Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT ACTING!
In this movie,Sally Field does an EXCELLENT job portraying an anguished mom who is seeking justice for the brutal rape and murder of her teenaged daughter. And Keifer Sutherland is absolutely HATEABLE in HIS role as the depraved, scumbag murderer, (which I guess proves that he did an EXCELLENT job, as well)! This film pokes fun of the American justice system: It's...
Published on March 18, 2000 by gotstuff

versus
15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Surprised at how poor it is
We made it over an hour into this film, but we had to give up at the part where Sutherland was in the little house with Megan at the school. It was just another implausible scene in a film that was simply a series of implausible scenes, one after another. There was absolutely nothing redeeming in any part of the film that we saw, and the script was so awful that it was...
Published on October 3, 2010 by Running Deer


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT ACTING!, March 18, 2000
This review is from: Eye for An Eye [VHS] (VHS Tape)
In this movie,Sally Field does an EXCELLENT job portraying an anguished mom who is seeking justice for the brutal rape and murder of her teenaged daughter. And Keifer Sutherland is absolutely HATEABLE in HIS role as the depraved, scumbag murderer, (which I guess proves that he did an EXCELLENT job, as well)! This film pokes fun of the American justice system: It's obvious that Sutherland's character committed the vicious rape and murder, (along with a SUBSEQUENT rape and murder!), but is allowed to go free due to some legal mumbo-jumbo technicality! You really feel Feild's character's rage at the injustice of it all, as she decides to get her OWN revenge on the brutal killer, (who actually "taunts" her in court)! Warning: The rape scenes in this movie are VERY harsh and realistic, but all in all, an EXCELLENT, suspense-filled movie, with EXCELLENT acting. In my opinion, this is one movie that is DEFINITELY worth seeing, AND owning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Top-Notch Thriller, December 3, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Eye for An Eye [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The casting in this film in spectacular. The pacing is excellent. The direction is masterful. What more could you ask for in a dramatic thriller?
Sally Field is ideal for the role of a mother who's seventeen-year-old daughter is brutally raped and murdered. Ed Harris plays her supportive husband in an average role for him, but he still gets the point across. And Keifer Sutherland - well, nobody can play a vicious scumbag more brilliantly than Sutherland.
However, I have a word to the wise: This film is not for the queasy. The rape scenes are harsh and brutal and, sometimes, you have to wonder why Sutherland would take such an awful role. However, as an audience member watching the film, I could not pick out a better actor I would rather hate than Keifer Sutherland. And the hatred is strong for him in this film. Although 'Eye For An Eye' is not mysterious in any way and has hardly any made-you-jump thrills, it's a thriller just the same. Most of this is brought about masterfully by the remarkable acting, especially that of Field and Sutherland.
I can't say that I'm a big fan of Sally Field. However, she's perfect in this movie. An agonized mother, out to seek revenge. It's a typical story which is brought over-the-top by a great director and a masterful Academy Award Winning actress. The emotional tension brought to the screen kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time through. Another special trait about 'Eye For An Eye' is that it never gets old. The tension is always there. No matter how many times you've watched it.
