Customer Reviews


184 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Football you like Fifa
Good game. Not hyper realistic but plays similar to the actual game. I'm an avid video game player as well and I thought this game wasn't all that bad despite common feedback amongst the majority saying "its the same as the ones before".
Published 3 months ago by C. Faircloth

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's decent, but not that great.
Good graphics, but random, unrealistic character animations. Great controls, fun although often tedious. Get it if you enjoy this type of game, but don't assume it's right for you.
Published 6 months ago by Cynthia Macdonald


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's decent, but not that great., March 3, 2014
By 
Cynthia Macdonald (Cape Elizabeth, Maine United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox One (Video Game)
Good graphics, but random, unrealistic character animations. Great controls, fun although often tedious. Get it if you enjoy this type of game, but don't assume it's right for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Greed kills videogames - "looks pretty, plays ugly", February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox One (Video Game)
I have given this game a lot of my time and while I do get some enjoyment out of it from time to time I simply cannot stomach giving it more than a 1 star review.

It should come to no surprise that EA's main focus is on ultimate team. They will probably make around 300 million on DLC alone this year. A lot of my negative experience is related to this mode of game play and my review will mostly be centered around this mode.

The nice thing, as should be expected, is the graphics did seem to get a face-lift and the game menus and presentation have a more professional feel. There were some added shot animation and physics that give the game a real nice touch but that's just the point, the game looks pretty, plays ugly. Before I start this tirade it is important to know that I am a very competitive person and I want an even battleground. EA fails to deliver here. The "scripting" is far worse this year. If your opponent has the ball in the last 5 minutes of either half or right after you just scored, hold on to your seats this may get ugly.

During these "momentum" times you will notice these game mechanics more and most likely have a bad time:

1. Switching to the correct defender. Nothing infuriates me more than this because they toned down the ability of the AI to cover runs this year. IMO this was actually a great thing but they did not safe guard players against the inevitable abuse of the lack of AI support covering runs (i.e. kick off 50+ yard passes). In general this feature is bugged. Not being able to select defenders on corners or when the ball is in the air is a bit too similar to Russian roulette for my taste.

2. Winning defensive battles
a) Tackling is drastically affected during these times. You may notice your opponent just seems to run through your defenders and despite you timing your tackles your opponent continues to advance the ball and scores
b) Heading becomes a prayer to your creator. Even in triple coverage a 5'9" can seem to soar into the air to get the game tying goal in the 90th minute. Yes EA, very exciting for all parties involved. What actually is happening is your player simply fails to jump, moves their head out of the way in an effort to get more power on the header or the ball simple travels through the defenders head without deflecting. I have seen all of these things happen.
c) Referee calls are going to be a nightmare during this time. Do not bother slide tackling. Your defender, despite getting ball first in a slide tackle will get a red card. The foul detection this year in general is terrible. I have had players close-lined like this is Monday night RAW without the ref so much as batting an eye. Don't even get me started on the ref not giving advantage when you are through on goal and when you do get advantage do not ever do a skill move otherwise advantage is over due to you "losing control of the ball" or something.

3. Passing. If you had the chance to play this game you may not have noticed the AI taking over the direction of your passes during these "momentum" times. The game will literally change the direction of your pass (I have noticed excess of 90 degree angle changes) to steer the ball into a more aggressive or higher scoring potential area. You may think, "Hey great! Thanks for the help!" unless you actually plan out your passes and are trying to work around the defense instead of trying to plow through them with Ibarbo.

4. Counting on AI to defend. The AI defending will literally run the players out of position to allow passing lanes during "momentum" times. I have had center backs double team a winger with the fullbacks getting themselves 20 yards out of position allowing a gigantic passing lanes. Good thing the switching in this game is perfect so I can bring the players back into position.... wait a minute...****

There are a slew of other issues with the game like offensive players always jumping in the air when a defender slide tackles (avoiding a blatant penalty), players running away from where a ball is clearly going to land (most evident on corners when the ball is cleared 10 yards b/c after all, only 10% of the players in the game can actually clear), shooting the ball when you press b to defend, pressing b to do a push and pull and you player sticks out a foot no where near the ball and stops all their momentum, defenders pressing forward while an offensive player is running towards goal (good luck changing directions), no sense of urgency of defenders to clear in the box, pro clubs skills don't always load, no loss quit glitches (all you need to do is sign out), trying to clear by charging up B or X only to have your defender immediately swing their leg and miss the ball, and the list goes on and on and on... and on

Save yourself the frustration and don't buy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 116 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer beware, critical features removed!, November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox One (Video Game)
DO NOT buy this game unless EA for once does the right thing and adds back in the critical missing gameplay modes which have been inexplicably removed from last years game. Another PR disaster for EA.

