Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clint kills 'em all
All successful actors have a role or a film that defines them for the rest of their careers. Tom Cruise has "Risky Business." Robert De Niro has "Taxi Driver." Marlon Brando had a lot of them, including "On the Waterfront," "The Godfather," and "Apocalypse Now." Who can watch Jimmy Stewart and not think of "It's a Wonderful Life"? See what I mean? The list could on and on...
Published on February 11, 2005 by Jeffrey Leach

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars RON HOWARD'S BROTHER COMMUNES WITH SATAN ON A MAC!!
Blood sacrifice! Decapitations! Marauding satanic pigs! This good fun 80's bloodbath stars Gentle Ben's little buddy as an uber bullied Stanley Coopersmith, Military School Cadet (bullied by , no less, by future 'That 70s Show' star Don Stark, 60lbs lighter).

In the basement of the school chapel, after being terrorised by the alcoholic caretaker (wonderfully...
Published on January 12, 2012 by Dr H.Alloy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clint kills 'em all, February 11, 2005
This review is from: Evilspeak (DVD)
All successful actors have a role or a film that defines them for the rest of their careers. Tom Cruise has "Risky Business." Robert De Niro has "Taxi Driver." Marlon Brando had a lot of them, including "On the Waterfront," "The Godfather," and "Apocalypse Now." Who can watch Jimmy Stewart and not think of "It's a Wonderful Life"? See what I mean? The list could on and on indefinitely. The lesser known actors, while not as visible to the majority of moviegoers, are critical to the success of Hollywood because they often take supporting roles that make the leads look good. They are recognizable faces to niche film fans, however. Enter Clint Howard, brother of the better known director and actor Ron Howard. Horror movie fans will forever pay homage to Clint--he of the perpetually balding pate, goofy visage, and lumbering gait--for his seminal role of Stanley Coopersmith in the 1982 gorefest "Evilspeak." They will just as likely hold a grudge against him for appearing in Uwe Boll's atrocious "House of the Dead," but that's another story for another time. Clint has appeared in dozens of films, as well as most of the films lensed by his brother, but "Evilspeak" is his defining moment.

"Evilspeak" opens in the distant past by showing a group of Spaniards excommunicating Esteban (Richard Moll) and his followers from the Church for blasphemous activities. What sorts of activities? The movie doesn't spend much time explaining what these folks are doing, but we do see Esteban performing some sort of bizarre ritual on the beach immediately before sacrificing a young lady to his dark deities. Flash forward to the present--meaning 1981 or 1982--to a soccer game at the West Andover Military Academy. Stanley Coopersmith (Howard) trips at a critical moment and loses the game for the team. The abuse heaped upon this poor lad is extreme. Coach (Claude Earl Jones) initially sticks up for Coopersmith by telling his teammates that every boy at the academy gets a shot at playing for the school. Within seconds of this exclamation, the coach helpfully makes a "suggestion" to Bubba (Don Stark) and his pals that if an injury sidelined Stanley, there wouldn't be much anyone could do about it. Wow, what a bunch of jerks! This is only the beginning, however, as we soon learn that the entire school seems to have it in for this poor kid. Colonel Kincaid (Charles Tyner), the commandant of the academy, can't stand him either. Neither can Reverend Jameson (Joseph Cortese) or the alcoholic caretaker Sarge (R.G. Armstrong).

Things start to look up for Coopersmith when he discovers a labyrinth of corridors underneath the school. Wouldn't you just know it? It turns out that the academy sits on the very site where Esteban and his followers established a church devoted to Satan. Stanley's discovery is in actuality Esteban's old haunt. Our hero finds a book written in Latin containing many conjurations and dark prayers, and it isn't too long before he's entering all of this stuff into his computer in an effort to discover what it means. Meanwhile, the torment continues. Bubba and his fellow goons destroy Stanley's class project, and physically assault him in the corridors every chance they get. Kincaid administers a whipping, and Jameson can barely look at the boy without cringing. Coopersmith's dark discoveries soon take on a vengeful tone as he begins actively collecting the necessary materials to cast a spell against his tormenters. The final straw occurs when Bubba and his friends perform an act so despicable against the only thing Coopersmith cares about in the entire world. From this point forward the gloves are off as "Evilspeak" turns into an unmitigated gorefest of epic proportions. Note to self: never pick on anyone again. EVER.

