Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book by the master
I started reading Bill Vaughn when he privately published his "Hitchiker's Guide to VB" a long time ago and have not been disapointed with his work - ever. (The Hitchiker's Guide is still available from Microsoft Press.)
This book is just as good as his great Hitchiker book and so is a must purchase for the experienced user of ADO. Note if you are new...
Published on September 9, 2000 by Saul Martin

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for Beginners
This is a good book for advanced users of ADO, however if you just started using ADO and want a good background and solid knowledge base of the subject this is not the book to get. The book has most of its examples in VB. I was looking for some ASP examples and it definetly lacks good ASP support. I would suggest getting WROX's ADO 2.5 book if you're starting out using...
Published on October 29, 2000 by Josh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book by the master, September 9, 2000
By 
This review is from: ADO Examples and Best Practices (Paperback)
I started reading Bill Vaughn when he privately published his "Hitchiker's Guide to VB" a long time ago and have not been disapointed with his work - ever. (The Hitchiker's Guide is still available from Microsoft Press.)
This book is just as good as his great Hitchiker book and so is a must purchase for the experienced user of ADO. Note if you are new to ADO I wouldn't recommend this book as your first book! Instead I recommend two other books: Jeff McManus's "Database Development with VB" from Sams and Macdonald's "Serious ADO" from Apress the same people who published Vaughn's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tool for advanced ADO, November 18, 2000
By 
This review is from: ADO Examples and Best Practices (Paperback)
When my development team went whole-heartedly into ADO in a middle tier, we did so, at first, without the help of this book. As you know if you've looked around, there's not much out there. We survived. Then we found this book. So good every member of the team got a copy. This is a must read for anyone doing heavy ADO coding. It talks about _how_ ado works... so you can understand the ramifications of design decisions and work to design software that performs with ADO and utilizes its features to the fullest. If you can only have one ADO book (in addition to the help files), this is the book. If you're looking for an ADO tutorial, this really isn't it. If you're doing it and need advice and want to do it better, this IS it.
Yours,
-jbn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book for the VB Professional - Buy It, Read It., August 27, 2000
By 
Robert G Buttenhoff (Chandler, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ADO Examples and Best Practices (Paperback)
If you're looking for an ADO Reference, buy a different book. If you develop and maintain VB Database Applications w/ SQL Server back-ends, do yourself a favor and GET THIS BOOK!!
Does your clients applications run fine on one computer, and behave weird on another all of a sudden? Read this book to confirm what you have been thinking and learn proven ways to get around the "side-effects" (Bugs!) in ADO, and the 'migration' issues between ADO 2.0, 2.1, 2.1 (GA), and 2.5.
It's a pleasure to read a book written by someone who has obviously been in the ADO trenches. Vaughn does not pull his punches, so you will get the straight scoop on how ADO really behaves - not how it's supposed to behave as with the typical ADO Reference Book.
Enjoy!! -Rob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect book for VB and ASP refinement, July 31, 2001
This review is from: ADO Examples and Best Practices (Paperback)
I've been developing ASP solutions for nearly five years and pure Visual Basic applications for two, and have never read a book with such valuable, pithy information in so little text.
In ~350 pages, Vaughn covers all of the pertinent topics when working with ADO: "best case" connection strings, efficient uses of recordsets, marshaling and persisting data... literally, everything you really need to know.
Most importantly, and to his credit, Vaughn does NOT cover (or re-hash) the basics of ADO or data access- this book is for developers seeking to refine their ADO knowledge, not first-time database programmers. You won't find an explanation of what an RDBMS is, or why databases are valuable in the enterprise. You will find a reference to keep on your desk (not your bookshelf) and use every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great information for the Developer, November 17, 2001
This review is from: ADO Examples and Best Practices (Paperback)
If you use ADO, you need this book. Much like Bill Vaughn's early "HitchHiker's Guide to SQL Server" this book tells you everything Microsoft forgot to warn you about in ADO. Filled with tips, tricks and gotcha's, this book could save you countless hours of debugging, and endless frustration. It has for me. Plus, Bill Vaughn is an amusing author, who makes what could be a very dry and boring subject actually entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the ADO book I'd been looking for..., January 14, 2001
By 
Graham Charles (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ADO Examples and Best Practices (Paperback)
After several frustrating hours with the David Sceppa (Microsoft) and WROX Press ADO books, I finally found in Bill Vaughn's work exactly what I'd been looking for: a list of best practices for working with ADO in a client-server environment. Excellently written, great examples, and just as compulsive as me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of great tips, June 11, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: ADO Examples and Best Practices (Paperback)
If you have already been working with ADO for some time and you want to learn advanced tips and tricks, this is the book for you. Written in a light and entertaining style this book will advance your understanding of ADO to an expert level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for Beginners, October 29, 2000
By 
Josh (Overland Park, KS United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ADO Examples and Best Practices (Paperback)
This is a good book for advanced users of ADO, however if you just started using ADO and want a good background and solid knowledge base of the subject this is not the book to get. The book has most of its examples in VB. I was looking for some ASP examples and it definetly lacks good ASP support. I would suggest getting WROX's ADO 2.5 book if you're starting out using ADO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to program w/ ADO correctly, May 16, 2001
By 
A. L. Dyer "ald" (Brooklyn, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ADO Examples and Best Practices (Paperback)
This book covers programming with ADO thoroughly and well. Vaughn does not only take you thru the best practices but also thru the questionable ones. You will learn why a best practice is a best practice. You will also learn the proper syntax to use in commands as well as the purpose of many of the options that are w/in a command. (The options we see in the VB IDE but never know how to use.) I found the book extremely readable and obviously extremely valuable. If you plan on using ADO you should have this book, it really should be part of the VB programmers canon. The one negative on the book is that while it references ADO 2.6 alot it does not really get into it. There also is not very much XML support. i am sure future versions will correct these mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beuatifully Written, June 19, 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ADO Examples and Best Practices (Paperback)
This the best book I've found on ADO. It is well written and beatifully organised. The key chapters for me were 4. Getting Connected 5. ADO Command Strategies 6. Recordset Strategies 7. Manipulating Your Recordset. There is also a great chapter on ASP as well as a chapter on moving data efficiently between tiers which are not my main focus. I didn't give it 5 stars because already it's a little dated. Nothing really on ADO 2.6 or SQL Server 2000. But it sholdn't be a handicap.
Also not much on esoteric command strategies such as creating Stored procedures on the fly where your parameter is in the Select or From clause.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

ADO Examples and Best Practices
ADO Examples and Best Practices by William R. Vaughn (Paperback - May 23, 2000)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.