Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!
This is a great crash course on available lighting. Bill does not bore the reader with superfluous information but gives you very practical, up to date, information on how to maximize the use of ambient light. Lots of images and example that clarify application.

He is able to make complex concept into easily understood one. But most of all, he helps you...
Published on April 26, 2008 by David Medina

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I wish this book followed the subject of the title.
The title of this book lead me to believe it was about existing light wedding photography. However, it is full of information about studio lighting and non-wedding portraiture. Definitely not what I was expecting!
Published on September 30, 2008 by A. Hay


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, April 26, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Existing Light Techniques for Wedding and Portrait Photography (Paperback)
This is a great crash course on available lighting. Bill does not bore the reader with superfluous information but gives you very practical, up to date, information on how to maximize the use of ambient light. Lots of images and example that clarify application.

He is able to make complex concept into easily understood one. But most of all, he helps you understand lighting concepts in a way you can apply them right away.

I highly recommend it to any beginning photographer as well as a great quick reference for seasoned photographers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book. Great content., April 30, 2008
This review is from: Existing Light Techniques for Wedding and Portrait Photography (Paperback)
Another easy reading book by Bill Hurter delves into the anatomy of light and the factors that affect it. Tools such as reflectors, flashes and strobes and their part in controlling light are discussed. Along with various lighting environments, techniques for using equipment and existing light to obtain images that are natural in appearance are also covered in detail. This book arms the reader with the knowledge to make the most out of every scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I wish this book followed the subject of the title., September 30, 2008
By 
A. Hay (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Existing Light Techniques for Wedding and Portrait Photography (Paperback)
The title of this book lead me to believe it was about existing light wedding photography. However, it is full of information about studio lighting and non-wedding portraiture. Definitely not what I was expecting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, May 11, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Existing Light Techniques for Wedding and Portrait Photography (Paperback)
Another great resource from Bill Hurter. I purchased it for the tips on on-camera flash, and found a wealth of information not only on that topic, but on natural lights portraits as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty photos without instruction., June 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Existing Light Techniques for Wedding and Portrait Photography (Paperback)
The only way I can describe this book is as one that is filled with a few well lit shots and nothing else. If you read the description in Amazon you will assume the book includes some instruction and descriptions of how the shots were lit. Once you open the book you quickly learn that there is very little to learn from the pages inside.

You are better off buying a fashion magazine and guessing how the shots are lit, this will offer you better photography to look at and cost far less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Key acquisitions for practicing wedding photographers and for any collection catering to them, November 8, 2008
This review is from: Existing Light Techniques for Wedding and Portrait Photography (Paperback)
Bill Hurter's EXISTING LIGHT TECHNIQUES FOR WEDDING AND PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY tells how to modify and supplement existing light to make for more natural images. As weddings have moved from studio lighting to other more natural conditions, this provides a key analysis of how to redirect and use sunlight, window light and more to maximum professional advantage. These are key acquisitions for practicing wedding photographers and for any collection catering to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful, August 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Existing Light Techniques for Wedding and Portrait Photography (Paperback)
This is great for beginners as well as the seasoned professional just wanting to brush up on their skills. I really like the diagrams of the lighting techniques, I just wish it had one for each and every example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Images, April 24, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Existing Light Techniques for Wedding and Portrait Photography (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book. It is always good to see how other photographers set up their images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Existing Light Techniques for Wedding and Portrait Photography
Existing Light Techniques for Wedding and Portrait Photography by Bill Hurter (Paperback - April 1, 2008)
$34.95 $25.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.