Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: FINANCIAL BASICS: MONEY-MANAGEMENT GUIDE FOR STUDENTS
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 15, 2004
I am a professional financial advisor and have had the opportunity to work with many clients in their 40's and beyond who haven't mastered the basics presented here by Knox. How I wish they had this book 20 years earlier to get them started on the right path - the time lost really hurts. The money management lessons are timeless, straightforward and essential for everyone, especially young adults striking out on their own. The writing is special - stories that help students relate (and make them want to keep reading). The lessons are doled out gently and casually, not more preaching. All-in-all, an excellent resource. I plan to give it to my clients' kids as they hit high school.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2005
I'm a graduate student, and I got "Financial Basics" as a resource for a project I did last quarter. My project centered around measuring college students' financial awareness and proactiveness.

Book was an easy, non-threatening read. I started and finished "Financial Basics" during a 2.5 hour plane ride.

Great thing about the book is that you don't necessarily have to be a student (or former student) to benefit from the advice Knox presents. Everyone interviewed for the book had differing financial situations and education--from the financially clueless to the overly stingy and everywhere in between. Instead of trying to fit everyone into one black-and-white financial solution, she gave easy-to-follow, general tips on money management, credit card responsibility, and savings.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2016
This book stands out from other introductory finance books by beginning chapters with a story of how some dumb college kid ruined their finances because of x, then follows up by talking about x in a very general way. It's a nice primer but lacks substance. That being said, it's a little long for its depth of content.
The purchase can only be justified if it is required text for a class, as is my case, or the reader is searching for a glancing read of common financial pitfalls.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2015
A good book, a bit too much focus on financial aid. A bit more introduction to life finances would have been helpful: i.e. what is involved in a loan, mortgage, basics of investing ...just an intro to know what is out there and what it pays to start thinking about for the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2004
Also available in a hardcover edition (0814290785, $39.95), Financial Basics: A Money-Management Guide For Students by certified public account, financial planner, and former university administrator and teacher Susan Knox shares hard-learned lessons about managing money when in college. Practical solutions to common money problems faced by students and family, as well as flexible money-management tips, tricks, and techniques for readers accustomed to handling their money in any of a variety of styles fill this solid, information-packed resource. An absolute must-have for any young adult entering the complex world of financial matters, especially when attending school far away from home.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2009
Every young person leaving High School should read this book and if they can retain 15% of what they read will be a great start into personal financial responsbilty of becoming an adult whether they go on to School or adult life.

BK
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2013
If you are just someone who doesn't care about where your money goes, read this book! The tales here are scary but they conclude with great lessons for young adults no matter how big or how small your budget may be. No matter what your financial situation may be this book will help you in some way maybe save a couple of bucks at least.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2014
The book is very well written with sound advice. It presents a good blueprint for sensible financial management for college years and well beyond. I have given this book to each of my college age grandchildren. It is readable and very practical
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2012
I teach young actors about the business of the Biz and I've been using this book for years! It's an excellent primer and exposes them to all the necessary information they'll need to start their careers on the right financial footing. I couldn't recommend more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2011
This book is engaging, inviting, easy to read, and full of many case studies and examples. It was even helpful to me as a non-young adult. I consider it a prime graduation present and believe any young person armed with it is well prepared to enter into a life of solvency.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse