Customer Reviews


398 Reviews
5 star:
 (243)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (44)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fifa14
This was a 13th birthday gift for my son and he totally loved it.......soccer is his game and he even shares with his brother
Published 3 months ago by Lawrence Dutton

versus
98 of 116 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A step backward in the endless tug of war between realism and fun
I have been a big fan of the FIFA series dating back to FIFA 10. I buy the game every year and have played thousands of matches over the last several years. Every year the game is fundamentally the same with a few minor differences. Sometimes the changes are for the better and sometimes they're for the worse. This year is pretty typical in that regard. There are some...
Published 12 months ago by Wayne Buzzard


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 116 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A step backward in the endless tug of war between realism and fun, September 25, 2013
By 
Wayne Buzzard (Lafayette, CA United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I have been a big fan of the FIFA series dating back to FIFA 10. I buy the game every year and have played thousands of matches over the last several years. Every year the game is fundamentally the same with a few minor differences. Sometimes the changes are for the better and sometimes they're for the worse. This year is pretty typical in that regard. There are some great new features and some shockingly bad ones. Here's quick breakdown of some of the game modes and some of the changes:

- Shot physics have been altered. Now the ball will dip and knuckle more than in previous FIFA games. This seems like it will improve the variety of goals you can score, yet many of the same flaws remain. The finesse shot (curling shot) is still very overpowered. Meanwhile, goalies are still way too good at making quick reflex saves on powerful shots at short range. What that all adds up to is that the finesse shot is still your go-to bread and butter shot in all 1-on-1 situations, so the variety that the developers aimed for wasn't totally achieved.

- Player movement has been altered. More specifically, players have a greater sense of momentum. It is harder to start and stop instantly. Sharp cuts and 180 degree shifts in direction will be more gradual. Some reviewers have praised this as being more realistic than the last few FIFA games, where sometimes it felt like you were steering a race car instead of an athlete. I agree that this change is more realistic, but is it more FUN? I don't think so. The slower movement gives the whole experience a less responsive feeling, which can be very frustrating. Many times you will spot an opening for your player and try to weave into that space, but the slow change of direction will result in him being tackled before he can react. The overall result here is that defense feels overpowered whereas attacking play has been nerfed. One of my favorite things in the game was to pull of crisp skill moves and slaloming runs with speedy players, but now I'm finding the game a bit muddy and slow. It might be more realistic, but it is a lot less fun than FIFA 10-13.

- AI has been upgraded. Computer players will have smarter movement on offense and defense. The good news here is that your computer teammates will be smarter about making runs so you pick them out with a pass. However, the CPU is still far too mechanical and tidy on higher difficulties. They will psychically sense your incoming tackle and change directions at the last moment to avoid you. The whole experience of playing against the computer can be very frustrating due to the lack of random variance and error. Even world class players make bad touches and mistakes in real life, but the CPU in FIFA plays like a machine. I much prefer to play against human players because there is more variety. It's also worth pointing out that many of the same AI flaws that have existed in the game for YEARS are still glaring. For example, defenders are absolutely horrible at making aerial challenges for the ball. So many times when a cross is whipped in, they will just stand flat-footed and let the attacker spike it right over them. In general, players lack awareness of the ball and aren't aggressive enough when it is near them. Many times the ball will squirt loose into space and your players will take steps away from it instead of trying to pounce like they would in real life. These minor AI flaws can really hinder the enjoyment of the game.

- Ultimate Team is back and better than ever. If you don't know what Ultimate Team is, it's a game mode that allows you to collect and trade players in order to build your "ultimate team." However, even though the game mode bills itself as Ultimate Team, there is a chemistry system in place that effectively prevents you from linking players in your lineup unless they play in the same league or have the same nationality. This really limits your creativity and prevents you from building your actual ultimate team. For example, you can't link Ibrahimovic with Cristiano Ronaldo and get full chemistry because they don't share a common league or nationality. Putting that aside, there are a number of nice new features in Ultimate Team this year. There are more leagues in the game than last year, including the Colombian league. The interface and player search feature have greatly been improved. Single online matches have returned after shockingly being left out last season, but now they can't end in a draw like they could in FIFA 12. If you are drawing after 90 minutes, you have to play extra time and go to penalties. Annoying because single matches are supposed to be more casual and not so win-at-all-costs like the tournaments and seasons.

