Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure fun
Prince Charming is a womanizer. Goldilocks is a communist. The Big Bad Wolf is a hard-boiled detective. And they're all living in present-day New York.

The premise may be ridiculous, but the execution is so masterful that it's reminiscent of nothing less than Neil Gaiman's Sandman. It's an engrossing new mythology, full of humor but tinged with darkness. Forget...
Published on October 8, 2009 by Trevor Burnham

versus
154 of 162 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another crappy glued binding
Just a warning that for DC/Vertigo, "Deluxe" apparently doesn't actually mean "Deluxe" enough to warrant a proper sewn binding. Instead, as per the usual practice in the comic book industry, this is just a paperback glued into a cardboard cover. The pages are glued in and the book does not open as wide as a proper hardcover, so in some cases you lose some of the art in...
Published on December 25, 2009 by Art


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

154 of 162 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another crappy glued binding, December 25, 2009
This review is from: Fables: The Deluxe Edition Book One (Hardcover)
Just a warning that for DC/Vertigo, "Deluxe" apparently doesn't actually mean "Deluxe" enough to warrant a proper sewn binding. Instead, as per the usual practice in the comic book industry, this is just a paperback glued into a cardboard cover. The pages are glued in and the book does not open as wide as a proper hardcover, so in some cases you lose some of the art in the gutter between the pages.

While Marvel has, seemingly, come to their senses, and is producing at least some of their hardcovers with sewn bindings these days, DC can't be bothered. Even for a deluxe edition like this, which will probably be a double-dip (at least) for many potential purchasers, they can't bother to spend the extra pennies to bind it like a real book. Sorry, fans. DC apparently thinks we'll buy anything and they're probably right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of quality of the printing, September 8, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fables: The Deluxe Edition Book One (Hardcover)
After borrowing the series from a friend who had the paperback versions I thought this might be a nice way to add the story to my collection without having to deal with all the paperback volumes. The quality of the print seems to lack in color and has been cropped to remove the amazing borders from the original paperbacks (one of my favorite details). You get the equivalent of two paperbacks in this book so there isn't much savings. I think you get more value from the original paperback volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure fun, October 8, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fables: The Deluxe Edition Book One (Hardcover)
Prince Charming is a womanizer. Goldilocks is a communist. The Big Bad Wolf is a hard-boiled detective. And they're all living in present-day New York.

The premise may be ridiculous, but the execution is so masterful that it's reminiscent of nothing less than Neil Gaiman's Sandman. It's an engrossing new mythology, full of humor but tinged with darkness. Forget Disney's "Enchanted"--this graphic novel is very much for adults, the story of a struggling underground community of exiles. The art is excellent, the characters are memorable (of course, we already know most of them in some form or another) and the writing is top-notch.

This volume was my introduction to Fables, so I can't compare it to other editions. (This hardcover is equivalent to the first two softcover volumes.) If you already have the comics in some other form, then there's little reason to upgrade to this "Deluxe Edition," which has few extras. But the production quality of this slim, glossy hardcover is very good. It was clearly made to last. I look forward to passing this down to my children some day--when they're old enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, June 18, 2012
This review is from: Fables: The Deluxe Edition Book One (Hardcover)
This review is for those deciding between the Deluxe editions and the TPB's. As several reviews have mentioned the binding on the Deluxe edition could be better. The binding is pretty stiff and the art goes right up to the interior edge of the page. So at the start and end of the book it is really hard to see the detail near the center. This was annoying, but not a deal breaker. Once you get into the book you don't really notice it.

However, the pages are glossy in the Deluxe edition (compared to the TPB's that I have seen) and so the art looks much better. After handling both editions, I think the Deluxe edition will last a lot longer as well.

At the end of the day, I decided to go with the Deluxe edition. The prices are almost identical and the glossy pages make up for the subpar binding. I don't regret this decision. After seeing the page quality in the TPB's I felt like the only two options were to wait for the "Absolute" editions or buy the Deluxe editions. But the deluxe editions are only up to issue 45 (as of Summer 2012) so waiting for the "Absolute" editions could be a very long wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful edition of the acclaimed graphic novel, October 31, 2009
By 
J. Burgos "I <3 Books & Comics" (West Hollywood, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fables: The Deluxe Edition Book One (Hardcover)
I have been reading this incredible series on paperback. I own all of the first 9 volumes on paperback and when I saw this I decided to purchase it to add to my collection. It is beautifully bound with a wrap-around dusk-jacket and glossy, high quality paper (not the cheaper paper used in the paperback compilations). I suspect that Fables will be producing these collector's editions in years to come and eventually we may even see these collected in Absolute Editions. DC-Vertigo are masters of re-packaging, but these editions are truly for the hard-core collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome. No complaints., December 28, 2010
This review is from: Fables: The Deluxe Edition Book One (Hardcover)
Fables originally piqued my interest as the descriptions I'd read reminded me a bit of the Sandman comics, in that they combine a gritty reality with a fantasy element. This book totally delivered. The pacing is excellent. The characters are well-developed and entertaining (from the manipulative Prince Charming to the wild-child irresponsible party girl Rose Red and her polar-opposite uptight sister Snow White...and literally dozens of others). The stories are suspenseful and the art is clean and creative. I flew through this one in two days and I'm looking forward to reading the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect jumping-on point for those who have missed Fables previously, December 8, 2009
This review is from: Fables: The Deluxe Edition Book One (Hardcover)
It's high time Fables got its due: It's simply one of the best comics series currently being published, and it has been for years. If you haven't been following the monthly series since its inception in 2002, you're in luck: Vertigo has just released this handsome collection, which reprints the first 10 issues of the series in a nice hardcover.

Fables takes the legends we all grew up with and turns them on their ear. In writer Bill Willingham's reworking, the Fable folk are reimagined as living in modern-day New York City, where they exist in peaceful coexistence with normal humans--albeit only after being magically glamored to fit in. Those who can't magically adapt to fit in live on the Farm in Upstate New York, where they can be hidden away from any human prying eyes.

There's a political hierarchy to the Fables as well, and Willingham's story begins with Snow White (divorced from the slimy cad prince who charmed her ages ago) working as Director of Operations and bringing the long arm of the Fable law down upon both Beauty and the Beast (his beastly curse, it seems, worsens when his bride is mad at him, threatening to expose him to the humans--or "the Mundanes" as they're referred to).

The larger story here, though, is a mystery--perhaps a murder mystery. Snow White's less-famous sister, Rose Red, has disappeared, and her home is covered in blood. Investigating the crime is the detective Bigby (you may know him better as the Big Bad Wolf, but he's now reformed and working on the right side of the law).

If it sounds cutesy in any way--don't worry, it isn't. It's funny at times, suspenseful at others, and well-written always (the art is lovely too). Willingham enjoys taking these characters out for a spin, and what's better is how he keeps them truthful to their historical roots while planting them in a new and rather dangerous world.

This new Deluxe Edition collects the first 10 issues of the monthly comic book. It's a complete, standalone story and sets the stage for the rest of the series (later story arcs would take on different themes; whereas this is a mystery, conspiracy theories, romances, and other arcs have followed).

Fables today remains every bit as good as when it started. This is a perfect jumping-on point for those who have missed it previously.

-- John Hogan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imagine all the fairy tales were true?, December 31, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fables: The Deluxe Edition Book One (Hardcover)
I won't lie...I never read Fables before blind buying this volume. I did hear for awhile just how great the series was, but somehow i put it off. I can't, and won't now. I'm hooked. You will look at characters you are already established with, but now knowing in a different light. I mean who would have ever thought you'd see The Wolfman as a detective? I don't know what these issues looked like when they were originally released on the grade of paper they were on, but this deluxe edition really lets the art shine. My biggest concern is the release schedule...I love the deluxe format of the title, but in the introduction writer Bill Willingham mentions how these will be released yearly....I hope more often than that, because many volumes are out already in trades. I however want to hold out on the deluxe editions, so it will be tough dealing with the delay in getting more Fables in my diet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stories come alive, October 8, 2009
This review is from: Fables: The Deluxe Edition Book One (Hardcover)
Imagine if all the legendary story characters were living secretly in New York -- and they weren't quite fairy tale material?

In short, Prince Charming is a thrice-divorced lech, the Big Bad Wolf is now a werewolf cop, Goldilocks is a violent communist, and a suit of armor prophecies future conflicts when it isn't singing drunkenly about its mommy. "Fables Deluxe Edition Vol. 1" brings together the first two volumes (ten issues) of Bill Willingham's complex, humorous and sometimes gleefully strange graphic novel series.

The daily business of the hard-nosed Snow White (a Fable government official whom everyone comes to with complaints) is interrupted when Bigby Wolf brings her some ghastly news: her estranged, wild-child sister Rose Red has been murdered, and there's no sign of her except for buckets of blood all over her apartment. The most obvious suspect is Jack, whom Snow White helps interrogate when she isn't dealing with her womanizing, impoverished aristocrat ex, Prince Charming.

But some of the details about Rose Red's death don't add up -- and as Bigby investigates further into the people who knew her well, he begins finding aspects of her life hidden from everybody. Not to mention an irate fiancee who wants revenge on Jack. As the Remembrance Day approaches, Bigby puts together the clues to a very bizarre case where not everything is what it seems -- and not everyone is doing what they claim.

