Customer Reviews


356 Reviews
5 star:
 (326)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the Lights Go Out...
The lights have gone out on this fantastic series but it will continue to shine on DVD. Without any spoilers I will say the final season was a great season to go out on. They say that lights shine the brightest right before they burn out and the finale truly proved it. I'm sure many if not all of the fans who have watched it agree (if you haven't been able to view it yet...
Published on January 31, 2011 by Reconnecting To My Childhood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs more about football
Would like to have more about football.
Published 4 months ago by Thomas Preston


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the Lights Go Out..., January 31, 2011
The lights have gone out on this fantastic series but it will continue to shine on DVD. Without any spoilers I will say the final season was a great season to go out on. They say that lights shine the brightest right before they burn out and the finale truly proved it. I'm sure many if not all of the fans who have watched it agree (if you haven't been able to view it yet you are in for a treat).

This season was jampacked with stories. I can only imagine how great it would have been had they had 22 episodes like the first season, but the 13 episode season has been as satisfying as any fan could hope for, especially with the beautifully done series finale. Connie Britton and Kyle Chandler continue to ground the show with their amazing performances and all around the acting is terrific. While, as another reviewer said, there is a noticeable lack of football games that we actually get to see there is no shortage in writing quality or character development. Not only are they doing great service to the new cast that was introduced last year, giving them each a chance to really grow as actors and characters, they are calling back and giving each of the original characters a curtain call of some kind.

We get to say farewell to Landry and Grandma Saracen and not to spoil anything but Jason Street and Tyra appear in key moments this season. Matt Saracen makes a brief and welcomed return and Tim Riggins (despite going to jail at the end of last season) does get a chance to finish his character arc. On top of that Smash and Lyla even get nice mentions to show that the writers and the characters haven't forgotten about them. Truly a nostalgic season that has kept true to the spirit and heart the show has always had.

The fifth and final season is made up of the following 13 episodes for those interested:

Expectations
On the Outside Looking In
The Right Hand of the Father
Keep Looking
Kingdom
Swerve
Perfect Record
Fracture
Gut Check
Don't Go
The March
Texas Whatever
Always (An extended hour long finale)

The episode "Always" was truly the best most complete series finale I have ever seen. Simply amazing.

That's 9 hours and 40 minutes in your favorite fictional Texas small town. Presented in Anamorphic Widescreen format as always with English Dolby Digital 5.1 sound and English subtitles.

Special Features:

Deleted Scenes

Featurette - When the Lights Go Out: An emotional and entertaining journey through all five seasons as cast and crew say goodbye. (Having now watched this feature I can say it is excellent, fans get what is really a 30 minute documentary into the life of series and then the work that goes into making episodes. It all ends with the filming of the final scene and is full of interviews with Jason Katims, Peter Berg, all the key actors who appeared this season and the people who help create the show. Worth the price of purchase for me).

Commentaries - Don't Go commentary by director Michael Waxman
Always commentary by Executive Producer and Showrunner Jason Katims

Anyways, this is a GREAT show, obviously 5 stars from me and while I wish it could've gone on longer I think most people will be happy with the way they got to spend the final season wrapping up loose ends and really bringing the series to a FANTASTIC CLOSE. While I wish, now more than ever after watching the finale, that it could continue I couldn't be happier with how they ended it by calling back to the past five seasons. If you haven't seen the show then now is the time to go back and get into it on DVD. There are two types of people, ones who love this show and ones who love it but don't know it yet.

***Clear Eyes, Full Hearts, Can't Lose!***(Sniffle)

*Noticeable Music Changes:
Iron and Wine - Dead Man's Will, echoing the season one fight between Billy and Tim has been replaced in "The March" as has the song Spirit in the Sky.
Son Volt - When the Wheels Don't Move has been changed in Keep Looking.
The Opposite of Adults by Chiddy Bang and Jerry Bruckner - Raze have been replaced in Fracture.
The powerful use of BRMC's Last Chance for Love also replaced in Fracture.
Runaway by the National in Gut Check

