Customer Reviews


790 Reviews
5 star:
 (348)
4 star:
 (170)
3 star:
 (107)
2 star:
 (68)
1 star:
 (97)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


111 of 130 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars essentially the original, yet it's own film.
When I first heard that Evil Dead was being remade, I wasn't happy. I've grown tired of reboots and remakes and I felt that remaking Evil Dead was akin to trampling on sacred ground. After discovering that Raimi and Campbell were backing it, I gave in and joined the the party, my uptight "Dead purist" friends be damned. This version starts out with the same creepy cabin...
Published 22 months ago by SKOLVK

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 1.75 STARS: Turn off your brain time and have a few laughs, but that's about all with this flick.
Remakes of classic horror movies generally do not turn out well. There are many examples of remake disasters such as Rob Zombie's "Halloween", "The Fog" and "A Nightmare on Elm Street" just to name a few, but there are many more. The original "Evil Dead" was a pretty decent horror movie with some atmosphere, a good story and a lot of blood and gore, and the remake of...
Published 5 months ago by HorrorMan


‹ Previous | 1 279 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

111 of 130 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars essentially the original, yet it's own film., April 5, 2013
By 
This review is from: Evil Dead (DVD)
When I first heard that Evil Dead was being remade, I wasn't happy. I've grown tired of reboots and remakes and I felt that remaking Evil Dead was akin to trampling on sacred ground. After discovering that Raimi and Campbell were backing it, I gave in and joined the the party, my uptight "Dead purist" friends be damned. This version starts out with the same creepy cabin in the same creepy woods but with a new group of twenty somethings unwittingly walking into the slaughter. A new element is introduced when we find out that the gang is trying to help their friend Mia recover from a nasty heroin addiction. Making the trip is her estranged brother David who wasn't around when Mia had to deal with their mother's death. Needless to say, there are a lot of family issues that the two never hashed out and hard feelings are being felt.

If being drug out to a creepy cabin in the woods by her friends wasn't bad enough, things are going to get worse for Mia. Ignoring all blatant signs to get out of dodge,(decaying cats strung up on the ceiling, A blood stained floor)the group decides to go poking around the basement where they find a book made out of human skin. The nerdy hipster friend(Eric) can't keep his hands off of it and decides to read it, going so far as to pencil trace the words that have been scribbled out. His meddling causes forest demon(s)to spring forth from their dormancy and they're quite smitten with the venerable Mia. To make matters worse, her friends take her warnings as the paranoid ramblings of a junky coming down from a fix. Soon the gore hits the fan and one by one the friends get possessed and off themselves and each other in increasingly gruesome ways.

I was pleased with Evil Dead. The acting was a little wooden at first but when Mia and David's past was established,I felt that it gave the plot a solid anchor. The gore was turned up a couple notches from the original but there were times when it reached absurd levels. I couldn't help laughing aloud when the characters kept using duct tape in attempts to reattach severed limbs. with that aside, Evil Dead delivers a solid film that even "Dead purists" will enjoy. I'd say that the film is more " cringe enduing" than "terrifying" but still very enjoyable none the less. I challenge you "Dead purist" to check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


120 of 163 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where the hell is the unrated cut??, May 28, 2013
This review is from: Evil Dead (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
I am not happy. Great remake, but I was expecting an Unrated cut for blu-ray. If the studio thinks they are double-dipping off me, think again. I'm waiting on the Hobbit (extended cuts already confirmed) and I'm waiting on this too. Stop being so damn greedy Hollywood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 1.75 STARS: Turn off your brain time and have a few laughs, but that's about all with this flick., August 20, 2014
By 
HorrorMan "HM" (The Marsten House) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Evil Dead (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Remakes of classic horror movies generally do not turn out well. There are many examples of remake disasters such as Rob Zombie's "Halloween", "The Fog" and "A Nightmare on Elm Street" just to name a few, but there are many more. The original "Evil Dead" was a pretty decent horror movie with some atmosphere, a good story and a lot of blood and gore, and the remake of "Evil Dead" does a decent job of providing a movie along those same lines. The acting was decent except for the guy who plays the lead male character. I thought that the actor who played the long-haired guy with glasses was much more dynamic and interesting than the main character. Nevertheless, the acting was okay, story was fair and there was a degree---albeit rather low---of suspense and atmosphere that made this a half-way decent horror movie.

Basically, "Evil Dead" is about a group of young people who are staying in a cabin out in the middle of the woods in order to help Mia overcome her drug addiction by eliminating any possible avenue for her to engage in such illicit activities. Of course, the long-haired guy with glasses finds the Book of Dead and begins reading from it, basically cursing and dooming them to a hell of sorts. Things start happening to Mia, and then things go from bad to worse. A lot of violence, blood and gore follow which is in the spirit of the original. The characters have to find a way to save themselves before they all perish at the hands of a nasty demonic force.

