Customer Reviews


813 Reviews
5 star:
 (362)
4 star:
 (176)
3 star:
 (110)
2 star:
 (70)
1 star:
 (95)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 132 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars essentially the original, yet it's own film.
When I first heard that Evil Dead was being remade, I wasn't happy. I've grown tired of reboots and remakes and I felt that remaking Evil Dead was akin to trampling on sacred ground. After discovering that Raimi and Campbell were backing it, I gave in and joined the the party, my uptight "Dead purist" friends be damned. This version starts out with the same creepy cabin...
Published 23 months ago by SKOLVK

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How much punishment can Eric take??? This guy is larger than life!!!
Remakes of classic horror movies generally do not turn out well. There are many examples of remake disasters such as Rob Zombie's "Halloween", "The Fog" and "A Nightmare on Elm Street" just to name a few, but there are many more. The original "Evil Dead" was a pretty decent horror movie with some atmosphere, a good story and a lot of blood and gore, and the remake of...
Published 6 months ago by HorrorMan


‹ Previous | 1 282 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 132 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars essentially the original, yet it's own film., April 5, 2013
By 
This review is from: Evil Dead (DVD)
When I first heard that Evil Dead was being remade, I wasn't happy. I've grown tired of reboots and remakes and I felt that remaking Evil Dead was akin to trampling on sacred ground. After discovering that Raimi and Campbell were backing it, I gave in and joined the the party, my uptight "Dead purist" friends be damned. This version starts out with the same creepy cabin in the same creepy woods but with a new group of twenty somethings unwittingly walking into the slaughter. A new element is introduced when we find out that the gang is trying to help their friend Mia recover from a nasty heroin addiction. Making the trip is her estranged brother David who wasn't around when Mia had to deal with their mother's death. Needless to say, there are a lot of family issues that the two never hashed out and hard feelings are being felt.

If being drug out to a creepy cabin in the woods by her friends wasn't bad enough, things are going to get worse for Mia. Ignoring all blatant signs to get out of dodge,(decaying cats strung up on the ceiling, A blood stained floor)the group decides to go poking around the basement where they find a book made out of human skin. The nerdy hipster friend(Eric) can't keep his hands off of it and decides to read it, going so far as to pencil trace the words that have been scribbled out. His meddling causes forest demon(s)to spring forth from their dormancy and they're quite smitten with the venerable Mia. To make matters worse, her friends take her warnings as the paranoid ramblings of a junky coming down from a fix. Soon the gore hits the fan and one by one the friends get possessed and off themselves and each other in increasingly gruesome ways.

I was pleased with Evil Dead. The acting was a little wooden at first but when Mia and David's past was established,I felt that it gave the plot a solid anchor. The gore was turned up a couple notches from the original but there were times when it reached absurd levels. I couldn't help laughing aloud when the characters kept using duct tape in attempts to reattach severed limbs. with that aside, Evil Dead delivers a solid film that even "Dead purists" will enjoy. I'd say that the film is more " cringe enduing" than "terrifying" but still very enjoyable none the less. I challenge you "Dead purist" to check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


121 of 164 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where the hell is the unrated cut??, May 28, 2013
This review is from: Evil Dead (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
I am not happy. Great remake, but I was expecting an Unrated cut for blu-ray. If the studio thinks they are double-dipping off me, think again. I'm waiting on the Hobbit (extended cuts already confirmed) and I'm waiting on this too. Stop being so damn greedy Hollywood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How much punishment can Eric take??? This guy is larger than life!!!, August 20, 2014
By 
HorrorMan "HM" (The Marsten House) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Evil Dead (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Remakes of classic horror movies generally do not turn out well. There are many examples of remake disasters such as Rob Zombie's "Halloween", "The Fog" and "A Nightmare on Elm Street" just to name a few, but there are many more. The original "Evil Dead" was a pretty decent horror movie with some atmosphere, a good story and a lot of blood and gore, and the remake of "Evil Dead" does a decent job of providing a movie along those same lines. The acting was decent except for the guy who plays the lead male character. I thought that the actor who played the long-haired guy with glasses was much more dynamic and interesting than the main character. Nevertheless, the acting was okay, story was fair and there was a degree---albeit rather low---of suspense and atmosphere that made this a half-way decent horror movie.

