Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

FRONTRUNNERS Internal Medicine Board Review Syllabus 2011: Core Review for the ABIM Certification & Recertification Exams! Spiral-bound – December 31, 2010


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Spiral-bound, December 31, 2010
$245.00
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Spiral-bound: 367 pages
  • Publisher: Frontrunners Board Review in conjunction with Frontrunners Publishing; 2011 edition (December 31, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0983221308
  • ISBN-13: 978-0983221302
  • Product Dimensions: 10.9 x 8.4 x 1.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,841,998 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

INTERVIEW WITH THE AUTHOR:

In a recent INTERVIEW with the author, also FRONTRUNNERS® founder & CEO, Dr Mittman was asked about his philosophies on board review and how he feels FRONTRUNNERS® has changed the field of medical board review for the ABIM Certification & ABIM Recertification exams, also known as the internal medicine boards. He listed his philosophies this way: "Our slogan "FRONTRUNNERS When all you wanna know is what you GOTTA know! really tells it all."  He went on to say, "Frontrunners is all about respect respect for the physician s time and intelligence." Gone are the days of the 800 pound gorilla, better known as "the 800 page gorilla"", he quipped, meant to signify "books that are just so big and cumbersome that they need review books FOR their review books!" Larger books have fallen by the wayside, but continue to serve their purpose well as support legs for drafting tables and heavy weights for dumbbells...pardon the pun".

Dr Mittman went on to say that the "ivory tower reviews have definitely fallen out of favor with physicians", referring to the usual "so-called board reviews, largely internal medicine "updates" that double or masquerade as "board reviews" since it's an easy subtitle to append to their update brochures, you know the ones that feature 20-40 lecturers, all of whom are SO far removed from the boards that they couldn't tell the ABIM from their a**, which can, admittedly, be a difficult distinction for all of us," he chuckled, "and none of whom EVER really know what they're actually doing there except "they that were told to lecture on their specialty for 1 hour" for a $500 honorarium, thanks to Pfizer, Merck etc who don't give a heck what the topic is, as long as you pick up some samples on the way out." Naturally, the "course" administrators turn a blind eye. So it's a total cluster @#$% and pretty amusing to watch."

"Today's student is seeking a more MODERN, stream-lined approach to board review. And s/he certainly doesn t want her intelligence insulted. We ve found that if you treat a doctor like a monkey, he regresses to a monkey. If you treat him like a genius, he will become the genius and his board scores will reflect accordingly."

<p align="justify">Dr Mittman went on to say that, in the end, students just want to know what they gotta know. "They don t just want an "internal medicine update". There are luxury courses for that".  Dr Mittman went on to say, "We ve created all of our board review products with the following criteria in mind: "What would we want in a board review product? The answer is inevitably what every busy physician seeks: 1) something CONCISE! ; 2) something that reflects what you can expect to see on your exam; 3) something that is thorough, where you don t have to juggle 3 different board reviews at once; 4) something that does not insult his intelligence; 5) something that offers tips & tricks for the exam; and 6) something with exquisite Slideshows.  This recipe has proven highly successful for FRONTRUNNERS®, and, of course, has afforded its clients unparalleled pass rates."
--i

ADDITIONAL HELPFUL HINTS FROM THE PUBLISHER:

1. To view a healthy-sized and CLEAR set of SAMPLE PAGES for this book, simply go now to gofrontrunners dot com and navigate to the Product Vault. There you'll find crisp, high quality and generous-sized samples for this book and ALL of our other tremendous board review resources you'll really want to take advantage of, including our 2014 Practice Q&A for the Boards, our Slide Slides for the Internal Medicine Boards, and the Audio Syllabus. Check it out now!

2. HELPFUL TIP from FRONTRUNNERS® BOARD REVIEW: Our Internal Medicine Q&A Review was designed as the Q&A Companion to this Syllabus. Syllabus Core Review and Q&A books have been completely updated, fully revised and reflect the latest on the medicine. As the Publisher, we also offer deep discounts thru packages that incorporate these books along with other critical study aids and the Audio CD Syllabus and Slide Shows, straight out of our Weekend Marathon Review™.

