Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Maker's Handbook & Introduction to Engineering Skills for the Arduino
Jeremy Blum is the best combination of a formally trained Electronics Engineer and a Maker/Hacker. His excellent video series promulgated through YouTube and Element 14 is the most complete video tutorial on the Arduino available. But, this Maker's Handbook and introductory engineering text is much more than a rehash or paper documentation for his outstanding video...
Published 15 months ago by Ira Laefsky

versus
29 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Save some money & jut watch the Tutorials online.
This book is almost a copy+paste from the tutorials Jeremy did some years ago on YouTube. While that might be fine for some, I cannot justify spending money on something that is otherwise available for free (especially from the same person). This book is definitely a good and valuable resource if you're looking for a book that details projects and not much about the...
Published 14 months ago by Justin


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Maker's Handbook & Introduction to Engineering Skills for the Arduino, July 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Exploring Arduino: Tools and Techniques for Engineering Wizardry (Paperback)
Jeremy Blum is the best combination of a formally trained Electronics Engineer and a Maker/Hacker. His excellent video series promulgated through YouTube and Element 14 is the most complete video tutorial on the Arduino available. But, this Maker's Handbook and introductory engineering text is much more than a rehash or paper documentation for his outstanding video series. While the book could stand alone as an excellent practical introduction to the Arduino, it also serves as a clear (and as much as possible no-math) introduction to principles of electronic engineering and computer science, with a little bit of practical physics thrown in. As an easy to follow engineering textbook Jeremy's "Exploring Arduino" offers the most complete explanation of Analog to Digital Conversion, Pulse Width Modulation, USB and Serial Protocols (I2C and SPI), Data Logging and Real Time Clocking, TCP/IP and Web Protocols and the Internet of Things I have found among a plethora of Arduino books. The illustrations are of high quality black and white and sufficient to capture wiring diagrams, schematics, oscilloscope traces program listings, data sheets and parts pictorials. As a Maker's Handbook part kits are available at a discount with the book from Element 14 allowing one to economically duplicate all of Jeremy's experiments.

I highly recommend "Exploring Arduino" as much more than an introduction to this popular microcontroller. He bringhs his skills as a Maker and as an Cornell Master's Degree Electronic Engineer to the best combination of Experimental Handbook for the Arduino and a clear and easy to follow introduction to Electronic Principles.

--Ira Laefsky MS Computer Engineering, MBA IT Consultant and Human Computer Interaction Researcher
formerly on the Senior Consulting Staff of Arthur D. Little, Inc and Digital Equipment Corporation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book - consider the kindle, September 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Exploring Arduino: Tools and Techniques for Engineering Wizardry (Paperback)
I somehow ended up with both the paper version and the kindle version. I like them both but the Kindle version has the diagrams in color which is a huge win for me when trying to figure out the breadboard layouts. In the b&w of the book the greys are too hard to distinguish, but in the color version on kindle its much easier to trace the jumpers and read the resistors.

Really good book to go beyond basics with your arduino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Beginner to in depth, July 24, 2013
This review is from: Exploring Arduino: Tools and Techniques for Engineering Wizardry (Paperback)
I rocketed through Jeremy's video series before I even purchased my first Arduino. I was so glad to see he made a book out of it. I received the book a few days ago and it looks great. The approach is very easy to follow and the lessons build upon each other nicely. He does a great job of tackling more complex projects without letting the reader get overwhelmed. Jeremy's projects always point in a somewhat practical direction. I am finding Arduino is a great way to explore electronics and this book is a great way to explore Arduino.
-Sean Shoemaker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I had this book five years ago!, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Exploring Arduino: Tools and Techniques for Engineering Wizardry (Paperback)
I've been teaching Arduino programming to my advanced high school physics classes for several years, and this book is the tutorial/reference I wish I had when I started. An interested novice can move to this book right after working through the standard examples on the Arduino site. The book hits a really good balance between practical "how to get it done", and briefly explaining the underlying electronics so you can just start making sense of the spec sheets that come with the electronic bits you buy for your projects, as well as what's going on inside the Arduino. The choice of topics covered is also very well considered, particularly the section on various interfaces like I2C and SPI. I've try to make sense of hooking up I2C devices from online materials for a while and always found the technical information online overwhelming - Blum makes it dead easy. One of the most clearly written technical books I've ever used. If you have an Arduino, buy this book now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best introductory book into the world of Arduino and micro-controllers in general....., May 15, 2014
This review is from: Exploring Arduino: Tools and Techniques for Engineering Wizardry (Paperback)
I have read many books on Arduino, MBED, ARM and PIC, as well as many online tutorials (both free and paid), -and this is by the far the best source of beginner knowledge into the wonderful world of Arduino. In addition to teaching you the fundamentals of Arduino, this book teaches fundamental concepts that can be applied to other platforms and micro-controllers. It is by far the best source of knowledge and most comprehensive introduction that I have found yet, covering many concepts that aren't covered elsewhere. The "to-the-point" teaching style is ingenious, one of a kind and basically forces the student to think and learn in a fun and engaging manner. It is both a great introduction for beginners and a beneficial tutorial for those with intermediate skills. In fact, not only would I recommend this book, but I also see it as a requirement for anyone wanting to break into this rewarding hobby. This is a "one-stop-shop" introduction to the world of Arduino that will save you time, money and many headaches, while keeping the student engaged and interested. If you are just starting out with Arduino, or have taken other courses and tutorials but aren't yet confident enough in your skills, then this is absolutely the best solution you can currently find...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes Arduino introductory books to the next level, August 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book takes explanations and concepts more in depth than other intro Arduino books I've read - especially with regard to engineering and electronics concept introduction and explanation. It also introduces some components that I've not used before in my own projects. The book teaches project conceptualization and its projects could (and probably should) certainly be considered as mere launching points for one's own projects. Possibly not the best book for beginners as neither does it always hold one's hand with regard to putting projects together nor does it spoonfeed C programming to the reader. It expects one to take the initiative. Nicely done. Only rare minor typos found and none that were especially confusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Save some money & jut watch the Tutorials online., September 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Exploring Arduino: Tools and Techniques for Engineering Wizardry (Paperback)
This book is almost a copy+paste from the tutorials Jeremy did some years ago on YouTube. While that might be fine for some, I cannot justify spending money on something that is otherwise available for free (especially from the same person). This book is definitely a good and valuable resource if you're looking for a book that details projects and not much about the programming side or explanation of syntax.

