Customer Reviews


770 Reviews
5 star:
 (337)
4 star:
 (165)
3 star:
 (105)
2 star:
 (68)
1 star:
 (95)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 129 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars essentially the original, yet it's own film.
When I first heard that Evil Dead was being remade, I wasn't happy. I've grown tired of reboots and remakes and I felt that remaking Evil Dead was akin to trampling on sacred ground. After discovering that Raimi and Campbell were backing it, I gave in and joined the the party, my uptight "Dead purist" friends be damned. This version starts out with the same creepy cabin...
Published 21 months ago by SKOLVK

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You can't pull off your own hand. You just can't.
The reason Sam Raimi's 'The Evil Dead' (1981) and 'Evil Dead 2' (1987) were effective for what they were (blackly comedic gore-flick tributes) is that they exploited the tropes of the supernatural-horror genre while pushing them to their (at the time) furthest physical and psychological extremes. They were quirky-funny, directorially overindulgent, viscerally shocking...
Published 8 months ago by Brian


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

110 of 129 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars essentially the original, yet it's own film., April 5, 2013
By 
This review is from: Evil Dead (DVD)
When I first heard that Evil Dead was being remade, I wasn't happy. I've grown tired of reboots and remakes and I felt that remaking Evil Dead was akin to trampling on sacred ground. After discovering that Raimi and Campbell were backing it, I gave in and joined the the party, my uptight "Dead purist" friends be damned. This version starts out with the same creepy cabin in the same creepy woods but with a new group of twenty somethings unwittingly walking into the slaughter. A new element is introduced when we find out that the gang is trying to help their friend Mia recover from a nasty heroin addiction. Making the trip is her estranged brother David who wasn't around when Mia had to deal with their mother's death. Needless to say, there are a lot of family issues that the two never hashed out and hard feelings are being felt.

If being drug out to a creepy cabin in the woods by her friends wasn't bad enough, things are going to get worse for Mia. Ignoring all blatant signs to get out of dodge,(decaying cats strung up on the ceiling, A blood stained floor)the group decides to go poking around the basement where they find a book made out of human skin. The nerdy hipster friend(Eric) can't keep his hands off of it and decides to read it, going so far as to pencil trace the words that have been scribbled out. His meddling causes forest demon(s)to spring forth from their dormancy and they're quite smitten with the venerable Mia. To make matters worse, her friends take her warnings as the paranoid ramblings of a junky coming down from a fix. Soon the gore hits the fan and one by one the friends get possessed and off themselves and each other in increasingly gruesome ways.

I was pleased with Evil Dead. The acting was a little wooden at first but when Mia and David's past was established,I felt that it gave the plot a solid anchor. The gore was turned up a couple notches from the original but there were times when it reached absurd levels. I couldn't help laughing aloud when the characters kept using duct tape in attempts to reattach severed limbs. with that aside, Evil Dead delivers a solid film that even "Dead purists" will enjoy. I'd say that the film is more " cringe enduing" than "terrifying" but still very enjoyable none the less. I challenge you "Dead purist" to check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


118 of 160 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where the hell is the unrated cut??, May 28, 2013
This review is from: Evil Dead (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
I am not happy. Great remake, but I was expecting an Unrated cut for blu-ray. If the studio thinks they are double-dipping off me, think again. I'm waiting on the Hobbit (extended cuts already confirmed) and I'm waiting on this too. Stop being so damn greedy Hollywood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You can't pull off your own hand. You just can't., April 12, 2014
By 
Brian (Jersey City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Evil Dead (DVD)
The reason Sam Raimi's 'The Evil Dead' (1981) and 'Evil Dead 2' (1987) were effective for what they were (blackly comedic gore-flick tributes) is that they exploited the tropes of the supernatural-horror genre while pushing them to their (at the time) furthest physical and psychological extremes. They were quirky-funny, directorially overindulgent, viscerally shocking and, yes, even occasionally scary. Sadly, as is the case with most remakes of the past decade, the producers of 'Evil Dead' redux (2013) either don't get it or don't care. They decided to warm over a story loosely based on what was already a pastiche of familiar Lovecraftian scenarios, double down on the carnage, eliminate the camp, ignore any form of dramatic or narrative integrity, and imagined they would end up with something, um, grittier? more intense? serious? 'realistic'? I really have no idea what they were thinking (outside cashing in on the name recognition of an established cult franchise), but this humorless dud, though it tries at moments to recapture some of Raimi's kinetic visual madness, comes across much thinner creatively, and therefore is substantially less engrossing, than the originals. 1 1/2 stars for decent special effects.

