the editors make it about Raymond.
"Family Bed"--Ray and Debra try to wean their daughter from having to sleep in their bed. Of course, for Ray, this process involves his mother.
"Good Girls"--The truth is out that Marie likes Amy better than Debra because she has been a "good girl" before marriage. We learn something funny about Robert's birth.
"T-Ball"--Deb and Ray take their kids to a T-ball game and Debra is criticized by the wimpy coach about the snacks she brought. Not liking conflict, Ray initially does not stick up for his wife and tries to buy snacks on the sly.

Disc 5:
"Traffic School"--Robert's traffic school classes are dull so he introduces Traffic Cop Timmy which he uses to get out his frustrations on his family. A little creepy.
"Six Feet Under"--Raymond finds out that he's shrunk to under six feet and begins worrying about getting old and not accomplishing his goals.
"The Garage Sale"--Raymond has a problem selling his kids' crib and baby clothes at a garage sale because he wants more children.
"The Wedding Part 1 & 2"--The best of the end of season flashback episodes. This two-parter goes back ten years to when Ray first gets his columnist job and proposes to Debra. Debra is so excited about the wedding, he wonders if that is the only reason she agreed to marry him. At the wedding, Ray's behavior makes Debra wonder if he's "freaking out" or is drunk. I like how there are no clichés in the wedding scene like the best man losing the rings or the organ playing the wedding march too long. Ray's vows: "I'm sorry I've been such a jerk. I promise not to be one anymore, if you'll help me."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all-time favorite sitcoms!, December 1, 2006
This review is from: Everybody Loves Raymond: Season 2 (DVD)
I'm really glad for the release of these DVD box sets, because without them, I never would have gotten into this show...now one of my very favorites!

The plot centers upon Ray Barone, a sportswriter living on Long Island with his wife Debra and children Ally, Geoffrey and Michael. The bane of their existence is Ray's parents Marie and Frank...living just across the street, and acting like Ray and Debra's home is an extension of their own. To compound the problem, Ray's older brother Robert, a divorced NYPD lieutenant, moves back home...

This show doesn't look for sophisticated, implausible storylines. Rather, it focuses upon the tiny aspects of everyday life and relationships - father/son, husband/wife, brother/brother, parent/child - and finds comedy in the truth. Ray and Debra often clash, as he just wants to relax when he comes home from work, and she - a stay-at-home mom - wants him to pitch in, or go out. Frank is crass, and Marie is nosy and opinionated.

Season 2 includes flashbacks of Ray and Debra's wedding; various parenting disasters involving the three toddlers; Ray going on a ride-along with Robert; and cooking rivalry between Debra and Marie.

If you're unfamiliar with this show, check it out! You'll soon be laughing hysterically and looking for the rest of the seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can't wait to see another season!, January 24, 2005
By 
J. Petosa (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everybody Loves Raymond: Season 2 (DVD)
This is a very refreshing comedy that hits home on the ordeals of family life. The characters are SO funny.

I had just completed all Six seasons of Sex in the City and have been on withdrawal from that. My parents gave me Everybody Loves Raymond, so at first I was skeptical I would like it (my mom would hate Sex in the City). But I enjoyed every episode and now I am craving more! Guess I'll be watching all the seasons of Raymond. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best shows of its time..., April 19, 2005
This review is from: Everybody Loves Raymond: Season 2 (DVD)
First telecast in the Fall of 1996, Everybody Loves Raymond became an instant favorite among TV audiences, a love affair that would last for nine memorable seasons. Following on the heels of a series of successful sitcoms starring stand-up comics - Seinfeld, Home Improvement, The Drew Carey Show, etc., Everybody Loves Raymond drew upon the comedic talents of Ray Romano who plays the role of the title character Ray Barone...

A successful Long Island-based sportswriter, Ray and his wife Debra (Patricia Heaton) enjoy a happy marriage and the company of their three children - daughter Ally (Madylin Sweeten) and twin sons Geoffrey (Sawyer Sweeten) and Michael (Sullivan Sweeten). But they also happen to live directly across the street from Ray's parents, Frank (Peter Boyle) and Marie (Doris Roberts), who take it upon themselves to enter their son and daughter-in-law's house whenever they wish (without knocking) and dispense advice and sometimes insults. Joining Frank and Marie is Ray's brother Robert (Brad Garrett), a divorced policeman, who periodically lives with Frank and Marie and is often jealous of Ray's idyllic life. Together, they create the perfect loving and dysfunctional family...

The Everybody Loves Raymond (Season 2) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere in which Ray appears on a television sports talk show only to turn in a less than flattering appearance. When his family reveals the truth about his awkwardness, Ray is determined to perform better on TV, but his second stint is worse than his first... Other notable episodes from Season 2 include "Brother" in which Ray attempts to bond with Robert on the anniversary of his divorce, and "The Children's Book" in which Debra's noble attempt to write a children's book is turned into a one-on-one writing competition by Ray... Season 2 also features guest appearances by sports figures Roy Firestone, James Worthy, and Pat O'Brien...

Below is a list of episodes included on the Everybody Loves Raymond (Season 2) DVD:

Episode 23 (Ray's on TV)

Episode 24 (Father Knows Least)

Episode 25 (Brother)

Episode 26 (Mozart)

Episode 27 (Golf)

Episode 28 (Anniversary)

Episode 29 (Working Late Again)

Episode 30 (The Children's Book)

Episode 31 (The Gift)

Episode 32 (High School)

Episode 33 (The Letter)

Episode 34 (All I Want for Christmas)

Episode 35 (Civil War)

Episode 36 (Mia Famiglia)

Episode 37 (Marie's Meatballs)

Episode 38 (The Checkbook)

Episode 39 (The Ride-Along)

Episode 40 (The Family Bed)

Episode 41 (Good Girls)

Episode 42 (T-Ball)

Episode 43 (Traffic School)

Episode 44 (Six Feet Under)

Episode 45 (The Garage Sale)

Episode 46 (The Wedding: Part 1)

Episode 47 (The Wedding: Part 2)

The DVD Report
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apparently some reviewers don't love Raymond, February 22, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everybody Loves Raymond: Season 2 (DVD)
I read, with mild amusement, Zeek's review of what he called one of the worst series ever made. I'd like to know what Zeek would do differently. The show's success comes from what's really an honest portrayal of a lot more families than some of us would like to admit. Much like Bill Cosby's humor, the Barone family's situations are more just plain reality in so many families than anything else, and therein lies the true humor of this show. Doris Roberts has got to be one of the greatest cast members of this or any ensemble cast...anyone who doesn't see that is just not paying attention here. I didn't start watching the series until it went into daily syndication...then I couldn't get enough of it...it's the perfect successor to Seunfeld and I'm glad these shows are making their way to DVD, like Seinfeld. I watched one of the early Seinfeld shows and realized what I loved about it the first time...Raymond is the same way. Everybody who DOESN'T love Raymond...just doesn't get Raymond.

Get it...and laugh out loud all over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Everybody Loves Raymond: Season 2
Everybody Loves Raymond: Season 2 by Ray Romano (DVD - 2012)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.