3. If you can't make it out, think about having the course shipped out to you. Call toll-free 866-MDBOARDS or 866-IMREVIEW and ask about our AV packages, latest promotions, and how you can save. These materials are designed expressly for you to pass the boards. They are not meant to be all-encompassing reviews of medicine. They are only for you to pass your ABIM. Call now for more information on our upcoming reviews and offerings, or just call for a brochure containing all of our packages and ways to save on the Audio CD Syllabus (Audio CD set); Slide Shows CD (covering 800 images you'll have to know: Heme/Onc, Ophtho, Derm, EKG, & all Radiology for the ABIM exam); books; and tuition.

4. You can also visit, and even order from, our WEBSITE: GOFRONTRUNNERS for a nice summary of all of our latest offerings, packages, and deals. And check out the abundant free samples!

 

PUBLISHER'S COMMENTS:

This is the actual syllabus for the Frontrunners Internal Medicine Board Review Course, out of New York and California. Frontrunners' motto "When all you wanna know is what you GOTTA know!" reflects their realistic "this-is-what-you-have-to-know" philosophy toward medicine that has consistently resulted in TOP pass rates among its students on the ABIM CERTIFICATION & RECERTIFICATION exams each year. The course has been widely and enthusiastically embraced for its unconventional, no-nonsense approach to internal medicine board review. Unfortunately, thousands of physicians, wanting to be board-certified, are simply unable to attend a formal board review course due to time or geographic constraints. For those physicians especially this book will be a welcome review. In addition, the syllabus core review and full-color slides, precisely as presented, are available on CD and can be shipped out directly to physicians who simply can't make those weekend reviews. Call 866-MDBOARDS or 866-IMREVIEW 24x7.

 

--ii

 

OTHER KEY COMPONENTS TO ENSURE YOU PASS YOUR MEDICINE BOARDS INCLUDE:

1. FRONTRUNNERS SYLLABUS CORE REVIEW 2014!, a must if you're serious about passing your I.M. boards;

2. TURBO MNEMONICS for the Boards ! featuring over 400 incredible MEMORY AIDS to help you lock-in everything you thought you learned;

3. SLIDE SHOWS on CD FOR THE MEDICINE BOARDS , featuring all the key images you'll have to know before going into your exam, in full-color, fully legended, and beautifully presented and straight out of the Weekend Marathon Review™;

4. FRONTRUNNERS AUDIO CD SYLLABUS ! (digitally mastered audio CDs covering 18-20 hours of review, precisely as presented in our Internal Medicine Board Review)

***** FRONTRUNNERS!-- "When all you wanna know is what you GOTTA know!" *****

 

2014 PACKAGES INCLUDE (A convenient summary may be found at GOFRONTRUNNERS )

1. AUDIO CD Syllabus (digitally-mastered Audio CD set)

2. SLIDE SHOWS CD (covering all the KEY IMAGES you'll have to know for the boards: Heme/Onc, Ophtho, Derm, EKG, all Radiology for the ABIM exam)

3. T.O.P. (Take Out Package), a books-only package (ie does not contain the Slide Shows/images CD nor the Audio Syllabus CDs) that includes the 2014 Syllabus Core Review + Q&A + Turbo Mnemonics and key slide show notes.

4. Our AV3 package, containing the entire curriculum (ie items #1-3 just listed, namely: digitally-mastered Audio CDs, Slide Shows, Syllabus Core Review, Q&A, Memory Aids, etc--everything)--saves you about 50%.

All of our materials are expressly designed for you to pass your ABIM CERTIFICATION and ABIM RECERTIFICATION exams.

 

TO OPTIMIZE YOUR EXPERIENCE, MAKE SURE YOU'VE GOT THE LATEST EDITIONS:

HERE'S HOW:

Frontrunners Publishing will generally prepare an annual edition, and Amazon may not have the latest editions. To ensure you get the latest editions: visit gofrontrunners dot com

Alternatively, for faster processing, kall us TOLL-FREE at 866-IMREVIEW or 866-MDBOARD or visit our PRODUCT VAULT AT: GOFRONTRUNNERS dot com where you can check out crystal-clear, generous-sized samples of ALL of our board review resources.
--iii --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From the Publisher

ADDITIONAL HELPFUL HINTS FROM THE PUBLISHER:

1. To view a healthy-sized and CLEAR set of SAMPLE PAGES for this book, simply go now to gofrontrunners dot com and navigate to the Product Vault. There you'll find generous-sized and clear sample pages for this book and to all of our other tremendous board review resources you'll really want to take advantage of, including our 1300 Practice Q&A for the boards, our Slide Slides for the Internal Medicine Boards, and our Audio Syllabus. Check it out now! 2. HELPFUL TIP from FRONTRUNNERS BOARD REVIEW: Our Internal Medicine Q&A Review was designed as the Q&A Companion to this Syllabus. Syllabus Core Review and Q&A books have been completely updated, fully revised and reflect the latest on the medicine. As the Publisher, we also offer deep discounts thru packages that incorporate these books along with other critical study aids and the Audio CD Syllabus and Slide Shows, straight out of our Weekend Marathon Review.

3. If you can't make it out, think about having the course shipped out to you. Call toll-free 866-MDBOARDS or 866-IMREVIEW and ask about our AV packages, latest promotions, and how you can save. These materials are designed expressly for you to pass the boards. They are not meant to be all-encompassing reviews of medicine. They are only for you to pass your ABIM. Call now for more information on our upcoming reviews and offerings, or just call for a brochure containing all of our packages and ways to save on the Audio CD Syllabus (17 Audio CDs); Slide Shows CD (covering 800 images you'll have to know: Heme/Onc, Ophtho, Derm, EKG, & all Radiology for the ABIM exam); books; and tuition.

4. You can also visit, and even order from, our WEBSITE: GOFRONTRUNNERS for a nice summary of all of our latest offerings, packages, and deals. And check out the abundant free samples!

PUBLISHER'S COMMENTS:

This is the actual syllabus for the Frontrunners Internal Medicine Board Review Course, out of New York and California. Frontrunners' motto "When all you wanna know is what you GOTTA know!" reflects their realistic "this-is-what-you-have-to-know" philosophy toward medicine that has consistently resulted in TOP pass rates among its students on the ABIM CERTIFICATION & RECERTIFCATION exams each year. The course has been widely and enthusiastically embraced for its unconventional, no-nonsense approach to internal medicine board review. Unfortunately, thousands of physicians, wanting to be board-certified, are simply unable to attend a formal board review course due to time or geographic constraints. For those physicians especially this book will be a welcome review. In addition, the syllabus core review and full-color slides, precisely as presented, are available on CD and can be shipped out directly to physicians who simply can't make those weekend reviews. Call 866-MDBOARDS or 866-IMREVIEW 24x7.

OTHER KEY COMPONENTS TO ENSURE YOU PASS YOUR MEDICINE BOARDS INCLUDE:

1. FRONTRUNNERS SYLLABUS CORE REVIEW 2009!, a must if you're serious about passing your I.M. boards;

2. TURBO MNEMONICS for the Boards ! featuring over 400 incredible MEMORY AIDS to help you lock-in everything you thought you learned;

3. SLIDE SHOWS on CD FOR THE MEDICINE BOARDS , featuring all the key images you'll have to know before going into your exam, in full-color, fully legended, and beautifully presented and straight out of the Weekend Marathon Review;

4. FRONTRUNNERS AUDIO CD SYLLABUS ! (17 digitally mastered audio CDs covering 18 hours of review, precisely as presented in our Internal Medicine Board Review)

