Everyone Has the Right to My Opinion and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$23.61
Qty:1
  • List Price: $34.95
  • Save: $11.34 (32%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 19 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Everyone Has the Right to... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Everyone Has the Right to My Opinion: Investor's Business Daily Pulitzer Prize-Winning Editorial Cartoonist Hardcover – October 6, 2008


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$23.61
$14.54 $7.80
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$347.35
$23.61 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 19 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Frequently Bought Together

Everyone Has the Right to My Opinion: Investor's Business Daily Pulitzer Prize-Winning Editorial Cartoonist + Best Editorial Cartoons 2013: 2013 Edition (Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year) + Best Editorial Cartoons 2014: 2014 Edition (Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year Series)
Price for all three: $46.90

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Wiley; 1 edition (October 6, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0470406771
  • ISBN-13: 978-0470406779
  • Product Dimensions: 8.6 x 11 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (38 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #391,157 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From the Inside Flap

An editorial cartoon is not just a funny picture, says two-time Pulitzer Prize winner Michael Ramirez. It is a powerful instrument of journalism, sometimes sharp and refined, its message cutting quickly to the point, and at other times, blunt and overpowering, seizing the readers' attention with its dark imagery.

In Everyone Has the Right to My Opinion, Michael Ramirez, the internationally known editorial cartoonist for Investor's Business Daily who has been making headlines and stirring up controversy since 1983, offers a comprehensive collection of his award-winning cartoons, accompanied by an introduction to the images highlighted throughout the book. Each cartoon shows that a picture is worth a thousand words and transforms the news of the day into eye-catching, provocative, and hilarious images that draw people into the democratic process.

In a world of textual information, Ramirez combines an encyclopedic knowledge of the news with a captivating drawing style to create consistently outstanding and highly incisive satirical cartoons. His commentary on everything from the economy and markets to politics and international affairs offers a unique perspective on today's issues, particularly during presidential election years. They take a humorously insightful look at the world around us, making readers laugh while informing them on the issues of our times.

Some of these cartoons may make you laugh. Some will make you cringe. But all of them will make you think. Throughout Everyone Has the Right to My Opinion, Ramirez's artistic skill, biting humor, and penetrating analysis shine through and shed light on what's really going on in our world today.

From the Back Cover

Praise for Everyone Has the Right to My Opinion

"Ramirez lances the Left with the best weapon of all. Humor. As Ronald Reagan said, 'Just laugh at them.' Mike is second only to me in showing how it's done."'
—Rush Limbaugh, radio host

"Michael Ramirez says more in one cartoon than most talking heads say in a full day. Plus, Ramirez is hilarious."
—Bill O'Reilly, anchor, Fox News Channel

"The quickest way to end all debate with liberals is to pull out a cartoon by Michael Ramirez. Michael has an uncanny ability to cut through all the spin and expose the truth in a single, often hilarious, picture."
—Sean Hannity, anchor, Fox News Channel

"In today's political environment where liberals hide behind the label of 'progressive' and moderates pose as 'conservatives,' Michael Ramirez strips them of their disguises. His powerful points of view are conveyed in an incomparable illustrative style. No other editorial cartoonist today can match the majesty and wit of Michael Ramirez's cartoons. With his razor-sharp eye and potent pen, Ramirez takes no prisoners. Liberals, bureaucrats, and imposters beware."
—Ann Coulter, six-time New York Times bestselling author

"As a columnist who works with words, I strongly reject the familiar axiom that a picture is worth a thousand words. Unless, of course, they are the marvelous pictures that Michael Ramirez draws. They are sometimes worth a thousand columns. And—this really is unfair—he gets to add his always well-chosen words to his pictures. See, for example, page 26, where a public school official lays down the law to a clergyman: 'You can't say prayers during graduation ceremonies. But if you print them on condoms, we would be happy to distribute them.' What fun."
—George F. Will, nationally syndicated columnist

"Editorial cartoonists are able to convey in a simple, yet vivid and powerful message what the columnist often needs 1,000 words to do. The best cartoons—funny or sobering and serious—are like an unexpected punch to the gut. The brilliance of a great editorial cartoon is its simplicity in carrying great substance. If editorial cartooning were baseball, Michael Ramirez would be Babe Ruth. If you like really cutting-edge political humor and want to laugh and cry at the foibles of America's political figures, this book is for you."
—Mike Huckabee, Governor of Arkansas, 1996–2007, GOP Presidential Candidate 2008

"I'm a longtime Investor's Business Daily reader, so I know and appreciate Michael's work firsthand. While some editorial cartoonists focus on the punch line and forget the point, Michael seamlessly mixes humor with hard-hitting journalism. His two Pulitzers are well deserved."
—Larry Kudlow, host, CNBC's Kudlow & Company


More About the Author

Michael Ramirez is a two-time winner of the prestigious Pulitzer Prize in 1994 and 2008 and a three-time Sigma Delta Chi, Society of Professional Journalism Award winner. He is a Senior Editor and the editorial cartoonist for Investor's Business Daily. Ramirez is a Lincoln Fellow, an honorary member of Pi Sigma Alpha National Political Science Honor Society, and has won almost every journalism award in addition to the prestigious UCI Medal from the University of California, Irvine and the 2005 National Journalism Award, the 2008 Fischetti Award and The H. L. Mencken Award and is the author of the new book, Everyone Has the Right to My Opinion.