Overall, this thriller is the very definition of what a top-notch thriller is about. The acting really brought it to life, and that's what's so enjoyable. I'd have to give Sally 5 stars on this one, as well as Keifer, and Ed Harris 3 stars for being there as a solid supporting actor. The movie itself gets 4, not for originality, but for the story that was immediately brought to life by the actors and actresses in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first ten minutes are ugly, September 30, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Eye for An Eye [VHS] (VHS Tape)
...and I am not kidding. Very hard to watch a pretty girl get raped and beating to death. Just not my thing. After five years I still can't watch the the opening of this film. Maybe I'm just squemish or maybe this film really honestly shows the ugly side of humanity. Very hard pounding for an opening. Sally Field shows her full acting chops in this film. Especially when she calls her daugther and hears her being attacked and she's running up and down screaming for help. I still get goosebumps thinking about it. The opening of this film and the ending are worth it to buy it. Just don't and this is a WARNING, don't let kids watch this film. It's that powerful and that disturbing to watch. I was just dumbfounded when I realized that this film was not recieved with praise when it opened or that it didn't do well at the box-office either. Now why is that. Okay granted the opening of this film is hard to watch. But the story is great and actors are A-list, not to mention there acting. Maybe it was actually showing that a woman with a gun went out of her way to avenge the rape and muder of her daughter. After the justice system failed her. Hell, I would do it too. I would have done the same thing she did. Even if the system put him in jail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PURE EVIL AT IT'S FINEST!!!!!, May 9, 2002
By 
vincent r meglis (lakewood, nj United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eye for an Eye (DVD)
Wow, Kiefer Sutherland delivers one of the most powerful performances ever to come to the big screen. I always loved Kiefer's films, and always thought he played a great villan. Freeway, A Time To Kill, and even in A Few Good Men he played a nasty s.o.b., but never had I seen him this downright horrible. He is such a brilliant actor and can play a wide range of characters(as we have seen in the tv show 24). Kiefer plays Robert Doob in the film Eye For An Eye, a white trash serial rapist who prays on women of all ages. Doob is a truely evil person and has no conscience what so ever, which makes him all the more scary. The movie opens with us being introduced to the McCann family. Karen(Sally Field) and Mack(Ed Harris) live in a big house with their two daughters Julie(Olivia Burnette) and Ashley. They are getting the house ready for Ashley's birthday party. Julie is left alone in the house and is putting up decorations, when Karen calls. Karen tells her that she is going to be late because she is stuck in traffic. Then the doorbell rings, and Julie tells her mom to hold on and opens the door. The scene that follows is quite upsetting, and is where we are introduced to Robert Doob. Doob brutally attacks Julie while Karen is still on the phone and can hear everything. The physical violence isn't that bad since the scene jumps around a lot, but the emotional tension is unbearable. I think that the helpless feeling Karen experiences as she runs up to every car around her to ask for help, and for someone to call the police, is what hits us the hardest. The vision of the balloons floating away from inside Karens car, out the open door, then to the sky, while Doob is raping and killing the helpless girl is, in my opinion, a subliminal reference to the end of innocence and the loss of life. It is something that you won't soon forget. The story moves foward to an investigation of the crime by Det. Denillo(Joe Mantegna), as Karen and Max try to deal with what has happened. The Det. calls them one morning and tells them they have a suspect in custody, Robert Doob. But when he goes to trial, he is dismissed on an error of the state. But before he leaves the courtroom, he assures the McCann's that he is definately responsable by mimicing their daughter's stutter saying, sasasasa...sorry. After that, Karen becomes obsessed with catching him in another crime so he could finally be brought to justice. She begins to follow him, and at one point see's him peeping on a lady and urinating on her lawn. She goes to the Det. to tell him that they have to pick this guy up, but the Det. tells her to stay away from Robert Doob and that there is nothing they can do right now. Karen then seeks help from a couple men at her counciling sessions. They are a vigilante group that takes justice into their own hands, when the system fails to. They teach Karen to shoot a gun and set up the hit for her, but she has to pull the trigger herself. At first she says she can do it, but then she backs out when she finds out that a friend of hers at the meetings is really a undercover FBI agent investigating vigilante activity. Then she finds out that Robert Doob has been talking to her other daughter Ashley. She goes to his apartment to send a message and finds a ceramic cookie that Ashley had made at school in his dresser. So she trashes his apartment in an attempt to lure him to her house for a final showdown. I won't tell you how the movie ends, you have to see it for yourself. I didn't mention Ed Harris much because he really has a small role in the film, although he does a great job with the parts he has. Everyone in this movie is excellent, even Beverly D'Angelo who plays Dolly Green, Karen's friend at her job, is great. I hope to see more of Kiefer Sutherland playing nasty roles like this in the future, he really was one of the most heartless characters I have ever seen...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not for people with weak stomachs., August 1, 2002
By 
This review is from: Eye for an Eye (DVD)
Basically because I am one of those people.
To a person like me, who really hates to see young beautiful teenage girls killed mercilessly by heartless so called "men", this movie turned my stomach the day I saw the preview for the first time.
When I finally watched this movie my one and only time ever, I couldn't sleep the rest of the night. Just the recurring thought of Julie (Karen's daughter) being mercilessly beaten and murdered by Robert Doob (Kiefer) and he gets away with it makes me ill and strengthens my love and desire to protect women like that.
