Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably one of the best multiplayer games on Wii U
My two boys and I have thoroughly enjoyed FS13 for Wii U. It is no doubt one of the best games on the Wii, especially that allows multiplayer. I like how neat the commentators make it all sound so real. It is practically spot on on many levels. I also love how they fashioned the players to mimic the actual players. Eg. Drogba has better dribbling skills than other...
Published 13 months ago by ism

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Wii U provides for an ideal Manage Mode in FIFA 13 but otherwise this is a more limited FIFA 12
FIFA 13 on the Nintendo Wii U offers a satisfying overall experience but inherently the unique features of the system are not completely natural to take advantage of during free-flowing gameplay. It looks and runs beautifully with the new hardware but a few features and gameplay enhancements are notable in their absence. Still this might be the best sports game available...
Published 22 months ago by pastapadre


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Wii U provides for an ideal Manage Mode in FIFA 13 but otherwise this is a more limited FIFA 12, November 20, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA Soccer 13 - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
FIFA 13 on the Nintendo Wii U offers a satisfying overall experience but inherently the unique features of the system are not completely natural to take advantage of during free-flowing gameplay. It looks and runs beautifully with the new hardware but a few features and gameplay enhancements are notable in their absence. Still this might be the best sports game available to go along with the launch of the system.

The appeal with the Wii U, at least when compared to the 360 and PS3 versions of FIFA 13, comes with the tablet controller. It offers the ability to take advantage of touch screen shooting, passing, tackling, and team management tasks. While the functions work as intended they don't always make sense within the context of the game. Check out screens from the tutorial here.

The biggest issue that arises is the need to take eyes off the action in order to use the touch screen or make desired changes. There is no way to avoid that when looking down at the tablet and pulling up another screen that obscures the action there as well. Functions like shaking the pad to bring up a "net" allowing for the touch selection of shot aim is difficult to do elegantly when attempting to get into position for the opportunity. Touch screen passing or tackling though is handled really well. What works best is when the action stops for free, penalty, or corner kicks as full concentration can then be directed to the touch screen without neglecting everything else.

There are three options for control configurations. "Classic", "Alternate", and "Two Button". Otherwise the control schemes are not customizable. For the most part they translate pretty well but there will be a learning curve due to the different mapping and hand placement.

Because the need to controls players in standard games makes it difficult to utilize the tablet controller fully Manage Mode is where the game shines on Wii U. Having all the options laid out on the touch screen is pretty much ideal. Making substitutions and changing formations and tactics are joined with the ability to assign actions to players without the constant need to move them around on the pitch manually.

Performance wise the game runs in excellent fashion. There is no issue with framerate (as was found in Madden NFL 13) and graphically is on par with the 360/PS3. Where it falters is in the number of omissions which essentially make it more like playing FIFA 12 with the tablet features than a true FIFA 13.

The "Impact Engine" physics system is not nearly as refined, there is no "First Touch" ball-handling system, Online Team Play and Skill Games are absent, and there is no Ultimate Team mode (no DLC system active yet on the Wii U probably explains why). These things will all stand out to anyone who's played FIFA 13 on the other systems. For those who haven't it may not matter all that much.

***SUMMARY***
FIFA 13 is a strong launch effort that is worth considering for those who aren't already dedicated fans of the series or would enjoy Manage mode with the tablet functionality at hand. However anyone who already owns or has spent a decent amount of time with the 360/PS3 version of FIFA the last two years will probably find the lack of gameplay improvements and other missing features too great to overlook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably one of the best multiplayer games on Wii U, August 6, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA Soccer 13 - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
My two boys and I have thoroughly enjoyed FS13 for Wii U. It is no doubt one of the best games on the Wii, especially that allows multiplayer. I like how neat the commentators make it all sound so real. It is practically spot on on many levels. I also love how they fashioned the players to mimic the actual players. Eg. Drogba has better dribbling skills than other players. But he also falls too often - just like the real thing. More importantly, I like how the game makes my kids want to go out and play the game outside like Messi! They asked me to paint our lawn like a football pitch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Falls just short in extra time, November 26, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA Soccer 13 - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
I was one of the lucky few that managed to get a Wii U upon release this week and overall it's a nice new system with the biggest selling point of the GamePad tablet that again changes the way we play games. One of the biggest selling points of using the Gamepad is how much information gets shifted from the TV screen to the tablet and allowing gamers to make changes on the fly without pausing the game and the other big selling point is the ability to remotely play games on the GamePad without having to be in front of the screen.

How does FIFA 13 stack up on the Wii U? Let's take a look and find out.

Graphics

At first glance, the Wii U version would appear similar to that of the X Box 360 as well as the PS3 but after taking a longer look, the Wii U is slightly smoother and more detailed at least in the replays. Overall in the actual gameplay it looks about the same and as always there is room for improvement. In comparison to the PC version, it leans a little closer to that comparison than it would a 5 year old console.

Controls

This is where things get interesting. The basic controls have not changed and if you have played FIFA 13 on any other system using the basic setup, you can play on the Wii U also. No noticeable lag or any discrepancies on the game's part but what sets this version apart from the others is the use of the GamePad itself. Players can use the GamePad to make substitutions, change tactics and monitor player stats all on the fly without really having to pause the game and I found it to be a very handy concept. You can also do man marking at the touch of the screen. In a sense, playing FIFA 13 on the Wii U is almost like playing a much larger version of the DS. Keep in mind however, the features work as long as you are playing on the TV screen, once you flip over to playing on the GamePad, you play it like normal.

Concerns and Signs of Hope

Being that this is a 1st gen FIFA game for the Wii U, as always, some things get left on the floor. With all of the bells and whistles that the other consoles managed to get, I was a bit surprised that they didn't make it into this iteration. You don't get any International play while playing in manager or player mode, the Infinity Engine wasn't included, nor was the Ultimate Team or the MatchDay feature implemented. If anything the game almost feels more like a FIFA 12.5 than a full on 13, so some Wii U players may feel a bit disappointed. However, there is a nice Manager Mode included where you can sit back and let the game play itself out while you manage from the touchline and if you aren't satisfied with how the game is going you can pause and take control and play it out how you want. Even in between games you still have players that come to you with different issues and you are also still responsible with basic day to day operations of the club. It's a nice Football Manager Lite suite added in and one that could possibly be fleshed out in later iterations.

Should you get it?

In my opinion, if you already have it on the other systems, you have the best iteration of FIFA 13 right now. Based on what didn't make it into the game, I would advise to wait another year and see if FIFA 14 can catch up to the others and not only have all the same features but more exclusive features that utilizes the GamePad. The only way I would recommend this as a purchase for right now is if you want to really try out the Manager Mode and also you fancy yourself playing games on the GamePad itself and not always in front of the TV. I did find myself playing a few games via the Gamepad in the bedroom while watching Arsenal struggle v Aston Villa. Any current gen gaming you can get done without leaving the comfort of your bed is a win!

So, really depending on how big a fan you are you can take it or leave it with FIFA 13. It's not the cutting edge sports simulator right now but with a lot of polish I am sure this would probably be a preferred pick up next year. I can't stress enough that if it had the same features of the other console iterations, this would be easy but by not having some of those key ingredients it falls just short in extra time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, March 10, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA Soccer 13 - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
I purchased this for my hubby and the image quality is simply astounding. The songs are truly good, too, since I have to listen to them while he's playing, and so far... just great! He's in love with this game, so much so that he ignored all the other games I offered him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA Soccer 13 - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
Best soccer game I have ever played. Also I must say the graphics are pretty impressive for Nintendo!!! Keep it up Wii U.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA Soccer 13 - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
It is okay figure I would try it out since it is so popular just guess I am just not a sports game type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought it for the kids... they love playing it, May 20, 2014
By 
Mr Malo (Maricopa, AZ) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA Soccer 13 - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
Order this, along with the new Donkey Kong(for my 5 year old), and 007(for my 14 year old). Both seem to mainly only play FIFA 13! Could have something to do with them finishing up their first year of team soccer. I've played a few times with them. The game has the 4 player option, so I've whooped them in a couple exhibition games, me vs them. Graphics look pretty good! And the price is right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Soccer Game., March 21, 2013
By 
Cal Runimok (Bluebird, Montana) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA Soccer 13 - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
Multi Screen Technology has arrived and this game shows it off very well. if you love soccer games its a great game to buy. You get a surround sound effect with the Wii U Game Pad and your tv playing audio and video at the same time. Sometimes I watch the game on the gamepad, sometimes I watch it on the TV. the announcers are excellent and the reviews for this game are terrible online. Don't believe everything you hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIFA Fun, February 2, 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA Soccer 13 - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
This game is much better than I anticipated. It has many game modes to check out and has a good level of customization. With so much to do, it's hard to be bored. It makes great use of the WiiU's gamepad and has great controls. I see why the FIFA games have been around so long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves this game, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FIFA Soccer 13 - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
He is constantly playing this game, it has a lot of options and levels. The graphics are great.
Would recommend it for any kid who doesn't keep up with who is on what team, a bargain compared to this years version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

FIFA Soccer 13 - Nintendo Wii U
FIFA Soccer 13 - Nintendo Wii U by EA Sports (Nintendo Wii U)
$29.99 $12.81
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.