Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Work In The Making
Just like the other reviewers, I've got to say the first time I saw this bit of "B" movie perfection was late night on The Movie Channel. Even at that time this movie was hacked to pieces by the channel that was airing it! However there are so many reasons why anyone who loves cult horror films must own this!

Here's your plot, and the basis for my...
Published on July 31, 2004 by Cult DVD Hunter

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Evil Toons? More like Toon.
Ok, I get it, I get it... this is how this movie came about. A group of no talent perverts got together to write a horror story. There script was of a group of girls who are hired to stay the weekend and clean an old abandoned house that has a boogedy boogada history. A mysterious man delivers them a book in the middle of the night, and what the heck, they open it. Of...
Published 18 months ago by Micheal Hunt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Work In The Making, July 31, 2004
This review is from: Evil Toons (DVD)
Just like the other reviewers, I've got to say the first time I saw this bit of "B" movie perfection was late night on The Movie Channel. Even at that time this movie was hacked to pieces by the channel that was airing it! However there are so many reasons why anyone who loves cult horror films must own this!

Here's your plot, and the basis for my love of the film. Take four young beautiful coeds who are in charge of cleaning a large mansion (that strangely looks identical to the one in sorrority house massacre II and slumber party massacre) and have them find an old book of spells. One of the spells just happens to release a demon into the house, but instead of a disgusting slimy rubber demon we get a cute and crude cartoon demon superimposed on the screen! Talk about the X-rated version of Roger Rabbit! From then there's nothing but stripped girls, bloody deaths, and crude language from a raunchy cartoon demon! Couple this with David Carrodine running around outside and you've got a 90 minute piece of cult horror history.

And the best part to finish off has to be the cast. You will see Kung-Fu and the recent Kill Bill's David Carrodine, known for his late 80's and early 90's "B" film roles as either a pimp, a strip club owner, or some wierdo who hangs out with hot chicks (and this is the role he plays in this movie). The next would be the four girls in this adventure: Monique Gabriel, Suzanne Ager, Madison Stone, and Barbara Dare. If you don't know their names you may know their faces...provided you indulged in adult cinema in the 90's. They're all porno stars! This film does go out of its way to prove this fact as well.

This movie was IMPOSSIBLE to find at video stores and I'm almost sure never hit store shelves on VHS, but it is now availible (and only here, I think) in all its digital glory (and with special features) and I can't find a single reason why any fan of cult horror wouldn't want to own this and share with all of their buddies over a case of beer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When Roger Rabbit Kills, February 8, 2002
By 
Michael Schoene (Rochester, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Evil Toons (DVD)
Evil Toons is an entertaining b line movie by Fred Olen Ray. The plot involves four girls hired to clean an old house for its new owners. What the girls don't realize is that the house has a long history of strange and evil happenings. Their first night there a stranger delivers a package to them. They open it to find a strange book with explicit drawings and strange warnings in it. The girls end up releasing an animated beast that has a propensity to kill and tear the cloths off its victims. The movie is both funny and a little bit scarey, but it is definitely entertaining.
I would recomend this movie to those of you that enjoy b line movies. Evil Toons is very entertaining and it is proof that you don't need a huge budget to make and entertaining movie. Just be advised that you are getting a b line movie, so the acting is not always the best and the effects don't rival Terminator. You have to appreciate this movie for what it is. I recomend it for the mature viewer that enjoys movies that are not Hollywood smashes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, hilarious trash., July 20, 2002
By 
Erik Homenick (San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evil Toons (DVD)
I had first accidentally stumbled upon this movie several years ago late one night on cable t.v. Within an instint, I fell in love with the atrocious acting, worse dialog, and sleazy nudity. EVIL TOONS is truly, as far as I'm concerned, a modern classic in cult/trash cinema. Thus, it seemed only appropriate to own this title on DVD.
The disc contains a nice looking widescreen picture, however, the sound is mono. The DVD has some interesting bonuses such as a trailer, a 10 minute "behind-the-scenes" commentary with the film's director, Fred Olen Ray, and a funny intro to the movie with the director, his wife, and naked women chained to the wall.
I recommend this DVD to anyone who enjoys nudity, schlock, and a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Evil Toons? More like Toon., February 26, 2013
By 
This review is from: Evil Toons, 20th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
Ok, I get it, I get it... this is how this movie came about. A group of no talent perverts got together to write a horror story. There script was of a group of girls who are hired to stay the weekend and clean an old abandoned house that has a boogedy boogada history. A mysterious man delivers them a book in the middle of the night, and what the heck, they open it. Of coarse, the nerd of the group can read ancient Latin and unleashes a demon in the house and the eye of the tiger kicks in with one girls will to survive.