"Evilspeak" never lets us forget that Clint Howard is the star of the film. The camera rarely leaves him, which is a good thing because we see what a fine actor he is. Howard gives his put upon character great depth, makes us believe totally that he's a rather inept kid with a penchant for clumsiness yet deep inside is a good guy just looking to improve his lot in life. Stanley Coopersmith is so harassed that you can't help but root for him. Perhaps I should compliment the other actors at this point as well because they come across as the most unlikable bunch of cretins in B movie history, and that is exactly what the script called for them to do. I cheered at the end as Coopersmith took gory revenge against his oppressors. Speaking of the gore, "Evilspeak" contains several scenes of carnage and general mayhem rarely witnessed in American horror films. The pigs paying a visit to the secretary at her home should win some sort of award, but the real gooey stuff appears at the end. Imagine an airborne Clint Howard in devilish makeup slicing through heads and limbs with an enormous sword. Yep, it's gory, it's gluey, and it's great.

A huge thanks goes out to Anchor Bay for releasing such a fine DVD version of the film. Extras include a commentary with Howard and director Eric Weston, poster stills, and a trailer. The commentary is a lot of fun due to Clint Howard's observations. He tells lots of great stories, including one about some problems he encountered with law enforcement when he wore his military uniform from the film to a Las Vegas casino several years later. Clint seems like a great guy and his enthusiasm for the film appears genuine. Weston and Howard even discuss the idea of making a sequel! It probably won't happen, but if it matches this film in the gore department I'll be the first one in line to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, twisted, and underrated (just how I like 'em), July 17, 2004
By 
Echo "Echo" (Western Hemisphere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Evilspeak (DVD)
As one of the few who caught this on cable in the early 1980s, I can attest to the very disturbing nature of this film. 'Evilspeak' as a title doesn't have anything to do with the film itself, but that's fine. It is one of those rare horror gems that wrings every cent of value from its limited budget.
Clint Howard is a downtrodden military school cadet who no one likes - he is beaten up by his fellow classmates, smacked around by his teachers, and beaten by the school chaplain (!). In despair, Clint conjures a long-dead devil through an Apple II computer. (Yep, it turns out the Steve Jobs is evil incarnate after all!) Who knew that Satan's minions could be called with an old Apple II with a dual-floppy drive? Wouldn't it be easier to just call collect?
An explosive and gory revenge-fest follows....with explosions, swords, and wild pigs. Pigs were great in 'Hannibal', but this movie did it first.
Clint Howard's only problem is the inevitable comparisons to Ron Howard. But Clint is a fine genre actor and he brings some fine moments to this 'B' flick. But be warned, this movie is disturbing and extremely violent.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Remember the Little Kid You Used to Pick On? Well, He's a Big Boy Now!", September 26, 2005
By 
Michael R Gates (Nampa, ID United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evilspeak (DVD)
1981's EVILSPEAK is the story of Coopersmith (Clint Howard, brother of acclaimed director Ron Howard), a nerdy student in a military academy who suffers relentless harassment at the hands of the school's more popular students. When he inadvertently discovers that the school chapel has been erected atop the former lair of a medieval Satanist, Coopersmith invokes the spirit of the deceased devil-worshipper and enlists the ghost's aid in exacting revenge on his tormentors.

The underdog-gets-the-upperhand-via-the-supernatural plot of EVILSPEAK is cliche, but Clint Howard's affecting performance and Eric Weston's capable direction elevate the film above its formulaic roots. Gore fans won't be disappointed, as included in the blood-and-guts scenes are a decapitation, a nail through the forehead, an evisceration, and lots more. The flick is a bit sparse on the requisite T&A, though skin-seekers should find beautiful Lynn Hancock's shower scene quite enjoyable. Fans will recognize genre regular R.G. Armstrong--here playing the besotted Sarge--from such genre films as RACE WITH THE DEVIL (1975), CHILDREN OF THE CORN (1984), and the Arnold Schwarzenegger vehicle PREDATOR (1987), among others.

The DVD from Anchor Bay is well worth the price of admission, featuring the uncut, unrated version of EVILSPEAK for the first time in the US. The digital transfer is very crisp and clean, offered the film in its original 1.77:1 aspect ratio (enhanced for widescreen TVs) with a clear Dolby 2.0 stereo soundtrack. Extras include a feature commentary with director Eric Weston and star Clint Howard, as well as the original theatrical trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clint Howard dances with the devil..., August 23, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evilspeak (DVD)
Evilspeak (1982), written and directed by Eric Weston, features Ron Howard's lesser known, but more prolific brother Clint Howard (both started out on the classic television series The Andy Griffith Show, as Opie and Leon, respectively). During the 70's, both brothers starred in a spate of schlocky B movies like Eat My Dust! (1976) and Grand Theft Auto (1977), (most likely due to the fact that they probably had great difficulty in breaking out of the roles they played as children) to name a couple, and while brother Ron used the opportunity to get into directing (he directed the latter of the two films mentioned), his brother Clint seemed content to keep working in front of the cameras, enjoying his status of forever the character actor dwelling on the Hollywood fringe, managing to develop a long, successful career out of it, even making supporting appearances in some of his brothers films (ahhh, sweet nepotism), like Far and Away (1992), Apollo 13 (1995), and Edtv (1999), but his destiny seems to lie in the world of the B movie, and it seems to fit him perfectly.

