Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relationships are tricky...
`Alle Anderen' is an astonishingly good film that I really didn't see coming. It was recommended to me from some friends and it certainly looked up my ally (I'm surprised I didn't hear of it first myself) so I dove in without hesitation. What I found was something far deeper and far more profound than I expected.

It moved me.

The film is simple...
Published on February 4, 2011 by Andrew Ellington

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars complex, though occasionally inexplicable, look at a relationship
***1/2

Similar in style and tone to last year's "Blue Valentine," the German film "Everyone Else" provides us with an oblique look at a troubled relationship. Though the couple in this film does not seem as overtly unhappy as the one in the American work, there is still something clearly eating away at their relationship. The most admirable aspect of the...
Published on September 10, 2011 by Roland E. Zwick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relationships are tricky..., February 4, 2011
By 
Andrew Ellington (I'm kind of everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Everyone Else (DVD)
`Alle Anderen' is an astonishingly good film that I really didn't see coming. It was recommended to me from some friends and it certainly looked up my ally (I'm surprised I didn't hear of it first myself) so I dove in without hesitation. What I found was something far deeper and far more profound than I expected.

It moved me.

The film is simple. It follows a young couple, Gitti and Chris, as they discover themselves and their relationship over a vacation in Italy. Chris and Gitti are a new couple. Although this isn't explicitly addressed, it is pretty obvious by their demeanor and their brand of turmoil. Childless and searching for direction in their relationship and their lives, Gitti and Chris seem like your average couple really. The beauty of it all is that they are. They are happy, not ridiculously so but certainly happy. They have their worries and problems and troubles but they don't hate one another and they don't want an out to their relationship. But, like most normally happy people in relationships they are still testing out, they smell trouble when they encounter another couple who is so much happier (seemingly) than they are. Once the couples begin to interact they begin to dissect one another far too much; at least Gitti and Chris fall into that pattern. Soon, what was working is all of a sudden not working at all and the relationship begins to fray.

It makes you question what `happy' really means.

Maren Ade beautifully layers `Alle Anderen' with all the right details, embellishing and fleshing out this relationship with an effortless quality. It is so real and honest in its depiction of your everyday worries and trials. Nothing seems overdone or overworked. This is a very simple yet startlingly authentic look at your typical relationship.

This is all aided tremendously by the powerful performances by the two leads. Birgit Minichmayr especially understands how to craft her performance to draw in the viewer. She captures the spunk and tenacious drive that makes Gitti so likable (and, albeit a tad annoying). Lars Eidinger has to walk a step or two behind Birgit, since Chris is far less abrasive, more subtle and reserved; and he nails that beautifully. You can see his mind working through his sullen eyes, and you understand that all that is going on underneath is all that is manifesting on the surface. The supporting cast as well, which is mainly Hans-Jochen Wagner and Nicole Marischka, are also effortless and memorable.

The ending, for me, was PERFECT. You want something so abrasively climactic and yet Maren Ade understands that anticlimactic is far more appropriate for a film of this nature. The ending, while some may consider a letdown, is so pure and believably sincere. The path this particular relationship will take is totally undetermined but the audience gets an inkling of a clue as to how Gitti and Chris plan to resolve their differences.

Subtle, smart and wholly realistic; `Alle Anderen' is positively perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars if you like Bergman.., May 28, 2013
This review is from: Everyone Else (Amazon Instant Video)
i'm pretty sure you will like this movie.

birgit minichmayr is really fantastic, i wasn't familiar with her. she has an unsettled subtext that keeps tension throughout. i am busy searching for more movies with her right now to no avail. the relationship has an authentic quality and a passion that will remind you of what it's like to be about a year into a romance, and will also remind you of what it's like to be slightly terrified of how it will end.

it's beautiful to look at, check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars complex, though occasionally inexplicable, look at a relationship, September 10, 2011
By 
This review is from: Everyone Else (DVD)
***1/2

Similar in style and tone to last year's "Blue Valentine," the German film "Everyone Else" provides us with an oblique look at a troubled relationship. Though the couple in this film does not seem as overtly unhappy as the one in the American work, there is still something clearly eating away at their relationship. The most admirable aspect of the screenplay by Maren Ade is that it doesn't throw easy labels onto either the characters or the problems they're facing. The movie is really more a piece of objective reportage chronicling their lives over the course of a few days than a plot- and theme-driven narrative leading us to a preordained conclusion about them as people.