SCIENCE NOTE: If you're wondering, **SPOILER** vis-à-vis one of the multiple endings tacked on here, it is biologically impossible-- even when you have a machete-wielding, superhuman-yet-corporeally-vulnerable demon chasing you in a bloody monsoon and you've managed somehow to get your arm pinned under your car with a running chainsaw just inches out of reach-- to generate the force necessary to pull off your own hand. We all know how simple it is to perform self-surgery, to sever an appendage with an axe or an electric carving knife, without going into shock, passing out and bleeding to death, but even by torture-porn standards the 'hand yank' is a bridge too far. Happy viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Retread with that not-so-fresh feeling, October 11, 2013
This review is from: Evil Dead (DVD)
The original movie from 1981 was made with a zesty energy and enthusiasm that belied its shoestring budget, resulting in a fun, inventive, campy-scary cult classic. As usual for remakes, they threw in lots more money, lots more gore, and cloistered it within an atmosphere of deadly seriousness. What they left out: any sense of fun, verve, humor, purpose. To these eyes it's strictly DOA. The worst part: like Wes Craven lending a hand to the soulless remake of his early 70's grindhouse classic The Last House on the Left a few years ago, Sam Raimi (the writer/director of the original) and Bruce Campbell (the original's inimitable star) were responsible in producing this. The end result is not exactly a desecration but simply a typical Remake Bummer nonetheless. Some people just can't leave well enough alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 1.75 STARS: Turn off your brain time and have a few laughs, but that's about all with this flick., August 20, 2014
By 
HorrorMan "HM" (The Marsten House) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Evil Dead (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Remakes of classic horror movies generally do not turn out well. There are many examples of remake disasters such as Rob Zombie's "Halloween", "The Fog" and "A Nightmare on Elm Street" just to name a few, but there are many more. The original "Evil Dead" was a pretty decent horror movie with some atmosphere, a good story and a lot of blood and gore, and the remake of "Evil Dead" does a decent job of providing a movie along those same lines. The acting was decent except for the guy who plays the lead male character. I thought that the actor who played the long-haired guy with glasses was much more dynamic and interesting than the main character. Nevertheless, the acting was okay, story was fair and there was a degree---albeit rather low---of suspense and atmosphere that made this a half-way decent horror movie.

Basically, "Evil Dead" is about a group of young people who are staying in a cabin out in the middle of the woods in order to help Mia overcome her drug addiction by eliminating any possible avenue for her to engage in such illicit activities. Of course, the long-haired guy with glasses finds the Book of Dead and begins reading from it, basically cursing and dooming them to a hell of sorts. Things start happening to Mia, and then things go from bad to worse. A lot of violence, blood and gore follow which is in the spirit of the original. The characters have to find a way to save themselves before they all perish at the hands of a nasty demonic force.

All in all, this is not bad movie if you are looking for something like the "Evil Dead" original with a more modern look. That being said, the original "Evil Dead" was not all that scary to me, but was more of an in your face blood and gorefest with some dark humor. Thus, this is what you essentially get in this remake. The remake of the "Evil Dead" certainly is not a good horror movie by any stretch of the imagination, but there is some entertainment value here if you are just looking to turn your brain off for a while and watch some silly blood and gore action involving a group of silly young people. I've seen a lot worse. LOL.

Can't endorse this movie too much because I just cannot take it seriously, but I don't really think that the creators of the movie expected the audience to take it seriously---much like the original. As such, the movie does not try to do too much with itself, and the creators of the flick were aware of its limitations. Such limitations prevent the movie from being scary to the viewer, but there is some semblance of entertainment here---but just don't expect too much. P.S. Just loved the raining of blood scene at the end---that was very amusing. The remake of the "Evil Dead" really is more funny than scary, but it does have some horror elements to it. So, I will give it a break and give it two (2) STARS, but I can't help from feeling that I am being Santa Claus for doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like the first one more this failing remake, October 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead (DVD)
Like the first one more this failing remake. Just like most remakes always has too GCI in them. But I do like how they try and fail on the way. If you like lot of GCI stuff in your movies then it's for you, if not then slay with the good old times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good opening spoiled by generic second half or two-thirds, January 28, 2014
This review is from: Evil Dead (DVD)
It used to be in Hollywood, aspiring film makers could break into the scene by making a low-budget noir thriller (see Blood Simple) or horror film (see Night of the Living Dead). Sam Raimi and his friends got into the business by making The Evil Dead, a low-budget horror movie famous (or infamous) for pushing the boundaries. The movie is pretty raw. The story is fairly basic--five 18-to-25 year-olds go to a cabin in the woods where they plan to have a lot of fun but unleash a demon who starts possessing and killing them one by one. The special effects were the best they could do on a low budget and work for the most part. The violence and gore and scares are so extreme that they sometimes become comic. Bruce Campbell's over the top performance as Ash begins his amazing career. The movie became a cult hit and was also banned in Britain during the video nasties scare of the 1980s.