And then Snow White takes a trip with Rose to the Farm, hoping to repair their damaged relationship. The Farm is basically a secret little town for Fables who are unable to pass for humans -- but they're acting very strangely, with secret meetings and claims that they want to reclaim the Homelands from the Adversary. Then the head of one of the locals turns up on a stake outside the women's hotel -- and the Farm Charter keeps Bigby from coming to investigate.

What Snow doesn't know is that the radical communist Goldilocks is staging a violent rebellion, claiming that the animal-type Fables are "enslaved." While Bigby and Boy Blue try to figure out what's going on, Snow sets out across the dangerous countryside with only one unspelled ally by her side. To reclaim the Farm and quell the bloody rebellion, Snow must call on the help of some very unusual Fables... but that doesn't mean she's out of danger yet.

Bill Willingham is an expert in taking beloved characters from legends, fairy tales and nursery rhymes... and then turning our perceptions of them on their heads (example: Beast and Beauty's marital troubles cause his curse to reassert itself). He's also created a pretty unique fantasy concept -- the Fables and their magic have been driven out of their fantastical homeland, and live as secret refugees in the middle of New York City. It's actually a pretty cool idea.

If it were nothing but a "cool idea" gimmick, "Fables" might be a fun read but not a great one. However, Willingham has a knack for weaving together action-packed, gritty plots with a touch of sex, plenty of splattered gore, and plenty of quirky twists (Pinocchio is angry about being a "real boy" who never grows up). And the first half of this deluxe collection is especially clever -- he spins up a solid murder mystery that intertwines with the other subplots like ivy vines on a stone wall.

And Willingham's cast is as large as the number of beloved free-domain characters. The inhabitants of fairy tales and folk legends loom especially large in the story -- the hard-nosed, no-nonsense Snow White; the bickering Beauty and her Beast hubby; the flirtatious much-married Prince Charming; the grizzled cop Bigby Wolf; supposedly reformed serial killer Bluebeard; a rather embittered Cinderella, and so on.

There are even characters from nursery rhymes, myths and older books, such as animals from "The Jungle Book," Boy Blue and the mythic smith Weyland Smith. Despite the vast cast of characters, Willingham juggles them adeptly and gives each character a distinct personality.

"Fables Deluxe Edition Volume 1" brings together the first two volumes of the now-classic graphic novel, and while each story arc is nicely wrapped up, it leaves you anticipating more of the Fables' battles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really, check it out! It's that good!, February 14, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "Movie Fan" (Alexandria, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fables: The Deluxe Edition Book One (Hardcover)
Around 2001, 2002, I was despairing over the state of comics. I asked my local store if there was anything that was anything good out at the time. He recommended two different titles. One was Y The Last Man and the other was Fables. I was blown away with both. Fables really resonated with me with their clever take on fables. Without giving too much away, Fables are real, and they have been living among us for centuries. They were chased out of their homeland by what they call The Adversary and have been living in anonymity amoung us ever since. They are their own community with its own personalities. Snow White is the administrator of the communication and the Big Bad Wold (going by Bigby Wolf) is the sheriff. Not only are they real, but they have real issues and problems. You will see all sorts of other famous fables including Prince Charming (An incredibly charming and three-time deadbeat divorcee from Snow White, Briar Rose aka Sleeping Beauty and Cinderella), Bluebeard (who may or may not be still killing people), Beauty and the Beast, The Frog Prince, Little Boy Blue, Jack Horner and many others. The irreverent take on their personalities is both witty and engrossing. Standing their stories on their head and continuing their stories in the real world, it is a totally engrossing and fascinating piece of storytelling. The stories stand up in self-contained stories that weave together into a larger mythology tapestry. In this volume, we find out Snow White's sister, Rose Red (look it up) has been murdered, setting off a strange investigation. The second story is a take-off on George Orwell's Animal Farm. The art varies wildly, at times, from great in the beginning, until it settles in on the art of Mark Buckinham when he takes over the reins, giving the series a consistent look. Unfortunately, he is not as good as the first artist, but he is good. The story is first rate, and depending on your sensibilities will be alternately funny and horrifying at times.

A word of caution to parents out there, don't let the title fool you. This is VERY R-rated stuff and not Disney adaptations of popular fables. There is swearing, extremely graphic violence at times, and very frank discussions on all manner of topics. It is not appropriate for younger kids. But depending on your sensibilities, could be good for older teenagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fables: The Deluxe Edition Book One
Fables: The Deluxe Edition Book One by Bill Willingham (Hardcover - October 6, 2009)
$29.99 $20.00
In stock on July 17, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.