Customer Reviews


227 Reviews
5 star:
 (132)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning without knowing it
I bought this for my five year old and she was absolutely captivated. Started out bored and after 2 minutes was running around the house looking for things to view. The quality of the image is very good and there are some nice attachments that make it easier to view different types of things. Really a great toy that ignites scientific curiosity in kids without them...
Published on October 11, 2007 by SuitedPair

versus
237 of 258 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really more suited for older kids
Pictures of the product to the contrary, this thing ain't as easy to use as it looks. The camera has a very specific focal length, and it takes a lot of practice and a steady hand to get an "in focus" image. At 200X the slightest movement of the camera or object being viewed is quite exaggerated, and you end up spending most of your time trying to find what you are...
Published on November 12, 2007 by John Clark


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

110 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning without knowing it, October 11, 2007
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EyeClops Bionic Eye Multizoom, Green (Toy)
I bought this for my five year old and she was absolutely captivated. Started out bored and after 2 minutes was running around the house looking for things to view. The quality of the image is very good and there are some nice attachments that make it easier to view different types of things. Really a great toy that ignites scientific curiosity in kids without them knowing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


115 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EyeClops is among the very best, October 15, 2007
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EyeClops Bionic Eye Multizoom, Green (Toy)
I purchased the EyeClops for my six year old son's birthday.

When first powered up, the quality of the EyeClops -- how easy it is to use, and how good the image is -- are surprizing. To have such high magnification and such a clear color image in a *toy* is impressive. Maybe the sharp image is what motivates my three year old son to pay attention when big brother is using it. The internal light source means no fuss with aligning a mirror, sunlight, or some bogus "light kit" like with usual microscopes.

The other doodads in the box -- the focusing card, the containers, and the stand -- are neat goodies that make the EyeClops a cool system.

We look at the fine details of other toys, photographs, and printed matter, including dollar bills. We look at wood and cloth, too.

One note: our rechargable NiMH batteries do not provide enough voltage to make the Eyeclops provide a color image. With freshly-charged NiMH batteries, the Eyeclops provides a very good black and white image, but that is far less satisfying than color.

After having the EyeClops for a few months, my son has started asking me about atoms and electrons. So I think this "toy" has had a lasting educational effect on him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


140 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Educational Toy for the Whole Family, October 21, 2007
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EyeClops Bionic Eye Multizoom, Green (Toy)
One cord to plug it into the TV, and it's ready to go...couldn't be easier to set up and use!

Amazing detail with all things fibrous -- cloth, hair, fur, paper. Unexpected details in things like plastic, laminates, metals. Easy even for little ones to use, though they need to understand they can't lick, scratch, or otherwise mar the lens.

Comes with a petri dish accessory, and a little plastic tube that can be screwed into the eye for close-up examination of liquids, bugs, and who-knows-what-we'll-think-of-next?!

Ease of use and the effect of seeing things magnified on your TV set is exactly what makes this toy straddle that line between great toy and educational tool.

Wow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


237 of 258 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really more suited for older kids, November 12, 2007
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EyeClops Bionic Eye Multizoom, Green (Toy)
Pictures of the product to the contrary, this thing ain't as easy to use as it looks. The camera has a very specific focal length, and it takes a lot of practice and a steady hand to get an "in focus" image. At 200X the slightest movement of the camera or object being viewed is quite exaggerated, and you end up spending most of your time trying to find what you are trying to look at, and when you finally find it, it isn't in focus, and when you adjust the focus, the camera moves and you have to start all over again. Would definitely be frustrating for impatient kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More fun for kid or parents?, November 19, 2007
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EyeClops Bionic Eye Multizoom, Green (Toy)
We bought this for our 7 year old's birthday. I'm not sure who has used it more, him or us! It's a blast to find thing around the house to look at. It does take a little finesse to master the angle to get the right focus, but once you do, it's endless fun. For kids under 7, I'd suggest a parent's help, because they could get easily frustrated. I can see this coming in very handy for things such as splinter removal or tick identification in the spring. Of course, I've already tried to analyze my moles for skin cancer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs setup and supervision at first, December 1, 2007
By 
David (PALO ALTO, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EyeClops Bionic Eye Multizoom, Green (Toy)
I bought two of these for christmas presents for curious nephews and so have not seen what their reactions will be. But after trying them I labeled the presents as "for" the father and the son together -- I think it really needs an adult to get the younger user started. I took the time to unpack and set up each, then repacked it with batteries in place so it is ready to go. I recommend this to any adult buyer: get it out, put in batteries, and test it before you wrap it up as a present.

