Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 6, 2011
Ashley Weis' novel Exposed is a well-written, fast-paced novel. Weis examines the fictional lives of two women: Allyson Graham and Taylor Adams. Allyson's character, although somewhat of a drama queen, reacts to her husband's addiction in the way I imagine most women would. Taylor is very much a predictable, cliche character. Her daddy issues have lead her to working in the porn industry, and she has dismissed all religion from her life. The novel was tastefully written, and minimally graphic.

The pace of the book kept me thinking about it whenever I couldn't read it. I was definitely "hooked". I did find it to be predictable and, at times, super cliche. The ending was a bit of a disappointment, because I feel there should have been a few more pages of development.

The surprising part of the novel for me was that this is Christian Fiction. I had not expected that, based on the description on the back. Weis does a wonderful job of incorporating Christianity without making it consume the storyline in the novel.

I recommend this novel for anyone interested in reading a racier Christian Fiction novel, or anyone who is going through the same situations as the two main characters.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2011
There is something so powerful about a book told by someone who has lived through the devastation of a marriage upheaved by a spouse's porn addiction. In trying to understand the sin, Ashley does a wonderful job at getting inside the skin of the victims on both side of this troubling but very real fence. Ashley Weis takes us where few in Christian fiction dare to tread. She addresses every woman's nightmare with frankness, truth and love. Her style is clean and efficient, her story line, powerful. Weis shows that hope can shine just as brilliantly among the neon of the sex industry as it does through a stained glass church window. Anyone who claims that Christian fiction is pat and irrelevant hasn't read this novel.

I recommend this book to men and women who struggle with porn addiction or love someone who has. In no way does this novel glorify or accept the sin. It simply offers grace, compassion and the hope of restoration and redemption.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2012
It appears that 90+% of the reviews for this book are written by women, so I'll try to offer a slightly different perspective and conclusion that I hope will give men a reason to read the book.

First, I obviously liked the book a lot. It is well written overall, offers unique perspectives from the point of view of two women who couldn't be more different, and in the end weaves the two stories together in a way I didn't see coming at first (although, once the two character's stories start to merge, the ending becomes very predictable). I found the story engrossing, and it made me want to keep reading.

But be prepared to be depressed. This is a very depresssing story even though it ends on a hopeful note.

The story of Taylor, the young woman who flees a terrible home situation only to end up in an equally terrible life as a porn star, is heartbreaking and believable. The story of Allyson was much harder for me to believe. Here is a woman who has been happily married for several years to a man she loves deeply and who apparently treats her very well. Then, with just one discovery that her husband views porn on the internet, everything falls apart. Suddenly, she sees him as unfaithful, a cheater, a man who doesn't love her, a liar, a pervert and basically scum she wants no part of. And remember, all this is before she knows he is addicted. How can you go from feeling for many years that he treats her like gold to this overreaction? Did anything happen during the good years to lead her to feel she wasn't loved? Apparently not. So, for all those years, his addiction didn't seem to impact their lives together in the slightest. Why is the discovery that a man looks at porn (who hasn't?) such a life changing event for Allyson? Even the very religious President Carter admitted to feeling "lust in his heart," and his wife seemed to accept it so long as it wasn't acted upon.

The husband's addiction is revealed to Allyson a little at a time, each time with a profuse apology, no mean words of justification, and endless declarations that he loves her and it means nothing to him. He tries and tries to make it up to her. Yet her response, time and again, is to ask him if he thinks the woman he looked at is more beautiful than she is, prodding him to disprove his own words. What a Catch 22: answer no, and she thinks he's lying again; answer yes and she feels worse. His answer: yes, the woman is more beautiful than her, but Allyson has an inner beauty she can't match. Wow! Truly an unbelievable response. No man in his right mind who claims to love his wife would answer that way and throw fuel on the fire.

So her husband looks at porn and that makes Allyson feels justified in having her own affair with her real former boyfriend. But how can looking at porn be considered equally as bad as having a real life affair?

I found her reactions irritating and hard to believe. However, I will defer to the many women who reviewed the book and said that is exactly how they would feel, and I accept it as fact, since I'm not in a position to know.

