Customer Reviews


290 Reviews
5 star:
 (199)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


452 of 456 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to have fun...(and learn, too)
This is a great book, chock-a-block w/ very accessible experiments. One of the best features is the way the experiments are grouped together: a 'theme' (say, Acids, in the Chemistry section) will have a group of experiments of varying degrees of complexity that together add up to a pretty good understanding of the concept. Also, most of the materials are readily at...
Published on March 9, 2002 by Reader

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be a little more interesting
It is definitely for the little ones, but my daughter is in the third grade and we wanted some projects that were a little nmore complicated. Most of the projects didn't require much thinking or experimenting. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone over eight years old.
Published 19 months ago by Bena


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

452 of 456 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to have fun...(and learn, too), March 9, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Kids' Science Experiments Book: Boil Ice, Float Water, Measure Gravity-Challenge the World Around You! (Paperback)
This is a great book, chock-a-block w/ very accessible experiments. One of the best features is the way the experiments are grouped together: a 'theme' (say, Acids, in the Chemistry section) will have a group of experiments of varying degrees of complexity that together add up to a pretty good understanding of the concept. Also, most of the materials are readily at hand- for many of them we really did already have everything in the house. This is esp. gratifying for the kids, who of course want to do the experiment *right now*. I would imagine that home-schooling families would enjoy this, but our school-going kids enjoy doing these experiments after school & on weekends.
p.s., one of the easiest experiments is also a real showstopper, though it takes a couple of days to complete: dissolving the eggshell of an egg, leaving the egg inside intact!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


191 of 196 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science fun for kids of all ages!, October 21, 2001
This review is from: The Everything Kids' Science Experiments Book: Boil Ice, Float Water, Measure Gravity-Challenge the World Around You! (Paperback)
Wow, what a great book! My kids love it. It is set up as a series of activities that begin with a question followed by an experiment that answers the question. Questions such as "How do you peel a raw egg?", "Does air take up space?" and "Why can't I taste medicine when I plug my nose?" are all examples of questions posed in the book. The fun is in the experiment that answers the question. I think I counted something like 30 different experiments from 5 main science areas (biology, chemistry, physics, planet earth, and the human body). Following each area is a "science fair project" for the kids to use at the next science fair at school! What a great resource it will be for our family in the years to come. All in all a great book at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


134 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, fun, fun!!!, August 28, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Kids' Science Experiments Book: Boil Ice, Float Water, Measure Gravity-Challenge the World Around You! (Paperback)
I have a just turned 5 year old that LOVES science and experiments. Although this book I believe was recommended for older children, there are plenty of experiments that I can do with him at his age and get immediate results. Since there are experiments that are targeted for older children, this is one of the rare books that we'll be able to use for several years down the road. I love it so much it's going to be one of my staples in gift giving - it's easy & fun enough for those even not interested in 'science'.

UPDATE:
It's now been 2 years later and we STILL love this book and now his younger brother (4) enjoys this as well. It's always been a big hit with kids and parents alike when we give it as a gift...GREAT combined with a kids beginning science kit or plastic test tubes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


171 of 190 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource for Parents!, November 28, 2001
This review is from: The Everything Kids' Science Experiments Book: Boil Ice, Float Water, Measure Gravity-Challenge the World Around You! (Paperback)
I wish I had this book 15 years ago as we spent time at home playing "Mad Scientist" with our young children. Our kids are now all teenagers and have enjoyed exploring Robinson's book.
Children LOVE to experiment with their world. "The Everything Kids' Science Experiments Book" offers parents and kids alike a wide array of adventures in science including: Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Earth Science, and the Human Body. This book is oriented to kids ages 7-12 but offers information and exploration for budding scientists of all ages. I appreciate this book's easy entrance into the world of science and the three levels of experiments for each area of science: 1)Simple Home Experiments; 2)More Detailed "Kid's Lab Lessons"; 3)Science Fair Projects. The art layout (including multi-color printing, fun-graphics, puzzles, and side-bars), the splashy presentation of information (including fun facts, words to know, dumb-jokes, online science websites and cool quotes) and a complete index make this book an excellent resource for parents, homeschoolers and science teachers. For two other parenting resources, look into "The Family Cloister" and "The Christian Family Toolbox", both by David Robinson (...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!!!!!, August 16, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Kids' Science Experiments Book: Boil Ice, Float Water, Measure Gravity-Challenge the World Around You! (Paperback)
2 things - 1) you have to do the dissolving egg experiment... it's fabulous!! 2) pay attention to the age range - my nephew (the intended recipient) loves science (okay, exploding things...) just turned seven and he is definitely too young for the detailed explanations. He didn't like the delayed gratification but he did get a kick out of the results the following week... for the younger kids you might want to do the experiments yourself and then once you have results let them get excited about it... the bouncing egg... after accepting that it didn't happen just then!! ... was a huge hit the next week. This really is just an AWESOME book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kidz Love Science, June 26, 2006
This review is from: The Everything Kids' Science Experiments Book: Boil Ice, Float Water, Measure Gravity-Challenge the World Around You! (Paperback)
I bought this book for my son, and liked it so much that I bought 10 copies to give to each child at my son's birthday party. He wanted a science party so this was the perfect take-home gift for the kids. Beats a goody bag full of candy and plastic toys... but I don't want to digress on how I hate goody bags at birthday parties! The experiments here are interesting and easy to set up. And, the puzzles and games on the side make it something the kids can pick up and read on their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down to Earth Science, February 2, 2006
By 
10eapolis "Cyd" (Charles City, IA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Kids' Science Experiments Book: Boil Ice, Float Water, Measure Gravity-Challenge the World Around You! (Paperback)
This book provides down-to-earth science using common everyday items that you have in your home to conduct experiments with. My grandchildren were able to have fun during the experiment itself and to come up with simple answers when we reviewed afterwards what occurred during the experiments. And yet, for all the simplicity, it was very exciting for them. And it was fun for me to see that they made the connection and looked forward to conducting yet more experiments. I highly recommend this book to all parents and their youngsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be a little more interesting, May 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Kids' Science Experiments Book: Boil Ice, Float Water, Measure Gravity-Challenge the World Around You! (Paperback)
It is definitely for the little ones, but my daughter is in the third grade and we wanted some projects that were a little nmore complicated. Most of the projects didn't require much thinking or experimenting. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone over eight years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bored on a Sunday Afternoon?, December 30, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Kids' Science Experiments Book: Boil Ice, Float Water, Measure Gravity-Challenge the World Around You! (Paperback)
When we are bored we pick up this book. The experiments are fun and fairly simple to complete. It is a great way to spend an afternoon together and everyone will learn something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book For Young Scientists, December 26, 2005
This review is from: The Everything Kids' Science Experiments Book: Boil Ice, Float Water, Measure Gravity-Challenge the World Around You! (Paperback)
This book was a great hit with my 8 year old son. It has a lot of great experiments and east to read instuctions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.