Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He makes great BBQ, but be wary of the cornbread recipe
I have several of Myron's cookbooks. They are well organized, detailed and the instructions are pretty good. His 'style' of BBQ is very different than mine - I like very very simple BBQ with very little sugar. I like to let the flavor of the meat speak. Having said that, I have learned a lot about technique from reading his books. I think he and Aaron Franklin are...
Published 15 months ago by Tom Bennett

versus
15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Only BBQ Sauce" Recipe is Terrible
For someone with so many awards, you would think Miron could at least write the first BBQ sauce recipe in his new book correctly. The recipe is clearly erroneous and totally unusable. Specifically, the recipe calls for a 3-cup yield, but the only liquid in the entire recipe is 2/3 cup cider vinegar and two tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce. Once you add that to all the...
Published 14 months ago by Baron


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He makes great BBQ, but be wary of the cornbread recipe, June 6, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have several of Myron's cookbooks. They are well organized, detailed and the instructions are pretty good. His 'style' of BBQ is very different than mine - I like very very simple BBQ with very little sugar. I like to let the flavor of the meat speak. Having said that, I have learned a lot about technique from reading his books. I think he and Aaron Franklin are the two hottest BBQ chefs in the country. If you can't learn anything from Myron's books you are not being open-minded.

Separately, I made his cornbread recipe not once, but twice. Both times it turned out like a rock. My better half confirmed all the ingredients I put in against the recipe. I am convinced the recipe is missing something - namely a leavening agent. If you make this recipe I recommend adding a tsp of baking powder.

Overall he writes great books, but let's be honest, you didn't buy the book for his baking skills :-)

Follow-up: I wrote Myron's team at jacksoldsouth.com (via the 'contact us' function) about the cornbread recipe. I was most impressed that they wrote back immediately and admitted the recipe was missing a leavening agent...the recipe needs 1.5 tsp of baking powder and 0.5 tsp of baking soda. They will fix the recipe in future editions. So refreshing to deal with an organization that admits its errors so readily. My kind of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Only BBQ Sauce" Recipe is Terrible, July 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For someone with so many awards, you would think Miron could at least write the first BBQ sauce recipe in his new book correctly. The recipe is clearly erroneous and totally unusable. Specifically, the recipe calls for a 3-cup yield, but the only liquid in the entire recipe is 2/3 cup cider vinegar and two tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce. Once you add that to all the other solid ingredients in the rest of the recipe like two cans of tomato paste, various powders, 1/4 cup of brown sugar, maple syrup, salt and pepper, etc., the "Only Barbecue Sauce You Need" ends up being the "Only Barbecue Sauce You Need to Throw Away" because it's so thick you need an ice cream scooper to get it out of the saucepan. This is the last thing that your average backyard BBQ guy wants to experience after following a core recipe written by an experienced Pitmaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recipes that are guaranteed to please!, May 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Myron is revealing all of the secrets of BBQ in this book. Anyone who is interested in getting praise from all who eat your Que should buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars smoked meat, August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everyday Barbecue: At Home with America's Favorite Pitmaster (Paperback)
Bought his other book about smoking meat and expected a little more from this book. The recipes are for a lot of leftover bbq meats as well as some other dishes which I thought were uninteresting as we already know how to cook most of them. The author also cooks at a higher temperature and uses equipment I could not afford to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have in your cooking books, April 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everyday Barbecue: At Home with America's Favorite Pitmaster (Paperback)
Good book to have around has lots of information and background on bbq and personal life experience of the master himself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smokin', September 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everyday Barbecue: At Home with America's Favorite Pitmaster (Paperback)
It was a very good book letting you know recipes and rubs that Myron likes to use. The book also lets you know how long to smoke before wrapping your meats with aluminum foil to preserve the juices of the meats.

Iwould reccomend this to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bbq, September 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have used several of the recipes in my smoker and have drawn rave reviews from family and friends. Only dislike is "only sauce" recipe in book. Too thick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, July 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everyday Barbecue: At Home with America's Favorite Pitmaster (Paperback)
Gave this to my husband for fathers day and he loves it. we have made several receipes from this and they all were great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Is Smokin!, May 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everyday Barbecue: At Home with America's Favorite Pitmaster (Paperback)
I have the other book by Myron and this one is just as good. This book makes it simple for anyone to make great barbecue. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars has some awesome recipes. Very simple to read and, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everyday Barbecue: At Home with America's Favorite Pitmaster (Paperback)
Book is more for beginner, has some awesome recipes. Very simple to read and follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Everyday Barbecue: At Home with America's Favorite Pitmaster
Everyday Barbecue: At Home with America's Favorite Pitmaster by Myron Mixon (Paperback - May 7, 2013)
$24.00 $16.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.