Customer Reviews


234 Reviews
5 star:
 (187)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


167 of 175 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Review of the Blu-ray Disc Presentation
FLCL, or Fooly Cooly is standard definition digital animation. As such, you'll never see a true HD presentation for this wonderful show. This Blu-ray Disc is an upscale of the SD material.

What's the benefit then to owning this show on BD instead of DVD? Artifacts. I own the original SyncPoint DVDs. Despite only having two episodes per disc and being derived...
Published on March 1, 2011 by Deviation

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A work of PURE GENIUS...but no extras and DVD quality?!
Well, FLCL is without question one of the best anime series ever made. A work of pure genius. This Blu-ray collection leaves me extremely unsatisfied. I expected some extras beyond some "not at all funny" bloopers of the voice actors messing up lines. I also expected a full up-scaled HD 720 or 1080 video...hell even a widescreen! But you don't get any of that, you get the...
Published on November 24, 2011 by Andromeda


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

167 of 175 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Review of the Blu-ray Disc Presentation, March 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
FLCL, or Fooly Cooly is standard definition digital animation. As such, you'll never see a true HD presentation for this wonderful show. This Blu-ray Disc is an upscale of the SD material.

What's the benefit then to owning this show on BD instead of DVD? Artifacts. I own the original SyncPoint DVDs. Despite only having two episodes per disc and being derived from a digital master, those DVDs are ridden with very visible and distracting macroblocking and mosquito noise. It's a matter of how old the discs are and how inefficient the MPEG-2 codec is.

This BD presentation of FLCL is not perfect. It's been sharpened a bit, so the line work stands out a bit more than I think it's supposed to. The colors are also more saturated than they were on the DVDs and I found it a bit distracting. Aliasing is present, but that's unavoidable with SD material. The aliasing is far worse on the DVDs.

Despite being an imperfect upscale of SD source material, the BD for Fooly Cooly is by far the best available presentation we have stateside thanks to the elimination of artifacts and the reduction in aliasing. And at the friendly pricing (the whole series for the same price as what a single one of the three DVDs used to cost) here on Amazon, there's no reason at all to avoid this release.

Oh, and the lossless stereo track is wonderful. Anyone who watches this show will fall in love with The Pillows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


130 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your head is empty!, November 24, 2010
This review is from: FLCL: The Complete Series (DVD)
Anime can be pretty weird -- just look at series like "Paranoia Agent" and "Boogiepop Phantom." Really weird, sometimes impossible to totally understand.

But for sheer strangeness and kookiness, the winner has got to be "Fooly Cooly (FLCL)." Even as it pokes fun at typical anime, it tells the surrealist story of a very odd coming-of-age, complete with strange plots, oddball characters, and robots sprouting out of a young boy's head.

Naota is a young boy living what he sees as an oppressively dull existance, in a quiet city dominated by the Medical Mechanica building. The closest thing to excitement is fending off the advances of his brother's troubled girlfriend Mamimi.

Then sudenly a girl on a Vespa runs him over, resuscitates him with a smooch, and then bashes him over the head with a bass guitar. That evening, Naota finds that instead of a bump, he has a horn growing out of his head, and no idea what it is or how to get rid of it.

Despite his efforts to avoid her, Naoto's kooky father has hired the crazy Vespa girl, Haruko, as a housekeeper. To make matters worse, his "horn" turns out to be a robot and a giant mechanical hand -- springing out of a channel in his head. And you thought YOU had problems.

The five episodes that follow don't get any more normal, as Naota must deal with the Mayor's daughter getting his strange power, cat ears, more robots, baseball, bombs, the Pirate King Atomsk, seaweed eyebrows, and the interplanetary Medical Mechanica which may or may not be intent on galactic domination. It all clashes in the final episode.

For newbies, "FLCL" is probably the WORST anime to start with. It's a parodic mishmash of anime in-jokes -- giant robots, fanservice, boy falls for kooky abusive alien girl -- and a storyline that is bizarre to the point where you may not be able to understand what's going on. But oh, is it a fun ride.