Unfortunate that they tend to put more generic music in place rather than having W.G. Snuffy Walden put a score in. This is still a great show even with the music changes though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS-BEST TV SHOW, January 3, 2011
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST TV SHOWS I HAVE EVER WATCHED-FROM THE VERY FIRST SHOW, I WAS A "DIE HARD TEXAS HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL FAN"...you will find yourself not being able to wait for the next show. You might even find yourself yelling and cheering for the Dillion Panthers/Lions as you would if you were right there at the game... by far the best story lines and characters you will love and even some dislike...Soooo sad this will be the last season, I am not sure there will ever be such a great show like this one, it would be very hard to match this one. I WILL ALWAYS REMAIN A TRUE FAN...GO LIONS-WIN STATE...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Whole is Greater Than the Sum of Its Parts, April 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Every person associated with this series should be PROUD of the part they played in this production. There are very few video presentations that I could compare, fiction or non-fiction, with "Friday Night Lights"...only "John Adams" comes to mind right away. The writing, acting, casting, camera work, editing and execution at all levels and of every aspect of this series is extraordinary. Season 5 just happens to be the best of the best; as they might say in Dillon, "It don't get no better."

"Friday Night Lights" goes beyond show business; some might call it a religious experience about good, evil, fairness, foolishness and redemption. The viewer is exposed to the sweet victories, bitter disappointments, shocking surprises and various complexities of life as we watch these skillfull actors play out the poignant scenes that make up the series. Thankfully, the conclusion, as developed throughout Season 5, was definitive; the producers, directors, cameramen and cast brought the various loose ends to sensible and at times loving conclusions.

Everyone of you that may read this: you were brilliant (again & again), and your overwhelming emotion about participation in this fine series should be one thing: PRIDE, PRIDE, PRIDE. Don't forget...we won't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Full Range of Emotions, April 6, 2011
By 
Sanoja (Streamwood, Il) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I first started watching FNL on Netflix a few months ago. I was never attracted to it when it first came out on regular TV, but unemployment and the free time that comes with it, tends to open up new possibilities...

FNL quickly became a 'marathon' series to me. Like an excellent book, it was hard to put down.

I just finished watching the DVD for the fifth and final season. Like every previous season, it brought out a wide range of emotions.

I may not have agreed with an individual's religious, political or personal views, but the show no doubt showed me why the characters thought the way they did and behaved the way the way they did. I thought I was so open minded, but I believe I was given a good lesson in the powerful influence of family and local culture in America.

I have never played football, but I have a new found understanding of the hardcore football culture and even though I know it is not like in Texas in my home state of Illinois, as a football fan, I think I now, more that ever, respect what it takes to get to the pros.

From top to bottom in Dillon society, from the lousiest players, to the football stars, coaches, educators, board members, politicians, business people, family, husbands and wives, they showed that us, like them, we have so many problems and ethical decisions to make.

I will surely miss Friday Night Lights. It was hard to watch the end. May it find new fans even as they accidentally discover it as I did.

Thank you to all the cast and people involved with the show. You made a difference in my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one series I will definitely miss! A wonderful series that gives good closure for fans of the series!, April 13, 2011
A final and appropriate last hurrah for "Friday Night Lights". "Friday Night Lights: The Fifth and Final Season" was a fantastic season that gives fans a final closure to this wonderful series.

In 1990, H.G. Bissinger created the non-fiction book "Friday Night Lights: A Town, A Team, and a Dream. In 2002, the book would be named the fourth greatest book ever written about sports by Sports Illustrated magazine. And what followed in 2004 is a film adaptation which did very well and is considered one of the best football films ever made.

And in 2006, "Friday Night Lights", the TV series was born.

The TV series was adapted by Peter Berg, Brian Grazer and David Nevins and the first three seasons would focus on Eric Taylor (played by Kyle Chandler) and his family moving to Dillon, Texas where he would coach the Dillon Panthers. The series would focus on Eric and his coaches preparing his football team each week and also getting to know several of the main players who make up the team and of course, the drama which surrounded them.

The series would achieve critical acclaim as many felt the series had an accurate portrayal of middle America and its passion for high school football. Unfortunately, part of the problem was that viewership was never strong and many fans would fight hard to keep this series alive. The series would win a Peabody Award, a Humanitas Price and a Television Critics Association Award and both of the main talents Kyle Chandler and Connie Britton would be nominated for Outstanding Lead Actor and Actress awards for the 2010 Emmy Awards.

