Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, even if you don't have much time for it
I bought this book and straight up did the 1001 problems in about 6 days. It is honestly kind of time consuming, but is worth it. Since the book has 1001 questions to play around with, it engraves concepts into your mind by repeating concepts over and over. If you've had trouble like me learning the fundamentals about electron withdrawing groups, electron donating...
Published on July 2, 2011 by CoolChemist

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Errors
Once again examkrackers, please fix the errors present in your books. such as let's say #88 in this book.

Good review book, but mistakes can throw people off and further confuse them.
Published on March 4, 2012 by Wendy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, even if you don't have much time for it, July 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Examkrackers: 1001 Questions in MCAT, Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
I bought this book and straight up did the 1001 problems in about 6 days. It is honestly kind of time consuming, but is worth it. Since the book has 1001 questions to play around with, it engraves concepts into your mind by repeating concepts over and over. If you've had trouble like me learning the fundamentals about electron withdrawing groups, electron donating groups, nucleophilic substitutions, nucleophilic additions, and stuff then these repeated concepts will help you remember about them forever.

Even if you're using other sources like The Berkeley Review, The Princeton Review, or the main ExamKrackers set, you should still buy this book. If you don't have enough time, just go to the back of the book where all the answers are (there are also short explanations) and open up an Excel Document and write all of the letters to the correct answers in your Excel document. Then go to the beginning of the book and start circling all of the correct answers from #1 to #1001. You have now just converted a book full of 1001 questions to a book full of 1001 facts. This takes way less time to review, but if you do have the time, you should legitimately complete the book.

I hope this has helped!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exam Style, September 22, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Examkrackers: 1001 Questions in MCAT, Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
This book is a hasty review of Orgo, but it covers most of the MCAT material in relatively small number of pages. Although some diagrams are not very helpful, it tells you most of what you need. It is basically a good book if you are a time-pressed pre-med trying to take the MCAT in 2 months. If you have more time, I recommend reading over your orgo textbook once more and doing problem sets in various other MCAT preparation materials (the ones with only MCAT style problems). Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you are taking the MCAT/OAT/DAT/PCAT, buy this!, October 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Examkrackers: 1001 Questions in MCAT, Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
I took a year of organic chem about a year before I took my exam. I definitely needed a refresher course. The thing about orgo is that you HAVE to do a lot of practice problems, it's not enough to just memorize the concepts if you can't apply them. this book is AMAZING. It is 1001 multiple choice questions (200 lab-oriented specifically) and they are ordered by topic material. It's a great way to brush up on what concepts you need help on. I learned the orgo concepts from my old notes and the princeton review organic chemistry review book, but it's really the questions that helped me get the concepts. Got 100% on my orgo section :]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Errors, March 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Examkrackers: 1001 Questions in MCAT, Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
Once again examkrackers, please fix the errors present in your books. such as let's say #88 in this book.

Good review book, but mistakes can throw people off and further confuse them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It will not prepare you for the MCAT, June 29, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Examkrackers: 1001 Questions in MCAT, Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
It does not deal sufficiently with reactions. The questions are too easy. I don't have a problem with the questions being in discrete forms since one needs solid understanding of the materials (through discrete questions) before being able to tackle passage based questions. But, after having gone through about 50% of the book so far, I don't feel like I've improved in my knowledge base in Ochem. If you need very very basic questions, this book is for you. I get the feeling this book was put together in a hasty manner with little thought invested in the quality of the questions. I would not recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great workbook, November 29, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Examkrackers: 1001 Questions in MCAT, Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
Great practice problems, with answers. I like that the sections refer to the lectures and tell you where you need improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for review of the basics, August 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Examkrackers: 1001 Questions in MCAT, Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
If you're just looking to review basic concepts and ideas without reading passages, this is great for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, Could Be Better, July 24, 2014
By 
C. Abdo "Church" (Paradise Valley, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Examkrackers: 1001 Questions in MCAT, Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
I really enjoy the Examkrackers 1001 Series as I believe the help show clear examples of some necessary subjects important for the MCAT that could easily be missed. Also with so many questions, key concepts can really be practiced and learned well.

However, that being said, my one problems with this whole series is that it seems the books are riddled with errors here and there. As a student freaking out at trying to understand every concept, it's not a great feeling to be in a state of confusion when it is the books writers error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great and goes hand in hand with the reference book, June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Examkrackers: 1001 Questions in MCAT, Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
Fantastic questions and review, goes hand in hand with the respective book. A couple questions are answered wrong out of the 1001 but that's to be expected and they are pretty obvious. Don't be afraid to buy used
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, June 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Examkrackers: 1001 Questions in MCAT, Organic Chemistry (Paperback)
Excellent MCAT prep book!!! The book does a great job of showing you the areas that you are weak in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Examkrackers: 1001 Questions in MCAT, Organic Chemistry
Examkrackers: 1001 Questions in MCAT, Organic Chemistry by Michelle Gilbertson (Paperback - December 1, 2001)
$29.95 $21.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.