Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather: Evidence for the Christian God
For this book I am breaking from my usual practice and sharing my criticism first. Evidence for God, edited by Mike Licona and William Dembski, has a slightly misleading title and subtitle: "50 Arguments for Faith from the Bible, History, Philosophy and Science". A more fitting title and subtitle would be Evidence for God and Jesus: "50 Arguments for the Christian Faith"...
Published on November 29, 2010 by Jared Totten

versus
24 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Insubstantial due to the 50-count .... popcorn apologetics.
The problem is brevity; with each topic treated in 3-5 pages, the subjects don't have enough information to be useful writeups.

Even though written by subject experts who've said it better elsewhere (sometimes in a comparably small space) the little nuggets that made it to this book come across as facile and shallow.

Can the origin of life be...
Published on July 30, 2010 by Archimedes Tritium


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather: Evidence for the Christian God, November 29, 2010
This review is from: Evidence for God: 50 Arguments for Faith from the Bible, History, Philosophy, and Science (Paperback)
For this book I am breaking from my usual practice and sharing my criticism first. Evidence for God, edited by Mike Licona and William Dembski, has a slightly misleading title and subtitle: "50 Arguments for Faith from the Bible, History, Philosophy and Science". A more fitting title and subtitle would be Evidence for God and Jesus: "50 Arguments for the Christian Faith". That's it. That's all I can say bad about this book.

Evidence for God is broken into four sections and, while the first two address concerns shared by all theists (questions of philosophy and science), the last two sections (Jesus and the Bible) address apologetic issues for Christianity in particular. However, there is enough material in the first two sections alone to benefit anyone seeking evidence for God.

Typically a book with so many contributing authors may struggle to keep a good flow of thought and argument from chapter to chapter. Not so with Evidence for God, and much credit is due to Dembski and Licona for this fact. Notable contributors such as Copan, Habermas, Pearcey and Witherington III make the best use of the four or five pages given each chapter. The brevity of these chapters keeps any one topic from growing too overwhelming or nuanced but still gives adequate space to grasp the facts and the basic argument.

All in all, this is an excellent starting point for anyone looking for a broad treatment of the most common challenges in Christian apologetics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I could give it ten stars, August 3, 2010
This review is from: Evidence for God: 50 Arguments for Faith from the Bible, History, Philosophy, and Science (Paperback)
The good folks at Baker have done a great job with Evidence for God. Edited by William A. Dembski and Michael R. Licona, this is a one volume quick reference guide to apologetics.
Contained within the book are fifty articles (as the subtitle states it "arguments") for faith from the Bible, history, philosophy, and science.
The articles are concise, well-written, and very informative. I cannot imagine finding a better book for those who desire to defend their faith, or strengthen their faith.
Contributors include Craig Blomberg, Andreas Kostenberger, Darrell Bock, Craig Evans, Ben Witherington III, Phillip E. Johnson, and many more. One cannot ask for a better set of writers.
Whether one is dealing with arguments for God (cosmological argument, moral argument) or against God (the problem of evil), this book has a section to address it. There's also a section dealing with science, the impossibility of evolution, and even a chapter that debunks some myths about the "Scopes Monkey Trial". Wondering about skeptics arguments against Jesus? There's a section filled with information. Finally, there is a section on the Bible, the canon, the reliability of the Bible, inerrancy, and the "Gnostic gospels".
I cannot speak too highly of this book. I give it a five star ranking only because there aren't ten stars to give.
Disclaimer:
I received this book free from Baker Publishing. Providing me a free copy in no way guarantees a favorable review. The opinions expresses in this review are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Terrific Overview of Christian Apologetics, July 26, 2011
By 
S. Peek (Rocky Mountains, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evidence for God: 50 Arguments for Faith from the Bible, History, Philosophy, and Science (Paperback)
'Evidence For God' is a superbly crafted look at evidence for God in general and Jesus Christ in particular.

Edited by well known apologists William Dembski and Michael Licona, this book contains fifty chapters on various topics of Christian evidences. It contains positive arguments such as the cosmological and moral and critiques of some other worldviews such as naturalism and atheism. Additionally, it addresses some of the 'problem' issues such as the question of evil. It is full of great ideas to ponder and is very meaty.

Some of the truths contained in it are pointed out in a very effective way. In discussing molecular biology, Bill Wilberforce correctly asserts: 'In any other field, things that look like they have been carefully engineered are presumed to be engineered.' Not so in the current climate of hostility toward all things theistic. In fact, the academic world is so biased that this molecular biologist must use a pen name.