All in all, this is not bad movie if you are looking for something like the "Evil Dead" original with a more modern look. That being said, the original "Evil Dead" was not all that scary to me, but was more of an in your face blood and gorefest with some dark humor. Thus, this is what you essentially get in this remake. The remake of the "Evil Dead" certainly is not a good horror movie by any stretch of the imagination, but there is some entertainment value here if you are just looking to turn your brain off for a while and watch some silly blood and gore action involving a group of silly young people. I've seen a lot worse. LOL.

Can't endorse this movie too much because I just cannot take it seriously, but I don't really think that the creators of the movie expected the audience to take it seriously---much like the original. As such, the movie does not try to do too much with itself, and the creators of the flick were aware of its limitations. Such limitations prevent the movie from being scary to the viewer, but there is some semblance of entertainment here---but just don't expect too much. P.S. Just loved the raining of blood scene at the end---that was very amusing. The remake of the "Evil Dead" really is more funny than scary, but it does have some horror elements to it. So, I will give it a break and give it two (2) STARS, but I can't help from feeling that I am being Santa Claus for doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE GOD. GIVE ME A BREAK., April 14, 2013
This review is from: Evil Dead (DVD)
During the 1980's the pop culture ran film after film of Jason and Freddie. Real horror fans quietly turned "Evil Dead" into a cult classic with collectors DVDs selling up to $100.00.

The remake has high standards to meet for devoted fans. Some fans claim it is not a remake, but if you use the same name and have many of the same scenes, it's a duck.

1) The book has to be convincing. They did fine here.
2) The forest rape scene was a signature scene. This film didn't improve on it. One would expect with all the CG effects available, this would have been far better. It was worse. In fact there was a complete lack of special effects I was hoping for.
3) Bruce Campbell and a chainsaw. They didn't even come close. Jessica Lucas? Shiloh Fernandez? Please. They needed a name actor to take that role and write it with some personality. They didn't.
4) There was also a high amount of camp value to the original film series. This one eliminates all the humor. Seriously, where is the hand running around giving people the finger as in the ED 2? I think the whole movie gave the viewers the finger.

If you have seen the original, you can wait to watch this as a rental. This won't make my collection as did the faux skin covered DVD. Having trashed this film, I will say if you haven't seen the original and know nothing about "Evil Dead" you might find that you will like this blood fest. My recommendation is to watch the original and "leave this book alone".

Parental Guide: F-bombs. No sex. Sketch nudity in book, mud nudity?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, September 1, 2013
By 
J Dub (Bay Area, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I didn't expect a exact remake of the original. But I wanted something more than the gore factor cranked up. The genre seems to be dead as everything is just boring recycled crap. In that manner this didn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bigger But Not Necessarily Better, November 8, 2013
By 
E. Valero "Eterno" (Woodbridge, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evil Dead (DVD)
*Contains Minor Spoilers *

An exhausting, loud and pointless remake (or sequel) that may succeed in grossing you out, but that, along with some decent performances, and high production values, are not enough to outdo the original 1981 film which had style, wit and imagination. The story is basically the same as Raimi's original and "Evil Dead 2: Dead by Dawn", a group of people, staying in a very creepy looking cabin (I mean really? They couldn't find a far more attractive option than this crumbling, disgusting disaster-piece in the woods for a getaway?) where they plan to help their troubled, vulnerable friend Mia (Jane Levy), overcome her very bad drug addiction and hopefully to mend her relationship with her estranged, stiff, boring brother, David (Shiloh Fernandez). Again, bad location choice. If I wanted to help someone in their addiction and want to cheer them up, this sinister, decayed, stench-infested, crumbling, nasty cabin in the middle of nowhere is the last place I would take them to. Rant over, moving on. They soon discover a funky stain on the floor boards which looks like dried blood (hint- to get the heck out of there) that leads them to the basement where hundreds of rotting animal carcasses hang from the ceiling (another hint- to get the heck out of there) and a mysterious book covered in a black plastic bag and wrapped in barbed wires (another hint- to get the heck out of there and to not open this freakin' book) is found. The group nerd, Eric (Lou Taylor Pucci), despite various warnings scribbled within the pages of the book, like "LEAVE THIS BOOK ALONE", foolishly recites some of the incoherent words written within out loud, in doing so, awakens a monstrous, blood-thirsty demon that soon wreaks havoc amongst them.