However, once principal photography was complete, studio executives took a look at the daily's of the film and said, "You know what, this movie is horrible. We are not giving you a cent to use special effects or create puppets to make the demon that's to be cut into the film, even with decent effects, the movie will still be &*^%$ house"

So, instead, the director and producer and writers decided to ask someone to draw in a cartoon demon, and only one, but where so thrilled at what they thought was going to be the most brilliant idea in movie history, they didn't proof read the title and called the movie Evil Toons, instead of Evil Toon, as only one appears in the movie. Sorry, that is a bit of a spoiler, but trust me, you won't be disappointed to find that out if you ever have the misfortune of having to watch this thing in its entirety.

Being that they made such a bad movie, with horrible acting and a stupid enough plot, they figured they might try to pass off what they have, now with a cartoon bad guy, as a comedy! However, not much at all is funny other than how bad the overall outcome is. About the only thing I thought was funny and a good line was "You, B&%$#. I'll get you back in the sequel"... classic... too bad the rest of the movie prevents it from actually being one.

David "Kung-Fu Dude" Carradine is probably the only reason anyone would still purposely track down this movie... that or you see it recommended in "Parody" movies, like I did, but this is not a parody movie of anything but itself. David Carradine must be turning in his grave when people watch this film. Surely he didn't need the money that badly at the time it was made did he? Oh well, rest now, Grasshoppa.

I also suspect that after the cartoon thing was inserted, executives still said, "Nah, it's still not worthy of releasing... unless of coarse you throw in some gratuitous nudity". Now, I slammed a movie called "The Slaughter-house Massacre (AKA: Sickle)" once where for no reason what-so-ever there is a 15 minute scene of two lesbians making out at a rave party that has no relevance to the film what-so-ever. I think I have found a contender for that now in this movie. For no reason at all one of the girls turns on a radio and starts strip dancing, and telling the shy girl to join in, whom she offends and the shy girl runs upstairs upset. She goes into her room, takes off her cloths in front of the mirror, poses for herself while feeling her own melons, gets dressed again in time for another girl to come up stairs and ask her to come back down stairs. WTF? Why was this needed in the movie? Oh wait, I already answered that, the executives must have wanted something in it to try and attract teenage boys money, because selling it as a horror or comedy wasn't going to work by itself. If that scene wasn't stupid enough, it seems every girl in this movie has to be exposing themselves and being felt up by a cartoon dog before dying.

Acting : 1/5
Plot : 1/5
Comedy : 1/5
Story : 1/5
VFX : 1/5
Overall: 1

You will never kick yourself for never seeing this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ya gotta love it!, September 21, 2005
This review is from: Evil Toons (DVD)
This may be a B-movie, but I give it an A all the way! True, it's just an excuse to show T&A, but it's laced with humor all the way through! Anyone who takes this movie seriously or makes fun of the storyline or effects needs to have their head examined! Anyone can tell it's a low budget movie made to get cheap laughs. In the scene when Roxanne is stripping and she throws her shirt, the sound of breaking glass after the shirt flies offscreen kills me! Add to that the "jiggle" noise when she turns around and shakes her but and you HAVE to laugh! The monster (a Tazmanian Devil look-a-like) is just as funny with his reactions to Roxanne!

If you're a fan of low budget horror mixed with off beat comedy and have never seen this movie, you need to beg, borrow or steal a copy so you can sit down for some laughs! Better yet, just buy a copy off Amazon.com while you're here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'LL GET YOU IN THE SEQUEL FOR THIS!, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Toons, 20th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
This has stood the test of a cult classic. This obscure horror film DVD quickly reached the $40.00 mark. They made a re-issue of it, and it too sailed up to that level. In that regard, this film rates up there with the original "Night of the Demons."

What separated this film from the pack was the cartoon "Taz" like demon with a sense of humor. He was smartly integrated into the film with an attack rape scene with porn star Madison Stone. This was the scene that made the film a cult classic as the demon's tongue licked her chest and caused her bra to come apart. I will take that scene to my perverted grave.