One of my favorite chapters contains a rather comprehensive set of questions that one may wish to pose to his/her favorite Darwinist.

Besides the general sections on the existence of God, there are some chapters that specifically address the questions regarding whether Jesus Christ is God, is the only way to salvation, the very existence of Jesus' life on Earth, etc. Amazingly enough there are many who question even the fact that He walked the Earth. As Paul Maier writes in a chapter addressing that, 'There is more evidence that Jesus of Nazareth certainly lived than for most famous figures of the ancient past. The evidence is of two kinds: internal and external. In both cases, the total evidence is so overpowering, so absolute, that only the shallowest of intellects would dare to deny Jesus' existence.'

Dr. Licona very aptly summarizes the question of Christ: 'The test Jesus provided is quite impressive: his resurrection from the dead. Such a test does not depend on one's personal taste or a warm feeling. He either rose from the dead, confirming his personal claims, or he didn't, revealing himself to be just another false prophet.'

This volume gives readers a large variety of evidences to consider the questions of God's existence as well as that of His son's deity. Although there are much more in depth resources on these various areas, this is really a well done sampling of apologetics topics. It is a great resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50 Reasons for Theism, July 3, 2010
This review is from: Evidence for God: 50 Arguments for Faith from the Bible, History, Philosophy, and Science (Paperback)
Thomas Aquinas was the one of the pioneers who aimed to prove the existence of God and that Christian theism is rational. His philosophical and apologetic pursuits were complex and brilliant. Drawing from the expertise of his teacher, Albert Magnus, as well as Augustine and Aristotle, Aquinas formulated five proofs for the existence of God. And herein William Dembski (PhD, U. of Ill.; PhD, U. of Chic.; professor of philosophy) and Michael Licona (PhD, U. of Pretoria) provide 50 persuasive reasons for belief in God. In "Evidence for God: 50 Arguments for Faith from the Bible, History, Philosophy, and Science" they examine fifty compelling reasons for belief in God as they concentrate on many recent and vital questions about God, science, Jesus Christ, and scripture.

Topics include:

-The moral argument for theism
-The cosmological argument for God
-Did Jesus really exist and is He the exclusive way to Heaven?
-What about those who have never heard the gospel?
-Near Death experiences
-Three approaches to suffering and evil
-Is the Bible reliable?
-The weaknesses of the Gnostic gospels
-Responding to the problem of evil and suffering
-Is intelligent design true and convincing?
-and much more.

Jude 3 Beloved, while I was very diligent to write to you concerning our common salvation, I found it necessary to write to you exhorting you to contend earnestly for the faith which was once for all delivered to the saints.

And always remember that Atheism is rationally self-nullifying. The most an atheist can logically claim about the non-existence of God is agnosticism -- to profess that he doesn't know if God exists. For as soon one asserts atheism, the atheist falls into a rational dilemma: no finite man can prove that there is no God, for outside the limits of his personal experience or knowledge, God may exist. To be a rationally consistent atheist, one must know everything, everywhere at all times. Of course this requires omniscience and omnipresence; attributes that only God has within His ontic attributes. Hence, the only means one can prove that God doesn't exist is to be God, which is rationally impossible and self-stultifying.

"Evidence for God" includes contributions from:

Craig L. Blomberg
Darrell Bock
Paul Copan
William A. Dembski
Craig A. Evans
Gary R. Habermas
Phillip E. Johnson
Andreas J. Köstenberger
Michael R. Licona (a few essays)
Paul L. Maier
John McRay
Nancy Pearcey
Jay W. Richards
Daniel B. Wallace
Ben Witherington III
David Wood (2 essays)
And more.

David Beck offers this CA:

1. It is a system, an interconnected network of causes and effects
2. Each cause is contingent; each one itself needs a cause
3. The dependency in the Thomistic CA is concurrent not chronological; it refers to concurrent dependency relations within a system of causes
4. The specific relation to which the general CA refers is the causing of "existence" itself
- The key point is that there cannot be an infinite series of causes with all four of the above characteristics (P. 18).

Paul Copan notes: "Darwin had a `horrid doubt' that since the human mind had developed from lower animals, why would anyone trust it? -- in fitness and survival -- not in true belief; so not only is objective moral values undermined, rational thought is as well. Our beliefs -- including moral ones -- may help us survive, but there is no reason to think they a true" (P. 23).