My two favorite new features in Ultimate Team are the new chemistry styles and the removal of formation cards from the game. In previous FUT games, you had to convert your players to the correct formation every time you wanted to experiment with a new formation. Now all players get full chemistry from all formations, so there is much more room to experiment without having to invest a lot of coins in formation cards. The new chemistry styles add a layer of customization to the game by allowing you to apply chemistry styles cards to your players that boost specific traits. For example, you could use a chemistry style to increase a defender's heading and defending. Or you could use a different chemistry style to increase an attacking midfielders passing and dribbling.

Also, it's worth pointing out that while Ultimate Team is technically free, the game is designed to push you towards the pack store, where EA makes a lot of money off people spending points on packs in hopes of finding valuable players. I strongly discourage you from spending real money on Ultimate Team, as the players you get in packs are rarely worth much and your odds of getting someone like Ronaldo or Messi are INCREDIBLY low. It is basically a lottery ticket and not a good value at all. You are always better off saving coins and buying player direct.

- Career mode, skill games, and virtual clubs are back from last year. Clubs allow you to create a virtual pro for use in club games with your friends or with strangers, and to gradually build up his stats by fulfilling various achievements. For example, scoring 25 goals might improve his shooting stats. You can keep this player throughout your entire time using FIFA 14 and it is fun to gradually build him up. The only major drawback is that EA inexplicably ruined the drop-in match game mode by capping the former 11v11 player limit at 5v5 and removing the "ANY" option, which means that if you go into a drop-in match (a virtual pro match where you and strangers play a game using your virtual pro), over half of the players on the field will be controlled by the computer. It used to be that you could go full 11v11 or have one player designated as the "ANY" in smaller games to control all of the computer players. Drop-in games will be incredibly tedious and boring without the any feature, so I will not be playing them this year.

- The EA Sports Football Club that they introduced with FIFA 12 has once again carried over to the new game. With this feature, you'll gradually accumulate currency within the game just by playing FIFA 14. You can then use these points to unlock nice bonuses such as free Ultimate Team coins, extra kits, new celebrations, and extra boots for your players. This is a nice feature that provides another incentive system within the game.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: FIFA 14 brings a lot of new bells and whistles compared to the last few releases in the series, but the gameplay has taken a step backward. Although it might be more realistic than ever, the game is also slower and more methodical than ever. This is especially apparent in Ultimate Team, where lightning-paced high scoring games of years past have morphed into a more sluggish and frustrating experience. There was one stretch of games last night where my opponents and I combined for one goal in six full halves of play. This is the first time in the last five years that I have felt bored with FIFA so early in the release, so I have to consider this version a step back overall despite the aforementioned improvements. Realism is nice, but not if it comes at the expense of fun. So far, this FIFA just isn't that fun to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Headers and Corners Galore., October 2, 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I've been playing FIFA religiously since 2006. Here are some of the major gameplay changes that I noticed from FIFA '13:

Smaller Field/ Slower Gameplay - The game play has been slowed down quite a bit, and you find yourself operating in close-quarters a lot. The field feels a lot smaller which is more realistic. However, it seems like it is easier to sit back and play defensively which is not much fun for me.

Catching Passes/First Touch - All players can catch passes and trap the ball more easily than in '13. I liked that it was harder in '13 because it took more skill on the behalf of the player. You couldn't run full speed with a Center Back and catch a pass in stride - you would have to slow down and trap the ball before continuing your run. Now it seems that everyone catches passes without losing the ball as much.

Finesse Shot - In '13, I found the "right-bounce", finesse shot to be almost useless. It was easier to just slide the ball along the ground past the keeper. In '14, this shot has made a comeback. This is a return to prior years, which I like. It takes more time to line this shot up, so you should be rewarded for being able to execute it.