Basically, "Evil Dead" is about a group of young people who are staying in a cabin out in the middle of the woods in order to help Mia overcome her drug addiction by eliminating any possible avenue for her to engage in such illicit activities. Of course, the long-haired guy with glasses finds the Book of Dead and begins reading from it, basically cursing and dooming them to a hell of sorts. Things start happening to Mia, and then things go from bad to worse. A lot of violence, blood and gore follow which is in the spirit of the original. The characters have to find a way to save themselves before they all perish at the hands of a nasty demonic force. Watch for Eric to take quite a bit of punishment and keep going---he's like The Terminator. Seriously, Eric takes an incredible amount of physical abuse which would kill most people, but not Eric. He keeps going and going like the Energizer bunny in this thing!

All in all, this is not bad movie if you are looking for something like the "Evil Dead" original with a more modern look. That being said, the original "Evil Dead" was not all that scary to me, but was more of an in your face blood and gorefest with some dark humor. Thus, this is what you essentially get in this remake. The remake of the "Evil Dead" certainly is not a good horror movie by any stretch of the imagination, but there is some entertainment value here if you are just looking to turn your brain off for a while and watch some silly blood and gore action involving a group of silly young people. I've seen a lot worse.

Can't endorse this movie too much because I just cannot take it seriously, but I don't really think that the creators of the movie expected the audience to take it seriously---much like the original. As such, the movie does not try to do too much with itself, and the creators of the flick were aware of its limitations. Such limitations prevent the movie from being scary to the viewer, but there is some semblance of entertainment here---but just don't expect too much. P.S. Just loved the raining of blood scene at the end---that was very amusing. The remake of the "Evil Dead" really is more funny than scary, but it does have some horror elements to it. So, I will give it a break and give it two (2) STARS, but I can't help from feeling that I am being Santa Claus for doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bigger But Not Necessarily Better, November 8, 2013
By 
E. Valero "Eterno" (Woodbridge, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evil Dead (DVD)
*Contains Minor Spoilers *

An exhausting, loud and pointless remake (or sequel) that may succeed in grossing you out, but that, along with some decent performances, and high production values, are not enough to outdo the original 1981 film which had style, wit and imagination. The story is basically the same as Raimi's original and "Evil Dead 2: Dead by Dawn", a group of people, staying in a very creepy looking cabin (I mean really? They couldn't find a far more attractive option than this crumbling, disgusting disaster-piece in the woods for a getaway?) where they plan to help their troubled, vulnerable friend Mia (Jane Levy), overcome her very bad drug addiction and hopefully to mend her relationship with her estranged, stiff, boring brother, David (Shiloh Fernandez). Again, bad location choice. If I wanted to help someone in their addiction and want to cheer them up, this sinister, decayed, stench-infested, crumbling, nasty cabin in the middle of nowhere is the last place I would take them to. Rant over, moving on. They soon discover a funky stain on the floor boards which looks like dried blood (hint- to get the heck out of there) that leads them to the basement where hundreds of rotting animal carcasses hang from the ceiling (another hint- to get the heck out of there) and a mysterious book covered in a black plastic bag and wrapped in barbed wires (another hint- to get the heck out of there and to not open this freakin' book) is found. The group nerd, Eric (Lou Taylor Pucci), despite various warnings scribbled within the pages of the book, like "LEAVE THIS BOOK ALONE", foolishly recites some of the incoherent words written within out loud, in doing so, awakens a monstrous, blood-thirsty demon that soon wreaks havoc amongst them.

There are many things that frustrate me about this film. Yes, it had a fairly decent budget, $17 million, unlike the original movie which was made using loose change, so the production values, the special effects, the make-up effects, cinematography are all up to standard, maybe above average for the genre. Yes, it does move along at a very brisk pace and the overall tone, is dark, very dark, perhaps too dark. "Evil Dead" (2013) makes its point abundantly clear within the first 30 minutes - it is a dark tale of horror with no room for humor, or wit, or substance. If you want some laughs or enduring characters, go look somewhere else. Now, normally, I would not have a problem with this as sometimes I like my horror movies to be served cold and dark, but in this case, this is supposed to be a remake (or sequel, still confused as to what this is really) of "Evil Dead" and that film had plenty of quirky humor and characters and despite being a very low budget production, excelled in being witty, creative (some of the make-up effects were good, although not all since some of the actors wore some crazy wigs that looked incredibly cheesy) and had stylish direction. Yes, when viewed today, it is very, very dated and it suffers from its very low budget and primitive effects work. For instance, the clay-mation effects were not very successful. Yes, the character Ash (Bruce Campbell) was not as memorable in the first film (although nowhere near as forgettable as the characters in this film, more on this later) as he was in the 1987 sequel, which was really a remake with a better budget, where he gave an incredible physical performance and is the highlight of "Dead by Dawn". But both films had more to offer than the bloodshed. Both movies threw buckets of blood and ooze all over the place, the walls, the floors, the actor's faces etc and there was dismemberment galore but kept it tongue and cheek. That combined with the stylish direction and overall outrageousness kept you repulsed and amused at the same time.

