Customer Reviews


204 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful....
I bought this album on a whim because I liked Final Straw and thought I'd see what their new stuff sounded like. Initially I was a bit skeptical, but after a couple of repeated listens, I think that this actually exceeds Final Straw musically and in lyrics. This is not guitar pop or indie music...this is lush, beautiful, modern music. It's adult...complex and...
Published on May 16, 2006 by Charles B. Miller

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars emotionally lacking...
i love gary lightbody. i do. i've been a snow patrol and reindeer section fan for the last 5 years. up until 'eyes open,' one could never accuse gary lightbody of not wearing his heart on his record sleeve. those familiar with his work in the reindeer section know gary lightbody is more than capable of an emotional punch quite unlike anyone else. snow patrol's third...
Published on May 10, 2006 by M. Lohrke


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful...., May 16, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eyes Open (Audio CD)
I bought this album on a whim because I liked Final Straw and thought I'd see what their new stuff sounded like. Initially I was a bit skeptical, but after a couple of repeated listens, I think that this actually exceeds Final Straw musically and in lyrics. This is not guitar pop or indie music...this is lush, beautiful, modern music. It's adult...complex and interesting.

There are some truly amazing tracks on this record. Some are reminiscent of (similar in style to) "Fix You" by Coldplay. My favorites include: Make This Go On Forever, Chasing Cars, You're All I Have, and Open Your Eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD REVIEW: With hands, eyes, & ears open: Snow Patrol, November 30, 2006
This review is from: Eyes Open (Audio CD)
Indie kids added Snow Patrol to their mixes with the band's 1998 debut "Songs for Polar Bears," whose title references a previous incarnation of the group. How could you not love a Scottish indie band with chops big enough to cover "Crazy in Love" by Beyonce Knowles as a B-side?(Yes, the bootylicious singer from Destiny's Child and "Austin Powers.")

Snow Patrol relies on atmospheric, pop-tinged melodies, shimmering keyboards, and distorted guitars characteristic of the Glasgow alternative scene of the 1990s, overlaid with lead singer Gary Lightbody's floating tenor. The band's fourth disc, "Eyes Open", builds on the band's signature style.

Songs like "Make This Go On Forever", "Headlights on Dark Roads", and duet with Martha Wainwright "Set the Fire To The Third Bar" hypnotize with dark imagery and minored vocal chords. "You Could be Happy" and "Shut Your Eyes" lend a sense of acoustic purity to the album.(Both were recorded live in one session; you can hear chairs creaking, breathing, and feet tapping in both, but it just adds to the mood.)

The self-described "emotional knife-twisting" of Lightbody's lyrics is absent from the album's biggest single to date, "Chasing Cars." Like "Run", "Chasing Cars" is a deceptively simple love song filled with "garden[s] bursting into life" and "wasting time" with the one you love. "Cars" gets a lot of radio play across the FM band in Boston, from Emerson College's eclectic WERS 88.9 to Top 40-Music-In-A-Can Kiss 108.Whatever station it's played on, it's almost always followed by a moment of silence and the DJ saying "Wow, what a beautiful song."

True to form, "Eyes Open" starts with aggressive guitar riffs and builds to a rousing, uplifting finish. Repetition of a single chorus "tell me that you'll open your eyes" and increasing production layers in "Open Your Eyes" pull listeners willingly across "The Finish Line." This last track reminds us that finish lines are "good place[s] to start."

If there's any justice left in the music industry, "Eyes Open" should be a starting point for even better things from this talented quintet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lyrical loveliness, April 6, 2007
By 
This review is from: Eyes Open (Audio CD)
Some records wear thin quickly. I recently listened again to Employment by Kaiser Chiefs. I have tried to get into it on several occasions. However, I always become bored after about four songs. I do not foresee myself ever again listening to that record from start to finish. On the other hand some cds hold one's interest throughout. Eyes Open is a cd that has grown on me as I have become more familiar with it. Some complain that there is too little variation between tracks. I disagree. Admittedly, there is a consistency of sound and style. There is also enough variation to sustain interest for the 40 or so minutes of the recording.

