Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Love a Hero Too
Cole is a womanizing air plane pilot who experiences honest to god love at first sight in an airport gift shop. After he is knocked out with a punch to the face while defending the gift shop clerk from a rude customer, Cole looks up from the floor to see Olivia's face and he knows he is in love. When Olivia touches the face of Captain Icredible, the hero pilot who saved...
Published on January 25, 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing let down
Yikes. Wow, this was a disappointment. How to count the ways?! I really wanted to love this one, but that didn't happen. In short, this read like a bad B-grade TV movie. You know the type. It always starts with an entertaining idea, then the producers butcher it into something so lackluster and choppy you wonder why you sat through it.

Everyone Loves a Hero is...
Published on April 14, 2011 by Karlyn


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Love a Hero Too, January 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Cole is a womanizing air plane pilot who experiences honest to god love at first sight in an airport gift shop. After he is knocked out with a punch to the face while defending the gift shop clerk from a rude customer, Cole looks up from the floor to see Olivia's face and he knows he is in love. When Olivia touches the face of Captain Icredible, the hero pilot who saved the lives of a plane full of people by landing them safely in the middle of a blizzard, she knows she is in love.

Cole and Olivia begin an intense and loving long distance relationship which is tested time and time again. Women are constantly throwing themselves at Cole, who is viewed as a true American Hero. Olivia tries and tries to overcome her insecurities and accept that Cole truly loves her and only her. Given Olivia's history with men and Cole's tom cat ways prior to falling for Olivia they both struggle with accepting eachother as they are and progressing their long distance relationship.

Everyone Loves a Hero is a great "love at first sight" novel. I recently read Love at First Flight by Marie Force and was kind of put off by it. I decided to give this book a try and was happily surprised. Cole and Olivia are wonderful characters who experience all the self doubt and insecurities real people do. The plot and story flow was really good and I enjoyed the world building that Marie Force provides.

Where I was a bit disappointed was I felt all though Ms. Force has a gift for writing steamy love scenes, they were in too much abundance. There were pages and pages of Cole and Olivia getting it on and in my opinion it took a bit of the sweetness of their love story away. I also was a little let down with the ultimate conflict or climax in the story. It was kind of quick and predictable.

Overall I really did like Marie Force's new book and I look forward to more from her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing let down, April 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everyone Loves a Hero (Kindle Edition)
Yikes. Wow, this was a disappointment. How to count the ways?! I really wanted to love this one, but that didn't happen. In short, this read like a bad B-grade TV movie. You know the type. It always starts with an entertaining idea, then the producers butcher it into something so lackluster and choppy you wonder why you sat through it.

Everyone Loves a Hero is a story of two people who fall madly in love at first sight, and the trials and tribulations that happen when said couple move waaaaaaaaaay too fast into a seriously committed and long distance relationship. And while it started with much potential and had some great one-liners, it quickly sank as the relationship went into nauseating overdrive and the romance turned into a dysfunctional relationship.

Cole is the famous Captain Incredible from Chicago, a co-pilot who landed a jet airliner in a blizzard while saving the pilot from a heart attack. He has met the President, made the cover of People magazine...etc. Moreover, he is an uber handsome chick-magnet that has no noticeable flaws. Seriously, he's borderline perfect in every way. ( I think he may have been the inspiration for those `Porn for Women' calendars that were so popular a few years ago.)

He meets Olivia at the airport when he tries to stop an unruly customer from verbally assaulting her at her store. He gets knocked out cold, then minutes later wakes to Olivia's beautiful face, sparks flying, and little blue birds flying around her head. (OK, not really. No blue birds. I made that part up. But yes to the sparks.)

Olivia is a beautiful and highly insecure neurotic 27 y/o business student, she works part time at the Washington DC airport, and lives with Mom and Dad. And you guessed it, she is also a virgin. But it gets better. She is also an uber talented artist, but only her dad and a cousin know about her brilliant skill with pencil and paint.

When Cole and Olivia reunite weeks later (he was wheeled away in a stretcher so he didn't get her number, but he thought about her constantly), he finds her sketching passengers in the airport lobby and convinces her she is wasting her time in business school. They make a first date that sets their relationship into serious overdrive, and unleashes all of Olivia's pent up insecurities and neuroses.

Why is she so insecure you ask? Cole is hit on everywhere he goes. Women rudely dismiss Olivia, throw their phone number at him, and make suggestive sexual comments. He is always the gentleman and dismisses these ladies, but it gnaws on Olivia.

At times the relationship between Cole and Olivia was entertaining, and there were some great one liners between them and even a few hot sex scenes. But I never understood how he could fall for her. She was neurotic, needy and whiny. Her `woe-is-me' bit got old FAST. In real life, these two would likely burn out the relationship in only a few weeks when reality checks in and replaces all those fantasy illusions they have of each other.

The sex scenes come every other chapter, on average. Some scenes felt mechanical, but others were hot as shy Olivia becomes quite the aggressor in their bed play. (This was another oddity to the story. But I get it. Sex sells.)

The rest of this book can essentially be summed up with the rinse and repeat cycle of: "I love you!" gushing, followed by the "I don't trust you, how can I compete with the women and your fame!" angst, ending with the apologetic "the last thing in the world I want to do is hurt you". Then the cycle repeats again with more "I love you" gushing. Over and over.

Seriously, most of their conversations are either him trying to convince her to trust him, or just gooey-smoochy lover talk. We also get a crazy ex-girlfriend who messes with Olivia (now that was funny!), and an eye-rolling trip to San Francisco where Olivia's artistic dreams come true.

I had high hopes as many of my reading friends honestly enjoyed (if not loved) this book. I have also read great things about this author, so I was excited to read a book by her. This book did not work for me on many levels, but I will read the author again one day. Pinky swear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A contemporary romance that I loved to read, February 1, 2011
By 
Cole Langston is a hero even though he doesn't want to be. Landing an airliner after his pilot had an attack was just something he had to do. Sure it doesn't hurt that women look at him adoringly wherever he goes (even more than before) but the co-pilot is ready to go back to a normal life.
When he meets shy Olivia it's clear to him that she is the one. However Olivia isn't so easy to convince that a normal woman like herself is really right for a man like Cole who's life is so different from her own. Will Olivia give Cole a chance or will she be too intimitated by his fame and the women from his past?

Right from their first meeting on I loved reading about Cole and Olivia. Their relationship started in a beautiful way and still I could understand Olivia's doubts. Because lets face it, when you are a normal, shy woman you don't expect a gorgeous, sexy and famous man to fall in love with you at first sight. I don't think that this has to do with a lack of self-confidence it's just a realistic way to look at life.
Cole was a wonderful hero. The way he cared about Olivia and especially her happiness was beautiful. He helped her to become more self-confident and to find a career she loves because her happiness was everything for him. I also enjoyed that other women stopped to be important once he met Olivia. Don't get me wrong, Cole definitely wasn't a saint but once he chose to commit to Olivia past relationships became unimportant.
I also loved reading about Olivia. Because of the experiences she made in the past I could understand why she sometimes chose to mistrust Cole. If I had to meet three different women from my boyfriends past (all beautiful and still interested in him) I would also have to work hard to not doubt myself and the relationship. Still I was at times a bit frustrated with Olivia and how she handled the issues between her and Cole but it fit to her personality and like I said I could understand the reasons behind her behaviour.
I enjoyed the way Marie Force showed that sometimes you have to work hard to move from love at first sight to a relationship full of trust.
The authors writing style was very engaging and always kept me interested in reading on. Once I started the book I just had to continue until Cole and Olivia got their HEA.

cover
A bit too flashy for my taste but it fits to the story and the guy is sexy :)

final appraisal
Everyone loves a hero is book that I loved reading. Both main characters were likable and fascinating. I enjoyed that their love story was complex and that the characters and their issues felt real to me. Cole is a hero I loved reading about because the way he cared about Olivia's happiness was just beautiful. I also loved that Olivia grew more and more self-confident throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cole- What a Stud!, February 21, 2011
I really needed this! A feel good, love at first sight, true sweet romance and that is what Everyone Loves a Hero was for me. It was a 4 1/2 stars read that I couldn't put down- I loved the Rock Star cover too. Cole was a complete stud, he had the midas touch on everything from landing doomed planes to saving damsels in distress and I totally bought the "love at first sight" between him and Olivia. Lots of times this theme is a hard sell, but Marie Force made it easy to believe. Olivia was a little annoying with all of the trust issues she had about Cole and his many previous women, but since they fell so hard so fast and with his past track record I could see why she questioned his commitment. Olivia's past, from her inexperience with men, 2 brief and bad relationships, and the mental issues of her mother, made Olivia vulnerable and insecure. I wanted to smack her in the head and say get over it, but it was very real to her and you can see it happening this way in real life. I liked that about this story the hero and heroine had real problems some minor and some major like holding together a long distance relationship, family problems, money problems, changing college majors, and figuring out what you want in life. The sexual chemistry was hot and there was lots of it, some detailed and long and some quick and imaginative. Cole was the bomb though and gets my vote for best boyfriend ever, he gave Olivia so many unbelievable firsts and wonderful dates, he fit his nickname of Captain Incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you want a hero too....., February 7, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everyone Loves a Hero (Kindle Edition)
I am a huge Marie Force fan and this book did not disappoint! The book kept you captivated into this love story from beginning to end. I finished reading this in a few sittings! Book was well written, characters were well developed and you really knew what was going on in the minds of the main characters; their inner thoughts. Story is about Cole, who has become a national hero, by landing a plane in the middle of a blizzard and saving the pilot who collapsed from a heart attack. He finds himself famous and women throwing themselves at him everywhere. That actually worked for him, since he wasn't looking for anything serious or long term; he was known as "love-them n leave-them Langston". One day, waiting in line at a newstand in the airport, he gets punched in the face trying to defend a girl who worked there. From the moment he first saw her and felt her touch, Cole knew Olivia was someone special. No one has ever done what Cole did for Olivia, she was grateful and concerned for him. They don't see each other after the incident, but Cole returns to look for her later. He asks her out and they start getting to know each other. They both fall in love hard and fast; it was love at first sight, but there were so many obstacles in their relationship.

It was heartwarming to see their relationship grow and see them struggle with issues regular people deal with: long distance relationship, trust, communication, backgrounds, life stages, family, insecurities, etc. Marie gives us a wonderful view of their relationship, how they fall more in love each day and how they go through their ups and downs as a couple. Will they make their relationship work? Will they be able to overcome the mountain of obstacles they seem to come accross all the time? Can Cole simply love one woman or will he want more? Will Olivia be good enough for him?

Wonderfully told love story, full of heart tugging and gut wrenching moments, humor and steamy scenes! I loved the little reference to another of Marie's wonderful books Love at First Flight and her references to SF my hometown! :) I will never hesitate to read anything from Marie Force. You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An author I'll look for again, March 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed this book, and was able to read it relatively quickly. It had a lot more emotional depth than I expected. I prefer funny and light-hearted reading, but this was well-written and engaging. I liked that both main characters were flawed, making them seem more real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute, February 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everyone Loves a Hero (Kindle Edition)
Cute story , I enjoyed this book from page 1 to the end.
The characters are interesting , the story flow nice and the interaction between the two protagonist is sweet. Maybe it was a little too much sex gymnastic but it didn't bother me too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Read, January 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I won't describe the plot again as the previous reviewer did, but I enjoyed this book very much. I personally liked Love at First Flight better, this one was great and worth the read, but the H for some reason bothered me a little and that's just my own personal opinion.

Possible Spoilers.........

I didn't like the way he was a womanizer, where it seemed he had a different woman in each city he flew to. He supposedly loved the h at first sight and when he finally meets her and they start to date he gets on his cell phone and calls all of his "lovers" in other cities to break it off with them while h is in the bathroom of there hotel room. He does feel bad that he didn't think to do this before he slept with the h but it bothered me that he had all these other women at the same time. He also kept things from the h that he should have told her about right away, these things made him seem sneaky to me, like he had something to hide (which he did obviously) and the h could sense this.

The h Olivia was great I loved her and couldn't blame her for her insecurities. Who could really with her past and with her finding out little by little as there relationship moves on that he was a womanizer and supposedly she is suppose to feel all secure that she's "the one" and he's not interested in anyone but her in such a short amount of time(tough pill for anyone to swallow imo). Even his best friend and the other pilot he flies with tease him and niether belive that he found "the one" that will make him become a one-woman man and stop seeing all of his ow. He doesn't like to hear this about himself but he knows it's true (the womanizing) but gets angry with the h when she doesn't give him blind trust. He does stay true to her and there is no cheating.

I gave the book 4 stars for this reason, I didn't like the H being with soo many different women and we as readers are suppose to belive that along with the h that he will not get bored with her or all of a sudden change his ways in a few days.

Don't get me wrong, I did really enjoy the book and read it in one sitting. The love the H and h have especially the h is very obvious and they are very good to each other, he does wonderful things for her throughout the book and it's obvious he loves her very much, it was just this leap of faith he expected her to take with his past it would have been more beliveable if he hadn't had all these women.

I love Marie Force as an author and love all of her books, and highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome! Another great book by Marie Force!!, February 4, 2011
This review is from: Everyone Loves a Hero (Kindle Edition)
I'm new to reading Marie Force's books, but once again this is a great story!! Read it in less than 1 day since I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible Writing, Awful Characters, March 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everyone Loves a Hero (Kindle Edition)
This book was so awful that I couldn't even get through it. I deleted it from my Kindle. The plot was ridiculous. From first meeting to "I love you" in no time at all. And the female lead character was so weepy and needy and insecure that I wanted to hit her. The plot repeated the same scenario over and over. Couple gets together, couple having fun, another woman hits on incredibly awesome man, lead female pouts because she can't possibly compete, man says "I love you, I love you" and then all is well. Maybe it gets better, but at the 50% point, I deleted it from my Kindle. I just couldn't take any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Everyone Loves a Hero
Everyone Loves a Hero by Marie Force
$5.38
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.