Customer Reviews


356 Reviews
5 star:
 (202)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Face the Fire
Mia Devlin is a strong beautiful witch that owns a bookstore/café on Three Sisters. She keeps buried a deep hurt from her childhood when the love of her life, Sam Logan, left her broken just out of high school.

Sam is back, and he is determined to win Mia back. He knows what a mistake he made leaving. He was so young, and the powerful emotions she...
Published on February 25, 2008 by Kelly

versus
31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Face The Fire" Is A Wash-Out!
"Face The Fire" is the final book in Nora Roberts' Three Sisters Trilogy, and unfortunately provides a whimper of a finale instead of the expected bang. Her first book, "Dance Upon The Air" is excellent. The second, "Heaven And Earth" is slightly weaker, but well worth reading. This novel, which should have been her strongest, as Mia, her...
Published on November 17, 2003 by Jana L. Perskie


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Face the Fire, February 25, 2008
This review is from: Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
Mia Devlin is a strong beautiful witch that owns a bookstore/café on Three Sisters. She keeps buried a deep hurt from her childhood when the love of her life, Sam Logan, left her broken just out of high school.

Sam is back, and he is determined to win Mia back. He knows what a mistake he made leaving. He was so young, and the powerful emotions she brought out in him scared him, so he ran. Sam is also a witch, and he is willing to use whatever it takes to gain Mia's trust.

Mia and Sam must find their way back to each other, or they will not have the strength for the upcoming fight of their lives.

A great finish to the series. I liked that Mia was fire and Sam was water - fire & ice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Face The Fire" Is A Wash-Out!, November 17, 2003
This review is from: Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
"Face The Fire" is the final book in Nora Roberts' Three Sisters Trilogy, and unfortunately provides a whimper of a finale instead of the expected bang. Her first book, "Dance Upon The Air" is excellent. The second, "Heaven And Earth" is slightly weaker, but well worth reading. This novel, which should have been her strongest, as Mia, her protagonist is the most powerful and interesting of the sister witches, falls into cliche and repetition. It is just plain boring and a big disappointment.
Three Sisters is a small, rocky island off the coast of Massachusetts. Legend has it that the island was once a part of the mainland. Back in the late 1600s, during the Salem witch trials, three sisters, good witches all, known as Fire, Earth and Air, conjured the island and made it a haven against persecution. Unfortunately, the sisters did not fare as well as their island. All three were doomed by unfortunate relationships and a misuse of power. Before the last sister died she cast a spell to keep the island safe for 300 years. At that time she prophesied a reunion of three sisters, descendants of the original three, who would join together to redeem their ancestors, right the wrongs of the past and save their home from destruction.
Mia Devlin, owner of the successful bookstore-cafe on Three Sisters Island, is a strong sorceress, of the white witch variety. She lost the love of her life, Sam Logan, when he left her without warning or explanation ten years before. Mia has closed herself off from intimacy to avoid the fate that destroyed her ancestress 300 years earlier. Sam returns to the island looking to renew his relationship with Mia and runs into a brick wall. Although the chemistry between the two sizzles, Mia is determined not to let Sam back into her heart. As with her sister witches, Nell and Ripley, Mia must face the dangers of the curse that holds the island hostage. It is up to her to meet and challenge the evil that threatens to destroy her home and loved ones, and to triumph over it if she is to save them all.
Unfortunately, Ms. Roberts brings back the same old, now exhausted threads & villains of books one and two, which do nothing to spruce up book three. What a disappointment! Mia and Sam have the potential to be her most interesting characters, but their story gives new meaning to the word "hackneyed." I read the novel to see how everything ends up, having an interest in the characters from books one & two. I should have read an Amazon customer review instead and saved myself the time and money. My advice is to save yours.
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars [Bad] ending to a Promising Beginning, July 3, 2002
By 
Hillary "jezebelxiii" (abington, ma United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
First 2 books = fabulous.
Face The Fire:
* Too much stuff thrown into one book.
* Sam Logan goes from being hardcore businessman to mega-Pagan Witch man. Too much bi-polarity there for me to get into him. Not as likable as other heroes because of this.
* Pacing seemed off (probably because Nora was desperately trying to tie up loose ends).
* Mia and Sam get back together WAY too quickly for someone nursing a heartache as long as she has.
* Ending is not the tumultuous explosion I had wanted, expected, perhaps even needed.
This book didn't deliver . . . great build up in the previous 2 books, but Mia's story (which was the one I had wanted to read the most) I found seriously disappointing. The plot was only so-so, and the writing seemed a bit choppy and jarring at times.
Very sad for me!
happy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissatisfying Conclusion, October 21, 2005
By 
This review is from: Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
The third of 3 books deals with Mia Devlin, super sexy (yet strangely virginal) witch extraordinaire and her long lost love Sam. He left ten years ago ostensibly because he was afraid of all the tales that they were fated to be together, so he wanted to screw about 50% of New York before coming back to her.

