Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent small budget production and story.
Like the others, I was walking into this thinking, "Oh, zombies and Civil War era, okay, sounds like a fun, cheesy movie." I was more than pleasantly surprised by what this movie is - a well-crafted script, good acting, excellent narration by the wonderful Brian Cox. The zombies are well done (and the filmmakers brilliantly used creepy animation to avoid casting...
Published on June 25, 2012 by T. Willitts

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I HAVE KILLED PLENTY OF DEAD MEN
The story is told from the journal of Civil War soldier, Edward Young (Mark Gibson). It includes excessive boring narration. Rather than just let the story unfold, the narrator tells you what you are seeing. It grates on you after the first 30 minutes.

After a quick 1865 scene where a single Union soldier is a zombie, the movie jumps to 1871 and there is a...
Published on June 9, 2012 by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent small budget production and story., June 25, 2012
Like the others, I was walking into this thinking, "Oh, zombies and Civil War era, okay, sounds like a fun, cheesy movie." I was more than pleasantly surprised by what this movie is - a well-crafted script, good acting, excellent narration by the wonderful Brian Cox. The zombies are well done (and the filmmakers brilliantly used creepy animation to avoid casting hundreds of extras as zombies and having to do make up for so many people in various scenes - the animated vignettes are infrequent enough to add to the ambiance and not scuttle the overall effect), the costuming and sets and scenery are aces.

If you don't like zombie movies, you probably still won't like this - it is still a zombie movie, but it is one that has an excellent backstory, there are levels to the story and most people should get some enjoyment out of it. It is a small budget production, so the people complaining about the production values are just being asinine. For what it is, this is a wonderfully crafted movie and I completely enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars extremely surprised, June 20, 2012
By 
M. Jajam "jammen25" (Southern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was expecting another fodder, forgettable zombie flick to fill an evening. This is **NOT** that. It is an extremely well written, well directed movie with great makeup effects, story, characters. I put it on par with the better episodes of walking dead. Well except with much better writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice Suprise, September 20, 2012
By 
Robert E. Rodden II (Peoria, IL. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exit Humanity (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
"Exit Humanity" is so far above 90 percent of the "Zombie" genre films coming out lately, it is almost not a zombie film. Full of the depth, feeling, and realism of a drama about the loss and pain left after the bloodiest battle in America's history, I found myself wondering at times, why the producer and director hadn't changed directions and filmed an engaging Civil War drama. But I'm also glad they did not. For it lifted the tired old story of a man losing everything after the war, and seeking revenge, and hope, to a whole new level with the zombie background story. Or maybe I should've said, it lifted the zombie genre to a whole new level with the Civil War as the backdrop. The film is suitably dark, grim, and emotional, as zombie films should be. The cast is excellent here, with a mixture of brand new (Mark Gibson) and veteran actors (Stephen McHattie and Dee Wallace) working well together. If I have one minor gripe, it is that I would've loved to see more screen time with Stephen McHattie.