While the first two seasons were broadcast on NBC, the next three seasons would be broadcast on DirectTV's 101 Network and the fans of the series were able to give "Friday Night Lights" a final fifth season to end the series correctly instead of canceling it without any closure for those fans.

The most significant change during the five seasons of "Friday Night Lights" was at the end of Season Three when Coach Taylor found out about a plot to remove him as coach of the Dillon Panthers. Season three ended with him losing his job at Dillon but being offered to coach for the not-as-tough East Dillon High, which is reopening after years of being closed.

Season four was all about Eric Taylor trying to get this new team prepared for the season but the students/football players had a criminal background. One of the star players that had potential was Vince Howard, a student who has had too much trouble with the law but Taylor has felt he had what it takes to become a star quarterback. The team also has a star running back named Luke Cafferty who was supposed to play for the Dillon Panthers but because his address is within East Dillon's district, he would be playing for the East Dillon Lions.

While Eric focuses on building his team, other students get used to their new schools. Matt Saracen is trying to get used to the new school but unfortunately, his father is killed in Iraq and throughout season, he deals with his personal problems and abruptly moves to Chicago and leaves Julie Taylor behind.

Meanwhile the Riggins brothers run into trouble when Tim Riggins and his brother start up a chop shop and ends up being busted and while Tim's brother is responsible, because he has a baby boy, Tim takes the wrap and ends up going to prison.

By the end of the fourth season, East Dillon High School has a losing record with only two wins and Tami Taylor ends up getting into controversy when a girl wants to get an abortion and she supports her decision and because of that, conservatives put pressure on the school and getting her fired.

This leads to the fifth and final season of "Friday Night Lights".

It's a new school year and Tami is now a guidance counselor at East Dillon High School, Julie and Landry are moving away to go to college, Tim Riggins is in prison and Eric tries to get his team ready for the new football season and sure enough, the East Dillon High School Lions who had a losing season last year, may be the best team in the district.

"Friday Night Lights: The Fifth and Final Season" includes the following episodes (spoilerless summaries):

DISC 1:

* EPISODE 64: Expectations - Julie and Landry spend their last moments in town before going off to college. Meanwhile, Tami wants to take initiative as the new guidance counselor at East Dillon.
* EPISODE 65: On the Outside Looking In - When East Dillon is not ranked after beating a ranked team, everyone gets upset! Luke tries to revive his relationship with Becky and Jess deals with Vince's "rally girl".
* EPISODE 66: The Right Hand of the Father - Vince's absentee father shows up out of nowhere, Julie starts to fall for a married man and Buddy has his son live with him.
* EPISODE 67: Keep Looking - Vince continues to have problems with his dad being at home, Buddy meanwhile has to handle his drunken son and Mindy makes a big decision on what to do with Becky.

DISC 2:

* EPISODE 68: Kingdom - Lions take on their rival South King, meanwhile Julie is confronted by the wife of the man she is sleeping with.
* EPISODE 69: Swerve - Julie tells her parents of what happened at school. Meanwhile, Vince is being threatened that if he doesn't pay a thug his $5,000, he would be killed.
* EPISODE 70: Perfect Record - East Dilon Lions takes on their rivals, the West Dillon Panthers. Meanwhile, someone has leaked to the press about the criminal records of some of the East Dillon Lions players.
* EPISODE 71: Fracture - Tami looks into Epyck's home life and Julie's ex tries to visit her at their home.
* EPISODE 72: Gut Check - As Vince's head gets bigger and bigger, it's affecting the team and Coach Taylor bench's him for a game and makes Luke a quarterback.

Disc 3:

* EPISODE 73: Don't Go - Rumors are swirling that Coach Taylor may leave East Dillon to coach a college team.
* EPISODE 74: The March - Budget cuts are affecting the district and Tami is offered a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.
* EPISODE 75: Texas Whatever - The future of the East Dillon High School football team is hanging on a thread as budget cuts will lead to one football program.
* EPISODE 76: Always - The Taylor family must make an important decision on their future.