Who this book looks to be aimed at is someone who just wants to essentially copy the code directly from the projects in the book without having much of a 'why' or 'how' the code/syntax works or what the functions are doing. Jeremy does do a rather good job of telling you how to write code to get the project to run and work but does not state the fundamentals of the code and programming.

If, like myself, you are looking to "learn" how to program using the Arduino IDE than I would suggest another book by Brian Evans for that. Make no mistake, if you read and follow Jeremy Blum's book you will learn something. But the detail and depth of which you learn will disappoint some. Take the title of this book to heart, it is called "Exploring Arduino" for a reason. Much in the same way one might explore a city but not really understand the history about it or how it came to be, just that you know where things are and how to get around.

Overall I think Jeremy's book is fantastic but still slightly less than what I was hoping for. Regardless, you can save time and money if you just watch his tutorials online, which are free and quicker to learn from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book, Expensive Lessons., January 14, 2014
By 
This review is from: Exploring Arduino: Tools and Techniques for Engineering Wizardry (Paperback)
I have learned soo much from this book. It is truly a great way to learn arduino with an actual knowledge on why and how things are done instead of copy and paste code like others. A lesson will start off with the very basic program (eg. wiring and lighting an external LED), then explain Ohm's law, how the arduino uses it to be able to do something as dim the LED, ending with how to code the LED to dim. With this basic knowledge, you then can go through on your own and change values in code so that you can implement your new skills.

Unlike other books, the lessons are very functional and interesting. Granted you still get basics such as 'make the LED blink', but you also will be getting into wireless controls (doorbell in example) and further expand into theory and practice on more complex projects. The lessons are amazing from an educational point and far more than interesting enough to make you want to keep going.

I know that by this point you are wondering why I did not give this book 5 stars. I must admit, I really did want to but what no one has really mentioned before is the cost of components. I have spent OVER $225 on all the parts to complete every lesson. Also, I was somewhat disappointed about how similar these lessons are to his YouTube tutorials. But in all honesty, the book does have more information and delivers that information in a far better way than the YouTube videos and alone is worth the cost of the book. I feel that I have gotten great use from the money I spent, but never would have expected that it would have required so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geeks Everywhere Should Applaud, August 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Exploring Arduino: Tools and Techniques for Engineering Wizardry (Paperback)
I've followed Jeremy's wonderful series of YouTube video tutorials over the last year or so with admiration for such a young fellow to clearly explain and present this new and delightful technology. I caught the "open source" fever. The Maker Movement is alive and well with Jeremy's new book. Like his videos, the chapters flow in a logical sequence and build on one another. The book is a great learning experience for anyone interested in electronics and how it can be managed by this wonderful little processor known as Arduino. Like all rock stars - it's known only by its first name around the world. Bravo Jeremy. And now, maybe Jeremy will be too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction and good hands-on!, March 11, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (North Carolina, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Liked reading this a lot. Seemed to be a good intro that my intro to robotics lab should have covered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Exploring Arduino: Tools and Techniques for Engineering Wizardry
Exploring Arduino: Tools and Techniques for Engineering Wizardry by Jeremy Blum (Paperback - July 22, 2013)
$34.99 $23.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.