The device works much as advertised. It consists of 3 bright LEDs surrounding a tiny camera lens, which images whatever is right up against the plastic "eyeball." The depth of focus is about 1/16 of an inch, in other words the only thing in sharp focus is what is lying on or pressed up against the plastic "iris". It takes a little practice and a steady hand to image something clearly. You can use the provided plastic tube to constrain, say, a live insect, then it will image at least the bug's feet. But if the bug is active, you will see it in flashes.

The device delivers a clear TV signal on a video cable (yellow RCA plug). Before Christmas morning, make sure you have a TV that accepts a plain video signal, and where the connector is -- preferably on the front or side, but likely on the bottom of the back in the dark at the back of the shelf! Alternatively you could connect the Eyeclops into a VCR so you could record the images on tape. There is no provision for computer input. Some computers have TV adapters and you could get images into a computer that way; otherwise your only route to printing the magnified image or using it in a document, is to take an picture of the TV screen with a digital camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent toy for entire family., November 13, 2007
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EyeClops Bionic Eye Multizoom, Green (Toy)
My 8 year old son got this for his birthday. Someone in our family has used it every day. When anyone comes to the house we plug it in and start a show. We love this toy. It is very easy to set up and the kids are having fun with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I spy with my EyeClops eye, December 24, 2007
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EyeClops Bionic Eye Multizoom, Green (Toy)
Things you should know about the EyeClops

1. Even though set-up is relatively easy, kids may need some help in putting it together, connecting it to the TV and bringing the bionic eye into focus.
a. The lens attachment has to be placed over the bionic eye, and twisted until the red groove is aligned with the arrows.
b. This toy needs five AA batteries for the "brain case"
c. It needs to be connected to the TV video input
d. It has to be focused using the focusing disc (included) before use

2. It's not for smaller children who may shine the LED light in their eyes

3. It comes with a viewing tube (for looking at bugs and other small objects); a viewing dish (for stuff that needs a little more room to spread out for examination); and a base for hands free viewing. These items are made of transparent plastic, and if you're not careful you may throw them away with the packaging.

4. It comes with an easy to understand, illustrated instruction booklet, that's actually written in proper English, and includes a treasure hunt section.

Good things about the EyeClops

1. Kids will be fascinated by the 200X magnification, and are likely to spend lots of time looking for objects to view
2. This is a good learning tool for showing kids what everyday objects look like up close. Hair, skin, salt, coins and banknotes, magazines, cloth and carpets are good examples, as are ants, fruit flies, shells and leaves. You can actually see fibers in cloth, and hair and follicles in skin.
3. Great gross out fun when disgusting objects appear on your TV screen

Bad things about the EyeClops

1. The object for examination needs to be very close to the bionic eye, touching the lens attachment
2. You can only view objects in the proximity of the TV, up to the length of the cord.
3. Sometimes the image appears fuzzy and adjustments have to be made to get it into focus
4. Some colors view better than others
5. Once the batteries start running down you get lines through the image and discoloration
6. If you're using this with your kids - DON'T LET THEM SEE A CLOSE-UP OF YOUR SKIN. This device clearly illustrates the aging process, and the difference between young skin and ummm older skin is very apparent. Unless you want them laughing at you for years to come, don't show your epidermis without a fight.

A cool educational toy for kids with a little parental guidance required.

Amanda Richards, December 24, 2007
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Actor from Eyeclops Commercial Loves it, December 3, 2007
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EyeClops Bionic Eye Multizoom, Green (Toy)
Back in July, I shot the EYECLOPS commercial with three kids and a dog. I was the man at the end looking at his bald spot with the toy. I didn't know at the time that this toy would be so fun. The owner of Jakks Pacific gave me an EYECLOPS and ever since I have had a great time with it. The only sad thing is that I will be giving it to my nephew and niece for Christmas and won't have it anymore.

It isn't Thomas and it doesn't have a Princess on it, but for once, a toy like this will actually go beyond being a fad and teach kids without them even knowing it.

Austin Brooks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eduactional AND Fun!, November 25, 2007
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EyeClops Bionic Eye Multizoom, Green (Toy)
This is the only toy I've gotten for my son he still plays with, most toys he tires of after only a few days(or hours). There's no shortage of things to find to view under the Eyeclops either which adds to it's extended "replay" value. You really can't go wrong with this toy for a Christmas present, we couldn't wait so we gave it to him early... OK maybe because we were anxious to play with it too :) I don't know what the person was talking about with the "black and white" images problem was talking about, these images are pretty nice(and in color). Maybe they should send theirs back and buy another one before they're sold out...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

EyeClops Bionic Eye Multizoom, Green
$84.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.