Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget about children, this book is great for adults too!
This book is great for anyone who (like me) has never been able to figure out stars beyond the big dipper or to understand what are the relationships of scale between stars, galaxies, clusters, etc.... Adults (including me and my father, age 73) will enjoy this book as much as (probably even more) than children.
Not only it contains celestial maps that make it...
Published on January 13, 2000 by Luciano Dalle Ore

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not for young children
Not for children. Way too in depth to keep the young beginner not feel overwhelmed or get bored with info. I enjoyed it myself but noticed i started to skip info. Need a different book for my child
Published 11 months ago by kjs


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget about children, this book is great for adults too!, January 13, 2000
This review is from: Exploring the Night Sky: The Equinox Astronomy Guide for Beginners (Paperback)
This book is great for anyone who (like me) has never been able to figure out stars beyond the big dipper or to understand what are the relationships of scale between stars, galaxies, clusters, etc.... Adults (including me and my father, age 73) will enjoy this book as much as (probably even more) than children.
Not only it contains celestial maps that make it easy to find the stars, but also it gives some extremely useful tricks for finding them (i.e. using your fist to estimate 10 degrees of arc). Finally, it gives some extremely well narrated and illustrated examples of relative astronomical dimensions, starting from the distance between the earth and the moon and ending with the distances between galaxies. Definitely the best first book to buy to get a clear idea what our universe is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bok that hooked me onto astronomy, February 1, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This wonderful book is the one that got me hooked onto astronomy when I was just an 8-year old boy. Now as I am in college and studying astronomy, this book even though old (written c. 1986), has not lost its charm and magic to me. The best part of this book is the beautifully rendered paintings of the night skies and other sights around the universe, which will leave you breathless and in awe of the majestic canvas of the skies. I give it a 2 thumbs up and many stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good way to introduce children to Astronomy, August 5, 1998
By A Customer
This book won the New York Academy of Sciences award for children's science literature. And with good reason. The pictures are out of this world. The constellation maps are the easiest to use out of any I have seen. If you are thinking about buying a telescope for your child, you may want to get this book first. It will help you make a decision about how to buy your first telescope, and ensure that your child knows what he or she is looking at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did well in 1987 .... needs a new edition now., September 30, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Exploring the Night Sky: The Equinox Astronomy Guide for Beginners (Paperback)
This is a good introduction, and the pictures are great. However, it's dated now. "Jupiter will be below Pegasus in 1987". The stargazing sections give a useful, though basic, guide to the night sky for each season, taking the reader logically from one constellation to another. References to the locations of the planets span 1987 to 1999. Don't look to this book if you want to know where to see the planets tonight. Despite that, the book was worth buying as a first introduction to astronomy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thin book, but chock full of info., December 5, 2013
By 
S. Le Maire (Piney Woods, CO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Night Sky: The Equinox Astronomy Guide for Beginners (Paperback)
I thought this book would be much bigger, but it's only about 30 pages long. I had purchased it for my nieces as they are starting to get into astronomy with their father. It's written perfectly for them to understand and for their father to get deeper meaning from it. All in all, it's helped them with their star gazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for all ages, April 2, 2011
This review is from: Exploring the Night Sky: The Equinox Astronomy Guide for Beginners (Paperback)
I used to read this book as a child, and I still find it fascinating and informative as an adult. The illustrations are incredible, particularly the artist's renderings in the first section of the book, which takes a journey from our solar system to beyond our galaxy. The second section details the night sky during different seasons of the year. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not for young children, December 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Night Sky: The Equinox Astronomy Guide for Beginners (Paperback)
Not for children. Way too in depth to keep the young beginner not feel overwhelmed or get bored with info. I enjoyed it myself but noticed i started to skip info. Need a different book for my child
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great reading for any age, November 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Night Sky: The Equinox Astronomy Guide for Beginners (Paperback)
This book is not just for children , this book is a good read for any age. i loved the drawings !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pluto's still a planet, November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Night Sky: The Equinox Astronomy Guide for Beginners (Paperback)
What a fun book. The pictures are great and the facts in here are fun. It seems a bit outdated where it still lists Pluto as a planet...unless things have changed and Pluto's been upgraded back to planet. Great tips on how to find constellations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, July 24, 2013
By 
Ryan J O'Toole (Webb City, Missouri) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Exploring the Night Sky: The Equinox Astronomy Guide for Beginners (Paperback)
My girlfriend loves space and loves books with the pictures of everything that's out there very clear and high resolution photos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Exploring the Night Sky: The Equinox Astronomy Guide for Beginners
Exploring the Night Sky: The Equinox Astronomy Guide for Beginners by Terrence Dickinson (Paperback - February 1, 1987)
$9.95 $9.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.