The cast includes David Carradine, Arte Johnson, and scream queen Michelle Bauer, in case 4 topless co-eds aren't enough for you. The other porn star in this film, Barbara Dare, plays a shy geeky girl. Monique Gabrielle was the Dec. 1982 "Pet of the Month." What was most amazing was the better than normal caliber acting from the porn stars. Plot summary: Girls clean house. Girls get ancient book. Girls accidentally summon a demon.

Now if you don't have the money to shell out to buy this film, do a Google search and you might find it free to watch on line. For me this is a must for any horror cult collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Strange Take On Coeds In A Haunted House, September 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Toons, 20th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
"Evil Toons" is a peculiar movie about coeds in a haunted house from the notorious Fred Olen Ray. The premise is simple: four coeds arrive to spend the weekend cleaning an old house; an evil spirit haunts them resulting in mayhem, bloodshed, and other typical debauchery. The acting is absolutely terrible even for this genre: the best of the girls is Monique Gabrielle who, believe it or not, plays the nerdy and reserved Megan.

The real gimmick here is the animated monster who is nefarious indeed. He's onscreen for precious little time due to budgetary concerns, but I have to admit, after listening to Ray describe the laborious process they went through to get the composite footage, it looks pretty good and is definitely an interesting change for movies of this ilk. Today the animation would be done with CGI of course, but when this was made that was in the future, and each cel was hand-painted in New York around the master shot. The stars of the film are David Carradine and Arte Johnson, who turn in perfectly adequate performances even though they are not onscreen very much. I was actually most creeped out by the footage of David Carradine tightening a noose around his own neck in light of his tragic death. I did like the talking book effect, and thought it was cleverly employed in the storyline.

While the movie is very predictable with little to recommend it other than the animation novelty, the DVD is great, and there are loads of extras. I always appreciate the Retromedia releases, and this time they gave us a director's commentary track, the original trailer, part of the editor's original work print of the movie, a brief "making of" feature, and the original "Nite Owl Theater" host segment starring Ray. By far the best of the extras is Fred Olen Ray's commentary: it is genuinely interesting and very enlightening about low budget filmmaking (I especially enjoyed the recounting of the film's origins with the weird but economical "Millennium Countdown" tie-in.) Ray isn't afraid of exposing flaws in his own films (note the long discussion of doorknob and door hinge mismatch issues,) and is quick to explain interesting technical points without getting bogged down in minutiae. The animation process details he gives are especially noteworthy. The "making of" feature is a bit of a letdown if you have already listened to the commentary as much of it is a rehash, although I did enjoy the segment of film dubbed into French. The trailer is a camp classic, but that makes sense because so is the movie. The original editor's work print is very interesting to compare to the finished product, although I would have liked to see this cut of the entire film instead of the brief section that the DVD shows.