As if the plot weren't hyperactive enough, the animation is exaggerated and crazy, full of distorted faces and wild robot battles. Lots of action and overdramatic dialogue ("OH NO.... OOOOOOOOO... an American GIRLFRIEND!"). As if it weren't funny enough, the director sprinkles in homages to other shows, ranging from other anime to "South Park."

And the characters are as bizarre as the story itself. Naoto starts off as a typical bored preteen, but slowly gains confidence and guts as he gets immersed in the weirdness. Haruko is a completely off-the-wall kook who is apparently an alien. And there's a bunch of other weird characters -- troubled pyromaniacs, wistful robots, preteen pervs, and a guy from Interstellar Immigration.

"FLCL" is perhaps the strangest anime in existance. It's also enough to blow the top off of your head, with the strange characters and wildly surrealist plot. Fooly Cooly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Blu Ray is a GOOD UPSCALE, February 20, 2011
This review is from: FLCL: The Complete Series (DVD)
I own the new Blu ver. Its sitting in front of me. I also own the US DVD from the first time it was put out on shelves on this side of the pacific. The difference is minimal but on some of the area shots or even the background shots, like the first scene of the bridge or building shots, things look a lot better, which I can't really figure out, but everything else is just a slight improvement as one would think it should be since it is an upscale. The new cover art though is what really makes it for me though. The packaging is amazing and it looks like some one in funi's graphic arts department had been working on this for a while, one might even think before they had it. I am such a huge fan of the series that all the before mentioned was enough for me to re-buy.

If you already own the series though and it didn't change your life as a teenager or lead to you finding your unified theory on life, then its debatable if the $20-30 for the Blu is worth it. Its good but I would only go for it if you can't shut up about the show if someone mentions it.

If you don't own it though.... BUY!!! NOW!!! and buy the Blu since the DVD isn't that much cheaper and the Blu is an improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FLCL, Fooly Cooly, Furi Kuri... Furry Curry....... Ah, Forget It., February 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FLCL: The Complete Series (DVD)
After the existential gore-fest that was "End of Evangelion", Studio Gainax decided to do something a little less... traumatizing. First they tried making the TV show "His and Her Circumstances," but the author of the shojo manga on which it was based threw a hissy fit over their comedic adaptation and it was cancelled after the first season. So they went and made FLCL, which is both a return to form for Gainax and a bold new presentation in the world of anime.

What is it about? Well, in the typical Gainax fashion the story is not that straightforward and rather convoluted, but let's at least try to get the basics out of the way anyway. Naota, a typical 12 year old grade-schooler, is hanging out with his older brother's horny delinquent girlfriend when a strange pink-haired woman on a Vespa scooter runs him over, gives him CPR and then whacks him upside the head with her Rickenbacker bass guitar right before moving into his house with his family. Afterward things start getting very strange for our hero as robots start springing out of his head and he starts getting confusing feelings for Haruko, the weird, bass-wielding alien lady responsible for all of his troubles. It doesn't make a lot of sense, but it is a lot of fun.

And this anime IS a lot of fun - FLCL manages to blend surreal comedy and drama and present it at a good, quick pace. And a warning to those of a more conventional mindset: this anime is *weird*, with jokes and non sequiturs coming out of the blue to hit you square in the face with oddity after cartoon oddity. This is just what a group of animators needs to make after having to grimly animate teenage girls being eaten alive by giant gruesome killer cyborgs. FLCL is a return to Gainax making anime as a group of anime *fans,* with the patented Gainax Homage Method in full play for the first time since 1988's "Gunbuster": parody an anime trope, celebrate it, then turn it up to 11. And just like in that seminal sci-fi OVA from the previous decade, Gainax's love of animation is on full display here: all sorts of techniques are employed to give FLCL a real kinetic quality, a sense of *life*. Gainax's love of anime and animation in general comes through every frame, every shot of every quick gag, every classic anime reference, every fight scene, every application of a lovingly rendered vintage guitar to the head of a giant rampaging robot. In short, FLCL is glorious.