Chris (Lars Eidinger) is a gifted but apparently not very successful architect, while Gitti (Birgit Minichmayr), his girlfriend, who works in the recording business, seems to be generally supportive of his efforts. Chris and Gitti are spending a relaxing vacation at his mother's home on the Mediterranean, when Gitti begins to off-handedly question Chris's masculinity (we assume that it has more to do with his lack of initiative and drive than with his personal mannerisms). In response, Chris begins to treat Gitti in an ever more callous fashion, trying to prove her wrong by acting in the dismissive and domineering way he assumes "real" men do, and in the way, if Gitta is any indication, women apparently want them to.

But this synopsis really only covers the tip of the iceberg, for there are clearly many more complex dynamics taking place within this relationship that are not so easily delineated and described. Suffice it to say that the movie explores the myriad elements that go into relationships, and does so without spelling them out in simplistic terms and without passing judgment on the characters. The parameters within which any relationship must be set are still evolving and fluid in the case of Chris and Gitti, and this leads to much pushing of the boundaries and behavioral experimentation on the part of the couple throughout the course of the film. Ade's direction is unobtrusive and observational in nature, which allows the actors to interact with one another in a quasi-improvisational and thus wholly believable fashion.

There is, however, a definite downside to this type of storytelling - "Blue Valentine" suffered from it as well - and that is that the motivations for the characters' actions are often so murky and inexplicable that they can seem downright arbitrary to those of us who are watching all of this unfold from the outside in. That's why Chris and Gitti strike us as being more weird and annoying - if not downright daffy - than anything else at times.

Thus, your initial response might be to assume that perhaps Chris and Gitti simply aren't meant for one another and that they might think about looking elsewhere for a relationship. But, then again, if it were that easy to get out of a troubled relationship, we'd have no need in the first place for films like "Everyone Else."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sophisticated, subtle, intelligent, May 16, 2013
This review is from: Everyone Else (Amazon Instant Video)
An eloquent film surrounding the negotiations and power struggles within relationships. Visually stunning camerawork and Sardinia is seductive, evocative. Well written screenplay and compelling acting. Intelligent all the way around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly acted and directed, July 8, 2013
The movie surprised me in that I was expecting a low-tech throwaway film to pass the time with. The film touched off a series of harrowing, even heartbreaking scenes I was not prepared for. The pacing was spot-on, near flawless direction. The acting was superb. These are two characters you root for, that they will find common ground and a solvency that will keep them together. The fissures in their relationship are seen more clearly by the audience but not necessarily by the characters, and this is part of the joy of watching. They may be doomed to find others but you still hold out hope for them, even at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intimate, intricate portrait of a relationship, October 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everyone Else (DVD)
Ade has that rare gift (taken to it's peak by filmmakers like Eric Rohmer and more recently Nicole Holofcener) of showing all the things movies usually don't. The little things, those subtle moments in a relationship that make up 98% of the time in real life, that lead to that dramatic 2% we usually watch on screen.

The story is about a couple in their early 30s, and - we sense - not that long a couple, taking a vacation and in the process slowly discovering each other in relation to themselves and the world. The only brief moments the film feels false are when the biggest drama erupts. But for the vast majority of the time, thanks to wonderful performances by the two leads and Ade's seemingly casual, but very specific use of the camera, it feels like we are seeing the complex, erotic, wonderful, infuriating, confusing truth of a relationship, warts and all, in a way that's very rare on screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This Movie will Serve No Whine Before Its Time, January 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everyone Else (Amazon Instant Video)
A very small movie with a very small plot consisting mostly of the two main characters sitting around and driving around while whining about their mutual sensitivity. It takes place in Sardinia, but you would never know it, as tt could have been filmed in any one room house with an overgrown back yard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Strange German Movie, January 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everyone Else (Amazon Instant Video)
The relationships illustrated the difference between American and German ideas about what is considered normally representative in literature allusions to what goes on among ordinary people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying film, December 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everyone Else (DVD)
Everyone Else is a worthwhile film that I have watched multiple times. It is an interesting character study that deals with a relationship between a young couple from Germany who are on vacation in Sardinia--an island in the Mediterranean Sea. The man (Chris/played by Lars Eidinger) is an architect, and the woman (Gitti/played by Birgit Minichmayr) works for a record label--both stay at the summerhouse which is owned by the man's parents. They also interact with another couple. The cast does a realistic job in their roles. The Sardinian scenery is also fascinating. I do admit that Everyone Else is a bit of a long-winded film that takes its time, but it still has merit, and I am glad that I acquired and viewed it. Everyone Else is a recommendable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not sure why AO Scott liked this so much, September 14, 2013
By 
J. Bishop "Dogstarz" (Oakland, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everyone Else (Amazon Instant Video)
Watched this because of good review but didn't find anything very compelling about it. There were no likable characters. It dragged on and you just wanted to stop having to watch these depressing people. Yuk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Everyone Else
Everyone Else by Maren Ade
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.