Mia is understandably cold to him but quickly loses all the spunk she's build up in the last two books and succumbs to this man who is little more than a dark and moody slut. She crumbles like a very dumb and weak woman, the kind you saw in romance novels of the 1970's and 1980's, and from the way Roberts wrote the dialogue I expected some bodice ripping any time, which never came.

Nora Roberts couldn't even think of a new enemy so she brings us the insane imprisoned ex-husband of the heroine from book one (Dance Upon the Air), and now he has magical powers that tap into the dark side of the island!

Sadly, the side tale of the Three Sisters of centuries ago that the island is named for is more interesting than this love story. At least the old legend is emotionally taut and satisfyingly wrapped up.

Sam is a cardboard hero; tall, dark, arrogant and pushy with little human emotions in him. Mia was a fiery sexy heroine, but she is reduced to virginal and naïve status, except when she is flirting with the hero of book two (Heaven and Earth) who is married to her best friend. That really creeped me out.

Still, if the first two hooked you, you'll want to read this story. If you haven't started the "Three Sisters" novels, try her "Tears of the Moon" "Jewels of the Sun" etc. stories for a much better plot about 3 people bound to fall in love with new lovers and old friends to break an ancient curse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weak, but still a good story, August 12, 2002
By 
This review is from: Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
Nora Roberts not so good books are better than many of other authors best books.
Sam and Mia are on the same island again. They are learning to work through old pains and hurts and to love each other again. The passion is intense. The story is nice. It is a nice ending to a lovely series.
I rated this four stars rather than the usual five. I found this book to be much anticipated and it did not live up to the promises hinted at in the other books of this series. Further, I got tired of hearing about how Nell was a good cook. To top that all of, once I learned the story of how Mia was hurt and why Sam had left, I was dissapointed with the poor reasoning.
Despite the above problems I had with the book, the series is wonderful and the story is nice. The book is rich in passion and history and love. It is well worth reading, particularly if you have read the others in the series.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Read! Enchanting!, June 3, 2002
By 
This review is from: Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
"Face the Fire" by Nora Roberts is the final instalment in the enchanting Three Sisters Island trilogy, which has captivated me from book one. Staying true to its predecessors, this final book does not disappoint. Full of vivid and insightful characterizations, steamy romance, and just the right dose of fantasy, "Face the Fire" will leave you believing in magic.
Mia Devlin is a strong, determined, and savvy businesswoman and an immensely powerful witch. She has great friends, especially Nell and Ripley, her sisters of the heart and fellow witches, a beautiful home and garden, and a wonderful bookstore that does great business, but Mia isn't truly happy. Ever since Sam Logan walked out of her life eleven years ago, leaving her young heart in pieces on the ground, she has closed off a part of herself that she never plans to open again.
Everything is going fine with her plan to keep her heart blocked off from ever being broken again, until the day that Sam Logan strolls into her bookstore and back into her life. But Mia greets Sam, who has returned to Three Sisters to reclaim her, with painfully polite icy indifference. For though the energy still snaps and sparks in the air between them, Mia knows she just won't survive having her heart torn out a second time.
But Sam is here to stay, and he won't give Mia up without a fight. The interplay between Mia and Sam is expertly rendered by Roberts, as we watch Mia's range of reactions to Sam's persistence. When they are together, Mia and Sam all but send sparks from the pages, sometimes in passion and sometimes in pure frustration and anger.
But no matter what Mia decides is in her heart, she had better do it fast, because the deadline for breaking a centuries old curse is mere months away. Mia can feel the evil forces hovering around the edges of her world, and if she doesn't win the fight against that evil, the people she loves will be in great danger, and the Island she so loves will fall into the sea.
"Face the Fire" is a fantastic read and I will most definitely read it again. It was wonderful to see lots of Nell & Zack and Ripley & Mac in this novel (the main characters from the two previous books in the trilogy). Mia is a wonderfully strong and courageous heroine who readers will become very attached to. And though it's fun watching Sam squirm when he first arrives on Three Sisters, he will win readers over with his sincere devotion to Mia and keeping her safe. This book is full of magic and romance, and contains a lovely tale of true love and destiny that I found irresistible. "Face the Fire" comes highly recommended, so buy it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars C+ Effort!, July 15, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