VIDEO, AUDIO & SUBTITLES:

"Friday Night Lights" is presented in anamorphic widescreen (1:78:1), English Dolby Digital 5.1 and subtitles are in English SDH. Picture quality for "Friday Night Lights" is good as the majority of the series is film outdoors. There is a good amount of grain for the series but because it's on DVD, you can expect to see some edge enhancement, mild interlacing and compression artifacts as well.

As for audio, dialogue is clear and understandable and is front channel-driven.

SPECIAL FEATURES:

"Friday Night Lights: The Fifth and Final Season" comes with the following special features:

DISC 1

* Deleted Scenes - Featuring deleted scenes from "Expectations".
* Yearbook - Featuring photos from 2007-2011 which you can navigate with your remote control.

DISC 2

* Deleted Scenes: Featuring deleted scenes from "Perfect Record" and "Fracture".

DISC 3

* Deleted Scenes: Featuring deleted scenes from "Don't Go", "Texas Whatever"
* The Lights Go Out - (30:00) A featurette featuring the cast and crew talk about how everyone was family and what they loved about working on the series and their thoughts on the series final season.
* Audio Commentary for "Don't Go" - Featuring audio commentary by director Michael Waxman.
* Audio Commentary for "Always" - Featuring audio commentary with executive producer/showrunner Jason Katims.

EXTRAS:

"Friday Night Lights: The Fifth and Final Season" comes with a slip over cover case.

JUDGMENT CALL:

I have had the opportunity to watch "Friday Night Lights" from its very first episode and I can tell you right now, I love this show!

I love how accurately it depicts high school football, I love the energy that is displayed in each episode during each ball game but most of all, how wonderful the acting for the series is. I have watched Kyle Chandler grow as an actor from "Early Edition" and to see him act wonderfully in this role as Eric Taylor in "Friday Night Lights". He has the demeanor of a high school football coach, hard as nails, no-nonsense and very effective.

And you have to have a character that balances the school life and the problems that go on with the school and that is where actress Connie Britton, who plays Eric Taylor's wife Tami is also just as effective. While Eric handles the problems on the field and also dealing with his players off-the-field, Tami is right there trying to help troubled students any way she can.

And while these two are like the show's patriarchs, its the many characters who played the students that gave life to the series. Their problems are real and these are problems that people can identify with. Alcoholic or drug abusing parents, parents in jail, students who get carried away with their fame, students who are pregnant, students who get into trouble, students learning from their bad decisions and sure, these are situations that happens every week but instead of being a rehash of been-there, done-that, the writers have done an exceptional job in coming up with storylines that are fresh and new.

There was a good balance from both sides...football and the emotional drama and there were many times that there was no sugar coating. Things happen in this series to keep things going along and in season five, we see the Taylor family go through highs and lows but most of all seeing their marriage put to the test. So much has been focused on Eric Taylor's quest as a coach and his loving and supportive wife being there for him through thick and thin, but when she is offered a once-in-a-lifetime career opportunity, will Eric Taylor give up all that he loves about football and coaching for his wife? What will happen to these students as budget cuts continue to hurt their school and schools must unify?

The final season of "Friday Night Lights" may be a sad goodbye to a fantastic series that really never pulled in a lot of viewers but it was a damn good show! It's a series that had a lot of heart and anyone can relate to it. The writers did a wonderful job in creating an appropriate send-off for the series and each character, especially the Taylor family.

If you love the series or if you watched the earlier seasons and missed the others, while it is great to watch these seasons in order, you can watch "Friday Night Lights: The Fifth and Final Season" with no problems at all and still enjoy it.

Although short, it was a wonderful final season of "Friday Night Lights". This DVD box set is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best TV Drama to come along in a long, long time!, February 7, 2011
By 
If your looking to curl up on the couch and be entertained by a "real life" (style) family drama, FNL is the series for you!! Dont ask me how they do it, but the story lines are great and the cast is incredible!! They keep the show fresh by introducing a few new characters, just about every season, and they all grab at your heart strings and keep you glued to the TV! If you've not seen the show from season 1, do yourself a favor and grab it!! You'll be hooked if you like TV dramas!! Oh, and dont be scared off if your not a football fan.. It's about a coach, his family, and a small town (highschool) football team from Texas, but there's so much more to it than that.. It'll give you a peek at what goes on in your kids highschool, at games, after games, in the locker rooms, on the field, around town, on their way to college, etc.. Not sure what Im trying to say exactly, other than it's a really good show! Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing.., May 16, 2011
By 
DaveSincere (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
First off, I felt an emptiness after the last episode. An emptiness due to the realization that no more was to follow. Hands down this is one of the best shows created for tv. From Season 1 to Season 5.. Season 2 I was somewhat disappointed but we must remember it was because of the Writer's strike it was cut short. I am shocked this show did not do better in the ratings. I think many people saw the show and immediately associated it with "Football" or dumb jocks for some reason. These people have truly missed out on a treat.

