Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good alternative
While waiting for the Fuji sunshade/filter adapter to get in stock at Amazon, I decided to order this aftermarket part. Mine did come in two parts and fit the camera fine. The finish is a matte black that doesn't look bad on the Fuji X10 but doesn't match the deep black color of the camera. A 52 mm neutral density filter fit just fine also. Ironically, I received the...
Published on December 1, 2011 by MeridianX

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great price, well made. With one fatal flaw...
Firstly, let me say that for the price, this is a solid and well built product. It's made of aluminum and fits the camera well. The lens cap is sturdy and fits tightly. It has threads that accept a 52mm filter, and can be used with or without the outer "hood" ring. I presume this is all the same as the identical product offered by Fuji at 5x the price of this...
Published 19 months ago by J. Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good alternative, December 1, 2011
By 
MeridianX (Bucks County, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EzFoto 52mm Filter Adapter + Lens Hood for Fuji X10, with a free lens cap (Camera)
While waiting for the Fuji sunshade/filter adapter to get in stock at Amazon, I decided to order this aftermarket part. Mine did come in two parts and fit the camera fine. The finish is a matte black that doesn't look bad on the Fuji X10 but doesn't match the deep black color of the camera. A 52 mm neutral density filter fit just fine also. Ironically, I received the official Fuji sunshade/ adapter a week later. The finish is an exact match for the camera and looks and functions identical to the aftermarket filter. The only differences I could tell, beside the finish, is the Fuji part has slightly deeper threads that fit very snuggly into the lens barrel and the Fuji part comes with a velour carry bag. The Fuji part, on Amazon, was twice the price of the aftermarket but since I just paid $600 for the camera I am keeping the Fuji part since it looks like an extension of the camera. If the look is not important you can not go wrong with this aftermarket hood. BTW, the Fuji case does not fit over the hood so I just use the bottom half...I find that just using the bottom half with lens shade gives the camera a nice retro look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great price, well made. With one fatal flaw..., July 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EzFoto 52mm Filter Adapter + Lens Hood for Fuji X10, with a free lens cap (Camera)
Firstly, let me say that for the price, this is a solid and well built product. It's made of aluminum and fits the camera well. The lens cap is sturdy and fits tightly. It has threads that accept a 52mm filter, and can be used with or without the outer "hood" ring. I presume this is all the same as the identical product offered by Fuji at 5x the price of this model. For what it is, it's a quality product that mimics the "name brand" model sufficiently well. But it has one fatal flaw that keeps me from recommending this product (or its namebrand counterpart).

I will rate it accordingly...
Construction = 5 star
Fit and Finish = 5 star
Price vs alternatives = 5 star
***Functionality = 1 star***

The problem with this product - and the identical one made by Fuji - is that it has slots. Now in days of old, some rangefinder cameras featured slotted lens hoods. These slots allowed things such as the rangefinder prism or the lightmeter sensor to "see" without being blocked too severely. There is NO such reason for the hood to be slotted on the X10. The optical viewfinder makes little to no use of these slots therefore they should be solid.

The problem with the slots is twofold. One - if you are buying this for its lens hood functionality, be aware that - if you have a filter mounted, any light source behind the plane of the lens - even reflected light from a bright surface such as your shirt - will be reflected through these slots onto the back of the filter and into the camera lens. I find this to be particularly annoying, and it's a problem despite "anti reflection" coatings on my filters. It's much more annoying than standard lens flare, as it "fogs out" part of the scene entirely, like a reflection on a TV screen. I have no doubt that this is the source of at least "some" of the "orbs" that people were complaining about with this camera.

The second problem is dust. One of the benefits of putting a filter on your camera lens is to protect the coatings on the factory lens, you clean the dust off of the filter and never the lens itself. Well with this solution, the filter sits outboard of the lens. The slots allow dust (from your pocket, camera bag, etc) to migrate behind the filter, between the filter and lens - as well as the outside face of the filter. This gives you three surfaces that gather dust, as opposed to just one. While dust is rarely an issue in practical terms since it's too close to resolve on the image, I have found that in Super Macro mode, the X10 will actually have trouble focusing - and try to focus on dust particles on the filter.

I can't recommend this product. This is just a bad design. If you can find one without slots - get that instead. Otherwise buy a standard step-up ring or one of the 40mm UV filters sold here on Amazon instead of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent hood, June 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EzFoto 52mm Filter Adapter + Lens Hood for Fuji X10, with a free lens cap (Camera)
For the price vs. $50+ for Fuji hood it's great. It is all metal & does the job, allows use of filters, PLUS comes with a larger clip on plastic lens cap with a tether, so no worries about losing the Fuji cap. You wont need it any more. There is barely any difference in color and the fact that it is "vented" should not be a surprise to anyone...look at the product picture. It's the same design as the OEM hood.
There's nothing to complain about with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lens hood/filter adapter for Fuji x10, January 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EzFoto 52mm Filter Adapter + Lens Hood for Fuji X10, with a free lens cap (Camera)
The EzFoto is sold as a substitute for a similar product sold by Fuji, but at about half the price. I purchased it primarily to use it for attaching a 52 mm filter. The adapter fits the camera well, so it will function adequately as a lens hood. However, it does NOT fit a 52 mm filter! I tried two different 52 mm filters and in both cases, the threading for the adapter was at too great a diameter. In other words, the threads are far too loose to hold the filter. Do NOT purchase this device if you wish to use is to hold a filter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality, April 7, 2013
By 
Silversunbeam (Floyd, Virginia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EzFoto 52mm Filter Adapter + Lens Hood for Fuji X10, with a free lens cap (Camera)
I owned my first good camera in the late 1960s when all accessories were metal and quality cameras came with fitted leather cases, as did all lenses.Overall the quality of accessories has declined since then especially where plastic has replaced metal - but this hood is METAL and of excellent quality, certainly as good as OEM.
It is two piece construction and takes a 58 mm filter nicely. The threads fit the lens very well, could not fit any better, snug but mounts and removes easily.
The finish is blacker than most plastic hoods, thereby reflecting less light - as they should be. The interior of the hood is engraved with lines to further knock down reflections from the hood itself.
The cap is a double-pinch type and fits perfectly. All caps should be double-pinch - its the best system.
Just one complaint - am unable to thread the lens cap retaining thread through the tiny hole in the cap.
Overall am pleasantly surprised by the old fashioned quality of this hood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay..., December 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EzFoto 52mm Filter Adapter + Lens Hood for Fuji X10, with a free lens cap (Camera)
This product is flawed but useful. I had experienced problems with this hood while using the flash since the back of the mount has open grooves that leak light. This product actually created lens flare when using the flash or if the sun was hitting it at the right angle. This was especially problematic with my Silver Fuji X20, which reflects more light than the black version. I solved this problem by using black electricians tape to cover the slits in the back to prevent light from leaking in. Other than this problem, I have little else to complain about for the price and the money you save on the OEM version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works just great with the Fujifilm X20, April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EzFoto 52mm Filter Adapter + Lens Hood for Fuji X10, with a free lens cap (Camera)
Not much else to say here that hasn't been said before. I just wanted to add that this adapter kit works just as well with my new Fujifilm X20 as it does on the X10, so for those needing a kit for their new Fujis, this works just great!

5 stars out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fits perfectly well., February 4, 2013
This review is from: EzFoto 52mm Filter Adapter + Lens Hood for Fuji X10, with a free lens cap (Camera)
Well threaded and no issues screwing it on. Got a 52 mm marumi uv filter and thats screwed on perfectly well. The given lens cap fits the lens hood so don't have to unscrew the hood every time am done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice alternative to oem hood, January 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EzFoto 52mm Filter Adapter + Lens Hood for Fuji X10, with a free lens cap (Camera)
this is a nice alternative to fuji's overpriced hood; the two pieces can be separated, and it might be good to know that the inner ring holds the 52mm filters; the outer ring (the hood) fits around the 52 mm filter and has a 58mm diameter; it looks like it is threaded to take filters, as well. the cap is 58mm. if you wanted to, you could take the hood off and us a 52mm cap on the inner ring. if you want. Of course, this adds a bit of length to the lens, so you need a bag that fits it (I currently have a lowepro adventura ultrazoom 100.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it!!! makes my X10 look like an M9, December 20, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EzFoto 52mm Filter Adapter + Lens Hood for Fuji X10, with a free lens cap (Camera)
it's a great way to add filters to the small front element of the X10 but the shade is great. It's a fraction of the cost of the Fuji version and is made extremely well. No regrets about my purchase...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.