Player Size/Strength - In '14, you can really utilize a player's strength and size. In '13, it seems that speed and dribbling were all that mattered. Now you can muscle people away from the ball and use your height to catch passes from the air (hopefully Messi can no longer wrestle air balls away from Center Backs while jumping!). I like this, however, it seems that it is much easier to score now on headers and corners. There is nothing more frustrating than when you trap your opponent outside the box and he tries a desperation cross only to score a header. Goals off of corners are also really weak, and I even feel bad when I convert on them. I'll take a win any way I can get it, but it is so much more satisfying when you actually beat your opponent and score.

Overall - These are my first impressions. With any new FIFA it takes time to adjust. I am biased towards the negative because I excelled at '13 right away. '14 does not really cater to my style of play. That being said, I will still play it every day until '15 comes out.

UPDATE: After playing this game for 2 months, I have become very frustrated with it. I may even switch to Madden or NHL until FIFA '15. The conversion rate on headers and corners is much too high. Over half of the goals online are scored on these plays. In FIFA '13 I could convert on 5-10% of corners. In '14 it is seriously around 40%. With Gareth Bale delivering on corners, my player gets his head on it 90% of the time. Every game on Xbox Live is Real Madrid vs. Real Madrid. Kick the ball upfield to Ronaldo or run down the sideline and cross it in. If you don't score on the cross, you'll convert on the corner. I do not enjoy this style of play at all, but it is so effective what else can I do? I could play my old style and lose every game. Finesse shots from outside the box are also much more effective. You can win your games without ever getting a direct shot from inside the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They couldn't make a game worse than this even if they tried, November 2, 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Let me get straight to the point, Fifa 14 is by far the worst FIFA game I've played in the last 5 years! Unfortunately EA sports has not made any improvements to the game, but they have also ruined it by trying to make it more realistic(!). I'm not complaining because I can't win ,I just won my season one championship last week so I know how to play. The point is that FIFA 14 is not fun anymore...

What EA has failed to understand is that video games are meant to be fun. when you attempt to make a game realistic (in your own thoughts), you should consider the fact that it must not spoil the fun. As you can read in other reviews there are many many many issues that happen way too often in a game which makes you want to break your game. Just to mention a few:

- super sluggish game-play and increased momentum of players
- Easy cross and header goals that happen way too much in every game (Trust me, I also score most of my goals this way)
- Dribbling with the best players in the world is almost impossible because of super late reactions and movements
- Lofted through balls (which was so bad in the beginning that EA released a patch to fix it in the first few weeks)
- Unrealistic first touch controls (sometimes players like Messi seem to have no idea how to stop an easy pass)
- Ridiculously foolish team-mates (some things are totally out of your control...)
- Forwards are in offside position 90% of the time (and don't seem to care at all!)
_ Throw-ins are just a joke!Players spend most of the time running after the ball themselves as if there's no one out there

Overall, after a game (specially at higher levels) you don't feel like you won the game because you're good. Instead you feel like you only won because you were lucky. That's what kills the fun in a sports game.

After all, it's EA and they sure know how to be the winner of "Worst Company of the Year" for 2 years in a row. If you haven't purchased the game yet, don't buy it. It's just a waste of time and money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating so far..., June 28, 2014
By 
J. Corlett "SNAFU" (Woodinville, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I have purchased many many FIFA games (dating back to 2002 World Cup Japan XBox -- sentimental favorite of mine to this day) -- this one is incredibly frustrating. After playing one World Cup campaign, I have a few gripes:

(1) The Road to the World Cup feature is a pain, takes too long to simulate over training sessions and friendly's
(2) if you simulate training sessions and friendly's (if you only want to play qualifiers), your players "form" is automatically dropped -- you'll see the down red arrows next to every player signifying drop in form or morale
(3) player movement, most particularly on defense, it feels like the players are playing on ice -- forward or backward momentum carries them in circles, extremely tough to tackle opposing players with the ball. These are supposed to be world class athletes you can start and stop on a dime. Offensive opponents can seemingly dribble around at will.

