Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars confident, eye-opening and sharp as hell
There has always been something disarmingly grounded about Sherman Alexie's utterly enjoyable poetry. From the first poem til the last in any of his collections, Alexie invites the reader to walk beside him as an equal. Whether he is exploring his own past, his country's political present or his fevered visions of the future, Alexie flips over the subject as many times as...
Published on September 11, 2009 by C. O. Aptowicz

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great poetry, but definitely thought-provoking
Although Alexie's voice is largely the same throughout the poems, it works better in the graphic novel/fiction version of his coming of age self. It's not that Face is bad per se, but it's not great. However, even Alexie himself acknowledges that his poetic ability may not be of the top caliber, but he wants to express himself and makes no apologies.

That said,...
Published on June 17, 2009 by Lindsey Miller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars confident, eye-opening and sharp as hell, September 11, 2009
This review is from: Face (Paperback)
There has always been something disarmingly grounded about Sherman Alexie's utterly enjoyable poetry. From the first poem til the last in any of his collections, Alexie invites the reader to walk beside him as an equal. Whether he is exploring his own past, his country's political present or his fevered visions of the future, Alexie flips over the subject as many times as it takes to showcase all the sides and isn't afraid to use every tool he's got.

"Face," Alexie's latest collection of poetry, absolutely continues this tradition, with challenging, emotionally honest work that is daring, and funny, and human. As a writer, I am constantly impressed by how subtly the poems can change -- starting out firmly anchored in one perspective, and just as the reader begins to understand where things are going, Alexie flips on light within the poem to show you what even he didn't know was hidden.

And although Alexie has published over a dozen poetry books previously (as well as a half dozen books of fiction and several screenplays), he still approaches the page with a fantastic sense of play and wonder. I always enjoy how in his books fresh takes at form poetry rub shoulders with narrative prose poems which sink into the couch with clever and devasting free verse. In this book, Alexie experiments with the use of footnotes -- allowing the reader to explore the same text several times with increasingly levels of information, which has an effect that is sometimes funny and sometimes jarring. He charms and riffs, but he doesn't ever take his eyes off your heart.

This book just serves as further evidence of why Alexie is such an important and unrelentingly influential voice in contemporary American writing. Let's just hope he doesn't wait so long before putting out his next poetry collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fathers, sons and footnotes, May 31, 2009
By 
This review is from: Face (Paperback)
This is a very powerful book about fathers and sons, the father that Sherman Alexie has lost and the sons he is fathering. The first poem describes the interplay between a father protecting his fragile newborn son from losing sleep from the noise of a bird's nest in the eaves and the guilt and sympathetic pain he feels with the "scree-scree-scree" the starling parent makes on discovering the nest and the baby birds are gone.

"We will never know how this winged mother
And father would have buried their children.
Our son almost died at birth. His mother
And I would have buried him in silence."

I was hooked on the book from that first poem.

The other thing that I loved about this book was the poems with footnotes. Somehow that intrigued me. The brevity and intensity of a poem, but things needed further explanation. Fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In-depth and Honest, December 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Face (Paperback)
Beautifully honest prose and poetry. Humor and reality all mixed into one. Reading the majority of Alexie's work, this is, in my opinion, the best poetry/prose he has ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherman at his best, July 9, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Face (Paperback)
Sherman shares both his tears and laughter in another volume of intensely relevant poetry. You can't help but gain insight into his psche and hopefully yours. He's always at his best no matter what form of creativity he employees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't go wrong with Alexie!, January 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Face (Paperback)
I am one of the Alexie fans and this did not disappoint me! It is filled with the humor, cleverness, and Alexie-vulgarisms that one comes to expect from this Spokane. I had intended to use it as a supplemental classroom text but decided to specially choose the selections that I wanted to use due to the maturity of content and the "too-controversial-for-the-South" vulgarity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard Cover, October 29, 2013
This review is from: Face (Hardcover)
I choose my readings based on the talent of the writer, period. Some may think character is important, however, most of us stay with talent. I am getting the hardcover today and I hope to enjoy his work as much as I have enjoyed his interviews. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, October 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Face (Paperback)
Early Sherman Alexie is very strong. Start with his earliest work, such as this title and work around it a bit. His recent stuff is a bit stiff and stilted; the early stuff is far from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite author, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Face (Paperback)
Arrived on time and in excellent condition. Alexie is one of my top three favorite authors. Liked the book, as I do all of Alexie's works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, December 12, 2012
By 
Jeanne Nelson (Murrieta, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Face (Paperback)
I had not read Alexie's poetry, and was curious, so borrowed a copy from the public library. I loved it, so much that I purchased a copy for my best friend, and will likely send copies as Christmas presents. Alexie has a unique approach to crafting his poems, and as poetry should, they touch the heart, they provide a chuckle, they reflect the humanity of us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherman Alexie: A Treat, May 29, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Face (Paperback)
I have read this out loud to my great nephew (12) and he loves the book. He takes it with him for reading, and then we talk and laugh about the lines. Sherman Alexi is always a treat. I wait for each new set of writings by Sherman Alexi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Face
Face by Sherman Alexie (Paperback - April 15, 2009)
$18.00 $16.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.