This remake (or sequel), goes straight for the jugular and does not have a funny bone in its body. The characters are also lack-luster despite the overtly dramatic back story two of the characters are given. They are throwaway, unmemorable, bland characters. Despite some generally good performances, Levy is especially good, it is not enough, you end up rooting for no-one, and in the end, you are just left looking at boring people doing incredibly stupid things in a very clichéd horror film. The dialogue is also a bit forced. It is pretty much established within the first 10 minutes who each individual is thanks to this in your face, forced dialogue, the recovering addict- check, the estranged brother and friend- check, the girlfriend- check, the nurse and concerned friend - check, the geek- check. Which brings us to the star attraction, if it isn't the actors, the location, the direction, I guess you can state that the star of this freak show is the repulsive gore and the never-ending violence. It is excessive and admittedly, it doesn't give you a chance to catch your breath. There are far too many scenes of self mutilation and gore to the point that this film ends up being nothing more than torture porn. For those that love this stuff, you should not be disappointed but despite being a horror film fan, I have been one for the last 3 decades, I have come to the point where I do expect more from certain horror films. Considering the original film and the original sequel (and remake) offered more than just the gore, I was expecting the same of this remake. Was this too much to ask for? Despite a different set of characters and upgraded special effects, there is nothing new here, this has already been done twice before in the series and it was done better and without the humor, it falls a bit flat. You will just sit there waiting for the next gory set-piece and nothing more. There is no originality, no sense of humor, no memorable characters, no creative camera tricks and angles. It is glossier but uninspired. Aside from plenty of gore, there is not much here to recommend it, again, unless you just love torture porn, then this is right up your alley.

Overall, "Evil Dead" (2013) is pretty solid from a technical standpoint but that does not mean it is a great film. The makers of this entry did not have the budget restraints and obstacles of the original, boasting high production values and this shows in the final production. It delivers in being outlandish and gory but it is a disappointment since gory does not always equal scary and I was expecting much more from this. Apparently there will be a sequel and I can already see the premise. Let me see, another group of people in the same old creepy cabin in the same old creepy woods, who find the same old creepy book, and some-one foolishly recites the same old creepy incantations, resurrecting the same old creepy forces, some people will get possessed and much violence and gore will ensue. The End.

I hope they prove me wrong.

2.5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE GOD. GIVE ME A BREAK., April 14, 2013
This review is from: Evil Dead (DVD)
During the 1980's the pop culture ran film after film of Jason and Freddie. Real horror fans quietly turned "Evil Dead" into a cult classic with collectors DVDs selling up to $100.00.

The remake has high standards to meet for devoted fans. Some fans claim it is not a remake, but if you use the same name and have many of the same scenes, it's a duck.

1) The book has to be convincing. They did fine here.
2) The forest rape scene was a signature scene. This film didn't improve on it. One would expect with all the CG effects available, this would have been far better. It was worse. In fact there was a complete lack of special effects I was hoping for.
3) Bruce Campbell and a chainsaw. They didn't even come close. Jessica Lucas? Shiloh Fernandez? Please. They needed a name actor to take that role and write it with some personality. They didn't.
4) There was also a high amount of camp value to the original film series. This one eliminates all the humor. Seriously, where is the hand running around giving people the finger as in the ED 2? I think the whole movie gave the viewers the finger.

If you have seen the original, you can wait to watch this as a rental. This won't make my collection as did the faux skin covered DVD. Having trashed this film, I will say if you haven't seen the original and know nothing about "Evil Dead" you might find that you will like this blood fest. My recommendation is to watch the original and "leave this book alone".