Copan adds serial killer Jeffrey Dahmer quote on the lack of moral absolutes in an atheistic worldview: `If it all happens naturalistically, what`s the need for a go? Can't I set my own rules? Who owns me? I own myself' (P. 23)

Dynamic erudite young scholar David Wood in his two lively essays reveals:

- "The Explanatory Power of Theism"
- "Impotence of Atheism" (pp.36-47).

Nancy Percy quotes Atheist Michael Ruse admitting the necessary employment of a priori commitments for Darwinism: "Evolution, akin to religion, involves making certain, a priori or metaphysical assumptions, which at some level cannot be proven empirically" (P. 85).

Some may look at the book's strength (compiling a plethora of arguments in one volume) as a weakness inasmuch as the essays are not comprehensive enough to fully equip the reader. Nonetheless the large amount of arguments accomplishes at least two things:
1. The skeptic who reads the book is filled with countless potent arguments to forever extinguish the notion that Christian theism lacks reasonable arguments.
2. The Christian reader gets exposed to numerous arguments that will compel him to seek more comprehensive works on that specific apologetic approach or argument.

Philip Dick wrote: "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away." And it's great to know that God doesn't go away simply because some atheists claim He doesn't exist. Let us use potent works like this book as we reason with nonbelievers while we seek to glorify God.

Acts 19:8-9 And Paul went ... and spoke boldly for three months, reasoning and persuading concerning the things of the kingdom of God. 9 ... and ... reasoning daily in the school of Tyrannus.

Hannah More wisely said: "There is one single fact which we may oppose to all the wit and argument of infidelity, namely, that no man ever repented of being a Christian on his death bed."
------
also see the New book that contends for God's existence:
Truth, Knowledge and the Reason for God: The Defense of the Rational Assurance of Christianity
or See the Book that proves for the existence of God using moral absolutes by Mike Robinson:
There Are Moral Absolutes: How to Be Absolutely Sure That Christianity Alone Supplies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evidence is Ammunition, August 14, 2010
By 
E. McCabe "mccab42" (Corona, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evidence for God: 50 Arguments for Faith from the Bible, History, Philosophy, and Science (Paperback)
God is under attack constantly in the media, the madrases we call universities, state college and "higher learning." Christians need to be equipped to give everyman an answer for the hope that lies within! Get knowledge, get your answers in order, get this book and get ready to defend your faith!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 10 STAR BOOK..., September 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evidence for God: 50 Arguments for Faith from the Bible, History, Philosophy, and Science (Paperback)
We received this the beginning of last week and my wife and I have read it cover to cover.
Dr. Bob Marks, Chapter 17 hits it on the head.Evidence for God: 50 Arguments for Faith from the Bible, History, Philosophy, and Science

We have bought additional copies for the Church and our Pastor and waiting for his feedback.

We really didn't need more evidence that God exists, but this book approaches it from a Engineering/Math based proof.

Buy it and read it. You will enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who knew there was actually so much evidence for God!, May 29, 2014
By 
W. Sid Vogel (Fairhope, AL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evidence for God: 50 Arguments for Faith from the Bible, History, Philosophy, and Science (Paperback)
Everyone interested in "proof of God" should read this book. it is a part of my permanent library as a reference work. Simple, clear, concise, rational, full of examples that the average person can understand and walk away saying to himself "wow, maybe i had better examine my belief system".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Introduction, October 21, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evidence for God: 50 Arguments for Faith from the Bible, History, Philosophy, and Science (Paperback)
This is a good book, one that I would encourage others to purchase. It seems to me that is it a book that is an introduction, a very important introduction, to a most important topic. Having read many articles and books on some of the topics within (many of them, actually), I quickly learned that the design of the editors was to be brief. Many unbelievers will not be persuaded, but that is simply because there is no desire to be persuaded.

Well worth the purchase, in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short, helpful essays., June 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's not the consumate collection for the theist thesis, but these short, easy-to-read essays give popular level theists a solid foundation for reasonable belief in God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource!, March 31, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evidence for God: 50 Arguments for Faith from the Bible, History, Philosophy, and Science (Paperback)
I found it a good resource even if I have many of the contributors' book already. It sums up many vital points for different apologetic issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Evidence for God: 50 Arguments for Faith from the Bible, History, Philosophy, and Science
$19.99 $15.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.