Gary Lightbody's voice is poignant and absolutely appropriate for the lyrics. This alt-pop is catchy sing-along music, great for listening to in the car at high volume. I like the change of pace mid-stream in some of the songs and how can you not love anything where Martha Wainwright sings? I'm looking forward to their next release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I absolutely have been waiting for this album, December 8, 2007
This review is from: Eyes Open (Audio CD)
I have to admit I am not all that familiar with this band. I heard one of their tracks on a movie I was watching recently and dediced to buy one of their cds. Without even knowing it....this is the cd I have been waiting for. I am just tired of listening to the same type of music and this band really does offer something different. The words, music and use of some instruments you wouldn't necessarily hear on a pop/rock album make it all the more worth listening to. I do love this album and will be looking forward to discovering more music from Snow Patrol. Thanks Snow Patrol for giving us such a great cd to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars emotionally lacking..., May 10, 2006
By 
M. Lohrke (Saratoga Springs, UT) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Eyes Open (Audio CD)
i love gary lightbody. i do. i've been a snow patrol and reindeer section fan for the last 5 years. up until 'eyes open,' one could never accuse gary lightbody of not wearing his heart on his record sleeve. those familiar with his work in the reindeer section know gary lightbody is more than capable of an emotional punch quite unlike anyone else. snow patrol's third album, 'final straw,' was again evidence that gary lightbody could deliver the emotional goods while delivering a great song and melody.

unfortunately, 'eyes open' is a step backwards in the band's evolution. musically, the album is just plain boring. it's essentially 'guitar-by-the-numbers.' there's no real imagination anywhere(a.k.a. 'the coldplay curse'). every song is basically similar in tone, style and tempo. that's not particularly a bad thing, but when that style isn't very interesting to begin with, it leaves you wishing 'eyes open' were a whole lot more than it actually is. the album opener, 'you're all i have' is decent enough. it's reminiscent of 'spitting games.' 'hands open' however, is an exercise is MOR rock tailor made for VH1. it made me cringe. it's instantly forgettable. 'shut your eyes' is a so-so track and at least offers a slightly varied guitar riff. 'it's beginning to get me' is the album standout, if there is one. unfortunately, it took 1/2 an album to hear the first memorable melody despite its truly vapid lyric, 'i want something purer than the water, like we were.' is this the same guy who wrote 'where i fall' off 'son of evil reindeer?' and 'an olive grove facing the sea' off 'when it's all over we still have to clear things up?' what's happened to the lyrics? they are, by and large, cliched, tired, and well-worn. they lack any real cleverness, playfulness or insight. i know he can do better because he's done it in the past. i'm sure he will do it again. i just wish it were on this album. maybe he needs to get those blokes from arab strap, belle & sebastian, mogwai and the like back in the same room together to push his creative juices.

the album, however, does have some redeeming value. gary lightbody's voice is still a wonderful thing. it's nuanced, especially in the pronunciation of words. he easily jumps between his regular singing voice and his falsetto. unfortunately, it's lacks the same vulnerability as on past snow patrol and reindeer section albums, however. the album, i'm sure, will appeal to a lot of people simply because it's not challenging on any level.

in all fairness, it must be a huge challenge to follow up an album as successful and well-received as 'final straw.' the pressure to make something as commercially viable while keeping artistic intregrity i'm sure is more than a bit overwhelming. hopefully gary lightbody and co.'s next album will sound less forced, less commercialized, and not so overly-produced, because when gary lightbody's on the top of his game, he simply can't be beat.