"Evil Toons" was a very ambitious film, especially on a $140,000 budget. If you are a connoisseur of the "coeds in peril" genre, this is a unique film you won't want to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What you should know, July 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Toons, 20th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
First of all yes, it's a bad movie, bad acting, bad special effect, etc. The only reason why I bought this film was because I thought most of the movie would show the cartoon demon...it did not. The demon only appeared as his cartoon self for about a minute or two. However, throughout the rest of the film he runs around disguised as his first female victim. He (now a she) runs around killing others with breasts popping out of her open shirt...what????? I was disappointed. If the movie would have contained more shots of the cartoon demon I would have given this film six stars...despite how bad it was.
Some reviewers complained how the director didn't know where to take this movie/ what to do with it. Personally, I think he knew exactly what he wanted to do with it. However, the film wasn't done well enough for the audience to fully get the director's vision. My bases for the above statement can be found throughout this film. For example, if you listen to the jokes, they sometimes revolve around predicting what could happen in such cliché scenarios. Personally, I feel that the director was intentionally making fun of monster movies/ acting in monster movies, etc. For example the girls (while in the basement at beginning of film) would joke about "now this is when we find the Ouija board."
The director also tried throwing in other types of jokes. For example, in one scene, the girls are screaming, and the nerdy girl's pony tail proceeded to stick straight up into the air.
One of the major problems with this film is that you can't fully tell when/ if the director was trying to create intense/dramatic, if any, scenes. This leads to confusion for the audience on how to view this film. Another indicator that the director was intentionally trying to poke fun at this movie genre was the awful dialogue. Some of what the girls had said was VERY 1950's, and it was laughable. Some of the lines included, "what are you, a afraidy cat," "gee," and my favorite was, "rats!" Once I heard "rats" I started laughing...what was this...Charlie Brown (some of the movie was like this/not all dialogue was like a 50's film)? Another example of bizzare humor was when the cartoon demon first appeared, and he saw the slutty girl bending over. He tugged on his ears, and made a licking motion with his tongue (almost like a loony toons moment of a character being in love).
Also, yes, there are a lot of boobs popping out in this film, but no sex. However, there was one scene where the demon held down his victim, he said "nice tits." He then proceeded to mount her, but you never see him enter her...some people claim this is a rape scene, and yes I could see it being one. However, you never see the demon enter her/ do much to her. the camera suddenly cuts to a close up of the girl's face/ her screaming.
Honestly, I fast forwarded a lot of the movie, I was looking for more of the cartoon demon, and couldn't find him (let's face it, that's the only reason most of us want to buy this movie). Personally, I thought the cartoon demon was cute...he was almost like a mix of the tazmanian devil (loony tunes), a wolf, and a monster. Not scary at all. Some of his dialogue was even funny. such as, "I'll get you in the sequel."
I liked the movie on the level that it was so bad, and it was almost interesting....if they would have added more of the cartoon demon throughout the movie, I would watch this several more times. But having a possessed girl, with her tits hanging out (substitute for seeing the cartoon demon) did not make this movie work.....I doubt I will watch this film again.
Also, some other things that were strange about the film:
(1) The slutty girl's boyfriend did not look like a young jock...he looked like he was in his late 20's...did not fit the part at all.
(2) Why was the tapestry from hell (throwing it over the body-sending souls to hell) necessary?
(3) Why did the old dude have a hot model for a wife???????? She wanted s-x with him, and he said no, I have to check on the girls and the house???? what?????
(4) when the demon first appears (cartoon) he ducks behind a couch (girl was coming into room-he was trying to hide). However, the back of the couch was facing the girl (as she entered the room), so if the demon was behind the couch-facing girl, how could she miss him??????
(5) SPOILER ALERT The movie's ending is confusing...they're dead, no they're not, yes they are, no they're not?????????????

This might be a fine movie for people who want to try to watch horror movies, but they have never seen one before/ not sure if they can handle the horror genre...If so then this movie is right for you. Yes it's a bad movie all the way through, but it's also not scary, yet at the same time it gives you a taste of typical horror genre(especially monster movies such as people in unknown locations, nudity, reading from a magical book which summons evil creatures, and so on.). This movie is also for those who love horrible horror movies. I would have loved it....but I WANTED MORE OF THE CARTOON DEMON. The demon was so bizzare (because it was a cartoon) that I feel more of him would have saved this film (for what the movie was).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fred Olen Ray's Best!, October 28, 2001
By 
This review is from: Evil Toons (DVD)
Although it was once billed as a gory Roger Rabbit (yeah, sure), Evil Toons is a stultifyingly amusing romp with plenty of T&A (mostly courtesy of then-porn starlet Madison, one of the first chicks on film to have her tongue pierced) and poorly animated cartoons by Eighties goremeister Chas Balun (mostly limited to an oversexed werewolf-like character).
Deliciously and compellingly trashy; probably the best celluloid crime by Fred Olen Ray, *the* mensch behind Cyclone (another half-forgotten gem) and many, many others B/Z-grade flicks.
Warning: while viewing, keep tongue firmly in cheek. Period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Crap, February 14, 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Toons (DVD)
A Movie so bad it's great. There's kind of a plot sort of ( see other review) but mostly the movie is about women who find lots of excuses to take off their tops.
Oh yeah, David Carradine stands by a tree for a real long time too for some reason. The movie also has a bunch of people you've seen in other things but you can't place where.
The movie is great escapism. Great humor. Low brow entertainment at its best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Evil Toons, 20th Anniversary Edition
Evil Toons, 20th Anniversary Edition by Fred Olen Ray (DVD - 2010)
Used & New from: $25.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.