If you, like the majority of FIFA fans, only play the game for online Team Play 2vs2, 3vs3, etc. be aware that it is no longer in this years game.Tournament Mode has also been removed. I reitterate that custom lobbies for Online Team Play, and Team Play random matchups are no longer in the game. You can only play in these modes with fake created pros, no real rosters!

Beyond disappointed, this game was the main reason I bought an Xbox One. Do not waste your money unless EA patches this years game. Adding these features back in as "new features" for the World Cup Edition or FIFA 15 and charging full price is not acceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The most interesting features just disappeared !!, November 27, 2013
By 
Jean (Issy-les-Moules) - See all my reviews
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox One (Video Game)
I've been a big fan of the FIFA games for almost 15 years. But the Next Gen version is different. The most interesting game modes have just disappeared : no tournament creation mode, no way to play 2v2 games locally. I really hate this game. What EA Sports has done is just inacceptable, they should do an update to correct those mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A mockery of the beautiful game, January 10, 2014
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox One (Video Game)
Player ball control has been slowed to a crawl and makes a mockery of reflexive movements that are supposed to belong to world class soccer players. If you see a defender coming your way, then it is already too late to evade him as any moves fail to register with the player in time. Even receiving the ball in stride and maneuvering ahead of time is too slow. That being said, the game is reduced to crosses from the wing and rebound shooting. AI is simply a joke as computer players refuse to make even the most basic of soccer plays towards the ball unless they are told to. I understand they are probably trying to put more control in the players hands, but at a certain point, you shouldn't have to tell players to chase after a loose ball in front of the opponents net. Finally, possibly the biggest problem, is the dysfunction of online play. Ultimately, the problem lies on EA's hands. If they are ready to take the consumers money on this game, they should have the game ready especially online play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Football you like Fifa, June 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox One (Video Game)
Good game. Not hyper realistic but plays similar to the actual game. I'm an avid video game player as well and I thought this game wasn't all that bad despite common feedback amongst the majority saying "its the same as the ones before".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game but missing some components, June 8, 2014
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox One (Video Game)
The game is awesome as always and is slightly proved since 2013 but the missing components are annoying and the extra download times are annoying too. But the game is awesome so I give it 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Lord!!! This is FUN, May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox One (Video Game)
We just tcan't stop playing this game. It takes a little to get to understand it but that might be bacuase I' a causal gamer who likes to get into the game fast. But once you realize the controllers, get ready to have a blast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good!, April 29, 2014
By 
Rob S. (Fort Worth, Tx) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox One (Video Game)
I haven't played a Fifa game in several years, so I can't speak to how it compares to previous versions, but I can say from someone new to the franchise, it's a fun game and I really enjoy it. There is plenty of complexity to keep the game interesting after you master the basic stuff and the career mode is very entertaining. I haven't played online, but my son has and he really likes it.

This is a good game for all ages, i've got an 8 year old daughter that had no trouble picking it up and having fun while I enjoy the complexity of learning different moves and skills.

Overall Great game!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Next Gen Fifa, March 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA 14 - Xbox One (Video Game)
While hardcore fans may be disappointed that some lesser played modes, such as tournament mode, are missing, don't be alarmed. The main modes such as head to head seasons, ultimate team, career mode and pro clubs are featured to their full extent. Huge improvements were made to the game in terms of realism. Graphically, the players look more realistic and the developers have added several new animations so that you will rarely see the same shot or tackle more than once. Also, gameplay now relies more on the player's strength and first touch ability, rather than purely on pace. Unfortunately, the EA Servers are inconsistent, rendering head to head and seasons and ultimate team unplayable at times. Also, corner kicks are overpowered and undefendable at times. Needless to say, Fifa 14 for the Xbox One remains a deffinate pick up for all soccer fans and gamers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

FIFA 14 - Xbox One
FIFA 14 - Xbox One by Electronic Arts (Xbox One)
$59.99 $25.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.