Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:$10.95+ $3.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

HALL OF FAMEon October 25, 2004
Shelley Duvall, creator and producer of the FAERIE TALE THEATRE series, takes centre stage in the lead role of RAPUNZEL, one of the best entries in the series.

Gena Rowlands is deliciously evil as the jealous old witch who takes the young girl from her parents and imprisons her in an impossibly tall tower in the middle of an enchanted forest.

Jeff Bridges is great as the dashing Prince who charms Rapunzel and plans to elope with her. Their scenes together are very beautiful, and their chemistry is evident for all to see.

Shelley Duvall and Jeff Bridges also portray Rapunzel's parents at the beginning of the tale, which is a nice touch.

Filled with dazzling costumes and an intelligent script, RAPUNZEL is worth a look, as are all the other great FAERIE TALE THEATRE's.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2004
Probably my favourite episode from Faerie Tale Theatre is absolutely sweet! Shelley Duvall makes a magnificent and angelic Rapunzel, and Jeff Bridges is witty and charming as the Prince. Gena Rowlands is scary and stylish as the wicked witch. With a touching music score,a dedicated and romantic script and an intelligent narrator Roddy MacDowwell, you're bound to have a classic...and yes...you do!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2006
I love this addition to the series. Shelley Duvall is enchanting, in front of or behind the scenes. I am a huge fan of her work and have loved this series since I was a small boy.

This episode is stupendous! Gena Rowlands is phenominal as the witch. Wounded and human, this witch is more encompassing than most. Jeff Bridges is appealing to both children and adults in his effortless manipulation of charm. Shelley, well, she is as magnetic and stalwart as ever. The colors and gorgeously painted sets can transport back to a time when we all could believe in faerie tales.

There is a thread of magic which is rampant throughout these tales. The amazing casts, who basically GAVE their time and talents to make these projects come to life, never disappoint. I was a hardcore fan at 5 years old and I am still.

THANK YOU SHELLEY.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2011
For whatever reason, I vividly remember watching this FTT episode as a child. Unfortunately, watching it as an adult (with a younger sibling) did not live up to the billing.

The first half of the episode is so drawn out to be boring, while the second half is filled with cheesy dialogue and weird (often disturbing, for young children) special effects.

The main guest stars in this one are Jeff Bridges, Shelley Duvall, and Gina Rowlands.

Skip this installment and move along to better ones that indeed exists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2005
The only flaws in this fairy tale, as the others in the series, come from a low budget. The costume changes are few, the sets usually leave something to be desired. And with Rapunzel, that goes double. So what? It's a fairy tale land, a realm where you use your imagination, and if you can't, maybe you should try harder.

Every actor does a splendid job. Shelly Duvall shines as the innocent, unwittingly charming Rapunzel. She also plays Rapunzel's mother, and does a credible job there too. Jeff Bridges plays both Prince and Father. As the father figure, he infuses a delightful humor into the role, and as the Prince, he brings a dashing romance that will have little girls and mothers everywhere sighing wistfully. Gena Rowlands plays the witch with range. One minute, she's a genuinely loving mother, the next she's a cold-hearted force of evil. She's a villainess with heart, one that will scare the kiddies, but not scar them for life.

Watch this with your kids, younger relatives, or watch it to connect with your inner child. It's a treasure to be sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2010
SPOILERS FOLLOW

Fearlessly mature, Faerie Tale Theatre's "Rapunzel" is a high water mark in the series' enduring legacy.

Starring series creator Shelley Duvall as both the title character and her mother Marie, and featuring such giants as Jeff Bridges and Gena Rowlands, "Rapunzel" expertly tells the story of the lonely girl with the long hair locked in a high tower. A handsome, if spatially limited, production marks this film. It beautifully walks a fine line between the suspense needed for the story and over-the-top scares for young ones. I will tentatively say that this should not outright scare kids, but intrigue them with very well-done suspense and intelligence.

Also featuring welcome narration by Roddy McDowell(the 1968 original "Planet of the Apes" film) and a screenplay loaded with wit, Faerie Tale Theatre's "Rapunzel" is exceptional.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 16, 2004
After years of waiting, Faerie Tale Theatre fans can finally own the series on DVD. Shelley Duvall's series originally appeared on Showtime 20 years ago and featured well-known and rising stars of the time. The series' enthusiastic interpretations of beloved fairy tales has made it a cult classic. Better yet, the DVD prices are affordable, especially after the high prices the used VHS copies have been earning in recent years.

About this episode:

A couple loses their newborn daughter to a witch after stealing from her garden. When the daughter, Rapunzel, grows up she is kept prisoner in her own private tower by the witch until a handsome prince climbs up her ladder of hair one day.

Cast:
Gena Rowlands ... Witch
Jeff Bridges ... Prince
Shelley Duvall ... Rapunzel / Mother
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2003
Being a great fan of the old brother grimms fairy tales this one holds true to the original story with each detail. I was very impressed with all of shelley duvalls work in the fairy tale theatre classics. They are and always have been a favorite of our family
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 1999
My 13 year old granddaughter and I both enjoyed ALL of Shelley Duvall's wonderful Faerie Tale Theater Productions as she was growing up . Their humor and moral content are exemplary and do not talk down to the viewer. I now have 2 more grand daughters and am sad not to have access to all those wonderful videos. A few have been found at library or Blockbuster but would love access to all.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2001
I love this movie its wonderful if you havent seen this movie see it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.