In this film, Clint plays Stanley Coopersmith, a cadet at a military school. Stanley possesses an above average IQ, is odd looking, an orphan, a loner, and is highly uncoordinated (his fumbling of the ball during the school's soccer matches leads to much angering of the other players along with the coach). All of these things add up to incessant picking on by a popular clique led by Bubba (played by Don Stark, whom I recognized but couldn't place until I read that he currently appears on the TV show That 70's Show as the goofy neighbor Bob Pinciotti...man, he's really changed, and not for the better). They harass Stanley constantly, playing all sorts of pranks on him and just making his life miserable. Stanley is also harassed by others, like his soccer coach, the school's commandant, and even the school's priest, to some degree. What's a nerd to do? Well, the answer comes one day while Stanley is cleaning the basement of the school's church as punishment, which happens to have some secret catacombs as the current church sits atop a much older church erected by people cast out of their homeland so many hundreds of years ago and left on the shores of America for their heresy in following religions darker path. Stanley finds a secret room, which contains many things, including a dark tome, spelling out rituals of evil and instructions on performing black mass. With the help of an Apple computer borrowed from the school's library, Stanley intends on calling up dark powers to aid him in dealing with his tormentors, but will he get more than he bargained for? You bet he will...

Clint is always fun to watch, and he doesn't disappoint here. Turning to the dark side to gain supernatural powers to use against my enemies wouldn't have been my first choice, but to each his own. The story itself is pretty solid, despite various plot holes, and moves along at a steady pace, keeping the viewer's interest throughout until the film's end. There is a pretty good heaping of gore and nastiness, specifically near the end of the film, along with a couple of scenes with nekkid women (the scene with the secretary taking a shower seemed a bit odd, as she appeared to have a problem with one of her milk glands, as if it was partially deflated somehow, but I digress). One thing I found interesting was the level of revenge exacted on Stanley's tormentors seemed proportional to the amount of harassment they inflicted on him. Decapitations, death by possessed pig, removal of vital organs, etc., it's here and more. Clint is backed up by a rich supporting cast, including veteran film and television actors R.G. Armstrong (Race with the Devil), Joseph Cortese (American History X), Claude Earl Jones (Used Cars), Heywood Nelson (Dwayne from the TV show What's Happening!), and Charles Tyner (The Outlaw Josey Wales). Probably the element that will put people off most is the exceptionally cheap looking animated graphics supposed to simulate on screen computer graphics, but I found it kind of charming, in its' own cheesy way. The film's not really scary, but it does get pretty graphic, and those with a weak stomach would probably do well to avoid this film.

This release from Anchor Bay Entertainment boasts a restored and uncut version of the film, which means some of the more gory and graphic scenes of bloody carnage removed due to the MPAA's (Motion Picture Association of America) ever changing archaic rules and regulations (this is the group that gave the film Midnight Cowboy, which later won the Oscar for best picture, an unnecessary X rating at the time of its' release) have been put back in...this is one of my favorite aspects about the DVD format, being the opportunity to see movies as they were originally intended to be seen, before they were hacked up in an effort to satisfy some pain in the rear censorship board. The special features contained on this release include a good-looking wide screen format (some scratches are present), an entertaining audio commentary by writer/producer/director Eric Weston, a production cast member named Warren Lewis, and star Clint Howard, a original theatrical trailer, biographies, a photo gallery, and booklet insert with liner notes. If I learned anything from this film, it's that it's not unusual for a military academy to keep a stall of pigs on premises. It certainly serves a purpose as you can have your underachieving cadets clean the pen as a form of punishment, allowing for a less than surefooted victim to slip and fall into all sorts of nastiness...pig guano...eww[...] this is a three star film with an extra star for the special features.