Parental Guide: F-bombs. No sex. Sketch nudity in book, mud nudity?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For me, a little disappointing..., July 28, 2013
By 
L (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Unlike its predecessor, this Evil Dead left you with too many questions. (spoilers ahead) To begin with. Who was that man who killed his daughter/demon at the beginning of the film? What was he doing in a cabin that apparently belonged to the protagonist's family? Who were those people who helped him get rid of the demon? Where were those people and that man when the demon was resurrected again?
Admittedly I am probably quibbling over what some view as little stuff, but I honestly thought this movie was not well thought out. The original, cheap budget and all, with its touch of bad acting, was in actuality a much better written film.
Seriously,(more spoilers) what friend, and a nurse no less, would "kidnap" (the moment Mia wanted to leave it was a kidnapping) an emotionally unstable person with a drug addiction, in order to "cure" her, knowing she is prone to violence and could possibly injury herself, without a hospital close by? Also, what was a nurse doing, outside of a hospital, with the meds needed to sedate her?
Mind you, I have always loved horror movies, and had looked forward to an improved version of one of the old classics, like John Carpenter's version of the Thing, but unfortunately as often happens - the improved special effects in this one did not make a better film in this case. However, if you are someone who likes the emphasis on real looking blood and gore type special effects in a horror movie, and doesn't mind holes in its plot, this movie will not disappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some things should not be remade, August 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead (DVD)
This film kind of reminds me of the Resident Evil films (the live action ones, not the CGI ones). By that I mean, if they just avoided the title, it likely would have gone better. The second you slap a legendary name with such a following as "Evil Dead" on a film, you set the bar so high that most, if not all, hopes of getting out from under that huge shadow are gone. Most folks cannot get around that hurdle.

Name aside, the film isn't horrible. Simple plot, characters developed just enough to explain their skill sets and why they are there. Gore and death scenes are decent, though a bit excessive (not a bad thing in such a film). Sprinkle the usual stupid acts of horror movie characters, like "whats that sound? I'll check by myself" and you got enough to carry 90 minutes.

The ending was anti-climatic. All that build up, all that work and boom, the fight is over in a blink with a underwhelming death sequence. The observant viewer might notice the cameo by the big man, Bruce, at the end of the credits, which was a nice chuckle moment for me.

Rent, Netflix, but only buy if you really into Horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, September 1, 2013
By 
J Dub (Bay Area, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I didn't expect a exact remake of the original. But I wanted something more than the gore factor cranked up. The genre seems to be dead as everything is just boring recycled crap. In that manner this didn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars COULD HAVE BEEN A CLASSIC, November 20, 2013
This review is from: Evil Dead (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
THE EVIL DEAD

If there was ever a film that did not need a remake t was this one in my opinion. The original and its sequels are three of my all time favorite films. So when I learned of this remake I was sure I would enjoy all that much. I never hate on any film before seeing it but a little part of me was expecting to be disappointed. Thankfully I was not as disappointed as I thought I would be. When I found out Raimi, Campbell, and Tapert were going to produce I rested a little easier.

The film follows five friends who are going to a secluded cabin to help out Mia who has a drug problem. Once there things are going well until a stench from the basement leads them down to investigate. Once down there they come across the Book of the Dead. Reading from it they summon a demon even though they don’t know it yet. Mia feels it and wants to leave but the group thinks she is suffering from withdrawal. Things could not be any further from the truth as the demon is very real and the night is about to get real interesting.
Although there is plenty of nods to the original this is very much a new take on the “Evil Dead”. Fede Alvarez who co wrote and directed this picture did a good job with the atmosphere and gore of the film. In fact this movie may be more blood filled then the first. That of course does not mean it makes it a better film. The cast does a great job here with Jane Levy being the best here, although the way her character turns out or whatever I was not big fan of.

This is a gory flick and can be a little intense at times for any of you young ones out there. The film is rated R for a reason and as far as that goes this film is a winner. But the film to me remains only a good film when it could have been great. The movie seems to be doing all the right things but it just falls short for some reason. Still the Blu-Ray comes with a lot of excellent bonus features like all the behind the scenes stuff and a commentary. Over all this is a good flick but it falls short of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First off it is an awesome movie, great blood, October 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I can not accept this as a part of the Evil Dead Franchise!!!! If you are a die hard Evil Dead fan, This will piss you off! First off it is an awesome movie, great blood, with a nice twist. However its a disgrace to the original. It was like they combined 1 and 2, and added some other stuff.. Like in 2 when Ash cut his own hand off, they did that twice in this movie, each time you thought man is this it, is this the part where someone is rocking a hand made out of chain saw, and then you are let down, to find out the brother dies, and the sister lives. Yup the same sister that fumbled the keys twice. So yea I am pissed I hate when they do this, they take away the male lead and give it to a female, Well, if they named this movie anything but Evil Dead I would have loved it, but if your going to re-write a masterpiece, write it right!... Don't replace Awesome Ash with doped out Mia, sad but true, they destroyed my any hopes I had for an awesome remake!!! FML right.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 282 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Evil Dead (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy)
Evil Dead (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy) by Fede Alvarez (Blu-ray - 2013)
$19.99 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.