If there's anybody else out there like me considering this movie, hear me out. This is not for you. It's a well made movie, but the plot will make you ill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic film, June 8, 2005
This review is from: Eye for An Eye [VHS] (VHS Tape)
i absolutely love this film, it's fantastic. Kiefer Sutherland plays a brilliant bad guy and shows us that he has the talent to switch roles. He is pure evil in this film but in my opinion he's brilliant. Sally Field plays a very moving part and plays the part of the grieving mother amazingly. The rape scenes are very brutal but the film itself raises very important issues of parental grieving and the demand for justice. One of my favourite films yet. Definitely worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie,Great Acting,Great Script., January 10, 2004
This review is from: Eye for an Eye (DVD)
Eye For An Eye is one of those films where you know through the whole movie who the killer is but it still surprises you through the whole movie.Sally Field plays a mother who is talking to her daughter on the phone when her daughter explains she has to answer the door.After that we see and hear screaming and a man who you clearly see as Kiefer Sutherland raping and torturing her.The mother now devestated begins to seek revenge on the man when the case goes to trial but is botched by a dumb attorney.
Now the man is walking the streets even though he raped and murdered her daughter.She starts by just spying on the man watching him pick his next target,but when he realizes it things do get sort of ugly.The supporting cast which includes Ed Harris as the husband are characters which aren't even really needed for they could take all of Harris scenes out and wouldn't have to edit any thing else.But the film is a great thriller with great performances by Field and Sutherland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never underestimate the power of a mother's love., March 25, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Eye for An Eye [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I have watched this movie a dozen times and I am still amazed at how "Karen" (Sally Field) carries out the execution of her daughter's rapist/murderer. Although the plot of the movie revolves around a most unpleasant subject, it was a dose of reality and really hits home because this does happen in real life and how many never pay for their crime due to a technicality. This movie shows Sally Field at her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't mess with She, April 13, 2001
By 
Peter Shelley "petershelley" (Sydney, New South Wales Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eye for An Eye [VHS] (VHS Tape)
John Schlesinger's 1996 thriller is a return to form after the disappointments of The Innocent and Cold Comfort Farm. This film received a lot of political flak for being reactionary when it was released and Leonard Maltin dubs it Death Wish in drag, but there's no denying that it is superbly directed. Based on the novel by Erika Holzer, it stars Sally Field as Karen McCann, whose daughter is raped and murdered. What makes it so interesting is the plot developments and the detail of the screenplay. Schlesinger is not afraid to make the rape scene, and a subsequent assault, graphic. They need to be to justify the anguish of the reactors. When Field's daughter is attacked, she is on a mobile call with Field who is caught in a traffic jam, and Schlesinger feeds Field's response by having her run through the cars, pleading with strangers for help, since she wants to keep her line with her daughter and cannot ring the police. He even has the courage to play with a mid-film expectation of Field being attacked and then letting her smile about the misunderstanding. Field is ideally cast and she gets to non-react to a lesbian announcement. Her supporting cast are equally as good with strong work from Ed Harris as her husband, Philip Baker Hall as a vigilante and Charlayne Woodard as an FBI agent. Joe Mantegna doesn't quite make his police detective believable but most surprisingly effective is Keifer Sutherland as the rapist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sally Field, once again..., January 17, 2010
This review is from: Eye for an Eye (DVD)
Admittedly, unless you've seen some other movies with graphic rape scenes, the two in this film are pretty brutal. Kiefer has always been a little too convincing as a villian-remember Stand by Me? In this film, he's very arrogant as well. Sally Field is very good in this film, any parent can feel her pain, not to mention anger when justice fails. I've seen several revenge flicks, but only one other one along these lines called A Mother's Revenge with Leslie Ann Warren-that one is good, but I can't find it on here. The story is very well crafted and believable, even though you'd hope justice couldn't be this stupid in reality.
I started watching this in the theater with my mom at 15 years old-but when they got to the rape scene, it was too intense and we had to leave, years later, I finally saw it all the way through and really enjoyed it-except the rape scenes of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eye for an Eye
Eye for an Eye by John Schlesinger
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.