Some have complained about the pacing, but I believe the director did this intentionally, giving the film and old world, pre-technological feel as it built character backgrounds and developed a well thought out story-line. And the zombie effects were beautifully horrible. Better than I've seen in a long time (the exception being the series "The Walking Dead"). Recommended big time for zombie horror fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So, History really IS dead, July 3, 2012
This review is from: Exit Humanity (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
I was overly suprised - and just a hint - the little preview clips you can find that make it look like it is a anime insert film, no, bad choice to post --- they are little (very little and few) story transitions for effect. I am even more impressed , that this was done on a budget -- the acting I felt was real and well done, the music score was outstanding, and the choice of film media and use of color filters made the entire film very rich and much depth for the eyes. Zombie make ups were also, just wonderful. Was not sure about a period piece zombie film but the move explained it and it was sensible and cohesive - so kudos to the writer(s)....the feeling you get during and after watching it -- is that you just traveled along with a man, that has found Hell come to earth and with it, brought all the demented and diseased souls of the dammned, to possess and wander about, in the bodies of the dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good movie, July 15, 2012
This review is from: Exit Humanity (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
Rented it and didnt expect much. Needless to say, I was disappointed in my choice for bad movie night as this movie is very good. You need to watch it and just listen and watch. The narration is excellent as is the art rendering of certain events of the movie. It moves along pretty well and is just a decent zombie flick. The effects are really good and I just enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exit Humanity Loved it!, August 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really didn't expect this movie to be as good as it is.It really is beautifully done,with a lot of heart ,and still blood and guts .I really felt the lead actors pain and what he was going through.I also liked the different take on Zombies being this is happening during the Civil War era.The acting is very good,the locations beautiful.Definitely a must see for Zombie lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Night of the Living Dead meets Gettysburg, June 14, 2012
By 
This review is from: Exit Humanity (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
There are certain kinds of stories used in movies that become so popular that they pass the tipping point plunging into the hackney. Among the myriad of genres available to the screenwriters the one most prone to overuse is found in the realm of horror flicks. Even in that sliver of filmmaking there are slices that have become overused for example the slasher flick. Without a doubt another has to be the zombie horde. The ravaging mass on staggering undead has become exceptionally popular in some rather unusual ways. People dress up as zombies and normal going out into the night on `zombie' crawls' acting out scenarios of doom on the city streets. A very popular television series featuring these `Walking Dead' demonstrates that this kind of story is far from being played out, there are still aspects that can be discovered if the filmmaker has the insight and talent new twists on the zombie film can still be had. Considering the undead has been a staple of horror films since the thirties when most were the result of intervention of a practitioner of the occult forbidden arts of voodoo. Since George Romero reinvented zombies as social commentary theses rotting corpses have had the potential for innovative plot lines as well as some of the worse quick and cheap independent movies. Fortunately for devotees of movies there are still creative filmmakers willing to think out of the box. John Geddes happens to be one such auteurs and his latest opus, `Exit Humanity' demonstrates that this old dog has a few new tricks left. He is part of a new vanguard of horror masters that has looked into history for a setting; transplanting the familiar creatures of death into a well known historical setting, the Civil War. He is among the first to proceed on this tangent but the trend seems to be growing. Many `steam punk' stories are based in this turbulent time in our country's history as well as a recent action horror film that turns Abraham Lincoln into a vampire slayer. Mr. Geddes pulls back in time to an era when there was certainly no shortage of fresh courses just waiting for reanimation. I was hesitant when I read the synopsis on the screener but within minutes of watching the film I found myself enthralled, my attention affixed to the screen, realizing I was watching something special.

There is a certain fascination that many Americans hold for the bloodiest war ever fought on our soil, the Civil War or as some in the Deep South continue to refer to it, `The War of Northern Aggression'. The summer is an appropriate time to turn our attention to this conflict as July Forth does mark the anniversary of the most costly battle in the war, Gettysburg. This film immediately draws the audience into the brutal violence of the time by opening with an all out battle scene. We see a familiar sight for war buffs and frequent viewers of the History Channel, battle weary men clad in the grey and blue of their respective nations clashing in mortal combat. Then, slowly we notice there is a third force merging into the fray; a sizable force of zombies. Rather that commit a lot of film to a prolonged explanation this scene economically defines the foundation of this alternate universe. Socioeconomic fight that lead to dividing the nation has been settled on the battlefield but now as the two sides attempt to heal and rebuild the battle lines are once again drawn. Instead of policy and geography determining you allegiance it is now a bitter struggle for the living to defend against the ravenous host of the decaying undead.

The film continues to renovate persistent tropes by updating the `found footage' motif. True to a period appropriate story telling the video footage has been replaced by recently located journal. This provides an intimate first person account through the personal experiences of the narrator, Edward Young (Mark Gibson). Innovations like this are accumulated stacking one layer upon another creating a solid foundation for the story. With such a fanciful departure from both the classic Civil War film and the traditional zombie flick. If fans of either kind of flick complain about the mixture or divergence from the typical then you can be certain they have not seen this movie. It is not uncommon for a story set in this period to feature a man who lost his wife and son but once again the construction of the plot surrounds the anticipated character archetype and places him in a totally novel set of circumstances.

