Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars money always affects the ratings
This set gets 5 stars for the price tag. However, its got a lot going for it in other ways too. Great packaging, great bands, expansive variety, solid tunes. One draw back: this is not a 10 year retrospective. Its a compilation to promote the latest recordings of the label. But that's OK. Music is a product that is sold shamelessly so bite the hook and enjoy some...
Published on September 27, 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good sampler to remind you why you love or hate this label
I picked this up to remind myself what all these Matador bands sounded like. A lot of my friends were fans of this label, buying anything they released, so I was exposed to Pavement, Guided By Voices, Cornelius and others on many a road trip or while hanging out and drinking beers. Good times.

Matador offers a diverse mix of bands to choose from, the price of...
Published on May 3, 2009 by Dan Mozgai


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars money always affects the ratings, September 27, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Everything Is Nice Matador Records (Audio CD)
This set gets 5 stars for the price tag. However, its got a lot going for it in other ways too. Great packaging, great bands, expansive variety, solid tunes. One draw back: this is not a 10 year retrospective. Its a compilation to promote the latest recordings of the label. But that's OK. Music is a product that is sold shamelessly so bite the hook and enjoy some good music. Consolation prize for Matador fans: the 3rd CD offers unreleased cuts from various Matador darlings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AHHmazing, December 14, 1999
By 
losingsoul (south carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Everything Is Nice Matador Records (Audio CD)
What a deal! 3 Cd's for 9.99 where I got it.. and the music is incredibly well chosen..Pavement (of course)..Cornelius and Pizzicato Five both contribute songs that teach you how to count and freak out at the same time..Mogwai's epic "Christmas Steps"..10 minutes of looking out the window trying to decide if you should off yourself or not to some truly beautiful guitar work..Arab Strap's "Here We Go" tells you where your relationship is going bluntly, spooky drum machine barely spoken/sung vocals, more beautiful guitar work..Guided By Voices in pristine pop form (as always)..The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion flippin' out like a pancake..cool psycho drama from Red Snapper,Nightmares on Wax and Solex..and finally, the glorious "RoyGBiv" from Boards of Canada, two and a half minutes of uplifting instrumental beauty that I've listened to about 15 times since yesterday when I bought this.It's worth your time and can't be ignored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best indie pop in one little package, July 12, 2000
By 
J. Rossi (Downers Grove, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything Is Nice Matador Records (Audio CD)
Not all of the bands included in this box set are great, but as a sampler/retrospective it works. I applaud Matador for doing something like this for the fans, when it would have been 10 times easier not to do anything at all. Even if you don't like Cat Power that much or think Mogwai are self-indulgent, it doesn't matter. You get Guitar Wolf, Modest Mouse, Bardo Pond, JSBX, Cornelius and (seemingly) hundreds of others. You can't go wrong, especially when you stop to consider that if a major label had done this it would cost you about $40. Buy it. Enjoy it. Be happy. After all, Everything is Nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Inexpensive Sampler of a Wide Variety of Music, February 17, 2000
By 
Craig Larson (Maple Grove, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything Is Nice Matador Records (Audio CD)
As in the other reviews, I'll say that one of the things which attracted me was the incredibly low price. You get 3 brand new CDs for almost the price of one used. And the variety of styles and groups represented is another plus--I've read about a lot of these groups in the pages of _Alternative Press_ and _CMJ_, but this is the first time I've had a chance to hear them. There's hiphop and techno and guitar-based rock. You can't beat a deal like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Everything" really IS nice, April 16, 2005
This review is from: Everything Is Nice Matador Records (Audio CD)
I owe a debt to Matador Records' "Everything Is Nice" compilation,. It was through these three discs that I was originally introduced to many of my now-favorite bands, including Solex, Nightmares on Wax, Pizzicato Five, Pavement, Yo La Tengo, and many others.

But enough of reminiscing. "Everything Is Nice" was a tenth anniversary collection of many of their best bands, originally released in 1999. (They've since released a fifteenth anniversary collection. Only four more years til we get a twentieth). It's not only a good cross-section of the best and most timeless work here, but also a fun listen, and a good introduction to some good music.

Several indie-rock staples were signed onto Matador over the years, and they are given places of honor: the gone-but-never-forgotten Pavement, excellent Guided by Voices and Modest Mouse, as well as other outstanding bands like Mogwai, Cat Power, Sleator-Kinney and Yo La Tengo. Often these bands get more than one song.