Season 5 was simply wonderful. I loved the way it chronicled the story of Vince and his father and his struggle. It was truly heartfelt. Almost every scene I could personally relate to. It showed how football can change a person's life and football changed Vince's life for the better.

I liked the story with Luke Cafferty as well. I wished he would have had more story time as well. His humbleness and down home chivalrous disposition was a welcome to see. I think everyone believed in Luke and wanted the best for him.

Tim, Tim, Tim... From Season 1 Tim Riggins was the anti-hero.. Who can't appreciate his honest yet tough stance on life. It was truly a pleasure to see his journey.. I would have loved to see something about Lyla and Smash, but I understand the time and cost constraints.

Simply put, this show was amazing. I've tried to put friends on to it but everyone seem to have their own ideas about it and for some reason doesn't want to watch it. I have all the seasons in my NetFlix queue and I always brighten up when I speak of the show. Season 5 was very heartwrenching and honest. Even as a man I found there were some times I was getting emotional. Many scenes I could personally relate to. I was happy to see the show but saddened that it's over. It ranks as one of the best all time series in my book. I am tempted to write a letter to NBC to express the impact this show has had on me. Hands Down one of the best. If you have not seen this show, PLEASE start from Season 1 and experience the journey as we have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5th and Final Season, February 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
NBC will air the 5th and final season of Friday Night Lights starting Friday April 15, 2011. I had the pleasure of viewing this season on DirecTv and must say it will not disappoint. For the most part the stories are all wrapped up at the end. I have seen better season finales but don't want to give anything away. This final season brought me back to how great season 1 was. This show is really good at developing characters and staying true to who they are (exception Julie Taylor, season 5). As always Kyle Chandler and Connie Britton will not disappoint. There are some characters I wish we would have seen again in season 5, but I suppose there is only so much you can do with 13 episodes. It is truely a great show and will be missed. This is a must own series on DVD. It does seem a bit odd the DVD comes out before the show airs on NBC though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Friday Night Lights - fifth season, February 18, 2011
I am so sad that this is the last of Friday Night Lights It is not all about football I was a true die hard fan of this show I recorded it I watch and and watch it again. I can't believe it is over. I am glad that they brought back some of the past cast members it made it more meaningful for an ending. I would hope that maybe they would pick up again in the future when they see how much it meant to people. Coach can make his team in Philly why not?

I wish all programs would have as good content as this one. It really is about true struggles in every persons life it was pretty much true to form. So many of these stupid reality shows could go by the wayside and we should have more "Friday Nights" on the TV it would make our world a much better place.

Well I will say goodbye and hope for another show as good as that one it makes watching TV worth it.

Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an Excellent Season - It Makes me Miss this Show, June 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Before I bring up Season 5 itself, I have to say the finale episode is right up there with my favorite finale's of other shows, probably as moving as the way the show Six Feet Under ended.

But, wheeww, this Season just rocked, possibly more than any other season of F.N.T. I think it's because when you've grown to be more familiar to each character - especially due to the almost perfect quality of character development you have with FNT - each episode is just that much more realistic and entertaining. Or you just care that much more about the way the storyline progresses, because you like all the characters that much more at this point of the show.

I can say for sure, that there was no feeling of this show's slacking off the quality of writing and of acting just because they knew this show was ending at the beginning of S5.

The show's Creators so consistently accomplished tying up the loose ends with the stories behihnd Vince, Coach Taylor, Riggins, Cafferty, Jess, Becky etc.., and the effort put into how powerfully they want you to be moved by these characters, and their storylines, really made this show more watchable with each episode!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Expectations [HD]
Expectations [HD] by Michael Waxman
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.