Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ask yourself why
Why do you do what you do? It's the question you will be forced to answer while you are reading this book. Just like 'Ignore Everybody', Hugh's first book, I found this book to be the kind of reading that wakes you up and makes you ask ( and hopefully answer ) the tough questions.

If I were to summarize Evil Plans in 100 words or less, it would be something...
Published on February 21, 2011 by Scott Barstow

versus
80 of 95 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fast Food Professional Advice
The book is kind of like fast food. It was apparently easy to make, it's easy to read, and while it may feel good at the time its quality is dubious. We have a 170-page book filled with two page chapters and a lot of pages consisting entirely of two-by-three inch cartoons with bumper sticker phrases such as "Love doesn't have a purpose; love is a purpose."...
Published on March 30, 2011 by Robert S. Costic


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a "How-To" Book..., February 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Plans: Having Fun on the Road to World Domination (Hardcover)
This isn't a "how to" book.

Hugh does a great job of getting you to think differently about your own situation through his cartoons and writing.

This book follows that same pattern.
(the same pattern as his other book "Ignore Everybody")

It's a solid, and easy read... and insightful as always.

It's not a 5-star book because it contains very little "how to".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars But was it worth the price?, March 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have mixed feelings about this book. I have not read Hugh MacLeod's earlier book, "Ignore Everybody," but I am about to do just that. These two books have the same things in common: a great title, and chapter headings that inspire and make the reader eager to read. That's the good news.

The bad news is that there isn't a whole lot underneath the surface of this one. Some chapters literally restated the chapter heading and provided little to no detail. I came away with the feeling that for $11.99 for the Kindle edition, there should have been a lot more content. You can read this book in one sitting.

On the other hand, the book is intended to inspire the reader to create his or her own "evil plans," and in that respect, this book delivers. I just can't decide if I feel good about paying $12 for slightly more detail than is provided in the Table of Contents, which is available for free as a Kindle sample.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As an entrepreneur I found this book quite to the point., February 23, 2011
This review is from: Evil Plans: Having Fun on the Road to World Domination (Hardcover)
This is a delightful book for several reasons. As an entrepreneur with my own "evil plans", I was touched by Hugh MacLeod's honesty and openness of his own journey to discovering, implementing, and succeeding at creating his own evil plan to live his own life as he chooses. Like so many of us, he worked trying to find his way in the "normal" world for too much of his life. Finally, he realized that life is just too darn short to keep wasting it. He had to get to know himself and find out what it was that meant the most to him and figure out how to get others to pay him to do it. He invented this art form of drawing cartoons on the back of business cards and eventually figured that if could get 10,000 people a year to buy his artwork, buy the wine he believed in, and purchase some fine art he would like to sell he could make a living. A real life. Then he also wrote a bestselling book and I believe he is doing a lot better than his initial goals would have returned to him.

You will find a lot of delightful anecdotes of people MacLeod has met, helped, and worked with over the years. Each is used to illustrate a different aspect of the point he is making. Your Evil Plan shouldn't be about changing the world, it should be about realizing a meaningful life for yourself. It's about the cycle of being inspired and inspiring others of being "intoxicated by possibility" and not waiting for permission but to just go ahead and act on your ideas, passions, and dreams.

I love his notion that all entrepreneurs are aspiring entrepreneurs and that all good ideas must die so that great ideas might live. And, yes, mediocrity does suck. But he also wisely notes that people don't scale. So, if you are about people you have to take a different course than those who exclude actual people from their plans.

This is a small book, but big on insights, helpful observations, and fun. I recommend it to you with real enthusiasm. Enjoy! Learn and then go and do.

Reviewed by Craig Matteson, Saline, MI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hate it! Terrible! This is the book I should have written. Hugh must have stolen my idea!, July 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a laugh a minute and i recognised bits of our common humanity in his personal stories.
Does not require a MBA to read but it will point you to lofty directions of achievement nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars could of passed on it, May 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
a friend recommended it to me so I bought it. If you just follow him on his blog you will get the jist of this. Truth be told, i read it about 3 months ago and don't remember anything worth remembering from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book to Help You Create Your Evil Plan, September 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Plans: Having Fun on the Road to World Domination (Hardcover)
Evil Plans is a great book. It's a book about an idea and about a state of mind that allows you to chase your dreams. Your Evil Plan, according to Hugh Macleod, is your ability to do something that you love and to have fun while making a living.

Hugh is living proof that it's possible to do something that you love and make a living at it. He is a former ad man, who slaved away at a job that he didn't like. He was starting to get burned out at a reletively young age when inspiration hit him. He loved drawing cartoons and he ended up finding a way to turn that passion into a career. He now runs Gaping Void Gallery where he sells his art - some cartoons, doodles and high end art work, all of which was started with a love for drawing cartoons. He's making money doing what he loves. The book Evil Plans is a collection of his cartoons and his inspiration and encouragement to take the same leap of faith that he did to 'Have fun on the road to world domination.'

Evil Plans isn't just about quitting your job and starting a business though. For some people, its doing a better job in your current role or taking on a new project that your excited about...Or it might just be finding a hobby or passion that might one day pay you rewards...and hopefully earn you money. Either way the message is inspiring and the book is a breeze to read.

When I pre-ordered my copy of the book, Hugh sent an autographed drawing along with the book. I keep it at my desk as I plot my Evil Plan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing too original here, may be good for motivation., July 1, 2011
By 
Joe (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Evil Plans: Having Fun on the Road to World Domination (Hardcover)
I found this book to be very funny and thought-provoking. If you're looking for a guide on how to make a million bucks just sitting there and typing a blog, this is not it, but if you need a nudge to think about what you are doing now and how to do something different that you might like a lot better, this book has a lot of helpful tid bits to help chart your own course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Leave bread crumbs leading back to your passions., June 9, 2011
By 
Barry L. Davis (Lancaster, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Plans: Having Fun on the Road to World Domination (Hardcover)
I'm not quite sure how to describe this book. There are numerous insights, some "Duh!" chapters and pages that are in between. Fascinating cartoons (MacLeod started out drawing cartoons on the back of business cards): some profound, some cryptic and some totally confusing (at least to me). And, although the language is occasionally more salty than I care for, there are diamonds to mine in this little book.

What is your "Evil Plan?" Simply to do what you love and get paid for it. MacLeod suggests that what makes it "evil" is that others may become jealous of you. But, he points out, they could do the same if they wanted to. He challenges the reader with blog-ish chapers like "Keep it Simple," "Make Art Every Day," "Death by Stuff" and "Everything Begins with the Act of Gift-Giving."

His simplistic (yet profound) counsel can be boiled down to three key points.
1. Figure out what your gift is and give it to people regularly.
2. Make sure it's perceived as a real gift, not an advertising message.
3. Figure out exactly what it is that your "trail of bread crumbs" leads back to.

What it leads back to is how you make your living. This is your "Evil Plan."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it..., May 17, 2011
By 
Karen (West Lafayette, IN, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evil Plans: Having Fun on the Road to World Domination (Hardcover)
I bought this because I love MacLeod's art, and I think he is an intelligent and creative person. But I'm not sure this would be to everyone's liking. On the other hand, that's kind of the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Wake Up Call for People Who are Stuck, April 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Plans: Having Fun on the Road to World Domination (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:50 Mins

This is a quick video where I discuss my experience of reading Evil Plans, what it brought to the table for me, and those it will benefit most to give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Evil Plans: Having Fun on the Road to World Domination
Evil Plans: Having Fun on the Road to World Domination by Hugh MacLeod (Hardcover - February 17, 2011)
$24.95 $19.13
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.