Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT book for beginners!
This book is a fairly easy and simple introduction to Fortran 90. It is well directed towards the beginner and the beginner will most definitely profit from buying this book. The example codes are well chosen and the exercises provide ample practice in learning the basics of the language. The book covers much of the Fortran 90 syntax and the language reference in the...
Published on June 22, 1999

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its a photocopy...
I recently bought this book from Amazon (Mar 2011). Nowhere among the information available at Amazon did it indicate that the book is now only printed on demand in a photocopiable format (advice from the publisher), ie it is a bound photocopy of the original. I was quite surprised and disappointed.

The other reviews on the Amazon website are some years old and...
Published on May 22, 2011 by AJBG


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT book for beginners!, June 22, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists (Paperback)
This book is a fairly easy and simple introduction to Fortran 90. It is well directed towards the beginner and the beginner will most definitely profit from buying this book. The example codes are well chosen and the exercises provide ample practice in learning the basics of the language. The book covers much of the Fortran 90 syntax and the language reference in the appendix is handy. Presentation wise it is well constructed with a bi-colour approach which is good and makes the concepts easy to grasp, especially for a textbook, as compared to a one colour layout like a book with black print all over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its a photocopy..., May 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists (Paperback)
I recently bought this book from Amazon (Mar 2011). Nowhere among the information available at Amazon did it indicate that the book is now only printed on demand in a photocopiable format (advice from the publisher), ie it is a bound photocopy of the original. I was quite surprised and disappointed.

The other reviews on the Amazon website are some years old and positive feedback re the quality of the printing and colour must relate to the original publication.

The content seems to be as I would have expected, but I objected strongly to Amazon re paying $90 for a photocopy. They were quick to offer a $30 refund. I kept the book to avoid hassle sending it back and I needed the info, but in hindsight I would look at other options rather than paying even $60 for a photocopy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for Engineers looking to understand MCNP, October 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists (Paperback)
This book takes some time to work through and understand the examples. If you are willing to take the time and get your hands dirty with the programming you will finish this book with a very good foundation in Engineering software using Fortran.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good for hardcore FORTRAN hackers, March 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists (Paperback)
FORTRAN isn't used as much now as other languages. Still, it serves as the basis for most programming languages; it can be used alongside others like C++, and visual basic.

For engineering and financial applications involving a lot of math, a reference like this is still useful. I got this guide at a bargain basement price. The book is fairly extensive and complex, but contains programs that reinforce the book's concepts. I didn't have much difficulty following the book for my jr. college's course, even with the amount of reading required (it was a lot, about 5-7 hours a week at least). Now it serves as a reference in my electronic engineering bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old, August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists (Paperback)
People don't really use Fortran 90 anymore. If you do, I suppose this book is for you. Its ok. Required for a class which is why I bought it. Overall not a bad reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good condition and the price was right., September 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists (Paperback)
Got here in reasonable amount of time in good (practically new) condition and the price was right (about half of what I would have paid for it at my college bookstore).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists
FORTRAN 90 for Engineers and Scientists by Larry R. Nyhoff (Paperback - September 20, 1996)
$177.80 $130.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.