Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Allure about this disc...
I'm under the distinct impression that Christian hardcore from the south can do no wrong. Every band I've ever heard that is associated with Beloved, in anyway, has just rocked out. The first tour (and last tour) I ever saw them play on was with Dead Poetic, Underoath and Norma Jean. (the tour after that which I missed included Between the Buried and Me) Now that is...
Published on May 5, 2005 by RaY RaY Pine

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Album!
When i first heard these guys i was supprised that they where on tooth and nail records because i thought they where not christian. Come too find out they are stright up christian the name alone gives it away. I love there songs and the way they are presented each song has it's own feel too it from sad and angry to happy and joyful. Although With the happy songs you...
Published on May 4, 2004 by Action Reaction


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Allure about this disc..., May 5, 2005
This review is from: Failure on (Audio CD)
I'm under the distinct impression that Christian hardcore from the south can do no wrong. Every band I've ever heard that is associated with Beloved, in anyway, has just rocked out. The first tour (and last tour) I ever saw them play on was with Dead Poetic, Underoath and Norma Jean. (the tour after that which I missed included Between the Buried and Me) Now that is some company!

When Beloved played there final show in Salem-Winston I saw them with Glass Casket, Classic Case, Underoath and members of Norma Jean-- this band has done so much in the five years of their existence and, when you listen to this album you understand. Everyone respects them and to understand why, you need to truly give them your ear.

"Failure on My Lips" (not only the first track on the CD but also the title track) opens in a similar way that _The Running_ EP does... not the same notes or anything, just the sense of urgency that you can hear in the chords and progressions. The song is summed up by one line, "Choking on all of the feelings that I'm swallowing in..." This song "runs" much like that EP, keeping you moving and guessing, searching for what Beloved are talking about until the song swells and drummer Joe Musten comes in growling overtop of distorted chords. Go to minute 3:09 of this track and you hear what makes Beloved the band they are, 3 distinct guitar parts creating an environment of beauty and aggression.

The three pronged guitar attack isn't over done on this album, it's a necessity. One guitar playing lead lines, one playing staccato rhythms and the other playing atmospheric sounds to fill the space. This album, from the get go, proves that is not just another "grab ass hardcore band" trying to make it big on the sudden explosion of popularity. These boys from NC combine the unadulterated aggression of hardcore with a softer, gentler atmospheric approach that this reviewer would find more akin to a band like The Cave In or even think Hopesfall _Satellite Years_ (when they were still making genuine music) during the spacey parts.

Lead singer Josh Moore doubles as clean vocals and back-up screams while Joe (drummer) does most of the lead screams. Each member of the band are top notch musicians though I have to point out that Joe Musten might be the best drummer in melodic hardcore right now if not only for his sense of taste and purpose-- he plays exactly what needs to be played.

Each song on Beloved's first and only LP flow into each other like a well told story. Some people might say that the specific flow isn't strong song writing as much as it may be all the songs sounding alike. I disagree with that statement and ask anyone who enjoys this style to listen with an open mind and tell me these songs are not unique pieces of music put together so perfectly with a flow so seamless that you are lost until, suddenly, the album is over.

This band wears their Christianity on there sleeves but think not of this as some religious doctrine as much as it is as a clear sense of purpose and direction. Beloved are normal guys dealing with doubt, love, and loss like everyone else and its most obvious on tracks like "Allure" and "Rise and Fall" where lyrics like "I'll carry this burden of memory..." and "A name that lingers on a blank face/ Can never fill a heart that's sinking fast/ and hurting to feel."

If you are a fan of melodic hardcore with a unique sensibility, this band is for you. If you are a fan of music in general and can deal with the growling of hardcore music, I challenge you to give this band a listen and let them grow on you... as they have on this writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Melodic Hardcore Should Be Done, December 19, 2005
By 
LeftManOut (TheCityThatNeverSleeps, FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Failure on (Audio CD)
Let's face it, in today's world there are far too many melodic hardcore bands who are all doing similar things and all sounding more or less the same. However there were a few distinct bands that understood the key to becoming a true standout in the melodic hardcore genre. Beloved was one of those bands. Search your entire hardcore or metal collection. Search the internet over, but I guarantee you will never find another band that sounds like Beloved, because the key was Beloved did not try to sound like anyone else. Everything about Beloved's "Failure On", their only full length, is absolutely beautiful. There are countless numbers of innovations that could be cited from this album, although only upon listening to this wonderful masterpiece will you ever understand how truly different this is from most of the hardcore that was released during its time. "Failure On" was, and still is, one of the most essential melodic hardcore recordings to have ever been released, and despite the fact that Beloved is no longer together, nothing about the record or its beauty has changed.

In 2003 melodic hardcore was booming. Hot off the recent success of bands like From Autumn To Ashes, Atreyu and Poison The Well, hundreds of imitators were springing up everywhere trying to emulate the sound that had become so popular in the scene at the time. When "Failure On" came along it was distinctly different from any of the other records in its time, yet there was something strikingly hardcore about it. Where others would simply take the style that bands like PTW and FATA had made popular and simply tweek it or add slightly different elements, Beloved went in with their own ideas and thoughts of how the music should be played, and with "Failure On" that came to its zenith.