*******

UPDATE: amazon had this posted as a spotlight review then took it down the following day. i suspect the corportate bigwigs who run snow patrol's label demanded amazon remove a unfavorable review from the spotlight review, even though a majority of the reviews for the new album are less than favorable. shame on you, amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eyes Open-A Pretty Good CD, October 2, 2007
This review is from: Eyes Open (Audio CD)
This cd is a pretty good cd. Overall this cd is not as good as Final Straw. Final Straw is a cd with most all of the songs being fairly good. Eyes Open has four great tracks 1,2,3,&5. I would say some of the previously listed tracks are probably better than any single song on the Final Straw. The rest of the cd is decent but really isn't great or timeless. If you want a good cd to get a taste of Snow Patrol get Final Straw, it is a good timeless cd that might take you a little bit to get into, but after you listen to it a few times you get addicted to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, May 17, 2006
By 
Kyle Garret "Kyle" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eyes Open (Audio CD)
I love Snow Patrol, I really do. Final Straw is a great album and it made me go out and buy their older stuff (that I could find). I even saw them last year at Coachella and was really impressed by their live show.

But this album is really disappointing.

It's really produced, to the point where it seems like the question when recording it was "how do we make this song appeal to the most people?" There's an edginess that's lost on this album. To that end, it doesn't feel as sincere, either.

The vocals are probably the easiest to point to, as what once sounded like heartfelt indie rock now seems like light rock crooning.

I had high hopes for Snow Patrol -- and for this album -- but those hopes weren't realized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars big time sound., March 5, 2007
This review is from: Eyes Open (Audio CD)
nothing strange about this band being compared to coldplay; their music does mine a similar vein of sound. this is lush, powerful music, with big times waiting ahead. they should find mass appeal with this stuff, and there's nothing wrong with that. a strong, strong effort that deserves its big audience. long may snow patrol run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punchy with UpLifting and Inspiring Music/Lyrics!!!, June 18, 2007
This review is from: Eyes Open (Audio CD)
This is my first CD from the Indie Group. Special thanks to Gary Lightbody (born June 15, 1976 in Bangor, Northern Ireland) is an Irish musician, best known as the frontman of the rock band Snow Patrol. ...

Gary and His Band Snow Patrol have been compared to "ColdPlay" but I believe Snow Patrol has better written lyrics!!

The music/lyrics are very Insightful and Refreshing. The Cd "Eyes Open" the Band 4th CD Album has a Nice Beat with Slow Ballads and Punchy songs. This CD "Eyes Open" has a very Balanced set of Tempo sounding songs to listen to from Start to Finish!!

Great Music to Work around the House or Lay back and listen to the Great Lyrics.

The Best Appeal of this Band is that they are not over played on the Radio yet here in the USA. Sometimes when bands get too much exposure it can be bad for the listner.

Everytime I listen to this CD "Eyes Open" I enjoy it more and more. So much, I bought their 3rd CD Album "Final Straw."

Some of my Favorite songs on the CD Chasing Cars, It's Beginning to get to Me, You Could Be Happy, Make this go on Forever, and Open your Eyes to mention a few of the Songs on this CD.

Buy it and you will not be Sorry!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...collapse into Snow Patrol, tired with joy..., September 30, 2006
This review is from: Eyes Open (Audio CD)
Earlier this year, Ireland's Snow Patrol released their album "Eyes Open" to little American fanfare, but a couple of well written singles off the CD is slowly changing the lack of excitement on this side of the ocean.

British lead single "You're All That I Have" opens the album with an upbeat slice of straight-ahead rock in which lead singer Gary Lightbody affirms the song's titular confession. American first single "Hands Open" is the album highlight, with a driving verse and a truly hypnotic middle eight in which Lightbody engagingly wishes the song's subject to "collapse into me, tired with joy". "Chasing Cars" is another winner, with its remarkably simple arrangement and yearning lyrics, (recently featured in an episode of Grey's Anatomy). "Open Your Eyes" starts off calmly enough, but builds to a highly charged and powerful 6 minute end.

In reality, there are few snoozers on the CD, and those are a couple of ballads in the middle of the disc. The entire album exudes a surprising optimism that loiters in the undercurrent, helping to make this disc a very worthwhile listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eyes Open
Eyes Open by Snow Patrol (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.