But Matador also gives the spotlight to lesser known bands and artists. For example, the ultra-creative Cornelius and Japanese pop band Pizzicato Five, the swipping beats of Jega, fuzzed-out chords of Bardo Pond, and chilled-out grooves of Nightmares on Wax. There's also the quirkiness of Solex, electronic tsunami of VOID, sped-up hip-hop of the Arsonists and Non Phixion, the mellow keyboard of Mary Timony, and the danceable beats of Khan.

Okay, sprinkled here and there are a few duds. I have to admit that Chavez is not my favorite -- I can only take a few explosive chords at a time, unless Billy Corgan is playing them. However, those few songs are overshadowed by the excellent -- sometimes ingenious -- music that surrounds them on all sides. Pop, electronica, rock, hard-rock, experimental -- it's all here.

While Matador plays it safe to some degree, with a little of everything (as well as their best bands) that has been most popular for them, they also include some less conventional songs, such as Cornelius's dizzying "Count Five or Six," or the grimy, bare rock of Unwound's "NO TECH!" Neither is really pretty or catchy, but they are definitely compelling.

I'll admit it -- I have a soft spot for this tenth-anniversary collection, since it kicked me into my present love of music. And for those investigating the best bands never (or at least rarely) seen on MTV, this is an ideal springboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great sampler for a great price.....everything is nice..., September 19, 2000
By 
Pedro A. Urias "tallman1962" (Phoenix, Az United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything Is Nice Matador Records (Audio CD)
Three CD's with some of the most interesting bands from the last decade....Pavement, of course, JSBE, Mogwai ("X-Mas Steps" great track that...try listening to this when it's raining...), Chavez, Guided by Voices, Yo La Tengo, Sleater-Kinney(who are on Matador in Europe...)and more. But it's the ones who maybe have not exploded over in these states yet that are surprising...namely, Unwound (okay, yes, so maybe they are now making a name for themselves...with a dangerously weird track with growled wordless vocals), Cat Power (both tracks awesomely sparse and haunting...), Solex (Dutch version of Pizzicato 5 maybe?), Bardo Pond (weaving and crunching guitars in a sea of noise...brilliant and groovy...)and of course, the goofy and genius Lynnfield Pioneers (shades of 60's meltdown, funk and god knows what else...). Get it-- it's cheap and it's genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Matador does another one, August 7, 2002
This review is from: Everything Is Nice Matador Records (Audio CD)
As a follow up to the first Everything is Nice - this newest of Matador compilations features some pleasant new music to enjoy. Running the spectrum from Pavement with two quite nice songs (including an alternate version of Grounded which is, in many ways, better than the original) to the always pleasing Boards of Canada hit Roygbiv and the flash in the pan Burger/Ink - there is almost certainly something for everyone here. And with three discs for under twenty dollars, it's hard to go wrong with this purchase. I could have done without some of the Arab Strap and Bardo Pond songs - but once again, something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good sampler to remind you why you love or hate this label, May 3, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I picked this up to remind myself what all these Matador bands sounded like. A lot of my friends were fans of this label, buying anything they released, so I was exposed to Pavement, Guided By Voices, Cornelius and others on many a road trip or while hanging out and drinking beers. Good times.

Matador offers a diverse mix of bands to choose from, the price of this 3 disc set is relatively cheap, so you'll likely find something to like or love. It's a good introduction to a great label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Matador Comp #2, November 29, 2005
By 
This review is from: Everything Is Nice Matador Records (Audio CD)
The second of Matador's compilations features 2 CDs of old material and 1 CD of previously unreleased songs from great artists like Pavement, Cat Power, Chavez, Modest Mouse, Mogwai, Yo La Tengo, Sleater Kinney, Guided by Voices and Boards of Canada. The best two new songs from Disc 3 made it onto subsequent Pavement and Cat Power releases, respectively. All three of the Matador comps are packed with dozens of good songs at a single CD price and strongly recommended for new fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great compilation, a great jumping point, February 24, 2000
This review is from: Everything Is Nice Matador Records (Audio CD)
This is a great starter album. I had heard of about a third of the artists on here, but now I'm very interested in hearing more of some of the more obscure ones.
(I'd also like to add that, as a dancer, this is a great set to put on and improv with for a few hours)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Everything Is Nice Matador Records
Everything Is Nice Matador Records by Everything Is Nice-Matador (Audio CD - 1999)
Click for more info
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.