Face of Betrayal (A Triple Threat Novel Book 1) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$3.50
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Face of Betrayal (Triple Threat Series #1) Mass Market Paperback – November 2, 2010


See all 15 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$0.44 $0.01

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Check out The Amazon Book Review, our editors' fresh new blog featuring interviews with authors, book reviews, quirky essays on book trends, and regular columns by our editors. Explore now

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Wiehl, a Fox News commentator and legal analyst, teams with mystery veteran Henry (Buried Diamonds) on a sizzling political thriller. When 17-year-old Senate page Katie Converse goes missing on her Christmas break near her parents' white Victorian home in Portland, Ore., law enforcement and media personnel go into overdrive in a search for clues. Three friends at the pinnacle of their respective careers—Allison Pierce, a federal prosecutor; Cassidy Shaw, a crime reporter; and Nicole Hedges, an FBI special agent—soon discover that Katie wasn't the picture of innocence painted by her parents. It appears Katie was having an affair with a much older man, a senator whose political career could be derailed if the affair was publicized. The seamless plot offers a plethora of twists and turns. A blurb from Fox News commentator Bill O'Reilly will help draw attention to Wiehl's debut. (Apr.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From School Library Journal

Home in Portland, OR, for Christmas, 17-year-old Senate page Katie Converse disappears while walking the family dog. The case attracts three women—FBI agent Nicole Hedge, federal prosecutor Allison Pierce, and TV reporter Allison Shaw—who are determined to find Katie and bring her kidnapper to justice. This joint effort by Fox News correspondent Wiehl and mystery author Henry is a good choice for readers of Lisa Gardner's The Survivors Club and James Patterson's "Women's Murder Club" series.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Forge Books; Reprint edition (November 2, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0765366665
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765366665
  • Product Dimensions: 4.1 x 1.1 x 6.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (426 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,373,517 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

I started reading this book and had a hard time putting it down.
Donna Capshaw
I found the story in this book to be acceptable and the characters weren't too much for me.
hollowsins
Twist and turns were very interesting story kept me wanting to continue reading.
Audrey L. Bryant

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

115 of 118 people found the following review helpful By P. Ramirez on April 24, 2009
I love a good mystery as much as the next person. The only problem is that is it exceedingly difficult to find one. I mean, when you have figured it out within the first five chapters, the book quickly becomes irrelevant. No matter how well the characters are developed or how engagingly the book is written.

Luckily, "Face of Betrayal" was a good mystery. One that actually kept me guessing from the first page to the last. Because the characters begin to draw you in from the very beginning, where you are introduced to Allison Pierce. She is a no-nonsense prosecuting attorney who soon finds herself deeply entrenched in the mysterious disappearance of a 17-year old Senate page, Katie. With the help of her friends Cassidy (an up and coming television reporter) and Nicole (an FBI agent), Allison attempts to unravel the twisted threads of Katies life and bring her abductor to light. Over the course of the investigation, it is discovered that Katie may have been carrying on an adulterous affair with a U.S. Senator, which suddenly transforms a missing person case into the story of the year. (In fact, the entire story feels vaguely familiar. It's as if Lis Wiehl took the most sensational parts of the biggest news stories of the last year or so and combined them into one.)

I am not going to say anything that could be a spoiler, but the entire plot of the story is fantastic. Everything flows, the characters are very well developed, and all of the sub-plots are very relevant and come together in the end. (There's nothing worse than a story full of pointless filler plots and red herrings.) And you will find yourself surprised at the twist at the end when the whodunit is exposed.

Honestly, I didn't have the highest of expectations for "Face of Betrayal.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
53 of 54 people found the following review helpful By G. E. Williams VINE VOICE on May 23, 2009
Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Face of betrayal has a lot going for it, but before I talk about that. let me expound briefly what I didn't love.

"Face of betrayal" is not of the caliber of a Dennis Lehane , or James Patterson novel. It isn't quite as tense or near as gritty. Ms. Wiehl has (in this story) an unfortunate habit of using animals for comparison, i.e. "he looked like a wolf", "her face reminded her of a horse", "he moved like an otter" etc. , which may not bother you, but it did me. "Face of betrayal" had some passages that dragged a bit, but not badly.
Now let me talk about the good stuff.

Author Lis Wiehl, is a brilliant (and attractive) woman. She has a Harvard law degree, is a former law professor, is a former federal prosecutor, a working wife and mother, and is a working legal analyst for Fox News , and I often enjoy watching her debate legal issues with Megan Kelly. She is also a devout Christian, and normally that wouldn't come up in a review of mine except for this.

Crime stories are often bulging with torrid sex, and graphic violence to serve as the vehicle for the plot. Usually, when faith enters into a novel, it is either smaltzy and preachy, or demeaning. Ms. Wiehl manages to do something so simple but so unusual that I had to comment. The main protagonist of the story is a([n] attractive of course) prosecutor, who happens to be a devout Christian, who doesn't preach out in monologues, but to whom faith is an important part of her character, and in the story, her faith helps her to live her life in a way that makes her happy and fulfilled. With most of the people I know, faith is a part of what they think, and to a lesser or greater extent, affects what they do. So I say bravo to Ms. Wiehl for including us in the world of her story.
Read more ›
14 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
85 of 90 people found the following review helpful By Kapil Sood on May 11, 2009
I was really looking forward to reading this book on a long international flight. It promised to be fast paced and thrilling and that's what it turned out to be. Face of Betrayal is quite a gripping book and after reading a few pages and having identified with the characters, I wanted to keep reading till the end. The story is about a 17 year old girl, Katie, who on a Christmas break at home goes missing.

The story continues with three women, a reporter, a Federal Prosecutor and a FBI special agent, who keep adding pieces to the puzzle revolving Katie's sudden disappearance. An investigation that starts with theories of kidnapping or running away quickly turns into a murder investigation when Katie's blog reveals her relationship with a Senator. Storyline is pretty fast paced and keeps one glued for more.

What I did not like about the book was intermittent short story lines that never added to the whole plot. I believe these were attempts by Author to establish the character of the three protagonists. Although for me, these were not required as they never made any sense when seen with the bigger picture of Katie's story. As a reader, I did not care too much about the personalities of the protagonists who were not as impressive as the storyline itself. And they were tied to a proper end in themselves.

Also, this book kept me going with a curiosity to know what finally happened to Katie, but in the end I was a bit disappointed with the way the story folded. Author calls it a `Shocking and satisfying twist' but I was seriously unimpressed.

There are too many subjects that Author has tried to deal with in this book - ranging from child molestation, teen sex, and domestic abuse. Sometimes I was confused as to what the book actually was about.
All in all, I was quite satisfied with the book. It could have been better but I don't regret it at all. I will not call it a must read, but it's a good read.
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?