It is one thing to use a journal as a prop to ease into narration as the written word gives way to dialogue but Mr. Geddes takes things a step further. Common to the journals of the period Edward accompanied his words with numerous drawings of the people and circumstances he encountered in his life. As the camera focuses o one of these sketches the audience is whisked into the depicted scene becoming a firsthand observer of the story. This is simply put brilliant adding an immediacy and intimacy to the film that is usually lacking particularly in a movie featuring decaying antagonists.

I found myself compelled to watch this film several times, with each viewing is discovered yet another layer with nuances I had not yet explored. It has been a very long time since I felt that way about a horror film. Much of this is derived by the mélange offered up by the director. He is relatively new to his craft as writer and director with one previous feature to his credit, `Scarce'. There he took on the standard horror ploy of isolation. I look forward to obtaining a copy to add to what I am certain will become a growing collection of this artist's work. The drawings slip into period style animation before finally morphing into live action. This enhances the overall effect of transporting the audience back in time to witness the travails of this simple solider. In all this film is rich in detail with but a few technical missteps. Fir something made on a miniscule budget it is the epitome of the independent film; talent, innovation and art over the overwhelming need for box office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Well Done, May 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Exit Humanity (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
Totally Loved this movie. A Zombie horror film set just around the time of the ending of the Civil War. A Great story line and excellent make-up and FX. You almost feel like you're there in some scenes and feel the inetnse sorrows felt by the characters, in the movie as they have put loved ones out of their miseries and try to carry on to find an end to this epidemic. And an end to a Insane General and his troops that try to end the epidemic in his own twisted way that gets horendez results. Will the dead ever stay dead or will they just keep coming? AAA+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not typical, in a good way., June 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My wife and I love zombie movies so when we saw this we had to watch it. If you love zombie movies you will not be disappointed. The story was entertaining and the acting was actually quite good. Although many parts can be extremely depressing, more so than most zombie moves I've seen, the end result will not disappoint. They did a great job of taking a successful franchise (zombie movies) and putting a twist on it. Would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I HAVE KILLED PLENTY OF DEAD MEN, June 9, 2012
This review is from: Exit Humanity (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
The story is told from the journal of Civil War soldier, Edward Young (Mark Gibson). It includes excessive boring narration. Rather than just let the story unfold, the narrator tells you what you are seeing. It grates on you after the first 30 minutes.

After a quick 1865 scene where a single Union soldier is a zombie, the movie jumps to 1871 and there is a minor zombie infestation. Edward had to kill his own wife (Sarah Stunt) and son, the later in an emotionally gripping scene as he holds his zombie son (Christian Martyn) in his arms (facing away) as he reluctantly puts a gun to his son's head... all the while his son is trying to eat his face off. Somehow I didn't feel it.

Bits and pieces of the story is told through animation, which unfortunately was far better than the main feature. Edward has tasked himself in taking his son's ashes to a waterfalls, something he had promised him when he was alive. There is an unwritten rule that all promises terminate with any zombie infestation, apparently not known in the 19th century. The story involves his journey to get there and the people/zombies he meets up with along the way.

Dee Wallace, the closet thing to an actor in this film gives us a career killer performance as she emotionally explains the origins of the living dead. It was tough to sit through. The film utilizes the sad piano/violin sound track for way too much of the production.

Zombie fans should avoid this one. I was confused as I couldn't tell if the film was a bad zombie film or a bad drama with zombies.

No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Zombie make-up was good where it was applied, exposed necks are optional.

***POSSIBLE PLOT SPOILER*** The film attempts to come across as a prequel for zombie films. It does a very poor job. It tells you zombies were created using African spells. But at the same time refutes that idea by making it seem zombies are caused by a virus, with one person in the film having natural immunity, and the infection spreading by a saliva/blood contact. You can't have it both ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Exit Humanity (Bloody Disgusting Selects)
Exit Humanity (Bloody Disgusting Selects) by John Geddes (DVD - 2012)
$6.95 $5.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.