There are many things that frustrate me about this film. Yes, it had a fairly decent budget, $17 million, unlike the original movie which was made using loose change, so the production values, the special effects, the make-up effects, cinematography are all up to standard, maybe above average for the genre. Yes, it does move along at a very brisk pace and the overall tone, is dark, very dark, perhaps too dark. "Evil Dead" (2013) makes its point abundantly clear within the first 30 minutes - it is a dark tale of horror with no room for humor, or wit, or substance. If you want some laughs or enduring characters, go look somewhere else. Now, normally, I would not have a problem with this as sometimes I like my horror movies to be served cold and dark, but in this case, this is supposed to be a remake (or sequel, still confused as to what this is really) of "Evil Dead" and that film had plenty of quirky humor and characters and despite being a very low budget production, excelled in being witty, creative (some of the make-up effects were good, although not all since some of the actors wore some crazy wigs that looked incredibly cheesy) and had stylish direction. Yes, when viewed today, it is very, very dated and it suffers from its very low budget and primitive effects work. For instance, the clay-mation effects were not very successful. Yes, the character Ash (Bruce Campbell) was not as memorable in the first film (although nowhere near as forgettable as the characters in this film, more on this later) as he was in the 1987 sequel, which was really a remake with a better budget, where he gave an incredible physical performance and is the highlight of "Dead by Dawn". But both films had more to offer than the bloodshed. Both movies threw buckets of blood and ooze all over the place, the walls, the floors, the actor's faces etc and there was dismemberment galore but kept it tongue and cheek. That combined with the stylish direction and overall outrageousness kept you repulsed and amused at the same time.

This remake (or sequel), goes straight for the jugular and does not have a funny bone in its body. The characters are also lack-luster despite the overtly dramatic back story two of the characters are given. They are throwaway, unmemorable, bland characters. Despite some generally good performances, Levy is especially good, it is not enough, you end up rooting for no-one, and in the end, you are just left looking at boring people doing incredibly stupid things in a very clichéd horror film. The dialogue is also a bit forced. It is pretty much established within the first 10 minutes who each individual is thanks to this in your face, forced dialogue, the recovering addict- check, the estranged brother and friend- check, the girlfriend- check, the nurse and concerned friend - check, the geek- check. Which brings us to the star attraction, if it isn't the actors, the location, the direction, I guess you can state that the star of this freak show is the repulsive gore and the never-ending violence. It is excessive and admittedly, it doesn't give you a chance to catch your breath. There are far too many scenes of self mutilation and gore to the point that this film ends up being nothing more than torture porn. For those that love this stuff, you should not be disappointed but despite being a horror film fan, I have been one for the last 3 decades, I have come to the point where I do expect more from certain horror films. Considering the original film and the original sequel (and remake) offered more than just the gore, I was expecting the same of this remake. Was this too much to ask for? Despite a different set of characters and upgraded special effects, there is nothing new here, this has already been done twice before in the series and it was done better and without the humor, it falls a bit flat. You will just sit there waiting for the next gory set-piece and nothing more. There is no originality, no sense of humor, no memorable characters, no creative camera tricks and angles. It is glossier but uninspired. Aside from plenty of gore, there is not much here to recommend it, again, unless you just love torture porn, then this is right up your alley.

Overall, "Evil Dead" (2013) is pretty solid from a technical standpoint but that does not mean it is a great film. The makers of this entry did not have the budget restraints and obstacles of the original, boasting high production values and this shows in the final production. It delivers in being outlandish and gory but it is a disappointment since gory does not always equal scary and I was expecting much more from this. Apparently there will be a sequel and I can already see the premise. Let me see, another group of people in the same old creepy cabin in the same old creepy woods, who find the same old creepy book, and some-one foolishly recites the same old creepy incantations, resurrecting the same old creepy forces, some people will get possessed and much violence and gore will ensue. The End.

I hope they prove me wrong.

2.5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Reinvention of the Original, September 7, 2013
This review is from: Evil Dead (DVD)
The original "Evil Dead" was made on a very low budget, so it was interesting but not great. "Evil Dead II" was basically an improved, high budget remake of the original, and I loved it. The grossness was so over-the-top that it was purposely hilarious. Bruce Campbell was perfect in the role, despite the fact that, when I later interviewed him, he scoffed at all his early horror work as merely a means to show his real acting ability (we're pretty much still waiting for that, although he's not bad in "Burn Notice"). "Army of Darkness" was fantastic too. All the horror elements, cleverness and humor of its predecessor.

