Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant Blend of Accessible Science, Art, and Methods
Dr. Pennebaker has been a profound inspiration to my work since the late 80's and has always been a generous resource as I have studied writing for healing, to obtain a PhD and MS with my focus on using programmed writing and poetry for managing trauma. This new book is an elegant addition to his body of work. It is sharp, concise, consistent with the science and research...
Published 10 months ago by Oceanlady

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... of Pennebaker's work with prompts that some may find useful.
A somewhat re-hashed version of Pennebaker's work with prompts that some may find useful.
Published 7 months ago by G'Roon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant Blend of Accessible Science, Art, and Methods, May 4, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dr. Pennebaker has been a profound inspiration to my work since the late 80's and has always been a generous resource as I have studied writing for healing, to obtain a PhD and MS with my focus on using programmed writing and poetry for managing trauma. This new book is an elegant addition to his body of work. It is sharp, concise, consistent with the science and research he has done, and adds another dimension of "how to's" with the contributions of John Evans. The book is accessible enough to recommend to clients to use on their own, and academic enough to recommend to students or care providers who are new to the work of using writing for healing. As an Author, Educator, and Licensed and Registered Expressive Art Therapist I am delighted to add this new book to my library and once again appreciate the elegant blend of science and art of Jamie's work that allows writing as a self-regulating methodology for healing to continue to rise above the "noise" in today's treatment-de-jour marketplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and HIGHLY recommend using the sequence of writing assignments/experiments for surprising improvements ..., December 8, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have used this process, have begun training to facilitate it, and HIGHLY recommend using the sequence of writing assignments/experiments for surprising improvements in health in all areas. Even if the overall health had not also been true for me, the value of discovering new strengths that are very much a part of a legacy I am proud of would make this profoundly easy to follow, easy to understand, Gift of a book a treasure.
I say a treasure because not only did I gain a lot from moving through the writings once, I now have supremely useful tool for healing from new challenges.
I have met the authors, as well, and know that this book is a collaboration of two authentic men who live what they say in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Self-Help Guide, September 13, 2014
By 
Jodi Zipp (Austin, TX, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Much more interesting and helpful than your run-of-the-mill self-help book. I followed his guidelines and it made a noticeable difference in helping me deal with some recurring painful issues. If you're having a hard time letting go of something painful, I highly recommend you try the writing program described in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful tool, December 2, 2014
This review is from: Expressive Writing: Words that Heal (Paperback)
I think wonderful book, is a powerful tool, with great potential for "using expressive writing to overcome traumas and
emotional upheavals, resolve issues, improve health, and build resilience." The authors talk about the health benefits of writing; they act as coaches to assist in actual writing experiences, with specific day-by-day instructions. They also discuss different types of writing, including story telling, poetic, legacy, and affirmative writing. In their conclusion, they state "to continue this personal growth and healing, try to see your writing as a practice, much like yoga or meditation, or like regularly going to the gym. Use your writing to reframe experiences, write about events from a perspective of compassion and empathy, write about everyday events with great attention to details and a spirit of mindfulness, and write your appreciation and gratitude for what many may call the little things-things we know are the only things needful."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great practical book, December 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book. There are many useful exercises and reference to actual studies done to support the exercises the authors chose to use. It's extremely practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... of Pennebaker's work with prompts that some may find useful., August 7, 2014
By 
G'Roon (San Diego CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Expressive Writing: Words that Heal (Paperback)
A somewhat re-hashed version of Pennebaker's work with prompts that some may find useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wolrth a read, August 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Expressive Writing: Words that Heal (Paperback)
Interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Expressive Writing: Words that Heal
Expressive Writing: Words that Heal by John Evans (Paperback - April 14, 2014)
$16.00 $13.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.