Customer Reviews


361 Reviews
5 star:
 (213)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (44)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Been playing Fifa since 06
My favorite game for Xbox. One of the few I will purchase every year. Bought for a great price and shipped quickly.
Published 5 months ago by GQ H

versus
94 of 111 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A step backward in the endless tug of war between realism and fun
I have been a big fan of the FIFA series dating back to FIFA 10. I buy the game every year and have played thousands of matches over the last several years. Every year the game is fundamentally the same with a few minor differences. Sometimes the changes are for the better and sometimes they're for the worse. This year is pretty typical in that regard. There are some...
Published 10 months ago by Wayne Buzzard


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

94 of 111 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A step backward in the endless tug of war between realism and fun, September 25, 2013
By 
Wayne Buzzard (Lafayette, CA United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I have been a big fan of the FIFA series dating back to FIFA 10. I buy the game every year and have played thousands of matches over the last several years. Every year the game is fundamentally the same with a few minor differences. Sometimes the changes are for the better and sometimes they're for the worse. This year is pretty typical in that regard. There are some great new features and some shockingly bad ones. Here's quick breakdown of some of the game modes and some of the changes:

- Shot physics have been altered. Now the ball will dip and knuckle more than in previous FIFA games. This seems like it will improve the variety of goals you can score, yet many of the same flaws remain. The finesse shot (curling shot) is still very overpowered. Meanwhile, goalies are still way too good at making quick reflex saves on powerful shots at short range. What that all adds up to is that the finesse shot is still your go-to bread and butter shot in all 1-on-1 situations, so the variety that the developers aimed for wasn't totally achieved.

- Player movement has been altered. More specifically, players have a greater sense of momentum. It is harder to start and stop instantly. Sharp cuts and 180 degree shifts in direction will be more gradual. Some reviewers have praised this as being more realistic than the last few FIFA games, where sometimes it felt like you were steering a race car instead of an athlete. I agree that this change is more realistic, but is it more FUN? I don't think so. The slower movement gives the whole experience a less responsive feeling, which can be very frustrating. Many times you will spot an opening for your player and try to weave into that space, but the slow change of direction will result in him being tackled before he can react. The overall result here is that defense feels overpowered whereas attacking play has been nerfed. One of my favorite things in the game was to pull of crisp skill moves and slaloming runs with speedy players, but now I'm finding the game a bit muddy and slow. It might be more realistic, but it is a lot less fun than FIFA 10-13.

- AI has been upgraded. Computer players will have smarter movement on offense and defense. The good news here is that your computer teammates will be smarter about making runs so you pick them out with a pass. However, the CPU is still far too mechanical and tidy on higher difficulties. They will psychically sense your incoming tackle and change directions at the last moment to avoid you. The whole experience of playing against the computer can be very frustrating due to the lack of random variance and error. Even world class players make bad touches and mistakes in real life, but the CPU in FIFA plays like a machine. I much prefer to play against human players because there is more variety. It's also worth pointing out that many of the same AI flaws that have existed in the game for YEARS are still glaring. For example, defenders are absolutely horrible at making aerial challenges for the ball. So many times when a cross is whipped in, they will just stand flat-footed and let the attacker spike it right over them. In general, players lack awareness of the ball and aren't aggressive enough when it is near them. Many times the ball will squirt loose into space and your players will take steps away from it instead of trying to pounce like they would in real life. These minor AI flaws can really hinder the enjoyment of the game.

- Ultimate Team is back and better than ever. If you don't know what Ultimate Team is, it's a game mode that allows you to collect and trade players in order to build your "ultimate team." However, even though the game mode bills itself as Ultimate Team, there is a chemistry system in place that effectively prevents you from linking players in your lineup unless they play in the same league or have the same nationality. This really limits your creativity and prevents you from building your actual ultimate team. For example, you can't link Ibrahimovic with Cristiano Ronaldo and get full chemistry because they don't share a common league or nationality. Putting that aside, there are a number of nice new features in Ultimate Team this year. There are more leagues in the game than last year, including the Colombian league. The interface and player search feature have greatly been improved. Single online matches have returned after shockingly being left out last season, but now they can't end in a draw like they could in FIFA 12. If you are drawing after 90 minutes, you have to play extra time and go to penalties. Annoying because single matches are supposed to be more casual and not so win-at-all-costs like the tournaments and seasons.

My two favorite new features in Ultimate Team are the new chemistry styles and the removal of formation cards from the game. In previous FUT games, you had to convert your players to the correct formation every time you wanted to experiment with a new formation. Now all players get full chemistry from all formations, so there is much more room to experiment without having to invest a lot of coins in formation cards. The new chemistry styles add a layer of customization to the game by allowing you to apply chemistry styles cards to your players that boost specific traits. For example, you could use a chemistry style to increase a defender's heading and defending. Or you could use a different chemistry style to increase an attacking midfielders passing and dribbling.

