Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent textbook for students
I use Molloy's book for the college course I teach on world religions (along with Van Voorst, Anthology of World Scriptures, Wadsworth: 2011). He begins with an insightful chapter on various approaches to the study of religion, then explores indigenous religions. The rest of the book walks students through the origins, beliefs, and practices of Hinduism, Buddhism,...
Published on August 19, 2011 by Dr. B

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly comprehensive text but with certain problems
"Experiencing the World's Religions" is a fairly comprehensive introductory text describing the major religions of the world. It is well-written and easy to read. However, at times Malloy's presuppositions stand in the way of an objective presentation of the data. For example, on the inside front cover, on Judaism's timeline, Abraham is called "legendary."...
Published 22 months ago by Doug Erlandson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Experiencing the World's Religions: Tradition, Challenge, and Change, 5th Edition (Paperback)
Reading this for a religions class at my college, and while my copy is gently loved, I love all the brand new info I'm learning through this book. Would like it if the chapters didn't have the long anecdotal introductions as well, but overall a great textbook for class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty decent text book., January 11, 2013
This review is from: Experiencing the World's Religions: Tradition, Challenge, and Change, 5th Edition (Paperback)
I had to buy this book as required reading for a religious studies class. The material covers some pretty obscure and outdated topics, but hit on most of the main topics in class. This book is the best of the 3 religious studies books I have used thus far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, October 24, 2014
This review is from: Experiencing the World's Religions: Tradition, Challenge, and Change, 5th Edition (Paperback)
What can I say. It's a textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Experiencing the World's Religions: Tradition, Challenge, and Change, 5th Edition (Paperback)
excelent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Experiencing the World's Religions: Tradition, Challenge, and Change, 5th Edition (Paperback)
In my experience, text books are usually very dry and boring. This book is actually interesting. The author has a way of teaching which keeps the reader engaged. I find it very interesting and easy to remember what I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, meet all of my expectations., February 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Experiencing the World's Religions: Tradition, Challenge, and Change, 5th Edition (Paperback)
I do love the product, it size and the sleekness of the texbook. It does meet my expectation per viewing the product on line, as well as the price.

I love shopping with Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book., February 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Experiencing the World's Religions: Tradition, Challenge, and Change, 5th Edition (Paperback)
I enjoy how the chapters start off with the writer's observation of the culture and the initial reactions to the religion. It makes it seem more personal. It draws you into the chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great shipper!!, January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Experiencing the World's Religions: Tradition, Challenge, and Change, 5th Edition (Paperback)
I needed this book as soon as possible for a class im taking, and they were able to get it to me four days before my first quiz, which is awesome!! great condition and great shipper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why is this available for all devices but android?, October 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This would have been a great purchase if not for the simple fact that it's not allowed to be read on the Kindle app found on my android tablet but works fine on an iPad? What gives?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Textbook, March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Experiencing the World's Religions: Tradition, Challenge, and Change, 5th Edition (Paperback)
This book was required for a class that I am currently taking. I like how it introduces every religion and it has a lot of great info. I am enjoying the reading so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Experiencing the World's Religions: Tradition, Challenge, and Change, 5th Edition
Used & New from: $44.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.