Which brings us to "Evil Dead" (2013), which had a high budget but none of the other elements that made the original series of films so great. It's blood and gore topped with a larger helping of blood and gore. No humor, no cleverness, ... nothing but sickening slaughter of the characters. There are references (physical and verbal) to the original films, but that's all. This re-envisiong of the series turned me off completely. There is no Bruce Campbell humor to redeem this terrible movie. Sam,
Ted, Bruce, Robert, and the dentist Raimi (all partners in Renaissance Pictures), please, you've made a ton of money off the endless versions and editions of the "Evil Dead" series. PLEASE, just leave it alone! It was and is a classic, so don't ruin it by remaking the films in a way that is dull, sickening, plotless, and not worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What the remake sucks?, August 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
That's right folks take a campy, funny movie, that set the stage for many other spoofs and completely ruin it by trying to some how make it a scary movie . More money does not a better picture make and this is an example. Evening going after the teen market that may not have seen the first one this movie bombed, so do rent this movie instead check out the new smurf's movie now that will scary the hell out of you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You can't pull off your own hand. You just can't., April 12, 2014
By 
Brian (Jersey City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Evil Dead (DVD)
The reason Sam Raimi's 'The Evil Dead' (1981) and 'Evil Dead 2' (1987) were effective for what they were (blackly comedic gore-flick tributes) is that they exploited the tropes of the supernatural-horror genre while pushing them to their (at the time) furthest physical and psychological extremes. They were quirky-funny, directorially overindulgent, viscerally shocking and, yes, even occasionally scary. Sadly, as is the case with most remakes of the past decade, the producers of 'Evil Dead' redux (2013) either don't get it or don't care. They decided to warm over a story loosely based on what was already a pastiche of familiar Lovecraftian scenarios, double down on the carnage, eliminate the camp, ignore any form of dramatic or narrative integrity, and imagined they would end up with something, um, grittier? more intense? serious? 'realistic'? I really have no idea what they were thinking (outside cashing in on the name recognition of an established cult franchise), but this humorless dud, though it tries at moments to recapture some of Raimi's kinetic visual madness, comes across much thinner creatively, and therefore is substantially less engrossing, than the originals. 1 1/2 stars for decent special effects.

SCIENCE NOTE: If you're wondering, **SPOILER** vis-à-vis one of the multiple endings tacked on here, it is biologically impossible-- even when you have a machete-wielding, superhuman-yet-corporeally-vulnerable demon chasing you in a bloody monsoon and you've managed somehow to get your arm pinned under your car with a running chainsaw just inches out of reach-- to generate the force necessary to pull off your own hand. We all know how simple it is to perform self-surgery, to sever an appendage with an axe or an electric carving knife, without going into shock, passing out and bleeding to death, but even by torture-porn standards the 'hand yank' is a bridge too far. Happy viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Evil Dead Remake, August 29, 2013
This review is from: Evil Dead (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Evil Dead returns to its horror roots. The remake suffers from the lack of Raimi or Campbell's involvement. They are associated with this film but their personal stamp of approval doesn't seem to be on it. Raimi's influence doesn't show up and Campbell appears in the end credits. It's almost as if they were hired solely to promote the film. The good news is that it is very gory. The bad news is that they don't take it to the next level. This is not the cabin in the woods I was expecting. The Evil Dead was legendary as a horror film. I can still connect with the original or sequel (you don't see that camera work everyday). It's so much fun and scared the wits out of people in the 1980s (it was the #1 movie rented in more than one country for at least a year). It revolutionized the demonic POV shots that grab you. The remake is fairly loyal to the original storyline. It unfolds almost exactly the same way with different camera work and actors. Some of the best elements of the original are here (e.g. the perverted pencil and basement zombie) but they just seem inserted and not crucial to the plot.

Ultimately the remake doesn't offer more story or character development and is much less memorable. It could have been amazing with Raimi's involvement. After all, he made some awesome movies on a low-budget and then became a big success in Hollywood so he has learned so much since the 1980s. Yet he handed the directorial reins over to Fede Alvarez. The teens show up in an isolated cabin before the dead come to life. My main complaints are the acting, props, story and CGI. The cast is mostly forgettable. The acting featured one atrocious scene that reminded me of The Ring. This actress in a blue screen was whispering while surrounded by zombies with the music blaring full-blast. The scene either didn't support her, she was in the wrong movie or she simply lacked direction. The prop for the Necronomicon (Book of the Dead) was rather lame. I'm not sure many demonologists use red magic markers to write in an ancient, priceless manuscript when they want a spell on summoning the dead. The CGI hollows out this movie to the point where so much is happening that you can't connect with the characters or action. This Blu-ray has about 39 minutes of bonus content and an audio commentary (Director Fede Alvarez, co-writer Rodo Sayagues, Jane Levy, Lou Taylor Pucci, Jessica Lucas). That is fairly light treatment for such an iconic horror franchise. I must admit the Blu-ray picture quality is good and the audio is very good. I would be interested in purchasing an Evil Dead 1-4 box set on Blu-ray. Evil Dead fans deserve the deluxe treatment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 279 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Evil Dead (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy)
Evil Dead (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy) by Fede Alvarez (Blu-ray - 2013)
$19.99 $9.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.