I've seen other reviews that say this really takes some getting used to, so I'll keep playing and get the hang of it -- otherwise I'll just shelf this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fifa 14 hates your friends - no online team play, October 24, 2013
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Game mechanic is a step forward but...

You CANNOT play with your friends against other friends at all, in any of modes. It was never mentioned anywhere that Online Team Play will not be available and many players bought the game intending to play with friends (as they do not have time for seasons, ultimate team, career etc) like they used to in previous instances of Fifa.

Not only it was not mentioned by EA but all the reviews, who gave the game 9/10 or 10/10 score did not mention Online Team Play gone. I could not find any single review that would address this issue.
Furthermore, I have been on EA live help chat thingy 3 times trying to get advisors to tell me how to play with friends since I find not being able to do so completely ridiculous. Every advisor I spoke to seem to be surprised there is no way to play friends vs friends.

My facebook post on EA Fifa 14 wall has been removed as well.
Slightly odd isn't it.

Anyway, if you want to play Fifa 14 in group of friends you will not be able to do so. You have been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Scripting Galore in one of the greatest Football game ever, December 1, 2013
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I have been playing FIFA since 2008 and have been consitatnly ranked in top 3000 players in the world and play this game as an obsession. I have already played more than

The short review,

This is one of the most realistic FIFA game which is very very hard to master.The game is realistic to point of being agonizing. Just like in real world football your team might be attacking one minute and would end up conceding 30 seconds later.

However, if you wanna play online, and consider yourself an expert player, don't buy this game, you might end up killing yourself out of sheer frustration (to know why read the long review). If you are a novice, EA is there to help you get started.

The long review:

The game is ridiculously realistic and incredibly addicting as well as very very hard to master. This could have been the game that defines the next generation of FIFA games but leave it to EA to ruin a game.

I have already played 800 online matches and am ranked 3200 in the world and after all those hours swearing at the game, I can almost predict the results as the game reads like a story book depending upon your previous game results and your current standing in the league.

If you haven't played FIFA the following is how EA is playing "GOD" (aka scripting) with FIFA.

1. With 3 games left in the season and one win required to get promotion/avoid relegation, your team will simply refuse to score in the first 60 minutes while your opponent will score on the first good chance, (once i hit seven shots on pole).The commentator will keep hammering down the point of how "this team is nervous" and your players will keep missing open chances.

2. If you loose the above mentioned game after dominating then next game EA will give you a "non-handicap" match without scripting however if you loose that too than in the last match EA will severely "handicap" your opponent to let you win the match. Once i scored from 3 consecutive corners during such a situation while the other player kept on hitting pole, keeper or the crowd with his shots. I could feel his agony but could do nothing but smile.

3. With 3 games left in the season and two wins required you will score from the first available chance provided you are not on loosing streak i.e. have lost more than 2 consecutive matches.

4. If you are dominating a match say 2-0 and then concede a goal by mistake, your players become very shaky making it very likely that you will concede a 2nd and then a third goal.

5. If you loose or draw three matches in "seasons", the you are in for a rid. Making a "turn around" is very very difficult. Your best bet is to play a 0-0 draw and then try to win the next one.

6. If you are winning by close margin say 1-0 then in last 10 minutes, your players will become very nervous, they would play passes straight to opposition players and many times end up conceding goals.

7. If you get relegated once, and are on a loosing streak, you will most probably get relegated again. Two or three relegations in a row happen a lot in this game.

8. If you dominate first half but don't score, mark my words you will loose the match.

EXPERIMENTS CONDUCTED TO CONFIRM THIS HYPOTHESIS:

Test 1::
So to test my theory, I made a new xbox account and started afresh. Obviously now Fifa was matching me up with novice players as it thought I was a novice as well. So for the first two matches I played my best and won 5-0 & 7-0.

Then in the third match, I scored leading 2-0 then conceded two own goals to tie the score 2-2. After which i started playing "my best" football but it felt like that I had no control over my players.I lost 4-2 to a player who had lost 40 of his first 60 online matches, there goes my claim to being one of world's best players.:)

Test 2:
Continuing from above.The next match I let the guy beat me miserably 6-0.

Now coming to fifth match, I played my best football, but AI (artificial intelligence), as i suspected, made it impossible for me to win. In the first half, I had 17 shots on goal and stuck poll three times but no goal. In second half same story continued until at around 75th minute after which my players stopped responding completely and eventually I lost 1-0 in 93rd minute.

Verdict:
EA has killed the game for expert players but made it easier for novice. However this is not a fair game anymore and hence this review. I am switching to pro evolution next year for my online game play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WORST FIFA UP TO DATE, December 22, 2013
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
You look forward to a new FIFA every year without any doubts of flaws or anything like that. You look forward to the new updated system and all the new gadgets EA has featured in the game. This year was different. FIFA 14 is by far THE WORST FIFA I have ever played in my life. It's not even near realistic, the passing is slow, the dribbling is slow, and holding the sprint button is nothing but a nightmare as it makes you send the ball 4 feet from you regardless of the player and the dribbling stat. Nothing seems to make sense, players are constantly tripping over eachother and the goalies make the stupidest mistakes. NOTHING in this game would you actually see in real life, the players run like there headless it's so hard to control and frustrating. There are several cases of this game crashing for many people and EA does absolutely nothing to help it's costumers. It's also extremely frustrating when the game crashes in the middle of the game and you get the loss at the end of the game. Literally this game is far from realistic and it feels as if I'm playing on manual sometimes because 1 out of the ten passes I make are to the players feet. Did I mention the horrible touch every player in this game has? You can have the highest stat for ball control and yet the ball with still roll 5 feet away from a simple pass, I feel as I'm playing pinball with this aggrivating system. I know many people who couldn't take it anymore and just went back to FIFA 13. As for me I won't be buying anymore FIFA's until EA gets off their lazy asses and actually does something good. I don't recommend this game whatsoever to anyone it does nothing but frustrate. 0/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no 2v2 w/ friends, buggy, etc, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
There are many bugs such as the blowing of the whistle for half/game when the defending team takes possession of the ball in their own box. You don't always have to advance it back near midfield. Players just let soft passes bounce off them sometimes. Goalies too often just stand there and let a ball fly right by 'em. But none of those are as big as the one glaring omission that ruins this game for me.

NO 2v2 WITH FRIENDS. You can play 2 friends vs. a random stranger, or 1v1 with friends, but you can't just invite 2 or 3 friends to a session and play 2v1 and 2v2 with people you know. This is called NOT KNOWING YOUR CUSTOMER, and there's no excuse for it. I know I wont even consider FIFA 15 unless this feature is in there.

If you purchased this game to play with multiple friends, save your money and stick w/ 13. I personally think 13 was more fun anyways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars frustrating game since predecessors, January 13, 2014
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I like purchasing.and.enjoying the game each year but this by far the worst overall experience game play ever in fifa history. The players dont do anything but stare at the ball. The players tend to lose the ball uncontrollably. The motion of the players is not smooth because of the realism they tried to add. I thought games were suppose to be fun this game has frustrated me more because the game does.not want the benefit the game players point.of view and.not doing what we want it to do before hand and action. I wish i hadnt bought this game to be honest. Save your money people and maybe EA will make it a bettet experience to play than making it worst each year. Elevate not downgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars time to go play real soccer, April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
If this game is supposed to make you hate it so much that you eventually go outside to play real soccer, then good job ea sports!

The new transfer scouting is a complete waste of time. I spent almost an hour before playing a game because of the unnecessary transfer scouts. Nothing has changed at all in terms of transfers, you still have to over pay to get a good player and all while selling yours for less.

Once I finally started playing the game was slow and unresponsive. All of the announcements were the same and at times would repeat themselves in the same game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

FIFA 14 - Xbox 360
FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 by EA Sports (Xbox 360)
$38.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.