Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summary in photos, text, and personal experiences
National Geographic has created another photo-filled documentary. The text and photos are primarily about the human participants: the soldiers in combat or wounded, the injured civilians, and the devastated cities.

The story (including what some would classify as minor episodes) is told without a political agenda. The facts, the underlying motivations and...
Published 20 months ago by LD

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but not in depth
Nice coffee table book, but not a text book. Just thought it would have more, but OK for a general overview.
Published 10 months ago by Possum Trot


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summary in photos, text, and personal experiences, December 24, 2012
This review is from: Eyewitness to World War II: Unforgettable Stories and Photographs From History's Greatest Conflict (Hardcover)
National Geographic has created another photo-filled documentary. The text and photos are primarily about the human participants: the soldiers in combat or wounded, the injured civilians, and the devastated cities.

The story (including what some would classify as minor episodes) is told without a political agenda. The facts, the underlying motivations and objectives, and the personal eyewitness accounts are sprinkled throughout the book. Traumatic American events like Pearl Harbor and D-Day are accorded longer segments.

The book is targeted at those who lack knowledge of the WWII timeline from the early 1930s to 1945. Students today are given such a brief overview that they do not realize the trauma of the time nor the significance of the outcome. Many are swayed by the political propaganda. Here is an opportunity to witness the horror of war in both victory and defeat.

This is one of the best summary accounts I've seen. I read a lot of books dealing with specific campaigns and personalities that go far beyond this book. I do have a constructive criticism about this volume. It does not cover the period from Kursk (summer 1943) to the fall of Berlin (spring 1945) on the Eastern Front. The greatest loss of life and property in human history occurred in this period. "Eyewitness" is incomplete without the stories of these people and how their fates were determined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coffee Table, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness to World War II: Unforgettable Stories and Photographs From History's Greatest Conflict (Hardcover)
If a book on war can be a coffee table book, this one is. In a good way, of course. The pictures are fantastic; it's a very visual book, but in this case, I'd consider it a big bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness to World War II: Unforgettable Stories and Photographs From History's Greatest Conflict (Hardcover)
I gave this to my sister for Christmas as she is a big WWII enthusiast. We both expected to see some interesting and well done pictures in this book; however, what we did not expect was how compelling and interesting the writing was throughout. It was good enough that it could be considered a page turner. The book covers everything from the end of WWI through D-Day, VE-Day, and VJ-Day as well as touching on some lesser covered events.

Another reviewer put it pretty perfectly when they described it as something to the effect "If you could make a WWII book a coffee table book, this would be it." Overall I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good book on WWII.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for my husband who loves reading about WWII, January 16, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness to World War II: Unforgettable Stories and Photographs From History's Greatest Conflict (Hardcover)
I got this book for my husband for Christmas. It has wonderful, eye-catching photos that draw you in to the various stories. I actually have enjoyed looking at it as well. I look forward to keeping it on hand for when our children are old enough to be learning about WWII, as I think the photos will help them understand what they are learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read with interesting photos, July 11, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness to World War II: Unforgettable Stories and Photographs From History's Greatest Conflict (Hardcover)
This brings nothing new to anyone who has read widely about WWII however it is still worth a couple of days of reading and looking at the photos. The chapter summaries provide brief overviews of subjects that are normally treated in a book or a dozen books. Sometimes an overview is a benefit to the reader who is used to digging deeply into a subject. I think it was a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like a walk into WWII, January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness to World War II: Unforgettable Stories and Photographs From History's Greatest Conflict (Hardcover)
I have been studying WWII for a couple of years now. (I'm just a nut about history) I wanted a book with more photos and personal accounts of what happened between 1939 and 1945, because let's face it, unless you were there imagination can only take you so far. We've all seen the standard photos printed over and over. I wanted something more and I got it in this book. Faces. Situations. Conflict. Information. Mud. War. If you want to get more from a book of history than just the printed words ~ this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loads of pictures, plenty of description, July 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness to World War II: Unforgettable Stories and Photographs From History's Greatest Conflict (Hardcover)
Bought this for my father-in-law, and he likes it a lot. It has tons of photographs. Be aware: some of these are brutal. It has a lot to read but this is mostly a photographic collection of the war. It is easy to read, and I can see it being one you would want to look at many times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, January 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness to World War II: Unforgettable Stories and Photographs From History's Greatest Conflict (Hardcover)
Lots of original photos. I have read many World War II books and this included fresh information. I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique book re: WWII, January 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness to World War II: Unforgettable Stories and Photographs From History's Greatest Conflict (Hardcover)
I have a grandson who collects clothing etc. from WWII. I bought this book for a Christmas present for him. It has many pictures and of course tells about WWII. I was impressed by the anecdotes of the soldiers that were in the book. It brought the pictures etc. to life. My Gr.son reallly enjoyed it. It was a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eyewitness to World War II: Unforgettable Stories and Photographs From History's Greatest Conflict (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my significant other who is a World War II buff. He hasn't put it down and says that it is one of the better books he has read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eyewitness to World War II: Unforgettable Stories and Photographs From History's Greatest Conflict
$40.00 $27.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.