Cookieman108

PS...look for Richard Moll, Bull on TV's Night Court, as Father Esteban...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satan, Come Forth And Show Yourself..., January 24, 2006
This review is from: Evilspeak (DVD)
Oh, what memories I have of this flick. The DVD has been remastered with a nice crisp scope at (1.77:1). Uncut and never before seen footage with all the gore in it's original X-Rating print! Satan, I command you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near and dear to my heart,..., February 6, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evilspeak (DVD)
EvilSpeak, what can I say, I feel like this film was made specifically for me. It takes place in the 80's. Its about an out of shape, nerdy, military school cadet who gets picked on mercilessly. With the help of a cheesy old Apple computer and an ancient demonic tome, he exacts gruesome, bloody revenge on his tormentors. Wow, this film should be the bible for all nerds who have ever been bullied. I, myself, was brutally harrassed in school during the early 80's and would have loved to have seen this movie for inspiration. Unfortunately, it was never available in the video stores near me. What a treat for it to be finally out on DVD, restored and uncut, with commentary by the great Mr. CLINT HOWARD!!! Clint Howard is a brilliant and talented actor who is sadly underrated. His scenes of vengeance are perfect. I mean twisted spinal columns, flesh-eating pigs, projectiles to the head, decapitations, disembowlings and nekkid women!! This is the perfect movie for dorks like me to cuddle up to on a Friday night, with an endless supply of soda and snacks. So for all you hopeless nerds like me, get this DVD, call all your comic book and action figure collecting friends and spend an unlonely weekend for once watching this movie and discussing it over popcorn, potato chips, beef jerky, ice cream and pizza. By the way, Clint Howard mentions in the commentary that he would be interested in making a sequel to EvilSpeak. We should write the studios and demand that a sequel be made. This movie is crying out for a second installment!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie out in DVD, April 24, 2007
By 
Mark "Madison Man" (Madison, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Evilspeak (DVD)
I remember seeing this movie when it was out on VHS and loved it. I am very happy that I bought the DVD so I can watch it again and again. I loved this horror flick because it has it's scary moments and redeeming moments all in one movie. I guess everyone feels sorry for the guy being picked on and when it finally comes down to it, they got what they deserved. Take a chance and see this one. I recommend this movie highly to anyone that loves horror flicks from the 80s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coopersmith And His Devil-Pigs..., February 15, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evilspeak (DVD)
Stanley Coopersmith (Clint Howard) is a young cadet at a military academy. Unfortunately, he's also an orphan and a clod. This combination makes him easy prey for a group of "tough", insufferable idiots, who torture poor Stanley without mercy! Thankfully, Coopersmith discovers an ancient chapel beneath the academy's church building, where a satanist named Esteban (Richard Moll) was buried years earlier. Using modern technology, Stanley conducts a black mass through a computer, which enables Esteban to possess him. That's when the real fun begins! If you've ever been the victim of mindless bullies, this is the movie for you! Behold: a nosey secretary eaten by savage swine! See: a dopey colonel's head popped like a bulging zit! Watch: as craven thugs are exterminated! A preacher's cranium is bolted! Yessiree, EVILSPEAK gets the job done! This is the TRUE revenge of the nerds! A must see / must own classick...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you should check this out..., July 21, 2004
This review is from: Evilspeak (DVD)
Despite the silly premise and acting, i can watch this fim over and over...not quite sure why....possibly because there are some good gore effects, gratuitous nudity (in the most ridiculous shower murder scene likely ever filmed) and a great climax. Clint Howard is actually pretty good as Stanley.

This film is like a Troma-fied version of DePalma's Carrie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I would like to know what that original version was, March 21, 2013
By 
Grindhouse and Horror (I wish in the grindhouse era) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evilspeak (DVD)
This film, which involves a bullied outcast at a military academy conjuring up a demon on his computer, is slow moving. Clint Howard plays a loner who is harassed by a group of his cruel classmates. To make things worse, his teachers and even the coach are against him as well. He takes refuge in the basement at the academy where he hooks up a computer that he uses to make contact with an evil deceased satanist. As he follows the instructions on the computer, the evil spirit gets more powerful and begins to protect him against his enemies.

This film concentrates on a long suspenseful buildup which basically saves the large majority of the gore until the climax. Until the climax, there isn't much gore or violence and only a couple of decent nude scenes; but the story is interesting enough to keep a lot of people watching, and the directing and acting are well done. The climax of the film delivers plenty of gore, the entire film is suspenseful, and there's some cool stuff in it like the way the demon gains control of a horde of boars that are at the academy. These wild boars are a big part of the films gore scenes, by the way the pigs tear people apart.

The DVD says it's uncut, but I listened to the commentary and that probably isn't true. They mention that the original version that was submitted to the MPAA had more gore that was apparently great, but they don't mention what it was. I assume that this DVD is the most complete version in terms of gore that is released, and that original version they mentioned is probably lost. They should've been more clear as to what that original version was because I would like to hear more about it. I also read that an import DVD of this film runs longer and has more dialogue, but it doesn't have more gore. As for the quality of this DVD, it looks very good but doesn't look spectacular. This review is for the Anchor Bay DVD. I just noticed that Amazon is mixing all the reviews in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Evilspeak [Blu-ray]
Evilspeak [Blu-ray] by Eric Weston (Blu-ray - 2014)
$24.97 $19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.