Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Faces of the Moon
Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$15.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 11, 2009
Faces of the moon, a beautifully written and illustrated story of the lunar cycle is IMHO, destined to become a children's classic. It is the rare author that can take what can be an admittedly confusing and mundane concept (lunar phases) and present it in such a way that the reader is not only entertained but attains an intuitive understanding of the subject matter. Very highly reccomended for children of all ages who have yet to lose their sense wonder of the world around them.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2015
Wonderful book from every standpoint. Most of the writing is poetic in the service of a basic yet nonetheless scientific understanding, and the delightfully colourful pictures are imaginative, beautifully compatible with the text, and unfussy. I say that 'most of the writing' is poetic because there is an explanatory page at the back of the book, a model of direct description with a helpful piece of artwork to illuminate one aspect of it. The mnemonic guide on the facing page is informative and helpful. I'm 47 and I bought this for myself! And I bought it because I love to see how other artists do things and I'm interested in the moon, but not in exhaustive detail. Parents as well as children are sure to enjoy this book, and learn from it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2009
"Faces of the Moon" is an educational book for children age 6 and up with verse descriptions of each phase of the moon, along with appropriately shaped cutout moon images on the pages to highlight the shape of that moon phase. Full of handy facts and hints, including the approximate time of night or day each phase of the moon rises or sets, "Faces of the Moon" catalogs the monthly changes of the moon in a logical progression that is carefully tied to full page color illustrations. A fun part of "Faces of the Moon" is the Moon Memo-Rhymes at the end, which is a list of fun ways to remember Moon facts. The eight phases of the moon are shown labeled and circling the half -darkened earth, to illustrate the role of the light of the sun in the showing of the moon's phases. "Faces of the Moon" is sure to enchant and inform both children and parents with its charming, imaginative format.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2012
This is a good book but I have to give it a lower score because the author uses the same misleading word, "shadows", several times.
I'm convinced that Bob Crelin knows exactly how phases come about - after all, he designed the really cool Moon Gazer's Wheel that allows us to figure out what phase we can observe during any given day/night at any given time. He also explains phases correctly in this book.
What he calls the "shadowed face" is generally called the dark part of the Moon or simply its night side; that's the same on Earth where we call the night side dark or night but never shadow. I know what he means (the Moon's night side is in its own shadow) and he and I know that (I'm an astronomer). But to the lay person, using the word shadow is misleading because they interpret as meaning the Earth's shadow (which it is not - Earth's shadow only ever plays a role when it causes a lunar eclipse on the full moon about every six months).
Anyway, the way I fixed my book is that I took some white tape and wrote on it:
(page 4) 'and paints her "darkened" face' instead of shadowed,
(page 6) 'light and "darkness" change' instead of shadows,
(page 19) 'not a "dark part" to be found' instead of shadow,
(page 21) 'the "dark sides" start - on Moon's most western part' instead of shadows,
(page 30) 'Half of the Moon is in sunlight, while the other half is "dark".' instead of in shadow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The changing face of the moon is often a wondrous awe-inspiring vision to look at. The changing shapes are beautiful, but what do they mean? Each "face (or lunar phase)" represents a time frame of twenty-nine days. Sometimes when we look at the moon we only see a small sliver, or crescent, while other times we can see a full moon. It seems so mysterious, but there is really a very simple explanation for these faces. When the sun shines on the moon "it paints her shadowed face with light to make the phase we see." When the Earth orbits around the sun we can watch the changes in the sky.

"Each changing face (or lunar phase)
repeats each nine-and-twenty days:
from thin to thick, from dark to light;
sometimes in day, sometimes at night."

In this marvelous book you will learn about the new moon. It appears to be invisible because it is between Earth and the sun and the "sunlit side is turned away." The Waxing Crescent, or growing moon, is next in this marvelous cycle. It is like a little crescent sliver. You will read and learn about the First Quarter Moon, the Waxing Gibbous Moon, the Full Moon, the Waning Gibbous Moon, the Last Quarter Moon, the Waning Crescent Moon and when they rise and set.

This is an amazing book that both young and old will enjoy and learn from. The rhyming scheme is perfect and doesn't miss a beat as it tells us the story of the lunar phases of the moon. The set up of the book is as dazzling as a full moon with the die cut sections (including the cover) representing the individual phase and illustrated tabs so the reader can easily flip back and forth at his or her leisure. In the back of the book is more information on the connections between the Moon, the Earth and the Sun and "Moon Memo-Rhymes" that make learning moon facts easy and fun. This is an astronomically fun, informative book on Moon phases you won't want to pass up!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 21, 2011
Here is a graceful explanation of how and why the shape of the moon seems to change over time. Scientific fact is presented as a pleasing story in verses that work equally well for reading aloud or for independent reading. Smaller type on the page for each phase tells approximate times that the moon is visible at that stage. Tabs at the edge of the pages let the reader turn right to a particular shape. At the end of the book, a series of rhymed couplets offer "Moon Memo-Rhymes" to help remember moon facts. The presentation dispels a common misconception that phases are caused by earth's shadow crossing the moon; in fact, they are the amount of reflected sunlight that is visible according to the moon's position in relation to the earth. A particular strength of this book is the ingenious use of die-cut holes in the pages, allowing different parts of the full moon to show. The result is successful and satisfying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2015
Makes me appreciate and understand how awesome and important our planet and the moon are. Now when I look at the moon, I readily understand the different phases. Great book, easy to read and beautifully written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2011
This has cut-outs so that you can watch the lunar phases as they wax and wane. It also includes easy-to-find tabs displaying the lunar phase on each page. It includes at what part of day the moon can been seen when its in that phase. What a great concept!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2010
This is a great book all about the moon. The inside is set up with tabs so you can quickly check out various stages of the moon. I have had a great time sharing this with my son.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2011
An excellent book, Faces of the Moon provides a clear description of lunar phases. When an author uses novelty to explain an often difficult concept, everyone learns and enjoys too. I use this outstanding book with 2nd graders when I visit their classrooms and they create phases of the moon using Oreo cookies. They understand waxing and waning phases as I read the book while they create their cookie phases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse