Customer Reviews


540 Reviews
5 star:
 (251)
4 star:
 (213)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hooked.
Very good mystery/thriller, featuring a retired cop determined to stop a pathologically evil villain. Action and violence a-plenty, but there are enough peaceful scenes to balance. The author creates a world that involves all the reader's senses - you feel, see, smell all that is going on in the story line. I only wish the 2nd book in the series were available for...
Published on March 13, 2012 by Tx Rose

versus
34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars False Dawn
Tight and compelling tale, a real page turner. With the success of this novel, however, perhaps he'll be able to hire some competent proof readers for his future endeavers. The story hums along and then you start hitting speed bumps like "conscious" vs "conscience", "laugh tract" vs "laugh track", Dan Grant becomes Dan Gant,...
Published on April 7, 2012 by PhotoFox


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hooked., March 13, 2012
By 
Tx Rose (Austin,TX USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A FALSE DAWN (Sean O'Brien Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very good mystery/thriller, featuring a retired cop determined to stop a pathologically evil villain. Action and violence a-plenty, but there are enough peaceful scenes to balance. The author creates a world that involves all the reader's senses - you feel, see, smell all that is going on in the story line. I only wish the 2nd book in the series were available for Kindle! I will go to the trouble to find a paper copy, because I'm that interested in the further development of this hero.

There were some typos and minor flaws with the e-book version, but I read right over them and didn't let it bother me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A False Dawn review, June 11, 2009
By 
Thomas L. Bruce (Daytona Beach, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A False Dawn (Hardcover)
Tom Lowe's debut novel A False Dawn is taking the world of mystery fiction by storm. I consider myself a very objective critic but I respectfully disagree with Publishers Weekly's review suggesting that there is "little suspense or surprise." When reading this novel you'll find that Lowe really did his homework. It is my opinion that all the characters he created were assigned quality traits and the story line is anything but austere. That fact is Lowe is a gifted writer; once I picked up the book it was hard to put down and I normally don't enjoy reading fiction. Lowe may lack experience, but he's certainly got no lack of talent; A False Dawn will not disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars False Dawn, April 7, 2012
This review is from: A FALSE DAWN (Sean O'Brien Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Tight and compelling tale, a real page turner. With the success of this novel, however, perhaps he'll be able to hire some competent proof readers for his future endeavers. The story hums along and then you start hitting speed bumps like "conscious" vs "conscience", "laugh tract" vs "laugh track", Dan Grant becomes Dan Gant, "liminol" vs "lumimol"... - to name a few. All is rectified in The Butterfly Forest though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars false dawn, January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A FALSE DAWN (Sean O'Brien Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
unoriginal story, written in a rush and poorly edited : the right to BARE arms ? to VACANT the premises ? to be ADAPT at profanities ?
No talent there, just application of the principles learnt at "Book Writing 101"

This is the second book I have read by this author and my last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good story but ruined, November 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A FALSE DAWN (Sean O'Brien Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Dreadfully written - at a guess dictated to somebody with poor literacy skills, and not proof-read. Not just spelling mistakes, but sometimes completely the wrong word used and bad syntax thrown in.
A pity because the story would have been interesting but the errors kept interrupting the flow of the story and became extremely irritating and causing loss of concentration. Unfortunately the bonus first chapter of the next book included similar errors, so will not be ordered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A False Dawn, April 21, 2009
This review is from: A False Dawn (Hardcover)
The unexpected twists and turns in Lowe's first crime novel, A False Dawn, are indeed reminiscent of John D. MacDonald's Travis McGee series. But then the scene shifts and the plot delves into a Florida Noir nightmare of terrifyingly plausible acts of human trafficking, sexual slavery and body part harvesting. The likeable, widowed, former homicide detective Sean O'Brien, reluctantly tackles some of the most twisted, yet believable evil doers imaginable.

With his appealing daschund sidekick, Max, at his side, O'Brien relentlessly unravels the case of a lifetime, bringing him back from a long period of mourning to new dawn.

Margot Gould, Librarian
Cocoa Beach Public Library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story; Incredibly horrible proofreading, September 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A FALSE DAWN (Sean O'Brien Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I'm in the middle of this book and it has definitely kept my attention. But, I just can't believe the grammatical and spelling errors. The more I come across, the less I'm enjoying the read. Would suggest this author have the book re-edited and release a cleaner version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Worst Kindle Book ever..., February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A FALSE DAWN (Sean O'Brien Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was without a doubt, the worst digital book I have ever purchased. There didn't seem to be a paragraph that didn't have a typo, wrong word or mispelling. Whether or not the story was any good, it was almost impossible to read the book and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FALSE DAWN - meet Sean O' Brien, a character you will WANT to read all about., April 13, 2012
This review is from: A FALSE DAWN (Sean O'Brien Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
WOW! Definitly a great read, considering I started about 11pm last night, after finishing a very dissapointing Doc Ford mystery, and read for an hour or so and first thing this morning, fresh pot of coffee, me sitting in my Florida room and I didn't stop till I turned the last page! WOW!
THAT IS JUST WHAT I NEEDED!
Ex Miami cop Sean O'Brien re-located to the banks of the St. Johns River in NE Florida after the death of his wife and some burn-out from being a homicide cop in Miami. Thinking he is going to be restoring his Old Florida house and working on his boat, he stumbles on a woman of Latin descent, who is brutally beaten and dies in his arms, after he promised her, he WOULD find out who did this to her. I am telling you folks, here is a Character, that you just kind of..."fall for", I mean, he is part James Bond haha part Ex Military, Ex Cop, Man of his word, takes no crap from people mis-using their authority, i.e. bad cops, yet who is sensitve enough to feel that deep hurt from losing his wife and be open to women that cross his path, not to mention his love for his wife's dog, which I guarantee will make you smile! He is macho, yes, but at the same time, a damn good buddy to his buds, at the marina and from his past. THIS is a really good guy! He stops at nothing to honor his word to the dead woman. The insight into the migrant workers life is tough, really heartbreaking when you realize that some of it is based on fact. The RICH get richer and way too often on the backs of the poor and workers like the migrants. Some of the detail is tough to stomach but life can be like that. Bottom line, Mr Lowe brings these characters to life with wonderful detail. This is a fantastic mystery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Job security for editors and proof-readers, January 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A FALSE DAWN (Sean O'Brien Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Despite a plot and characters that gabbed my attention from the stat, it quickly became apparel that what is truly murdered in this book is the English language. The constant substitutions of incorrect words - seen for scene, vacant for vacate, etc. - were just too distracting. I gave up about 150 pages into the story. Maybe I'll finish it after Tom Lowe finds a docent editor or proofreader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.