Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does justice to the thrill of the sport
A confession from me, first. I rather enjoyed F1 2010, and liked the experience despite some very sizable flaws and a borderline sense of being underwhelmed. That said, F1 2011 improves upon it in every measurable way. As a 'sequel', it far surpasses. Still 12 teams, 19 tracks, same top speeds of nearly 220mph, but the impact on the senses is much more enjoyable...
Published on September 21, 2011 by D. A. Theisen

versus
15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY... yet.
The graphics and the frame rate on the PS3 version are BAD--much worse than the 360 version. The frame rate clearly drops to 20fps or possibly less at points, and the entire game runs at barely 30fps, if that. The official forums are full of angry PS3 users, with many saying that the game gives them eye fatigue and/or headaches. I can personally say that trying to see...
Published on October 1, 2011 by Apollo33


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does justice to the thrill of the sport, September 21, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: F1 2011 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
A confession from me, first. I rather enjoyed F1 2010, and liked the experience despite some very sizable flaws and a borderline sense of being underwhelmed. That said, F1 2011 improves upon it in every measurable way. As a 'sequel', it far surpasses. Still 12 teams, 19 tracks, same top speeds of nearly 220mph, but the impact on the senses is much more enjoyable.

Some of this has to do with the sport itself-- The rules in F1 itself have changed significantly this year, with 2 particular elements that a new player might well think was added just for the video game and could never really exist on the cars! Whereas the previous iteration was mostly "point and drive", this year we welcome 2 odd acronyms... names aren't important, but what is noteworthy is that they're both used as enhancements to the car that the player has control over. "KERS" is a small power boost allowed a certain amount per lap, and "DRS" allows higher speeds in a straight line. Sneaky, yes? Well, they've made the races of the real sport much more exciting, and it's great to see it reflected in the game.

The in-car HUD has gone through a total overhaul and is now very slick . Split times are always up and they've been color coded the same way the official F1 timing system uses them so that they're visually distinct. The pop-up info screen for tyres and damage has an awesome new tab-- a short list giving you vitals such as when you expect to pit next, and expected exit position back on the track if you were to stop now. Since the sport requires players to change tyres in all races at least once, it saves a whole ton of thinking and lets anyone understand what the "big picture" for the race is. In the real sport, entire crews on the pit wall try to think this out to best help their position, so this is a godsend to have handed to you.

Sound like a bit much? You'll be glad to know that in the game's career mode, players are slowly shown more and more features so it's easy to learn each bit of the car. For example... didn't know that you have 4 types adding up to 17 sets of tyres for each race weekend? At career start on lower difficulty it's left out. AI seems to have an overhaul from last year-- the drivers are smarter (less likely to run into you), difficulty is much more linear, career objectives are completely reasonable and are fulfilling to accomplish.

Graphics and sound are quite unchanged, but this isn't all bad. The Ego graphics engine is starting to show its age yet gets the job done. For unknown reasons, rain effects look less realistic, but I'll call it even for the import of each car's very unique exhaust note.

The main thing that holds back F1 2011 and I guess the series on the whole now is a lack of explanation to the player about all the specific (and often unconventional) rules the sport has and all the mechanical bits one can adjust. At the same time, it's not a high enough level of detail to please true simulator fans. The "quick tune" feature is abysmal even for racing against low difficulty AI, and unless you know the ins and outs of tuning from other racing games, you'll be looking up some terms. Actually, a "complaint" I had from last year is back-- it's a game where reading the instruction manual is practically required, and without it even some of the basic game vocabulary will sound like gibberish.

In summary, there's a thrilling driving experience to be had which makes the game a totally different (and better) play from last year, and a lot of issues have been ironed out. Although there are no real glaring weaknesses, one still gets the feeling that the game doesn't quite feel complete... that there's just a little more in every area that a truly great game would have. It's a rare instance where an "annual installment" is a truly different (and better) experience... and is bendable enough for people who plan to put a few dozen or few hundred hours into it.

Note to renters and used purchases-- The multiplayer features have a DRM feature, where the game is shipped with one code to unlock those features. Assuming it's been used already, accessing it will cost $9.99 via PSN. It does not have any effect on single player modes. This doesn't matter much to me personally, but I figure it worth mentioning so that no one ends up surprised.

UPDATE: After playing through 3 full seasons, I'm left very impressed with the AI difficulty scale. On "Professional" (one from the setting for hardcore players) the AI cranks out qualifying times and fastest laps within about a second of what the actual cars have managed on-track during this season. Better still, cars from each team have strengths and weaknesses that their non-virtual counterparts tend to have. Still could use a tutorial on DRS and KERS, though, and a terminology seminar. Something so that the phrase "I'm purple in sectors 2 and 3 after ricking a change to scrub options early from inters while on mix 3 to try to close the gap before the first activation zone" makes sense to you and can float around in your head at least a little. A few other minor gripes, but I stick with my bottom line from the original review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior to 2010, September 21, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: F1 2011 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
F1 2011 is here and it is a great step forward in the codemasters handling of a much beloved and intricate sport, but there are some caveats. Outside of the actual races, career mode is still a tad dull, it has been streamlined a little so answering reporters questions has a far more noticeable effect on you and your team, but overall it's nothing special...until you get to a race. Here things really start to shine, physics HAS been improved, there is a sense of weight and mass to cars that was a little off in 2010, cars feel less like friction less rockets and more like the grippy super cars they are. Your car will bounce and bob and is overall a better driving experience over last year. More surprisingly the AI is improved, it's hard this early to say where it's better, except that now AI opponents defend position, look for advantages when attacking yours, and basically are a real threat. On hardest difficulty it's a real nightmare, so much so that I don't think it can be played without a wheel setup if you're playing with no assists.

To me F1 is all about strategy, and what's so great about this game is that you feel like that the only way to win is to have a competent strategy for each track and any of it's given weather conditions, and of course a fuel and tire strategy that will have you staying in the race, oh and the the new addition of the pace car only adds a layer. KERS is here and it's something I'm learning to use, but I like it and DRS is also added. KERS is a one lap use while DRS is useable anytime, with some exceptions.

Praises for the game aside not everything is perfect, the graphics are better but only ever so slightly and only on specific things, your car looks awesome, and when you race in cockpit view you actually see yourself hitting buttons and twisting knobs on your steering wheel while racing, this is all done on each teams custom wheel, no more generic cockpits! Weather effects look better too and really scare the $&@% out of you when racing. Tracks look ok, but they could be a little sharper, and why do we still get those rearview mirrors that display things in SNES graphics quality? It something that I was hoping would be fixed, but it's still here...

Multiplayer is more or less unchanged but the real highlight is the team racing, now you play with a buddy on the same team, and it's as fun as you can imagine, both working together to best everyone one else while simultaneously trying to beat each other, it's so good and so integral and basic to f1 racing I'm surprised it wasn't in last years game. In the end F1 is a niche game, if you are unfamiliar with the sport or think it's like Dirt or even Forza and GT5 this game will destroy any silly ideas you think you have of racing, it will humble you and make you adapt. Overall 8.5/10, it's a great game, most likely the best racing game on any console, (before I get flamed, while gt5 and Forza are great they are more car game then racing game).

In closing if you own f1 2010 then you owe it to yourself to pick up this game, if your interested in racing or the sport itself, buy the game, turn on all the assists and have fun, the start slowly ratcheting up the difficulty, you won't be disappointed. To everyone else, come check out the most exhilarating racing game around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great racing game, September 26, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: F1 2011 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
im not the worlds biggest f1 fan but i do like auto racing and follow most... so anyways... i will judge this game based on NASCAR 2011 the game and from f1 2010

this game BLOWS AWAY NASCAR the game 2011 in every possible way... at first this game got me so mad because i picked the second hardest difficulty and limited assists and i couldn't complete a turn, unlike nascar i can put it on very hard and go from worst to first in about 2 corners... but then i thought hey its is actually fun, i actually have a challenge in a racing video game!

- career
really havent got into the f1 career but if its anything like last year its 10xxx better than NASCAR... in nascar i put it on hard and won all the pole and races... not a challenge at all

- multiplayer
this is the biggest for me... on nascar you pick a driver and go racing with no season or anything... but in f1 they finally have split screen, which is a blast! Me and my brother were teammates and had a great battle in the points. its such a positive to have split screen in racing games but the season makes it worth something...

- graphics/damage
once again f1 has beautiful graphics and realistic car handling and damage... not the case in nascar where the graphics are ok and the damage looks so fake and the cars drive like they are on ice... at first on f1 i could not turn the car, because they actually were driving like a real f1 race car and not like a car on ice... also KERS and DRS are in the game and only on the teams that really have it.

i don't do online racing games because i feel that everyone is a poor sport and is only out there to wreck you so i have no comment on the online part of the game...

overall if you are somebody that is a nascar fan and wants to play a racing game that is not a glitch filled disaster... this game is for you... its miles ahead of nascar and has so much more to offer and is just about perfect in replicating f1 racing in all aspects... (hopefully codemasters gets a nascar license because if this is what nascar would be like i would pay double for it, im not kidding either nascar 2011 the game is that bad)

also if you are on the fence about this game trust me get it, it is worth it a great racing game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY... yet., October 1, 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F1 2011 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
The graphics and the frame rate on the PS3 version are BAD--much worse than the 360 version. The frame rate clearly drops to 20fps or possibly less at points, and the entire game runs at barely 30fps, if that. The official forums are full of angry PS3 users, with many saying that the game gives them eye fatigue and/or headaches. I can personally say that trying to see what's happening on the screen at 150mph as frames flash by at such a low rate hurts my eyes as well, and I have no desire to play the game now. If you want this game (and it IS very good otherwise), either buy it for another platform or wait to see IF they decide to fix the PS3 version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just perfect for F1 fans, October 7, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F1 2011 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
It's a major racing game, like the other racing series (dirt, grid) developed by codemasters. Excelent simulation of the tracks, the cars and the F1 race physics. I recomend 100% for gamers wich enjoy grandprix style races.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F1 2011 A Winner!, September 30, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: F1 2011 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
As a true F1 fan, I pre-ordered this game with anxious anticipation, especially after really enjoying F1 2010. This new version doesn't disappoint. The most notable improvement is the car handling physics. You really "feel" the road, slide around turns and even notice a drop off in rear end stability with the DRS on (as you would expect). One caution: you really need to know and appreciate F1 to fully appreciate this game. It is a simulation, not an arcade game, but if you really want to experince authentic F1 challenges, excitement and strategy, you will not be disappointed. Even if you own F1 2010, buy this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tardes enteras de adrenalina, March 12, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: F1 2011 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
muchos circuitos y pilotos, se debe entrenar mucho para dominar el juego sin ayudas de conduccion, soy super aficionado a la f1 y lo disfruto mucho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, January 20, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F1 2011 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I recently purchased this game just a few weeks ago. I've been a diehard GT (Gran Turismo) fan for years and I still enjoy the latest release GT5. However, what I enjoyed most about the GT series were its formula cars. So I set out to find a strictly dedicated formula 1 game and came upon F1 2011. Since purchasing it for my PS3, I haven't looked back. Obviously there were some minor issues with the game pre-patch but nothing that I can speak of now since the game as been through a few patch iterations. I've heard others say the graphics are better on the xbox and pc as are the frame rates. But.. the FPS appears to be fine on my PS3 and the graphics are superb considering I'm not even playing on an HD TV.

Comparing anything console to PC is apples to oranges considering most serious gamers that play on PC have high performance gaming rigs. Having a high performance gaming rig myself, its nice to just kick back and relax on my couch and race on the PS3. ;) Which is why I did not get this game for PC.

F1 2011 offers Career mode which I am just learning about, but has been very immersive since starting. It also has the Grand Prix mode, which admittedly I've only used to setup and tune my cars as I'm prepping for an online racing league to begin. Contrary to what most would think, the F1 cars in this game do not run on rails. You have many options for assists, which does make things easier, but you still have to learn how to handle these monsters. As you become more proficient at driving and start learning the tracks you can begin turning assists off. So far the best thing about this game is the online play and the more serious niche crowd it attracts. I've heard to many stories of online Gran Turismo derby which doesn't attract me to racing. But the online racing in F1 2011 appears to be driven by more serious racers who still want to win, but not at the expense of racing dirty.

If you're looking for a dedicated F1 Formula game look no further than F1 2011. Rating this game a 5 out 5. Don't listen to all the haters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game ever!, January 5, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: F1 2011 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
From 5 to 66 years old, the entire family loved it. It has so many settings that even a 5 year old can play. The graffics are beyond amazing. It is like you are really driving in a race. Now I see why the F1 drivers use this to practice with. Must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, October 7, 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: F1 2011 - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I purchased F1 2010 several months ago, and was playing it extensively. I knew from the get go that I could not compare it to GT5, or FM-x series graphics-wise, but it still felt very good to play and watch. The sense of speed, though, made GT5 feel like I was walking in the cars, not driving them, the sensation was amazing. I therefore jumped at the chance when F1 2011 came out, thinking it would be better, much much better. I was disappointed beyond belief.

I am a hardcore gamer, and never have I seen a game take this many steps BACKWARDS, the graphics are HORRIBLE, it felt I was playing Grand Prix Legends from almost 10 years ago, on a terrible machine at that. The choppiness, the pixels, the fake feeling of the scenery actually distracts you from the driving. The car it self though has been enhanced, with visibly moving suspension parts. (I looked at the old just to make sure, the suspension moves better in the 2011 version) and the UI is a little bit better. The physics, boy, do they SUCKS, no feeling, no feed back, just "whaaaaaaaa, whaaaaaaa, enn enn enn, whaaaaaa" sounds to give you a false feeling of movement and speed. I am totally and completely disappointed with this release.

I just wish they somehow release a patch that fixes all these issues.

Suggestion, if you have 2010, re-start your career again, on the most difficult settings, put a blindfold on, mute the volume, and it will still be MUCH BETTER than the 2011 version. If you don't have 2010, buy it cheaply now, and have some real fun with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

F1 2011 - Playstation 3
F1 2011 - Playstation 3 by THQ (PlayStation 3)
$29.96 $11.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.