Alas.... I was disappointed with this latest book "Face the Fire" By Nora Roberts. I do not know how such an exciting premise, and storyline could fall so flat, but Face manages to do so.
Face the fire, was like anticipating drinking a latte... Only to find out the milk had gone sour.
Don't get me wrong. I love Nora. But her last two books have lacked her usual spark.
Mia Devlin, wiccan guru, is destined to save the island and all she holds dear, if she can only open her heart to love. Sam Logan (how many romance novel heroes are called Logan or Sam? ), business-man-wiccan, returns to the island, to reclaim his birthright.... The magic inn. What follows is a clash of wills, as Logan struggles to convince Mia that he loves her... despite walking out on her ten years ago.
Mia, as a character suffers from 'superman' syndrome. She is too powerful, too smart, and too ...... "Too Everything.." in my opinion.
Sam, is the same character as half a dozen Robert's men (Cam from the Chesapeake Bay series for example), except, with the added twist that he is a practicing witch. I would've liked to see Sam be different, perhaps more sensitive because of his witchiness and selkie heritage. Instead, Sam is no more enlightened (and is perhaps more clueless) than the average guy.
There were plot threads in this book that went nowhere, and ended abruptly. The part about the book signing and the authoress? What's up with that?
Overall, a good, but not great novel by Nora. If you wish to read a better Wiccan series by Nora, pick up the Donovan Legacy, you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uh...thats it?, October 27, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
Not up to par in any way, shape, or form. this series had GREAT build up, first with Nell, then with Ripley, but Mia...
Sweetie... dont you know "Hell hath no fury, like a woman scorned."?
I mean really there seemed to be no "fire" in the scenes no anger for the way or reason Sam Logan just up and left the island.
It was like He's back lets forgive him... but that's not my only issue...
What happened at the end? Good versus Evil? With Nell, she had to face her past, with Ripley she had to accept, whats Mia doing????
Just to set the record sraight I am a HUGE Nora FAN! But i was so disappointed in this book. So disappointed, infact, that when I finished reading it, I turned it back to page one and started over because I never thought that it would just end... with no...anything it just ends. No pop not even a fizzle.
So in closing READ NORA ROBERTS...just not this book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a letdown..., August 11, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
The third in a trilogy, Face the Fire was disappointingly slow and uninteresting. I would read it to complete the trilogy, but I do not recommend it as one of Roberts' great pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Disappointing, July 21, 2002
By 
This review is from: Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
Believe it or not, I'm a fan of Ms. Roberts which was probably the reason I stuck with riding out this book, praying for it to get better. Unfortunately, it didn't--in fact, it got a lot worse. If I were to use one word to discribe this in context with the entire series, it would be anticlimatic.
In Dance Upon the Air-the first in Three Sisters Island series, there is this undertone of a larger picture. There is a challenge that Nell as the heroine and Zack as the hero must face together and the subtle hint of something to be completed through out the series. The larger picture, the reader is led to believe, will build up and reach a conclusion in the last book. All the while, in the first and the second, the blantant challenges are faced. Nell and Zack and then Ripley and Mac (Heaven and Earth). So someone whose read the first two novels begin to expect the revelation of the larger picture, a joining of everyone of the characters to face the final challenge.
This doesn't really happen. Besides the general lack of closure to the series, Mia's story itself was less than satisfying considering that Sam had literally broken her heart-on purpose years before. He isn't even dragged through hot coals for what he did to her. He gets off, in my opinion scot free and we're-the readers supposed to appreciate Mia's lack of character that she's taken him back without so much as a struggle to ruin his ego. As a result, Mia who seemed strong and intelligent in the previous novels, seems weak in this one. Besides that, the personal challenge that Mia is supposed to face never really occured. It seemed more obscure than their union to fend of an illusive demon-wolf. Was it her loving Sam again? Because if it was the sense of her falling for him again, or that she ever had was somewhat flimsy.
I've read the entire series. I didn't love Dance Upon the Air but thought it was very good - albeit a little similar to Sleeping With the Enemy. I LOVED Heaven and Earth and I think it's one of her bests but Face the Fire was extrememly lacking of the magic I know Nora Roberts is capable of. I'm sure even some other die-hard fans of hers were just as disappointed as I-unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island Trilogy)
Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island Trilogy) by Nora Roberts (Mass Market Paperback - May 28, 2002)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.