Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Despite the rectangular bar shape, this is a Southern classic
Southern fruitcakes as a rule do not feature whiskey or brandy flavoring, and they come in light (or "white") and dark varieties. This is Claxton's 'white' fruitcake (which they call "regular"), which outsells their newer, dark variety by eight to one. And why not? It is peak of its form if you know what you're getting. Don't buy it if you don't like the firmly...
Published on November 19, 2010 by Allen Smalling

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Fruit Cake
I have had several different fruitcakes, and Claxton isn't the best or worst. Kind of bland. if you like average cake this is for you.
Published 8 months ago by Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Despite the rectangular bar shape, this is a Southern classic, November 19, 2010
This review is from: FRUIT CAKE Boxed 2 lb Regular Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Misc.)
Southern fruitcakes as a rule do not feature whiskey or brandy flavoring, and they come in light (or "white") and dark varieties. This is Claxton's 'white' fruitcake (which they call "regular"), which outsells their newer, dark variety by eight to one. And why not? It is peak of its form if you know what you're getting. Don't buy it if you don't like the firmly yielding mouthfeel of almonds countered by glaceed fruit that pops with color and flavor. Don't buy it if you don't like a thoroughgoing sweetness that stops short of being cloying or carrying an aftertaste. Definitely avoid this one if you expect it to have a whiskey flavor. The Claxton people say they use a little imitation rum extract in their white fruitcakes, but not so that I can tell.

All in all, and despite the bar shape, Claxton regular is a quintessential Southern fruitcake. At the time of this writing, third-party fulfillment costs extra for shipping but the price itself makes the deal very attractive. If you choose to order directly from Claxton, shipping is included in fruitcake products but the retail price is higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Fruit Cake? :/, February 8, 2010
By 
S. Alvarez (Pomona, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FRUIT CAKE Boxed 2 lb Regular Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Misc.)
That's what everyone says when they see fruit cakes but these fruit cakes are different! They are light-battered and moist with just the right amount of nuts to fruit ratio. The nuts are not tiny so you miss them; nope, they are larger so you bite into them and your mouth knows that you have just bitten into a crunchy nut!! Oh shoot!! Mine are long gone and now I've made myself hungry for them again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best fruit cake ever, December 10, 2011
By 
Christine Andino "vbug" (Berlin Center, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FRUIT CAKE Boxed 2 lb Regular Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Misc.)
Over the years, I've tried several fruit cake brands in several price ranges and Claxton is by far the best quality cake I've tried. I also felt the price was more than fair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really good, April 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FRUIT CAKE Boxed 2 lb Regular Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Misc.)
I was pleasantly surprised. The fruitcake was moist, full of fruit, and very tasty. I highly recommend it to those who enjoy an old fashioned fruit cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars umm umm good, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FRUIT CAKE Boxed 2 lb Regular Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Misc.)
the cake was very moist and delicious the packaging was awesome the fruit in the cake was fresh i really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNBEATABLE, January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FRUIT CAKE Boxed 2 lb Regular Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Misc.)
FANTASTIC AS ALWAYS.MY DAD LOVED IT AND SO DO I. AS A MATTER OF FACT, MY HUSBAND AND I ATE TWO OF THE FRUIT CAKES THIS YEAR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love the fruitcake, November 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FRUIT CAKE Boxed 2 lb Regular Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Misc.)
I just discovered fruitcake a few years ago. This isn't the very best fruitcake I've ever had, but for the price it's pretty awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 91 Years Young and Loving Claxton!!, April 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FRUIT CAKE Boxed 2 lb Regular Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Misc.)
I ordered this product as a special Easter treat for my 91 year old grandmother. (Last Christmas she was visiting us and we inadvertently sent her home without the remainder of her Christmas fruit cake from Costco. Months later she was still talking about missing that fruit cake and that she couldn't enjoy it!) I know Easter isn't usually a time for fruit cake but I knew she wouldn't care WHAT time of year it was! Not being able to find fruit cake in the store, I took a chance and came to Amazon. Lo and behold, I found the Claxton fruit cake with a whole lot of positive comments, so I took a chance and sent her one. I just got a call from my grandmother. The special delivery had been made and she was elated! The mailman dropped off her package and she was so excited when she saw what it was. She said she opened the box and didn't even wait to get a knife, she just bit off a piece right out of the package! She said it was so much better than the Costco fruit cake. haha So I just wanted to thank you for a quality product and for helping me make a very special lady's day a little extra special. I told her every time she enjoys a piece it's like a smooch from her #1 granddaughter. (that's me! ;) Thank you, Claxton!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmmmmm good, April 15, 2014
This review is from: FRUIT CAKE Boxed 2 lb Regular Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Misc.)
Claxton fruit cakes,I only hope they have it in heaven. This is by far the very best fruitcake you will ever eat. My favorite is the regular cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fruit Cake, Heavy, Moist, and Sweet, February 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: FRUIT CAKE Boxed 2 lb Regular Recipe Claxton Fruitcake (Misc.)
This fruit cake is good. It is heavy, dense and sweet, and filing. I would not call it elegant (as compared to the Trappist Abbey Cakes for example) but it is satisfying. The texture is very moist. Only a small piece fills you up. It does not taste from anything like rum or brandy, which may be fine for some. It is also a good value-- and is less expensive than many others, and widely available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

FRUIT CAKE Boxed 2 lb Regular Recipe Claxton Fruitcake
$23.99 $20.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.