"An editorial cartoon is not just a funny picture," says internationally known editorial cartoonist Michael Ramirez. "It is a powerful instrument of journalism, sometimes sharp and refined, its message cutting quickly to the point, and other times, blunt and overpowering, seizing the readers' attention with its dark imagery."

In a world of textual information, Ramirez combines an encyclopedic knowledge of the news with a captivating drawing style to create consistently outstanding and highly incisive satirical cartoons. His commentary on everything from the economy and markets to politics and international affairs offers a unique perspective on today's issues. They take a humorously insightful look at the world around us, making readers laugh while informing them on the issues of our times.

Some of his cartoons will make you laugh. Some of his cartoons will make you cry. But all of them will make you think. Ramirez's artistic skill, biting humor, and penetrating analysis shine through and shed light on what's really going on in the world today.

A regular contributor to USA Today and The Weekly Standard Magazine and formerly a regular guest on The News Hour with Jim Lehrer on PBS Television, Michael Ramirez's work is seen world-wide with a distribution of over four hundred newspapers and magazines through Creators Syndicate. He has been on CNN, CNN International, Fox News Sunday, BBC Television, BBC Radio, NPR, the Michael Reagan show and is a highly acclaimed international speaker. The former editorial cartoonist for the Los Angeles Times, his cartoons have been featured on CNN, Fox News, The Bill O'Reilly Show, and The Rush Limbaugh Show. His work can be seen in such publications as The New York Times, The Washington Post, The New York Post, Time Magazine, National Review and US News and World Report.

His work is featured daily in the pages of Investor's Business Daily on the Issues and Insights page and online at IBDeditorials.com/cartoons.

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
36
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
See all 38 customer reviews
Double Pulitzer Prize winning editorial cartoonist Michael Ramirez' book, "Everyone has the right to my opinion," is brilliant.
Chuck DeVore
The blatant, "in your face" honesty of his cartoons will make you think and laugh and the laughter is guaranteed to be heard by everyone around you!!!
B. Contreras
The detail of his work is outstanding, a master of his craft, which makes putting his illustrations together in a book a very worth-while venture.
G. Johnson

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

24 of 27 people found the following review helpful By Kramer S on January 15, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I enjoy Michael Ramirez cartoons; however the kindle edition of this book has the cartoons in black and white and the cartoons are low resoluion. Buy the hardcopy version instead.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful By Chuck DeVore on October 16, 2008
Format: Hardcover
Double Pulitzer Prize winning editorial cartoonist Michael Ramirez' book, "Everyone has the right to my opinion," is brilliant. With evocative images and the economy of words that characterize the best of political cartooning, no one's oversized ego, or undeserved reputation is safe. Ramirez artfully savages strongly-held, but unexamined ideas. His pen devastates and dismantles in mere seconds what the best of columnists take several minutes to destroy.

Ramirez is the rarest of gems: a highly talented artist, a creative genius, a courageous journalist and a principled and thinking conservative. "Everyone has the right to my opinion," represents the highest level of craft in an art that, if practiced correctly, can have a deep impact on the American body politic.

Thomas Nast, the father of the modern American editorial cartoon, would be proud.

Reviewer: Chuck DeVore is Vice President of Policy at the Texas Public Policy Foundation. He served in the California State Assemblyman from 2004 to 2010. Before his election, he was an executive in the aerospace industry. He was a Special Assistant for Foreign Affairs in the Department of Defense from 1986 to 1988. He is a lieutenant colonel in the U.S. Army (retired) Reserve. DeVore is the author of "The Texas Model: Prosperity in the Lone Star State and Lessons for America," the co-author of "China Attacks," and author of the novel "Twilight of the Rising Sun."
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Happy OC on October 13, 2008
Format: Hardcover
Pulitzer prize winning political cartoonist Mike Ramirez really delivers with his intellegent right-on-the mark message. What a great timeless book to buy all your family and friends to assist in their political education.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By D. Robertson on April 25, 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is a page turner and these political cartoons should be published in every paper. It is pure genius to succinctly make a political point with a cartoon and a few words. With shipping this book was less than $10 and in like new condition.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Duncan Dana Jones on February 27, 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
HIS COMBINATION OF WIT AND TALENT IS THE BEST WE HAVE IN THIS COUNTRY. THE BOOK IS BEAUTIFULLY PRINTED WITH MANY CARTOONS IN FULL COLOR. A GIFT ANY CONSERVATIVE WOULD TREASURE.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful By John N. Kurzet on October 19, 2008
Format: Hardcover
One of the best reads of a life time. Ramirez, you are so right on the money every time you put the pen to the paper, dont ever stop what you are doing. And keep bringing us your genius.
What an outstanding book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By D Crowder on July 14, 2014
Format: Hardcover
I enjoy Ramirez.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Jon Helberg on May 31, 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Gave this as a gift to a conservative relative and he loved it. I'm a cartoon guy from way back and log onto IBD Political Cartoons & Opinion almost daily to see what magic Ramirez has cooked up for the day. He's spot on most of the time.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews