Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Everything Is Going to Kill Everybody: The Terrifyingly Real Ways the World Wants You Dead
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 19, 2010
"Everything Is Going to Kill Everybody" is a great book because it will make you laugh all the way to your concrete-reinforced compound in the middle of nowhere, where you'll relax and wait for the inevitable destruction of all life.

OK, maybe that's a little much, but it is pretty damn funny. Brockway has done his research, and while he may always pick the absolute worst-case scenario, his research is rock-solid and his jokes about it are hilarious. My personal favorite remains "green goo", with the killer sea lions and robotic panthers. The art is also as funny as hell, whether it's a volcano slinking out of a phone booth or the Earth cursing when faced with an asteroid.

Definitely check this book out; it's one of the funnier books of its type.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2010
Robert Brockway's "Everything Is Going To Kill Everybody" is really an astounding book. It filled me with fright, terror, and it dropped my faith in humanity by a few percentage points. You might think this sounds like a dreadful book, right? Not at all. Brockway's whip-smart sense of humor made all of the horrifying end of the world talk so easy to digest that I was actually a bit sad when the book ended. I wanted to hear more about all of the varied and horrible ways we're all going to die. Somehow, Brockway took a morbid, depressing topic and turned it in to something that made me laugh out loud on multiple occasions.

If you like laughing in the face of death itself, READ THIS BOOK.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2011
This book is a hilarious addition to just about any collection. The essays are timely, interesting, at least a little educational, but most importantly, funny as all hell. The tone of the book coupled with what are obviously very carefully chosen words, peppered with amusing animations, made this one stand out among all the satirical comedy books I've had the pleasure of reading.

This book takes macabre subject matter (it is about the apocalypse, after all) and makes you laugh aloud at it. They say laughter is the best medicine, and after reading this, I'm almost looking forward to the end of days.

Almost.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2014
This book is the bible for those who feel that the end of the world is just around the corner. It is also great for conspiracy people and generally those who make an art out of complaining. Hilarious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2010
This book is as terrifying as it is funny. The parts that don't have you crapping your pants from sheer terror will have you pissing your pants from laughing so hard. Robert Brockway does an excellent job of dashing all your hopes and dreams of a long and happy life in the most hilarious way possible. A definite must read for people who, like me, enjoy filling their mind with random strange facts about the world we live in, even though it is apparently trying to kill each and every one of us.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2010
Everyone dies. You can either die by one of the hilariously horrific methods (listed, categorically, in this book), or by laughing (merely by purchasing and reading this book). Seriously, who would have thought that a book about the end of the world as we know it could possibly so awesome as to save the species? A great read for anyone who finds well-written humor to be hilarious.

(Quick warning: by the time you finish, that one R.E.M. song will be stuck in your head indefinitely. Might as well have that on hand, you're gonna need it)
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2010
As someone who was never afraid of the whole world just up and killing me (and everyone else), after reading this book I now have Robert Brockway to thank for my recent lifestyle changes: namely, crouched in a hastily made bunker in my backyard, surrounded by organic food, and absolutely NO ROBOTS. The worst part is that I'm still laughing. Brockway has somehow managed to write a book that has made me piss my pants from both laughter and terror.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2010
Robert Brockway has been tickling my internet sides for over a year as a staff columnist on Cracked. Now all of my bibliophilic dreams come true when he writes a book about the horrific ways we, nature, and the government are going to kill us all. EIGTKE:TTRWTWWYD is a long hard (dick joke) look at the results of our evil human machinations.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2010
Well-researched and brilliantly funny, Mr. Brockway displays a keen eye for finding the hilarious in the chilling. If you've ever felt that the world is not out to get you, 'Everything is Going to Kill Everybody' is the ultimate antidote. It may drag you back down to Earth, but at least you'll enjoy the trip.

I give it six thumbs up.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2010
I recieved this book 5 days ago, and finished it 2 days ago. I have to say that this book is without a doubt, one of the most entertaining pieces of literature I ever owned. You can still clearly see Robert's writing style reflecting that of his articles on [...] (List-making manchilds), and you'll love every page of it.
As stated, this book containts only facts and theories based on those facts, yet Brockway delivers it in such a style that you'll laugh out loud quite a few times. This can be comfirmed by quite a number of people on the train to Brussels when I was reading it for the first time.

Even though the book is filled with doomsday scenarios that will leave you crapping your pants with both fear and excitement (it's hard to tell the difference), the laundry bill afterwards is more than worth the hours you'll spend enjoying this book.

Here's just a few items you might try to get your hands onto before reading:
-A box of tissues
-A towel
-8 sets of fresh underwear
-Plastic covering for the furniture
-A few men who'll stop you from flinging your own body out of the window because you won't see the point of living anymore when the human race could end any second anyway.

If you like a laugh, a good read, a few dick jokes and an amazingly well tought-out book, don't hesitate to pick this one up.
Much like other cracked staff member David Wong (John Dies At The End), Zombie expert Max Brooks (Zombie Survival Guide, World War Z), Manly-as-hell man Maddox (The Alphabet of Manliness), and many others, Robert Brockway proves himself to be a genius at writing and humour.
Pick up a second copy as well, just in case Russia still has a "Send-Nuke button" and your first copy doesn't survive the blast.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse