Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Advice for the Informed and Uninformed
This book provides a simple guide to the world of work.
Most people enter the workplace without the slightest
idea of the formal and informal rule structures pertinent
to each bureaucratic structure or culture. Some simple rules are:

o Be yourself
o Work in the right place at a job you like
o Know your goals and how to pursue them...
Published on March 13, 2009 by Dr. Joseph S. Maresca

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK...
I had an opportunity to see Carla speak...she was one of the best speakers I've ever heard, so I was excited to read her book. I felt the book was VERY repetitive and did not offer any additional "Pearls" from her as a speaker. The book was OK, but I would much rather see her speak instead.
Published on April 11, 2011 by ragrubbs


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Advice for the Informed and Uninformed, March 13, 2009
This book provides a simple guide to the world of work.
Most people enter the workplace without the slightest
idea of the formal and informal rule structures pertinent
to each bureaucratic structure or culture. Some simple rules are:

o Be yourself
o Work in the right place at a job you like
o Know your goals and how to pursue them
o Concentrate on competitive strengths (probably the most important)
o Shape the agenda constructively
o Admit to and manage errors
o Learn the job in all of its various manifestations and intricacies
o Seek training when necessary because technology changes
o Engendre correct perceptions
o Learn unspoken rules to fit in and consult with key persons
in the organization

Do all of the above and you can't possibly go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!!!, January 27, 2009
By 
HKTokyo (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This book is a requirement for surviving in this very difficult economic environment, whether one is currently employed or searching for work. The book is authored by a Morgan Stanley veteran who provides very practical career advice by using clear and concise examples. The supportive tone and personal insights delivers accessibility to all of the strategies. Read the book -- not only will you feel uplifted but you will walk away with a bag of invaluable tools to create your own action plan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wall Street Vet Delivers Winning Strategies!, July 26, 2009
Carla Harris provides the framework for any executive on Wall Street or off Wall street to achieve extraordinary success in their respective organizations and/or businesses. Yes, that also includes us entrepreneurs out there! I'm an author/entrepreneur and I found Carla's Pearls to be practical and insightful because successfully navigating a 20+ year career on Wall Street is 'entrepreneurial' in nature.

I was fortunate enough to attend a recent book signing and I had a chance hear her deliver her message. She was candid about some of her challenges and how she was able to overcome them. What also impressed me was her genuine interest in other people and her commitment to giving back.

So, as soon as I got home a began reading the book and finished it in 2 days. There are a lot aspects of this book that I liked. One of the things she talked about was being authentic, expressing who you are. Sometimes, employees try so hard to fit in that they forget who they are and try to be someone else. Big mistake! I made that mistake earlier in my career when I worked in Corporate America. I also liked the fact that she stressed the importance of being strategic yet flexible enough to embrace unexpected opportunities that will get you where you want to go. Another important topic she covered was managing the perception that people have of you in the organization. The only way to find out what that perception of you may be is to get constructive feedback or data, as she puts it. Too many employees are oblivious to how they are perceived and wonder why their careers aren't advancing as planned. And if you're an entrepreneur, it's also critical that you know how your clients and prospects perceive you so you can adapt for the better, if necessary.

One of the other chapters that was valuable was identifying mentors, sponsors and advisers. Carla provided some key distinctions between them and gave practical recommendations on how to cultivate those relationships. I can speak from experience that those strategies work because they have worked for me. I was able to land a celebrity headliner for a fundraiser on behalf of a nonprofit board I serve on earlier in my career because I found out what "the apple of her eye" was, had meaningful conversations with her, and I didn't let the first 'no' discourage me.

What was also fascinating about her story was how she was able to leverage her passion for singing to differentiate herself from the rest of the pack and, ironically, to advance her career. That was compelling proof of how important it is to explore interests outside of work and to talk about it with clients and your team members.

I also liked the advice she gave about respecting EVERYONE in your network. That was refreshing to hear. Sometimes people get caught up in titles and dismiss others who they don't consider to be "A" listers. You never know where your help will come from so don't discount anyone.

The bottom line is that you own your career or business and your willingness to perform well, cultivate relationships, embrace change and handle politics go a long way in determining your success. Because whether your an executive or entrepreneur, where there's people, there's politics.

John Hinds
Author of "What's In Your Water?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK..., April 11, 2011
I had an opportunity to see Carla speak...she was one of the best speakers I've ever heard, so I was excited to read her book. I felt the book was VERY repetitive and did not offer any additional "Pearls" from her as a speaker. The book was OK, but I would much rather see her speak instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valuble Wisdon for Professional Success in Organizations, February 27, 2011
This review is from: Expect to Win: Proven Strategies for Success from a Wall Street Vet (Hardcover)
Expect to Win provides strategies for career success and professional growth based on the Harris's experiences in the financial industry. Harris encourages the audience to bring their whole authentic self to work and take risks in order strive for success. The strength of material provides insights to see beyond the myth of meritocracy to see the subjective aspects of the professional environment, including learning the unspoken rules of an organization. While Harris provides an overview of lessons, there is not a clear distinction between directions in the form of advice, compared to clear strategies for success in organizations. The argument for authenticity and risk taking could have been strengthened if Harris provided conflict management tools, as conflict is inevitable in organizational functions. In addition, according to Harris, the goal of the book is to provide methods for readers to "maximize potential and claim power" and expand power. However, Harris does not sufficiently discuss the concepts of power and how to collect, use, or exercise power effectively. While Harris does mention networking as a way to collect power, a reader may have required more information to meet this stated goal of the book. Overall, Expect to Win provides readers with valuable wisdom and knowledge to navigate organizational life and insightful methods for professional development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expect To Win, January 28, 2009
This is a must read book, very powerful and inspirational. The book will motivate your life. If you have been searching for a jump start for yourself then you must purchase and read "Expect To Win" today! Carla talks about her pearls which are lessons learned. My favorite is, in your professional career while climbing the corporate ladder "don't be afraid to ask your boss for what you want and expect it." I took that advice and was blessed behind it. I sincerely hope that 2009 brings you many blessings and "Expect To Win" read it today!

Jenise La Vel Super
2009 Make It SHINE!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Victory and Values - a Winning Combination, March 4, 2009
By 
Ms. Harris shares several keys to professional victory while maintaining personal values. This can't-put-down book provides invaluable strategies and tools to maximize professional success which can really be used in all aspects of one's life. Each "pearl" of wisdom is clearly articulated and provides compelling examples. Overall the tone is motivating and uplifting. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to succeed in business and in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy It,Read it and change the way you look at situations for the better!!!, March 19, 2009
Expect to Win is a must read for anyone who wants to learn how to communicate what you want and who you are to others effectively.I do not work on wall street but i am able to apply all of the lessons presented in this book in my everyday life. The author gives you head on advice and presents an action plan that any one can follow.I have used what she calls Carla's pearls and they work!!!!! Believe me, buy it,read it and then live it!! You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gem, June 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While I originally thought the book was a little slow, I think Carla Harris is a seasoned executive whose advice can pertain to the first-rung intern or the most experienced CEO. It is a roadmap for pushing your career to new heights, that is, if you can honestly look inward and identify your pitfalls and flaws. I still use this as a reference for current situations and would recommend this for anyone who is just starting their career. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars carla's pearls are actually diamonds, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
a quick read with a ton of substance. totally worth the time spent reading it, and more. if you're in the financial services industry, or want to be, the language and style (and perhaps some of the people mentioned) will be familiar. carla sums it up and lays it out in a no-nonsense way. it's clear to see why she's been so successful herself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Expect to Win: Proven Strategies for Success from a Wall Street Vet
Expect to Win: Proven Strategies for Success from a Wall Street Vet by Carla A. Harris (Hardcover - January 22, 2009)
Used & New from: $6.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.