Fast forward 30 years. A high-budget (comparatively speaking) remake is made with the backing of the original film's producers. The story is mostly the same, except that the five young people come to the cabin to help one of them kick her drug addiction (which helps explain why they don't run away immediately when she tells them about the crazy evil things happening to her). The special effects are top-notch, to the fault of being too realistic. The violence and gore and scares are extreme but don't cross the line into comedy. Jane Levy's solid performance as going-cold-turkey Mia carries the viewer through the excruciating horror. The movie, while not a big hit, performed well enough at the box office to get a sequel greenlit.

This movie has a lot of visual and audio references to the first film (and its sequels), which is to be expected, but has nothing iconic of its own to offer. I liked the set-up which makes their reluctance to leave more plausible, though both this film and the earlier one show that escape is impossible regardless of the characters' decisions. So the set up is a welcome but not necessary addition. The change in tone, losing the humor and the over-the-top rawness, is a big problem. Without the humor to buoy up the viewer, the gore gets too grim and unbearable. The realistic depiction of the gore doesn't help. When Bruce Campbell cuts his evil hand off in Evil Dead II, the filmmakers play up the ridiculousness of what's happening (at the end the hand goes scurrying away like Thing from The Addams Family). A similar scene in this film has a woman (not Mia) chopping most of her arm off with an electric kitchen knife, but it's just an unpleasantly realistic-looking experience--gore for its own sake, which is repulsive in every possible sense. Mia's plight is pitiable but truly unpleasant. Perhaps there's heroism in her survival to the end but watching the movie is more like a forced march than a triumphant arrival. The film has almost nothing to offer but a lot of unpleasantness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Watching this movie right now..., April 3, 2014
This review is from: Evil Dead (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
About halfway through this thing and its safe to say this thing is pretty lame. I've seen the first two from the original franchise and those were much better. The originals were scary and funny all at the same time. This movie was just a bunch of teenagers getting wacked off like all the other new horror movies these days. Pretty pointless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, September 1, 2013
By 
J Dub (Bay Area, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I didn't expect a exact remake of the original. But I wanted something more than the gore factor cranked up. The genre seems to be dead as everything is just boring recycled crap. In that manner this didn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE GOD, GIVE ME A BREAK,, April 14, 2013
This review is from: Evil Dead (DVD)
During the 1980's the pop culture ran film after film of Jason and Freddie. Real horror fans quietly turned "Evil Dead" into a cult classic with collectors DVDs selling up to $100.00.

The remake has high standards to meet for devoted fans. Some fans claim it is not a remake, but if you use the same name and have many of the same scenes, it's a duck.

1) The book has to be convincing. They did fine here.
2) The forest rape scene was a signature scene. This film didn't improve on it. One would expect with all the CG effects available, this would have been far better. It was worse. In fact there was a complete lack of special effects I was hoping for.
3) Bruce Campbell and a chainsaw. They didn't even come close. Jessica Lucas? Shiloh Fernandez? Please. They needed a name actor to take that role and write it with some personality. They didn't.
4) There was also a high amount of camp value to the original film series. This one eliminates all the humor. Seriously, where is the hand running around giving people the finger? I think the whole movie gave the viewers the finger.

If you have seen the original, you can wait to watch this as a rental. This won't make my collection as did the faux skin covered DVD. Having trashed this film, I will say if you haven't seen the original and know nothing about "Evil Dead" you might find that you will like this blood fest. My recommendation is to watch the original and "leave this book alone".

Parental Guide: F-bombs. No sex. Sketch nudity in book, mud nudity?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Evil Dead (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy)
Evil Dead (Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy) by Fede Alvarez (Blu-ray - 2013)
$19.99 $9.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.