Without revealing the ending, I again found it hard to believe that Allyson would change her very judgmental attitudes so radically without going through a gradual transformation.

That said, it was still a compelling storyline. And I learned something new about how differently women may react to things that most men don't view as a big deal. (A big thanks to the women reviewers here for making it clear that Allyson's feelings were realistic. I wouldn't have known otherwise.)

Definitely worth a read by both women and men.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2010
The title Exposed is very fitting! Ashley Weis opens readers eyes to the real truths about porn. It's more than a fantasy. As a wife of a porn addicted husband I know how it ruins lives and cuts to the core of a woman. This novel shows the pain on both sides of the story, as a wife of an addict and a young woman becoming a porn star. I could not put down this book! I was so intrigued with both Taylor and Ally's stories! Each chapter keeps you wanting to know what happens next! It's powerful, emotional, and beautiful all in one. I loved this book! It will show you that there is hope in God even when life seems hopeless! I recommend anyone to read Exposed, especially hurting wives! Thank you Ashley for writing this book!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2013
I am 42% into the book. Some reviews have mocked the damage and the distress that a wife feels when she realizes she is competing with porn. I was nervous picking up the book because my heart was deeply wounded by a husband who preferred fantasy women to a living person who had given up everything to be with him. The devastation is real and this author could have been in my mind and heart and bedroom during the time following the discovery and the year and a half I wrestled with demons before and after choosing to fight for my husband and his choice to fight for our marriage and actively deny his temptations. Ally struggled with exactly my struggles, and Jesse said and did things that mirrored my own husband's responses to my crushed spirit. What is also true, and not over the top, is the real despair and devastation with which the porn stars live. My own experience sent me to researching what I was fighting against. That research changed me from anger and bitterness to horror and grief toward the women who stole my husband's desire from me. They are just as much victims as I am. When I took my research to my husband and asked him if that is what he would want for his own daughter, he turned pale and it was evident that he was grieved by his contribution to the abuse of the girls he had viewed to arouse him! Though I haven't finished the book, I believe everyone needs to know the truth about this industry. It is wise to recognize that the world of porn destroys men, destroys marriages, destroys families, destroys the innocent and preys on the hurting and insecure. It is also encouraging to know that marriages can survive and even thrive after a betrayal like this. I'm thankful this author took the effort and risk to describe, with so much feeling, the experiences of hurting women in today's society.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2013
Flipping between the two threads every chapter left me as frustrated as with Tolkien's epic, but it was a surprise the way they came together at the end. I was impressed by the way the author conveyed the pain and degradation without making it an X-rated story. Heavy stuff and the exhaustion of repeated thoughts that lingered long after the story was finished!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2015
About a subject I haven't given much thought about - porn. This book starts right in and has two women telling their stories and how through their struggles, God is able to heal them. Amazing story but not an easy subject to read about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2016
Excellent book. Difficult to read because of the truth it holds. Very well written to understand why men find it so hard to stop.
The truth is pornography is like any addiction, it's harmful but feels good at the time. Same with gluttony. Same with various addictions. God looks at all sin as the same. It all keeps us away from God. It hurts but we need to forgive because God forgave us. (Matthew 6:14). Our man needs to know we love him and forgive him and will do whatever it takes to help him truth it. There are a few pornography blockers that you can find on the web and download and some have accountability.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2013
I found this book to be emotionally draining. The other tells the story of two woman who lives are destroyed by pornography. One because she discovered her husband is addicted to porn and the other because she becomes a porn star. This books shows the ugly truth behind the facade of porn. It is not vulgar, but does not shy away from making the reader uncomfortable. I cried many times with both women as their stories unfold. It is not an easy book to read, but definitely worth the time to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
God works in mysterious ways; his wonders to perform.
Your story shows God's path for all parties. While going through them I'm sure it was chaotic and questions were asked as to why this or why that., But as we know; hindsight is always 20/20.
I am so pleased that your paths crossed and your marriage survived and your family grew.
It was very hard for me to put your story down. I would , more than once, let things go undone while I was reading.
God Bless
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse