Everyone Lies and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $26.99
  • Save: $7.28 (27%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by -Daily Deals-
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This Book is in Good Condition. Used Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Everyone Lies Hardcover – July 15, 2014


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$19.71
$4.93 $3.97

Best Books of the Year
See the Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books (July 15, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 125004572X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1250045720
  • Product Dimensions: 6.3 x 1.5 x 9.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,144,067 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

“A pulse pounding thriller, which weaves expertly between evil on the streets and the dark side of police department politics. . . . Simms and Fennimore are complex, compelling, and just plain marvelous.” —Jeffery Deaver

“This is thriller writing at its best: prose that's startling in its pace and clarity, characters who come to life immediately and the bonus of knowing that all the forensic details are entirely accurate.” —Ann Cleeves

“Awesome...What A. D. Garrett doesn't understand about forensic science and its applications isn't worth knowing. Ditto characterisation, plot and pace. A sterling debut.” —Mo Hayder

"Brilliantly melds a deep knowledge of forensic procedures with a riveting story. The subtle twists in Everyone Lies kept me guessing until the end. Fans of Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell are going to love this book!" D.J. McIntosh, Bestselling author of The Witch of Babylon.

"Outstanding . . . Garrett balances the intricacies of forensics with the cerebral instincts of crime investigation." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"The backstory between Fennimore and Simms is tantalizingly glossed over, adding tension to the story, as readers attempt to work out the tension between the characters. This gritty British thriller will appeal to fans of Ken Bruen and Val McDermid." —Booklist

About the Author

A. D. Garrett is the pseudonym for the writing collaboration of prize-winning thriller writer Margaret Murphy and forensic scientist Professor Dave Barclay. Margaret Murphy is the author of nine psychological thrillers. She lectures on writing and is a former Royal Literary Fund Writing Fellow. Professor Barclay is a world renowned forensics expert and senior lecturer in forensic science at Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen. Everyone Lies is their first collaboration.

More About the Author

A.D. Garrett is the pseudonym for the writing collaboration between award-winning novelist, Margaret Murphy, and forensic scientist, Professor Dave Barclay. Everyone Lies, published in the UK in 2013 to wide acclaim, was their first collaboration.

Margaret Murphy has published nine psychological thrillers under her own name, receiving starred reviews from Publishers' Weekly and Booklist in the USA, and high praise from The Times, TLS, and The Telegraph in the UK. Her debut was shortlisted for the First Blood critics' award, and she was nominated for the CWA Dagger in the Library. In 2012 she was joint winner of the CWA Short Story Dagger. A former Chair of the Crime Writers Association and founder of a roving band of writers named Murder Squad, she lectures on writing and is Royal Literary Fund Writing Fellow at The University of Chester.

Dave Barclay was a senior lecturer at Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen from 2006-2013 and is an Honorary Professor in the Dept of Chemistry at Hull University. A forensic adviser to the police forces and the media, he was Head of Physical Evidence at the UK National Crime and Operations Faculty for 10 years, where he undertook physical evidence reviews in 233 murders or murder series.

Website: www.adgarrett.com

Follow A.D. Garrett on Twitter: @adgarrett1

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Raven on August 15, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
It's always a tricky proposition I imagine to undertake a crime, or indeed any kind of fiction novel with a dual writing partnership. In other books I have read with two authors there is usually a very noticeable distinction between their two styles causing me to favour one over the other, or the book falls down as one has obviously taken control over a certain facet of the story. Everyone Lies neatly bucked the trend for me and I was incredibly impressed by this debut collaboration between Margaret Murphy and Professor Dave Barclay, with this winning combination of established crime author and forensic scientist proving itself to be an altogether better combination than simply relying on meshing the talents of two authors.

Everyone Lies carefully combines the premise of a female police officer, DI Kate Simms, seeking to re-establish her formerly successful career derailed by one investigation, causing her to take a transfer to Manchester, and her complicated but necessary professional and personal relationship with forensics expert Professor Nick Fennimore. Add into the mix an intriguing investigation into a cluster of suspicious drug deaths, with all the attendant forensic detail and the narrow and small minded politics of the police department and this thriller more than proves its worth. The plot was well paced and compelling with enough surprises along the way to keep the reader hooked and all in all a well-judged depiction of the insidious nature of the drugs trade and its consequent victims.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Shelleyrae TOP 500 REVIEWER on February 19, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
The first in a series introducing DI Kate Simms and forensic lecturer, Professor Nick Fennimore, Everyone Lies is a collaboration between award winning author Margaret Murphy and renowned forensics expert Professor Dave Barclay.

After a professional misstep, Kate has worked hard to regain her footing in the force but when she is allocated to investigate a cluster of drug deaths in Manchester, she suspects it indicates a larger problem. Stonewalled by her colleagues, Kate turns to Nick Fennimore, once a respected crime analyst, for help, risking her career to expose a conspiracy of drug trafficking, corruption and murder.

There is a history between Kate and Nick that is slowly divulged over the course of the novel. Their relationship is a muddle of professional respect and mutual attraction complicated by guilt, resentment and shame, creating an interesting, layered dynamic. Nick is reluctant to become involved in Kate’s case, but unable to resist her plea for help, as he feels responsible for her demotion. Kate doesn’t want to put Nick in a difficult position but her passion for justice demands she does whatever is necessary.

In essence the plot doesn’t offer anything new within the genre but it held my interest without effort. I particularly enjoyed the forensic focus of the investigation, which should appeal to CSI fans. I liked that Simms and Fennimore have to work hard for every lead, constrained by uncooperative criminals and colleagues, police budgets and politics.

Everyone Lies is a gritty police procedural and a promising start to an interesting new series.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Ken C. on September 4, 2014
Format: Hardcover
I am half-way through this novel and contemplating cutting my losses. In order to like it, you have to like the characters. We have Professor Nick Fennimore, whose personality defects prevent liking him much, and then there is Detective Chief Inspector Kate Simms. Why she needs 3 titles escapes me, but in order to like her you generally have to condone her child neglect and absolute disdain for family life. The reason page 202 stops me is because the two are going through the basics of DNA testing. Spare me. The average reader could not care less about the details. And that's part of the problem with this novel. It's too technical. One just goes bonkers with boredom as they painstakingly add little facets of evidence to the case. The author(s) try to add suspense by suggesting that Kate is being followed, that her office politics are of interest, or that her sex life might include Fennimore. Yawn for days. I have over 200 pages left if I want to finish this novel, and I'll bet you can guess if I will.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By D.J. McIntosh on August 14, 2014
Format: Hardcover
Great Read! I delved into this one as I'd previously read Margaret Murphy's superb crime novels. I wondered though whether her smooth writing and interesting subject matter would flow through as this one was actually co-authored. Glad to say it was every bit as good. I was especially impressed by the Patricia Cornwall like adherence to accuracy in the forensic details. The unpredictable relationship between the protagonists, Kate and Nick, kept me absorbed. And of course, the main element I look forward to in crime novels - the suspense - kept me reading. Highly recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again