From the beginning of their career Beloved had always been a band more focused on melody than crushing brutality. Yet if someone were to listen to a track like "Death From Decay" or "Inner Pattern", you wouldn't initially think that. Joshua Moore can easily stretch his vocals to churn out angelic harmonies, and then seconds later guttural screams. This juxtapose of vocal styles might not be the most original, but very few vocalists are capable of trading off between singing and screaming in such an extraordinary fashion (the only others I can think of are Jesse Leach formerly of Killswitch Engage and Jeff Moreira of Poison The Well). The most important thing is that you never feel like the screaming or singing is forced, it all just flows naturally. Musically Beloved had a way of combining melodic passages with heavily saturated brutality that few bands possess. I've never really been a fan of the three guitar attack. In most bands it just seems so useless because the third guitar player more or less serves as simply a second rhythm guitarist which is about as necessary as a cowbell or other obscene instrument. However Beloved incorporating the the third guitar in an essential manner, as all three of the guitarists (Joshua Moore, Dusty Redmon, Matt Harrison) make every note they play on their fretboards count. Combined with the outstanding rhythm section of Johnny Smrdel on bass Joe Musten on drums, and you already have a formula for success. Like I said very few bands have ever shown the ability to harness both serenity and rage the way that Beloved did.

"Failure On" is also an album which has no weak points. From start to finish this record is one that can't be turned off very easily. Looking for heavy material? Check the aforementioned "Death From Decay" or "Inner Pattern". Fan of more melody filled passages? Then "Only Our Faces Hide" and "Death To Traitors" will be right up your alley. However despite offering all ends of the spectrum, Beloved are at their best when they are effortlessly drifting in and out of melody and madness as displayed on songs like "Failure On My Lips" and "Watching The Lines Blur". Devastating breakdowns instantly become emotionally charged choruses and vice versa on these stellar pieces. Really the whole album itself is 10 excellent songs, and I hate to single any out. The remaining songs are just as worthy of your time as any of the listed tracks, so if you find favor in one, you're going to love this entire cd.

Unfortunately Beloved is no longer together. However the music they left behind still continues to influence many of the more melodic bands in the hardcore scene today. Screamo and other emo related genres with hardcore touches especially owe "Failure On" a lot of thanks because Beloved paved the way for more melodic acts to be accepted into the hardcore scene. "Failure On" is an album that you will only fully appreciate and realize its greatness after listening. There is honestly not one thing about this album that I would change. Although Beloved may no longer be making music, they left behind three incredible pieces of work that are still among my favorite albums. If you happened to have not listened to their E.P's "The Running" and "... And So It Goes" I would highly recommend those as well. There was no failure whatsoever associated with this release; this is indeed a classic and a staple for all melodic hardcore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Genuine, Timeless Masterpiece, May 14, 2006
By 
Stan Barosky (Waitsfield, VT) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Failure on (Audio CD)
"Failure On" is a phenominon that I haven't quite understood yet. If you've taken the time to read any of the other reviews, "hardcore," "emo," "screamo," "hard rock," and "post-hardcore," will come up quite frequently. You must realize that, to this day, "Failure On" is an amalgamation of only the BEST qualities of those aforementioned genres.

Vocals are rich, edgy, heart-felt, and aggressive all at once. The screams, which I've never been too fond of in any music, have a perfect tone for a sound that is so aggressive. Beloved's lyrics are nothing short of brilliant. I'm always disappointed by the lyrics of today's rock music, whatever genre. It's always about relationships, growing up, and death. Beloved poses life-messages as well as those other archetypal messages. Listen to the words of "Only Our Faces Hide," or "Inner Pattern." ("We can't carry this vessel to shore/Without an anchor of hope.") A very Christian message that can relate to anybody who cares to remember it.

Guitars are so appropriately harmonized it's ridiculous. Sure, there are a lot of other bands who can top Beloved as far as their chops, and impress the hell out of everyone with ridiculous riffs. These guitars in "Failure On," however, craft beautiful harmonies as previous reviewers have described, and they never get in the way of the vocals. They paint a picture before they shred. They move your soul before they move your body. They aren't even very complex, from a musician's standpoint, but are some of the most touching riffs I've heard in any music even beyond rock.

Joe Musten (the drummer) as a previous reviewer said, should be a model to hardcore/post-hardcore/modern rock drummers everywhere. I hate to make this analogy in such a different genre, especially because it's so young comparitively, but Musten is like Art Blakey was to jazz. I know this is a very bold comment, but this drummer knows exactly what to play and exactly where to play it. His drumming does nothing but contribute to the sound of the band, the build-up of each song, and the execution of each climax. He is very skilled but he never gets carried away. I urge anyone who listens to this album to check out the intracacies of of what Musten is doing and then take a step back to realize how he is shaping the song just as vitally as the guitars/vocals, playing more than just beats, but keeping it real all the same.

The bass player, while never really in the foreground, makes a presence as the solid rhythmic foundation of this band. I'm sure not many people even take notice to that, but as a bass player, I certainly do. Since the guitars are generally doing their own thing and there is no doubling of rhythm guitar/bass on most of the tracks, the bass is setting up the chord structure. It's a shame Beloved disbanned because the bass creativity probably would have grown.