***** FRONTRUNNERS!-- "When all you wanna know is what you GOTTA know!" *****

2009 PACKAGES INCLUDE (A convenient summary may be found at GOFRONTRUNNERS )

1. AUDIO CD Syllabus (17 digitally-mastered Audio CDs)

2. SLIDE SHOWS CD (covering all the KEY IMAGES you'll have to know for the boards: Heme/Onc, Ophtho, Derm, EKG, all Radiology for the ABIM exam)

3. T.O.P. (Take Out Package), a books-only package (ie does not contain the Slide Shows/images CD nor the Audio Syllabus CDs) that includes the 2009 Syllabus Core Review + Q&A + Turbo Mnemonics and key slide show notes.

4. A single package containing the entire curriculum (ie items #1-3 just listed, namely: 17 digitally-mastered Audio CDs, Slide Shows, Syllabus Core Review, Q&A, Memory Aids, etc--everything)--saves you about 50%.

5. Among our many promotions is our Q&A HALF-OFF with purchase of the SYLLABUS CORE REVIEW, but it's only available directly thru the Publisher when you call and refer to ***promotional code #amzn1/2offQ&A. These materials are designed expressly for you to PASS YOUR ABIM CERT and RECERT and the I.M. components of the USMLE clinical steps.

TO OPTIMIZE YOUR EXPERIENCE, MAKE SURE YOU'VE GOT THE LATEST EDITIONS:

**Finally, whether you're getting...1) Frontrunners' INTERNAL MEDICINE BOARD REVIEW SYLLABUS and/or 2) Frontrunners Internal Medicine Q&A REVIEW (Syllabus Companion), featuring over 1300 Q&A for the boards and/or 3) TURBO MNEMONICS for the Boards...ALWAYS MAKE SURE you're ordering the latest editions of course. HERE'S HOW:

Frontrunners Publishing will always prepare an annual edition, and Amazon will always have the latest editions as soon as we receive them. IMPORTANT NOTE: To ensure you get the latest editions: You can QUICKLY & RELIABLY find the LATEST editions of our other books by entering any of the following Titles into Amazon search bar: Frontrunners Q&A = ISBN 0972682791 (2007-2008 ED). NOTE: NEW 2009-2010 edition coming soon! --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
3
See all 25 customer reviews
Very thorough, concise, well-organized.
"feldmanmd2"
I asked my partner for a great I.M. Board Review syllabus or program for the ABIM Internal Medicine certification boards and he'd just done the Frontrunners program.
S Krishna MD
Even better, my partner and I got the Q&A book FREE when we ordered our syllabus through Frontrunners 866-mdboard number.
"weizmanko"

