Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English Book
This book I had no choice to read. It was assigned to me by my AP English teacher but honestly, I did like learning about the secrets of building a well developed argument.

It talks a lot about every aspect of formulating a decent argument to where hidden arguments are around u. This a clever book and in a sense I really did enjoy it.
Published 23 months ago by Vamp

versus
18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Losing Argument.
I tried to teach this book in my composition 102 course, and it was a giant dud in the classroom. The specificity of the topics selected (and their inherent political bias) disengaged the students. Most of the examples used in the book are overtly political and the class discussions either became stunted or silent. Though I may deserve some accountability in not...
Published 20 months ago by Grant Schubert


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Losing Argument., March 24, 2013
By 
This review is from: Everything's an Argument with Readings (Paperback)
I tried to teach this book in my composition 102 course, and it was a giant dud in the classroom. The specificity of the topics selected (and their inherent political bias) disengaged the students. Most of the examples used in the book are overtly political and the class discussions either became stunted or silent. Though I may deserve some accountability in not creating organic dialogue, the text was no help.

The sometimes schizophrenic nature of the text was also troubling. In discussing Causal argument the chapter introduces approaches ranging from reverse chronological to humorous satire. Second semester college students as a whole cannot grasp satire composition. S***, Seth Myers can barely do it a couple Saturdays a year.

I could not be more disappointed in this book. While it preaches concise argument and clear organization it meanders gregariously into self-parody.

If the authors got paid by the word: congrats. If they didn't: boo.

The first chapter was great though; it is the other 900+ pages that were a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English Book, December 11, 2012
This review is from: Everything's an Argument with Readings (Paperback)
This book I had no choice to read. It was assigned to me by my AP English teacher but honestly, I did like learning about the secrets of building a well developed argument.

It talks a lot about every aspect of formulating a decent argument to where hidden arguments are around u. This a clever book and in a sense I really did enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Twitter is Not an Argument, November 27, 2014
This review is from: Everything's an Argument with Readings (Paperback)
I have to teach this book in January for a college Eng. Comp 2 course and have not used it before. I started reading early (I could only tolerate short bursts at a time). Up to page 142 and it's a tedious chore. The content is cluttered and overstuffed. It panders way too much to the media exposure which students are already saturated with. It might service students better by giving them a break from the news stories, photos, trash culture, bumper stickers, protest signs, ADVERTISING [!], social media (OMG, a tweet in this book is an argument! Why? Because twitter is popular with students.). Argumentation can deal with classical and contemporary issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... of this book every week and it is very good, but I would suggest renting it before buying ..., September 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everything's an Argument with Readings (Paperback)
I read out of this book every week and it is very good, but I would suggest renting it before buying it. Like I said absolutely nothing is wrong with it but you will probably only need it for one class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Up to Standards, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everything's an Argument with Readings (Paperback)
This new edition had some crass language and extremely biased articles in the reading selections. Not very professional or appropriate for a general education course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, September 7, 2014
This review is from: Everything's an Argument with Readings (Paperback)
Decent shape for the price. Came earlier than expected. Thanks for having my back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Condition, August 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everything's an Argument with Readings (Paperback)
Book is in surprisingly good condition. Now it's time to put it to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best cookie recipe every! (book was average), August 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everything's an Argument with Readings (Paperback)
The book was really average and only the first chapter was ok, however, on page 728 I found a not half bad cookie recipe.

# Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Difficulty: Easy
Feeds: ~ 15 cookies
Prep Time: 20 Minutes (faster with an automatic mixer)
Cook Time: 15 Minutes

# Prepare
* Very soft butter
* Oven 160°C (325°F) degrees

# Ingredients
* 300g All-purpose flour (10 1/2 ounces or 2 1/8 cups)
* 60g Salt (1/2 teaspoon)
* 60g Baking soda (1/2 teaspoon) (Optional)
* 170g Unsalted butter (12 tablespoon)
* 200g Brown Sugar (7 ounces or 1 cup )
* 100g Granulated Sugar (3 1/2 ounces or 1/2 cup)
* 1 Egg
* 1 Egg yolk
* 10g Vanilla extract (2 teaspoon )
* 256g Chocolate (8 ounces or 1 ~ 2 cups)

# Instructions
1. Preheat your oven to 160°C (325°F) degrees.
2. Mix flour, salt and baking soda together in a bowl, set aside.
3. Mix butter and sugar in a bowl until thorough;y blended, mix egg, yolk & vanilla.
4. Add all ingredients into one bowl, mix.
5. With hands take small amounts of cookie dough and rip it in half, then put the none ripped sides together.
6. Place each "soon-to-be" cookie a fair distance from each other and place in oven for 13 ~ 15 minutes.

# Notes
* Cookie dough can be saved for up to two days in the fridge and one month in the freezer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book rental is awesome, November 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent shape for a rental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everything's an Argument with Readings (Paperback)
PERFECT CONDITION!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Everything's an Argument with Readings
Everything's an Argument with Readings by Keith Walters (Paperback - November 9, 2012)
$65.76
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.