There is a lot more to say, a lot more to tell about each song, but straight up, I will tell you that Beloved was one of the most original and perfect modern rock bands to ever have existed. This is clearly demonstrated in "Failure On." As a jazz musician, I still listen to this album quite frequently, that's how respectable I find them and how musically vital they are. I've always thought about what makes their sound so unique when you can hear hints of any hardcore/emo band in their playing. It could be the drummer's perfect taste, or the sheer beauty of the guitar landscapes, or the crafty vocals. Or it could be that Beloved is one of a very select few bands who knew themselves and had a direction that will keep them on my personal timeless bands list forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't even begin..............., March 15, 2005
This review is from: Failure on (Audio CD)
This band. WOW. They are different. I had never heard a band so good. when I listen to Beloved I am Inspired. They makes me wanna get uip and do something. They make me happy, sad, angry, regretfull, every emotion is conveyed perfectly. I have never heard an intro so good as the one on Falire on my Lips. You can put this CD in, and play the whole thing over and over, just like the Beatles!! lol. Beloved has pretty much a cult following at my school because of their talent, drive, and overall positive christian message. Rock on Beloved. You guys will never be forgoten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful piece of melodic hardcore, June 30, 2003
By 
x (new york) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Failure on (Audio CD)
in the midst of such acts as hopesfall and underoath, Beloved dishes out the most the hardcore genre has to offer. This album contains beautiful melodies, followed by crushing breakdowns, and vocals ranging from singing to screaming. When i heard of this release a few months ago, i was extremely ready for the best melodic hardcore album i have ever heard. and on july 24th beloved gave the world that cd. If you are a fan of hardcore with a touch of beauty, this album is for you. This is defidently the best cd i have heard in a long while
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately not a failure, May 8, 2005
This review is from: Failure on (Audio CD)
Beloved was a passionate, melodic, yet hardcore band that would have made a huge impact in music. Unfortunately, all good things must come to an end but their music lives on - especially on this excellent album. Not only is it one of my favorites, it's the type of album that you can listen to from beginning to end without skipping a track. You can consider it screamo and if you like bands such as From Autumn to Ashes, you definately would like this band.

"If we live in hearts we leave behind, then we will never die"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best emo-core group ever!, July 28, 2003
By 
This review is from: Failure on (Audio CD)
Just when you thought it couldn't get better than Dead Poetic, Beloved comes along and proves me wrong. Every song on this is magical and very well played. The recording quality rulez! This is one of my favorite bands of all time. You'd have to be stupid if you don't already own this, so what are you waiting for. BUY NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense yet beautiful!!, January 25, 2004
By 
This review is from: Failure on (Audio CD)
Beloved came on the scene with a pretty powerful debut album. Beloved is what you would call a "screamo" band because of their breakdowns into screams. But what is intersting about Beloved is that their music is beautiful and their singing is well done and then the screams come into play, but they are tastefully done. Josh Moore has a wonderful voice for a screamo lead singer and his scream is fiery and it pumps you up. The music is well done especially when their drummer goes into his fits of double bass. Along with the excellent musicianship and superb singing comes lyrics that must be looked beyond the surface to see what they actually mean. I just got Thursday's new cd and don't get me wrong it is excellent but in my opinion Beloved outdoes Thursday in the category of passion and intensity. I believe that as the guys in Beloved mature they will become incredible and they will be a force to reckon with. Now all I have to do is buy their album for I keep on swiping my friend's copy and seeing them live which I'll hopefully get to do at Cornerstone this summer. I would state my favorite songs, but almost all of them are good, so I can't. If you enjoy loud music with a good message in the lyrics then please buy Beloved's cd to support them. Watch out they will be a force to reckon with in a couple of years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums in 2003, June 27, 2003
By 
This review is from: Failure on (Audio CD)
I wasnt so sure about how good this album would really be. 'The Running' EP was very good and set a high standard for a future full-length from Beloved. And I couldnt help but remember how disappointed I was with 'The Satellite Years' after Hopesfall had previously released the masterpiece 'No Wings to Speak Of' EP.
But I can honestly say that this is one of the best "emocore" album that I have ever heard, much better than their previous releases. Almost every single song is amazing, and you can easily listen through the whole cd without skipping through any tracks. The two tracks that stand out the most are 'Aimless Endeavor' and 'Death to Traitors'. You will not regret purchasing this album, believe me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hardcore madness!, June 3, 2005
This review is from: Failure on (Audio CD)
Beloved will go down in history as the best christian band to relase the best hardcore cd in history.Although they decided to end there careers no one should ever forget the emotion envolved with this hard hiting masterpeice."aimless Endeavor" was the no.1 song on steel roots top ten countdown at one point.It was also featured on fuse too.But the best dong on this cd and many other reviewers will agree w/ me is "only are faces hide" the best screamo hardcore song ever made.

beloved will never be seen agian so this is your only chance to listent to the best harcore band ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Failure On
Failure On by Beloved (U.S. Artist)
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.