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

73 of 75 people found the following review helpful By P Shah on February 21, 2001
Format: Spiral-bound
I've attended all sorts of board review courses on internal medicine trying to pass my boards and have accumulated endless notebooks and other syllabi promising to deliver me to the holy land of "board-certification". But that was all for nothing, because I never got any closer to passing the damn exam. I finally passed thanks to this Frontrunners syllabus. What made it work for me was the excellent mnemonics (I think I used all of them on the exam!), the straight-forward, outlined format, and the way the author clearly shows the relationship between concepts. The index made it easy for me to look up anything I wanted at any time, something I'd never seen in other course notes. I just liked the way the information is presented. It's easily digestable, and the best part was I actually enjoyed the learning process this time. Dr Mittman (the author) sets up the book, it feels like, with the reader in mind: special attention is drawn to the most important points, so that when the exam came, I was totally ready (for once). A lot of my friends who took the actual Frontrunners course and also passed the exam with me, told me Dr. Mittman's style as an instructor in-person was just as dynamic and no-nonsense as his syllabus. As a physician in private practice, that type of style is ideal because the little time I do have to read or study, I have to know that it's the best resource out there. The book helped me approach my exam with alot more confidence, but most importantly, it helped me finally pass the exam. My wife is as relieved as I am, cause she's sick of seeing all those old notes lying around that I dreaded studying. I would truly say that this book is a "must" resource for doctors who are preparing for their boards. I just wished I'd known about this a long time ago. It would have saved me A LOT of headaches and misery. P. Shah, MD (board-certified)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
82 of 85 people found the following review helpful By "14rajg" on April 17, 2003
Format: Spiral-bound
Great syllabus! I got my copy 1 week before the exam after my partner recommended it. I'm sure I got at least 30 points from the STARRED (*) items alone, which I scanned the day before. That's a must. The Q&A book was also truly excellent. Even better, my Q&A book was free when I called Frontrunners for my syllabus. Excellent resources if you're aiming to pass your I.M. boards. I only wish I'd known about it earlier.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
68 of 70 people found the following review helpful By Steve Katz on June 3, 2002
Format: Spiral-bound
Here's what I liked most about the syllabus. This syllabus is completely outlined, so I was able to cover alot more ground in alot less time. I used the extra time to go through the frontrunner's internal medicine q&a, which was an extremely useful companion alongside the syllabus (I got my q&a book for free when I ordered my syllabus through Frontrunners 866-mdboards number. Also, there were alot of excellent mnemonics that helped me swallow the material and then keep it down! Plus the book is very well presented and the formatting makes it crystal clear what you BETTER know (through the use of starred items, boxed-in points, etc)--basically the material that's asked over and over each year. My friends and I attended one of the Weekend Marathon Reviews in New York. The review is pretty amazing, covering everything in the syllabus and all the key slides (derm, heme/onc, optho, xrays, EKGs, etc) in 2 long days, but it was well worth the 18 hours of lecture. We did the review in August, but they have different weekends to choose from. All of us scored really high, so I'm recommending these review materials for sure.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
68 of 70 people found the following review helpful By "kherderson15053" on April 22, 2002
Format: Spiral-bound
This book was a major reason I passed my Internal Medicine boards this time. Right, I'd taken the exam many times and missed each time by a few points, which was getting to be a major pain in the a--. I had every imaginable internal medicine board review study aids, which did not come through for me. After I got a hold of the Frontrunners Syllabus, I actually passed by 18 points. I'm a a huge believer in this resource and tell any friends of mine who are looking to do it right the first time! I obviously recommend this book highly and give it a major thumbs-up.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
93 of 98 people found the following review helpful By David Weinberg on October 21, 2005
Format: Spiral-bound
My partner and I got the av-3 package from their [...] website in preparation for the August internal medicine board review exam because we simply had to pass. The package we got had this syllabus, over a thousand practice Q&A, obviously a huge plus on the exam, and the Audiovisual CDs from the review, which were the best we could find anywhere. We just got our board scores back from the ABIM and both of us scored in the top decile, 10, in all areas but one (which was the one chapter he didn't have time to read). Hope this information helps others who are in a similar situation, have to pass "or else", and are simply looking for the best internal medicine board review out there. Exceptional review. Four thumbs up in our case.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
75 of 78 people found the following review helpful By "jstein77" on April 8, 2003
Format: Spiral-bound
I couldn't make it out to Frontrunners' Weekend Marathon Review course, so got the syllabus instead. It was really outstanding. The syllabus went through all the key stuff you have to know for your I.M. cert boards and things that were all over the exam. The cherry on top was that, like the other reviewers, I got my Q&A book free when I called Frontrunners for my syllabus.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
73 of 76 people found the following review helpful By "feldmanmd2" on May 19, 2003
Format: Spiral-bound
Very thorough, concise, well-organized. Great for the internal medicine I.M. boards. While I didn't get my Q&A for free, like some of the other reviewers, I did get my syllabus for free when I made it out to the review, which was a high-yield, dynamic review like nothing I'd seen before. Great slides. Dynamic lectures. Great memory aids. A major recommend from me!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search
ARRAY(0xa611fb88)