Also, it's worth pointing out that while Ultimate Team is technically free, the game is designed to push you towards the pack store, where EA makes a lot of money off people spending points on packs in hopes of finding valuable players. I strongly discourage you from spending real money on Ultimate Team, as the players you get in packs are rarely worth much and your odds of getting someone like Ronaldo or Messi are INCREDIBLY low. It is basically a lottery ticket and not a good value at all. You are always better off saving coins and buying player direct.

- Career mode, skill games, and virtual clubs are back from last year. Clubs allow you to create a virtual pro for use in club games with your friends or with strangers, and to gradually build up his stats by fulfilling various achievements. For example, scoring 25 goals might improve his shooting stats. You can keep this player throughout your entire time using FIFA 14 and it is fun to gradually build him up. The only major drawback is that EA inexplicably ruined the drop-in match game mode by capping the former 11v11 player limit at 5v5 and removing the "ANY" option, which means that if you go into a drop-in match (a virtual pro match where you and strangers play a game using your virtual pro), over half of the players on the field will be controlled by the computer. It used to be that you could go full 11v11 or have one player designated as the "ANY" in smaller games to control all of the computer players. Drop-in games will be incredibly tedious and boring without the any feature, so I will not be playing them this year.

- The EA Sports Football Club that they introduced with FIFA 12 has once again carried over to the new game. With this feature, you'll gradually accumulate currency within the game just by playing FIFA 14. You can then use these points to unlock nice bonuses such as free Ultimate Team coins, extra kits, new celebrations, and extra boots for your players. This is a nice feature that provides another incentive system within the game.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: FIFA 14 brings a lot of new bells and whistles compared to the last few releases in the series, but the gameplay has taken a step backward. Although it might be more realistic than ever, the game is also slower and more methodical than ever. This is especially apparent in Ultimate Team, where lightning-paced high scoring games of years past have morphed into a more sluggish and frustrating experience. There was one stretch of games last night where my opponents and I combined for one goal in six full halves of play. This is the first time in the last five years that I have felt bored with FIFA so early in the release, so I have to consider this version a step back overall despite the aforementioned improvements. Realism is nice, but not if it comes at the expense of fun. So far, this FIFA just isn't that fun to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Headers and Corners Galore., October 2, 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I've been playing FIFA religiously since 2006. Here are some of the major gameplay changes that I noticed from FIFA '13:

Smaller Field/ Slower Gameplay - The game play has been slowed down quite a bit, and you find yourself operating in close-quarters a lot. The field feels a lot smaller which is more realistic. However, it seems like it is easier to sit back and play defensively which is not much fun for me.

Catching Passes/First Touch - All players can catch passes and trap the ball more easily than in '13. I liked that it was harder in '13 because it took more skill on the behalf of the player. You couldn't run full speed with a Center Back and catch a pass in stride - you would have to slow down and trap the ball before continuing your run. Now it seems that everyone catches passes without losing the ball as much.

Finesse Shot - In '13, I found the "right-bounce", finesse shot to be almost useless. It was easier to just slide the ball along the ground past the keeper. In '14, this shot has made a comeback. This is a return to prior years, which I like. It takes more time to line this shot up, so you should be rewarded for being able to execute it.

Player Size/Strength - In '14, you can really utilize a player's strength and size. In '13, it seems that speed and dribbling were all that mattered. Now you can muscle people away from the ball and use your height to catch passes from the air (hopefully Messi can no longer wrestle air balls away from Center Backs while jumping!). I like this, however, it seems that it is much easier to score now on headers and corners. There is nothing more frustrating than when you trap your opponent outside the box and he tries a desperation cross only to score a header. Goals off of corners are also really weak, and I even feel bad when I convert on them. I'll take a win any way I can get it, but it is so much more satisfying when you actually beat your opponent and score.

Overall - These are my first impressions. With any new FIFA it takes time to adjust. I am biased towards the negative because I excelled at '13 right away. '14 does not really cater to my style of play. That being said, I will still play it every day until '15 comes out.

UPDATE: After playing this game for 2 months, I have become very frustrated with it. I may even switch to Madden or NHL until FIFA '15. The conversion rate on headers and corners is much too high. Over half of the goals online are scored on these plays. In FIFA '13 I could convert on 5-10% of corners. In '14 it is seriously around 40%. With Gareth Bale delivering on corners, my player gets his head on it 90% of the time. Every game on Xbox Live is Real Madrid vs. Real Madrid. Kick the ball upfield to Ronaldo or run down the sideline and cross it in. If you don't score on the cross, you'll convert on the corner. I do not enjoy this style of play at all, but it is so effective what else can I do? I could play my old style and lose every game. Finesse shots from outside the box are also much more effective. You can win your games without ever getting a direct shot from inside the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Been playing Fifa since 06, February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
My favorite game for Xbox. One of the few I will purchase every year. Bought for a great price and shipped quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift Recipient Loved It, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Person who received this game played immediately and loved it so it must be good!! Recommend for all soccer lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best FIFA game so far!, January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game did not let me down. Best FIFA game so far to me. If you do not have it yet then get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game!, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
My son loves this game and it's upgrades from Fifa 13. Not yo mention how fast it shipped! He loves the new graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Fifa Ever, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This is one of the best sports games of all time. You have to be really skilled in the game to be able to play which is what makes it so fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fifa 14 hates your friends - no online team play, October 24, 2013
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Game mechanic is a step forward but...

You CANNOT play with your friends against other friends at all, in any of modes. It was never mentioned anywhere that Online Team Play will not be available and many players bought the game intending to play with friends (as they do not have time for seasons, ultimate team, career etc) like they used to in previous instances of Fifa.

Not only it was not mentioned by EA but all the reviews, who gave the game 9/10 or 10/10 score did not mention Online Team Play gone. I could not find any single review that would address this issue.
Furthermore, I have been on EA live help chat thingy 3 times trying to get advisors to tell me how to play with friends since I find not being able to do so completely ridiculous. Every advisor I spoke to seem to be surprised there is no way to play friends vs friends.

My facebook post on EA Fifa 14 wall has been removed as well.
Slightly odd isn't it.

Anyway, if you want to play Fifa 14 in group of friends you will not be able to do so. You have been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They couldn't make a game worse than this even if they tried, November 2, 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Let me get straight to the point, Fifa 14 is by far the worst FIFA game I've played in the last 5 years! Unfortunately EA sports has not made any improvements to the game, but they have also ruined it by trying to make it more realistic(!). I'm not complaining because I can't win ,I just won my season one championship last week so I know how to play. The point is that FIFA 14 is not fun anymore...

What EA has failed to understand is that video games are meant to be fun. when you attempt to make a game realistic (in your own thoughts), you should consider the fact that it must not spoil the fun. As you can read in other reviews there are many many many issues that happen way too often in a game which makes you want to break your game. Just to mention a few:

- super sluggish game-play and increased momentum of players
- Easy cross and header goals that happen way too much in every game (Trust me, I also score most of my goals this way)
- Dribbling with the best players in the world is almost impossible because of super late reactions and movements
- Lofted through balls (which was so bad in the beginning that EA released a patch to fix it in the first few weeks)
- Unrealistic first touch controls (sometimes players like Messi seem to have no idea how to stop an easy pass)
- Ridiculously foolish team-mates (some things are totally out of your control...)
- Forwards are in offside position 90% of the time (and don't seem to care at all!)
_ Throw-ins are just a joke!Players spend most of the time running after the ball themselves as if there's no one out there

Overall, after a game (specially at higher levels) you don't feel like you won the game because you're good. Instead you feel like you only won because you were lucky. That's what kills the fun in a sports game.

After all, it's EA and they sure know how to be the winner of "Worst Company of the Year" for 2 years in a row. If you haven't purchased the game yet, don't buy it. It's just a waste of time and money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating so far..., June 28, 2014
By 
J. Corlett "SNAFU" (Woodinville, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I have purchased many many FIFA games (dating back to 2002 World Cup Japan XBox -- sentimental favorite of mine to this day) -- this one is incredibly frustrating. After playing one World Cup campaign, I have a few gripes:

(1) The Road to the World Cup feature is a pain, takes too long to simulate over training sessions and friendly's
(2) if you simulate training sessions and friendly's (if you only want to play qualifiers), your players "form" is automatically dropped -- you'll see the down red arrows next to every player signifying drop in form or morale
(3) player movement, most particularly on defense, it feels like the players are playing on ice -- forward or backward momentum carries them in circles, extremely tough to tackle opposing players with the ball. These are supposed to be world class athletes you can start and stop on a dime. Offensive opponents can seemingly dribble around at will.

I've seen other reviews that say this really takes some getting used to, so I'll keep playing and get the hang of it -- otherwise I'll just shelf this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

FIFA 14 - Xbox 360
FIFA 14 - Xbox 360 by EA Sports (Xbox 360)
$46.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.