Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mandatory Reading for anyone nearing retirement, June 14, 2011
This review is from: Facing Goliath: How to Triumph in the Dangerous Market Ahead (Paperback)
It was just three years ago that the financial world as we know it ended in the spectacular collapse of the real estate and banking sectors. Hundreds of billions of dollars in stock market values and home equity evaporated almost overnight, delaying indefinitely the retirement plans of many baby boomers. Yet now, after more than two years of almost uninterrupted bull market, investors appear to be letting their guard down again and are making many of the mistakes they made in the years leading up to the crash. To give an example, risk premia in junk bonds and emerging market bonds have all but disappeared--implying that investors believe that these volatile sectors are no longer risky. Easy money made available by the Federal Reserve has helped to unleash the market's animal spirits again, but is the optimism warranted?

In Facing Goliath, Keith Springer gives it to you straight. He is neither a bull nor a bear; he is a realist. There are plenty of attractive investment opportunities out there for investors willing to take a tactical approach. But those investors accustomed to growing wealthy by buying and holding have a long, hard slog in front of them. The tailwinds that pushed the market forward over the past 30 years have now reversed to create some very menacing headwinds. Unlike in 1982, the start of the last secular bull market, we are not starting from a position of high and falling interest rates and inflation; both are near 30-year lows.

Furthermore, the easy credit that characterized the period is now a thing of the past. Rather than make new loans, banks are struggling to repair their balance sheets. And consumers, given that their homes are likely underwater, have little interest in borrowing more, even at rock-bottom rates.

Using historical examples ranging from 18th century France to 1990s Japan to support his arguments, Springer sees a prolonged period of on again / off again deflation and advises his readers on how best to invest in this climate.

If you are concerned about your retirement savings, pick up a copy of Facing Goliath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Precise, concise, no fluff, August 29, 2011
By 
Bill Pennock (West Sacramento, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Facing Goliath: How to Triumph in the Dangerous Market Ahead (Paperback)
Keith is a master at taking complex subjects and boiling them down to the basic driving facts. Once done with that he can weave the emotional texture over the top so you can cope with both the long term market drivers and the short term pounding of the drums. He is focused and doesn't fill the book with alot of redundant noise or divergent paths. It is precise and to the point. It will not waste your time on any page. While not the only book you should read it is one of the MUST reads, and multiple reads in my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE LISA BRYS SHOW AM 1380 KTKZ - Sat 7 a.m., October 4, 2012
This review is from: Facing Goliath: How to Triumph in the Dangerous Market Ahead (Paperback)
I research the guests for my radio show THE LISA BRYS SHOW on AM 1380 KTKZ on Saturday morning's at 7:00 a.m. and I was interested in finding an expert in the financial field.

I had heard of Keith Springer on the Armstrong and Getty Show and had run across his book Facing Goliath in my local Berean bookstore.

His book is wonderful, he made difficult financial information easy to understand and fun! I look forward to Keith being on my show January 12, 2013.

Thank you Keith,

Lisa Brys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book with well researched and common sense answers, June 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Facing Goliath: How to Triumph in the Dangerous Market Ahead (Paperback)
I'm a concerned investor trying to find some answers for these troubled times and to help shape my thought process and approach for future investing. This book definitely helped me with a vast amount of data and research confirming the conclusions and recommendations. I'm a big believer in 80/20 (leverage) and cause and effect (root cause analysis), and Keith uses both of these principles throughout. I've had the opportunity to meet with Keith and his associate (Ed Guanill) to further understand their logic/approach and confirm the findings. I strongly recommend this book to anyone willing to take the time to get a handle on what drives the economy and is as concerned as I about our future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A page turner, April 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Facing Goliath: How to Triumph in the Dangerous Market Ahead (Paperback)
Keith Springer has managed to explain complex economic subjects so main street understands them. He is also one of the few that see deflation rather than inflation as a real and threatening market force on the horizon. Keith masterfully draws parallels to the issues that toppled Japan off the throne of economic leadership in the 80'.
This is a must read for those willing to think outside the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Changing Landscape, March 16, 2012
This review is from: Facing Goliath: How to Triumph in the Dangerous Market Ahead (Paperback)
The market is constantly changing, molding and moving in a direction that is understood by few. Keith Springer is one of those people that see the upcoming shifts. This is a must read for anyone looking to stay ahead of the curve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Information delivered with clarity and humor..., March 9, 2012
This review is from: Facing Goliath: How to Triumph in the Dangerous Market Ahead (Paperback)
As a practicing CPA, I have ample opportunity to read reports and analysis of all sorts, but seldom am I treated to an explanation of complex matters that have been translated into such simple terms, and with humor, to boot. Reading any analysis of our complex economic system is a daunting task at best. I generally find myself looking for that trusty shortcut...the 'Executive Summary'. But Springer moves from point to point with such clarity and good humor that any summary of the book would truly do the book an injustice. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to step up to the next level of understanding. And yes, I do include all of you professionals who want to more competently explain these matters to your clients. Of course, if you are the client, you will better understand what you financial planner is to for you (or to you) by reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally...an investment book that is truly helpful and easy to read., March 7, 2012
This review is from: Facing Goliath: How to Triumph in the Dangerous Market Ahead (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and continue to recommended it to my friends and family. The book was extremely easy to read and is very thought provoking. More importantly, it is relevant to what is going on in the market and what you need to do about it to protect yourself. Mr. Springer has a knack for translating complex economic principles into easy to understand concepts...and in plain English. What a refreshing alternative from what I'm used to and well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars After reading Facing Goliath, I can sleep better., February 9, 2012
This review is from: Facing Goliath: How to Triumph in the Dangerous Market Ahead (Paperback)
Keith explained the financial mess America is in, in a clear and succinct manner. Moreover, I can now sleep at night because Keith seems to have the knack for making sense of it all to me, reducing my anxiety over my hard earned investments. Facing Goliath made me feel better about the future. Not that is will be perfect. Only that it seems to be predictable if one methodically puts all the pieces of the puzzle together before making an investment decision. He believes in not rushing, read the signs first. I recommend this book to anyone who has investments. And who wants to sleep better. Tony
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Service, January 30, 2012
This review is from: Facing Goliath: How to Triumph in the Dangerous Market Ahead (Paperback)
Keith Springer is a great financial planner and great service! He has real insights on how to navigate the most complicated market. His book is interesting to read and full of knowledge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Facing Goliath: How to Triumph in the Dangerous Market Ahead
Facing Goliath: How to Triumph in the Dangerous Market Ahead by Keith Springer (Paperback - June 15, 2011)
$14.95 $13.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.