However, what makes FLCL stand out is not only the great animation (because after all, well animated garbage is still garbage) or the great comedy - it's also the dramatic themes running through the show. FLCL is basically about sex and growing up, and how both will screw you up. Far too many TV shows and movies with a "coming of age" theme don't sit well with me as they usually seem too sentimental and not real enough. Kazuya Tsurumaki accomplishes something amazing here: he imbues this OVA with a wistful, nostalgic quality; at the same time he shows how much adolescence suuuuuucks. Speaking as a male who has made it through puberty (thankfully quite a while ago) I can say that I identified with Naota while watching this: having your body do weird things and feeling an increasing confusion for the world around you is not fun. And having weird feelings for women is not fun either (actually, it's still not fun). Haruko is the perfect symbol of how women seem to boys Naota's age: strange, infuriating, indecipherable, and yet strangely interesting and enticing. At one point she examines an X-Ray of our hero and declares that his brain is missing - all the while a massive horn (hmm...) is sticking out the back of his skull. Yeah, being a teenage boy feels like that - all hormones and no head. Tsurumaki also doesn't give any pat endings or solutions: I won't spoil anything but I will say that Naota does not have a completely hunky dory super happy ending (although it *is* a happy ending - this is not Eva).

This new Funimation DVD of FLCL is very nice indeed. Although it does not have all of the special features of the previous Synch-Point release, it does fit all 6 episodes onto one disc - meaning no swapping out discs after every two episodes like that previous 3 disc version. This makes shotgunning FLCL in one sitting a little bit easier (providing of course that you can handle that much FLCL in one sitting - I can!). Video is good: presented in the original aspect ratio of 4:3 and free of any obvious defects. Audio is also good, if not earthshattering with both the original Japanese and the English dub presented in 2 channel stereo. Speaking of the English dub, the one on this disc is surprisingly good. I normally don't watch anime in English but the dub for FLCL impressed me. In fact, I think it can enhance one's enjoyment of this particular series as FLCL is a highly kinetic show, and reading subtitles can distract from the barrage of images on the screen. I caught some visual details on the second viewing in English that I missed the first time in Japanese.

Special features include a director's commentary for all 6 episodes (interesting tidbit: the Vespa in the end credits is actually Tsurumaki's) which is worth listening to once. A warning though that you have to watch the commentaries for each individual episode one at a time - there is no "watch all" commentary option. Also included: English dub outtakes (nonessential), textless ending and some music videos with tunage from the show by the Pillows (the Japanese rock band that supplied the unique soundtrack), in addition to the standard trailers for other stuff by Funimation. The only downside is that the packaging for FLCL is nothing special: a thin cardboard slipcase housing a clear standard single-disc DVD case. The case is a bit flimsy, actually. It seems like everyone is moving towards using the "eco-friendly" lighter cases nowadays and Funimation unfortunately is no exception. If you want something sturdier to put your disc into you're going to have to replace the case.

Pluses - Very, very fun! Great story, great animation, good music, a joyous return to form for Gainax and a chance to get their ya-yas out after the grisly Anno angst-fest that was "Evangelion."

Minuses - May be too weird and convoluted for some.

Conclusion - This is a classic, truly creative anime made by people who love anime and love making anime. I recommend this highly for anyone who is a fan of Gainax, as well as anyone who likes off-the-wall anime in general. If you like this I recommend Nobuhiko Obayashi's House and the BBC sitcom The Young Ones which are in the same vein. In fact, it was watching these that immunized me so that I was prepared for the insanity of FLCL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crazy Sunshine, December 19, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was late night in the summer of 2003. Adult Swim was the start of it and one of the shows they aired was something that made me laugh so hard. There are only a few shows out there that truly made me laugh so much that I knew that show will be my favorite, maybe even forever. FLCL is one of those shows. When I learned there were DVDs out for U.S., I wanted to get them but then later found out that the price was too high and didn't want to get them with such a price. The fact that there were only 6 episodes in this anime series, I didn't think I should get it. Then a few years gone by and the dvds were becoming rare and the price got higher and higher when I thought it would become cheap in the future. I was totally wrong. The year is 2011 and still watch Adult Swim. Suddenly, I saw a commercial about FLCL and I thought it was just another advertising that Adult Swim would air the show again but it wasn't. It was a commercial telling me that FLCL is going to be on blu-ray and on DVD. I couldn't believe it and the feeling of interest of buying FLCL, once again came back to me. This time, I know that I need to get it this time for sure. Not knowing the aspect ratio of the blu-ray version, I didn't care much at all. All I know is that I finally have myself a copy of FLCL because it's one of the classic anime series that I truly like and was one of the anime series that has been in my list of must-have animes for a long time. First anime blu-ray to own as well. I'm happy about finally owning this anime and finally it's on blu-ray as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Anime, Short, but worth it, April 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
FLCL is a six episode series that was created by the studio that created such other powerhouse animes as eden of the east, gurren lagann, and evangelion, which it clearly says on the box. It's a story about a kid named Naota and his encounters with Haruko and Medical Mechanica, and you can read all of the other reviews that spoil the show for more. I bought the Blu-Ray as a long time fan and I thought the upscaling looked great, and the bonus features were cool, including a pillows music video, and other songs, outtakes, and directors commentary. The show is definitely one of my all time favorites, and FLCL develops its characters in # hours than many long running 50 episode animes can. It is definitely worth the purchase, and I recommend buying the Blu-Ray instead of the DVDs, because if not for the picture quality, for the convenience of having everything on one disc, instead of three for the DVD set. It is a great anime, and if it wasn't, it wouldn't say "ANIME CLASSIC" on the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, February 24, 2011
By 
Raz "Razazeal" (Baltimore, Md USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Blu-ray is an amazing transfer, all six episodes on one disc, including extras. Having owned the original set for years now I wanted to take advantage of the broader color scale allowable under Blu-Ray encoding, I was absolutely pleased. Funimation obviously took great care in their presentation of a classic example of late 90's experimental animation in preserving the original aspect ratio and audio stream. I hope more of the older classic series by Gainax and Star Child are likewise acquired and released on Blu-ray in the near future.

FLCL is a great example of the potential of Japanese animation as an art form, and I hope people who may be disuaded by reviews of this Blu-ray from less informed critics give this disc a spin for themselves. Anyone who truly is inspired by animation and can appreciate something quirky and different would be at a serious loss to pass this show up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For New Owners Only, February 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
FLCL is a fun, unique yarn of a story with quirky art that may or may not appeal to everyone, but this Blu-ray should only be bought by those who haven't purchased the DVD releases already. The Blu-ray is upscaled from a standard definition master, so it's only i minor upgrade from the DVD releases. This is by no means a showpiece Blu-ray like Evangelion 1.11.

The quality of the Blu-ray transfer should not dissuade first time buyers of the series, as this series is worth picking up regardless of format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haruko is a bane, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Been looking for a long time for what this show is since I saw it on carton network years ago. When I finally discovered it, I had to own it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best uses of 3 hours you will ever have, March 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i've been watching and rewatching FLCL since 2005 when i first caught it on Adult Swim. in the years since i've always had the same experience:
episodes 1 and 2 i am nostalgic, glad to be watching it again, by episodes 3 and 4 i'm wondering why i love this short series so much, and by the end of episode 6 it all comes back to me and i'm glad to have the experience of watching it again.

is it for everybody? no. i've watched the series a dozen times and i can attest, it's way out there. but if you are new and stick with it, it WILL be a good experience. the amazing soundtrack, stellar animation, and original story make for a great time. it's less entertainment, and more of an experience.

all these elements, on blu ray, in addition to inclusions such as the original Ride on Shooting Star music video by the Pillows makes this a must buy for anyone remotely interested in the set. see it. be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

FLCL: The Complete Series
FLCL: The Complete Series by Marc Handler (DVD - 2011)
$39.98 $17.49
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.