Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from www.firrkids.com
Authors and publishers are so clever these days about finding great new ways to get kids interested in reading. Talk about making a book truly interactive! This one comes with two pairs of 3-D glasses neatly tucked in a pocket on the inside cover. Don't lose them - you'll need these wild glasses to make the animals leap right off the pages.

Phantograms are a...
Published on December 9, 2009 by www.firrkids.com

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No 3-D effect!
The book has printed with poor quality. Or the glasses inside doesn't have the right lenses: 3D effect is not good, with a lot of ghosting effect.
Published on March 25, 2010 by Claudio Centimeri


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from www.firrkids.com, December 9, 2009
This review is from: Eye-Popping 3-D Pets: Phantogram Animals You Can Practically Pet! (Hardcover)
Authors and publishers are so clever these days about finding great new ways to get kids interested in reading. Talk about making a book truly interactive! This one comes with two pairs of 3-D glasses neatly tucked in a pocket on the inside cover. Don't lose them - you'll need these wild glasses to make the animals leap right off the pages.

Phantograms are a form of an optical illusion. The illusion of depth is produced with a combination of two images that appear smudged (or as this book calls it, "a blurry mess") to the naked eye. Once you don the special specs however, the color filtering power of the glasses makes the image appear to be three dimensional! To kids, this bit of science translates to be really, really cool.

Not just a barrage of fancy photos, this book is also chock full of valuable information for exactly twenty-eight types of pets. A full page of information is provided on each animal, including instructions on how to care for that pet, habits, temperaments and helpful hints. You actually get a sense of what it would be like to own each animal - before you really do own that animal.

Of course, the big hook here is the 3D glasses and really neat rise-from-the-pages animals. But this is also a great resource when your family just isn't sure which pet would be the best fit for your household. Thinking about getting a potbellied pig? Maybe you didn't know that they are easy to train and can be taught lots of fun tricks. Or is a leopard gecko more your speed? Be careful not to grab that little guy by the tail, as it will break right off. Read about those animals, plus Guinea pigs, ferrets, frogs, parrots, tarantulas and more.

Overall, this is a wonderful book on household animals that will capture (and hold) the attention of children of many ages. Great photography, a neat use of science and just plain useful information will get your kids immersed in learning as much as they can about these animals. Just don't lose the glasses!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING experience to look at this book, March 7, 2011
By 
Friendly Helper (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eye-Popping 3-D Pets: Phantogram Animals You Can Practically Pet! (Hardcover)
WOW!! That's what you will say when you stare at these amazing pics in this book. It is truly eye popping!! oh my goodness. This book is the best 3D effect that I've ever seen close up like this. I found myself staring at all the details in the photos. Not just the adorable animals and the details of their fur and bodies but also the grass they sit on, the hay, the dandelions!! This book is a joy to experience with your children and it provides TWO pairs of sunglasses for just that purpose! WOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye Popping 3-D PETS, January 29, 2010
By 
Myrtle Boop (RALEIGH, NC, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eye-Popping 3-D Pets: Phantogram Animals You Can Practically Pet! (Hardcover)
I love this book! The images are truly "eye-popping"
I plan to share this book with my niece who loves animals, but struggles with her reading skills. I feel this book may encourage her to battle her negative feelings towards books in general!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for all kids, December 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eye-Popping 3-D Pets: Phantogram Animals You Can Practically Pet! (Hardcover)
If you like 3 D then this book is for you. My daughter loves the good quality of the glasses for viewing the book. Great pictures. Lots of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3d glasses, January 15, 2013
This review is from: Eye-Popping 3-D Pets: Phantogram Animals You Can Practically Pet! (Hardcover)
I am a librarian. Our children do love these 3d books. as you can imagine the glasses, if they get returned, are very worn. I need to have a source to replace them. We have tried a few but seem to have the wrong color lenses. The book does not specify. I would like it if the publisher would put a note in letting the buyer know where these can be replaced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Item & Quick Service, January 6, 2013
By 
Peggy Newman (LEE, FLORIDA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eye-Popping 3-D Pets: Phantogram Animals You Can Practically Pet! (Hardcover)
I purchased this for my Granddaughter for Christmas! She loves this book! I was so happy with the quick service, delivery and quality of my purchase! Thank you, so much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice book, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eye-Popping 3-D Pets: Phantogram Animals You Can Practically Pet! (Hardcover)
This book is lot of fun. My 8 yr old kid loves it from day one. This book is better than I thought, very nice buy for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic "Must Have" Book, with Awesome 3D Effects, January 28, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eye-Popping 3-D Pets: Phantogram Animals You Can Practically Pet! (Hardcover)
Max star rating on this one.
This book was so MUCH better than I could ever have imagined...
You won't believe your eyes.
If you make sure the book is quite flat against a hard flat surface, those pictures will coalesce into three dimensional images that rise right up off the pages.
(Liked being able to wave my hand right through them, too, as if it is a ghost!!)
It is unfortunate that there is no way I know of to photograph what you will see when you open this book with the glasses on.
LOTS of pics, and not just pets.
Excellent entertainment value for everyone, any age.
Put a smile on a friends face with this book, real fast.
Extra glasses are available cheap online if you or damage them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, August 22, 2011
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Eye-Popping 3-D Pets: Phantogram Animals You Can Practically Pet! (Hardcover)
My 4 yers old kid never stops looking with those 3-D glasses... She loved it! Great! Very educational and interesting book indeed. Really amazing. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't believe my eyes!, January 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eye-Popping 3-D Pets: Phantogram Animals You Can Practically Pet! (Hardcover)
I just got this book to share with my niece and nephews. I can't believe my eyes! It's great! I could not be happier. Great for 1 on 1 time with a child. Just remember if you wear glasses you will need them also. This book is great for any age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eye-Popping 3-D Pets: Phantogram Animals You Can Practically Pet!
Eye-Popping 3-D Pets: Phantogram Animals You Can Practically Pet! by Barry Rothstein (Hardcover - August 12, 2009)
$19.99 $17.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.